Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Advanced Window Systems

Founded 1978 • With Angi since July 2006

4.8

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14 Alcap Rdg

Cromwell, CT 06416

Description

AWS is family owned and operated, and has over 40 years of experience in the home improvement business. We are one of the most highly respected and trusted companies in our industry. We offer our customers outstanding value by providing premium products and superior customer service, specializing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/08/2018


Jung P.

We did not move past the initial call. After I described what we needed, the rep wanted to set up time to meet to discuss other details and options. She asked for a time when both myself and my spouse would be home. With my wife's travel schedule and my busy day schedules, it's hard enough to sync time. With the kids' schedules, it's near impossible and must divide and conquer. Honestly, the next time would have 3.5 weeks out. With other contractors scheduled and engaged for numerous other projects, it could not wait and suggested that she work directly with me. The rep said it is their policy that both spouses must be available. This is a horribly antiquated policy. To me and my wife, this is a policy that's inconsistent with contemporary values. I would not recommend Advanced Window Systems from this experience.

Description of Work
Needed 4 wood casement windows replaced

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/14/2016


Jon C.

I could not have asked for a better group to do business with! From sales to installation, every member of the team was superb to deal with a real professionals. The sales team was extremely knowledgeable and offered me options and sold me a quality product at a good price, the schedulers at the office were a joy to deal with and the installer was simply the best! I would recommend AWS to anyone and will definitely have them back.

Description of Work
I have had AWS out for work on two different contracts. First they replaced 7 double hung windows in my living room, downstairs bathroom and two upstairs bedrooms. This time they came out and replaced my living room picture window. All of the windows were from the original 1950 construction of the house and were in very bad shape. They replaced all with high quality windows which are energy efficient and warrantied for life.

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/01/2016


kenneth W.

The initial consult was great, the sales team was very informative, no pressure sales. They offered several options for each price level/type of windows. It took about a month or so to build the custom windows, and they installed 2 weeks later. They scheduled 2 days for install but almost finished the first day. I think they left the house more clean than when they arrived! There was a minor imperfection in one window which they quickly addressed to our satisfaction. Very good experience, would definitely use them again and recommend to anyone!

Description of Work
Replaced 12 windows and replaced trim around an exterior door

Category replacement windows

5.0

10/28/2016


Richard K.

Right from the first visit to the AWS office to inquire about replacement windows the experience was very professional. Everything was explained completely at our sales meeting. Everything was covered and we had very few questions. The installers showed up on time ready to work.Their expertise was evident as they worked smoothly thru the installation process of the windows. When the job was finished the following days showed just how good and efficient their windows are proving that the sales pitch was completely true. A superb window installed by extremely competent professional installation experts. Thank you AWS, you backed up your promises completely.

Description of Work
Replacement Windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/02/2016


martha J.

Original 30 year window was a bay window which was extremely drafty and the outside frame which was made of wood was starting to rot. AWS measured and suggested a better type window for the space taking into account the overhang of the roof line. The representative from AWS explained the window thoroughly and also brought samples of this window so that we could see the materials that would be used in constructing and insulating the window. Every aspect of this window was explained to us. Installers arrived ontime and worked nonstop. They were both friendly and professional. The completely cleaned (inside and outside) the workspace. They were great!

Description of Work
Replaclement of bow window in living room.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - Thank you so much for reviewing your experience with AWS! We treat all of our customer's homes as we would treat our own, so knowing that you're satisfied with your new window, makes us very happy. We appreciate your feedback! Thanks again. AWS Staff
5.0

09/22/2015


Jack M.

We have been in the house for 26 years with the same crank out windows in our sun room. They were hard to open and close to the point of not bothering unless we had to open them. AWS came to the house, measured the windows and gave us options on new installation. We chose the traditional up and down windows over the roll outs and couldn't be happier. We previously had two crank out windows on either side of a dead light (non opening window) which were replaced by two larger windows in addition to the third crank out window on the other wall. The ventilation is fantastic now with the larger windows and no obstruction from the crank out style old windows. The windows were custom made for our home and the turnaround time from start to finish was less than a month. The installers were very professional and had the old windows out and the new ones installed in about a half a day. The room was cleaned up before they left and you could never tell that the removal of old and new installation had taken place. We love the new windows and the warranty on breakage is an added bonus. I would highly recommend AWS and will use them in the future should the need arise.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced three crank out windows and a dead light with three larger windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Good morning [Member name], We would like to thank you for choosing our company for your replacement window project. We are happy we were able to assist you in choosing the right windows for your home. If there is ever anything else we can help you with, please feel to contact us. Best Regards, AWS Staff
5.0

08/19/2015


Edward A.

Everything went good, from the saleman, to coordinating when to come and install the window to the people that came in and put the windows in was great. Everyone was very helpful and nice, couldn't have asked for anything better

Description of Work
Installed a 16 foot picture window, installation and trim

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful review! We take all of our customer feedback very seriously so we appreciate the time you took to give your opinion. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call us. Thanks again! - AWS Staff
5.0

08/11/2015


June S.

I can not be any happier with selecting AWS to replace my windows. Living in a condo I had to get approval first. Once the windows were installed, the color match to the exterior was so close, members of the Association were impressed. I can not say enough good about the personnel at AWS from those that answer the phone, to my sales rep., to the 2 gentlemen that measured my windows and the 2 gentlemen that installed the windows. The installers were so clean and neat that there was no clean-up once they left. All were friendly and professional. I highly recommend AWS to anyone considering replacing windows

Description of Work
Replaced 3 of 6 windows in my condo

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! We always appreciate customer feedback, so thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call us! - AWS Staff
5.0

08/05/2015


Lori S.

It went better than expected--I was wondering how this would be done -in the winter- but it went quick-perfect- no problems at all to us- as the homeowner--very efficient-professional..Love this co.!! Stellar- incl.customer service..Will def. use them again..

Description of Work
I had 5 beautiful windows installed in my newly purchased home.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! We always appreciate customer feedback, so we appreciate you taking the time to give your opinion. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call us! Thanks again. - AWS Staff
5.0

03/23/2015


Irma C.

They did a good job over all happy with the service.

Description of Work
Whole house window and door replacements.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Good morning [member name removed] Thank you for your review. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please feel free to contact us. Best Regards, AWS Staff
5.0

10/28/2014


Irene B.

We had a very good experience with them. We had 3 estimates in total, AWS certainly weren't the cheapest but also not the most expensive, right in the middle. We were not comfortable getting the "cheapest" windows out there. The salesman was professional and not pushy at all. We were given an estimate of 8 weeks before the project could start and that was fine with us, and they started right when they estimated they would. All 20 windows were installed the same day! It was pretty amazing. The 2 installers they sent were clean and efficient. One of the installers noticed a scratch on one of the window sills (which I actually did not notice) and said they will order a new window and deliver it as soon as it comes in. Approximately 3 weeks later we got a call, and the installer came and quickly replaced the scratched window piece. I highly recommend them for both the quality of the windows as well as the customer service experience.

Description of Work
Installed replacement windows throughout our entire home- 20 windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed]- We always appreciate feedback from our customers, so thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and honest review. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call. Thank you again. Enjoy your new windows! AWS Staff
1.0

09/03/2014


susan M.

Used a different contractor and was pleased with the work. Both roofs replaced in June 2013.

Description of Work
AWS provided an estimate for roof replacement on both my house and my parents house. They had done a few houses of neighbors. The salesman gave a lengthy sales pitch that included many OLD letters from previous customers with very little substance on the proposed work. He quoted a price for each house that was approximately twice the price of the other 3 estimates we got. The estimate was verbal only. He did not provide a written estimate even though we requested one. When we said he was too expensive, he bad mouthed other contractors in general and other roofing manufacturers. I would not do business with this company based on my experience with the salesperson. Too bad for them - new windows are looming.

Category roofing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed]– Thank you for reaching out to us to express your opinion on the past estimate given. After some research, I can see that we met with you back on March 31, 2012 to discuss pricing for a new roof for two properties. We understand that the price was not within your desired budget, so you decided to go with a different contracting company. We are comfortable with your choice and are glad that the project was completed successfully. We are a little unclear as to your reasoning behind writing this review. We gave an estimate 2 ½ years ago, with which you declined. We were under the impression that we parted ways amicably. Please feel free to give us a call to discuss where the discrepancy lies. Thank you again for contacting us and we look forward to hearing from you. AWS Staff
5.0

07/31/2014


Scott F.

The initial contact with the salesman was relaxed. He was professional, and courteous. He explained everything and showed the impact to areas such as the window sills that other companies we met with did not. After signing the contract we had a confirmation from the office, and a scheduled follow up to confirm the initial measurements. Once the order came in the office scheduled an installation date, and called with reminders prior to the actual date. The office staff was professional, and pleasant to speak with on every call. The day of the installation the workers arrived on time and explained how they planned to work throughout the day. There were no surprises, and all items ordered were received. The crew cleaned up each area as they worked, so at the end of the installation there wasn't debris all over the place. Before they wrapped up for the day they showed what was done in the install, what was still wet, and basic function of the windows. They were easy to work with, and we would use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced 9 windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Good morning [member name removed], We would like to thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy that you are pleased and satisfied with our company. If there is anything else that we may help you with, please feel free to contact us. Best Regards, AWS Staff
5.0

07/24/2014


Karen M.

My door was a custom size so the cost was higher than normal. The fire door is the door used to enter the house from the garage. The problem was that the original door was warped, which led to separation from the door seal (about 1/2 inch) and cold air came in from the garage during the winter. However, when Mark from AWS came out to the house, he found that the existing door frame had settled over the years, along with the house. The door wasn't warped! He suggested I could probably find someone to correct the frame, which would be less expensive than replacing the door. If I replaced the door, the frame would be corrected as well. I decided to go with the new door because I didn't want to encounter the door frame settling in another couple of years and have to repeat the whole thing. The door looks great. The installers were on time, courteous, clean, and professional. I'm an AWS repeat customer. If I need a service and they can perform it, I will use them 100% of the time. Their work is quality and I know I won't have to repeat the same work ever again.

Description of Work
Replaced a fire door and corrected the original door framing.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed member name] - Thank you so much for this review! We greatly appreciate your repeat business! If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call. Thanks again! Jen AWS Admin.
3.0

05/13/2014


Ryan D.

They seem to have a really good window; however, their price was nearly double ever other quote I got and I don't think their window is twice as good as the other companies I looked at. Aside from the price they seem like a good company with a good product.

Description of Work
I got a quote from them to replace all the windows in my house.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed] - Thank you for reaching out to our company and giving your opinion. We take all of our online reviews seriously, so we value the time you took to wrote your own review. We appreciate that you recognized the high quality of our product and wish that we could have done business with you. That being said, we were a little confused about some information that you had provided. One of our representatives came out to meet with you on September 12, 2013 to give a free in home estimate. We are not quite sure where the Work Completed Date of May 1, 2014 is from, since we did not contract with you to do any work for your home. We typically receive reviews from customers who we have completed projects for. Please give us a call at 860-829-8044 so we can figure out where this discrepancy lies. Thank you again. - Jen Administrative Assistant
5.0

05/03/2014


Jessica F.

Our old, drafty bedroom windows were creating quite a dent in our heating bill, so after much debate we researched local companies for replacements. Yes, we could have gone to Home Depot or Lowes, but the quality of AWS's product far surpasses what we could have got elsewhere (plus it's great to support small business- which this family owned place is!). Their in-home demonstration is exceptional, without being a cheesy sales pitch. It's remarkable to see how their product stands up against other conventional windows, and their lifetime warranty (which IS transferable, in case you sell your home) sealed the deal. The installers were a local couple, who flawlessly completed their job and we were completely comfortable with them in our home. Not only did they install the windows, but they cleaned the glass once finished- and cleaned up any mess that occurred where protective plastic wasn't placed. The result? Our room maintained the heat in the house (which has newer windows), and our bedroom was 8 degrees warmer than normal. We couldn't be more thrilled with the quality, professionalism, and product that AWS offers. We have a rather large window that we'll be calling AWS for in the future!

Description of Work
Installed 4 windows, and basement window/dryer vent

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed] - Thank you so much for this review! We appreciate the time you took to evaluate your project and let us know the details. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to call. Thank you again! - AWS Staff
5.0

04/21/2014


Janice H.

They did an excellent job, were very courteous and punctual for both the initial measuring and setting up the door installation. Their installers were also on time for the actual installation and were also very courteous and friendly and did a great job with the installation. When I had a question regarding the installation they responded right away, came out to check my concern and answered all my questions. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed an insulated slider door going to my deck.

Category decks, replacement windows, doors

5.0

03/10/2014


Joan J.

It went very well. There was no problems. They got the job done. Everything went exactly the way it was supposed to go. They did an excellent job.

Description of Work
We used the services of Advanced Window Systems. They put in new windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

03/09/2014


Thomas K.

they assured me that the new installation would replace the damaged existing window sills and bring the construction back to 100%. and they did just that! The windows' features are superior. They have really done a wonderful job of providing a great product and service.

Description of Work
replaced 6 windows with failed pain and deteriorated sills

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/13/2014


Cynthia M.

We contacted Advanced Window Systems after reading positive reviews on Angie's List. We had also received estimates from other local window companies and Lowe's before contacting AWS. The AWS salesman, Al, came to our condo on October 15, 2013. At that time he demonstrated the product with a sample that he had with him. He measured our windows and provided us with an estimate. He was very knowledgeable, professional, congenial, and answered all our questions. Because of the information and demonstration that Al provided, we decided to go with AWS. The windows that we chose would be of better quality than what we had observed previously and would improve our energy efficiency, reduce outside noise, be easy to clean and operate, and look good, both inside and out. Our condo association had to approve the windows that we had selected and required extra information which AWS promptly supplied to them. Waiting for approval from the condo association added extra time to the delivery date. The windows had to be custom made for our condo because of unusual dimensions, but despite this, the overall cost seemed reasonable. Finally, on December 31, 2013, the windows were installed. Jeff, the installer installed all eight windows, and hauled away the old ones, in about 8 hours. He left everything in perfect order when he left. We have been very pleased with the improvement in energy efficiency, outside noise reduction, and appearance of the windows. The tilt in cleaning capability is a life changer! We chose the half screens, which are adjustable. We feel these are sturdier and more esthetically pleasing than the full screens that we had which were held in by flimsy push pins. (Those can easily be pushed out by a child or pet.) Without hesitation, we would recommend Advanced Window Systems of Berlin, CT, for any replacement window project.

Description of Work
Installed eight replacement windows in our condo.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/11/2014


Daniel B.

From introductory quote, to measurement, to completion of the job, AWS was professional in every manner. They provided an accurate quote and timeline for completion of the job, as well as a comprehensive assessment of what the replacement would entail. In all, we replaced four basement windows and one bedroom window--the work was completed in one day and to our satisfaction. Thanks to all at AWS!

Description of Work
Replacement Windows in Basement and Bedroom

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/25/2013


David M.

This is a big $$ window, a full story high off a back yard slope, and not the easiest access. After noticing some wood casing rot, AWS was contacted. With courtesy and a sense of concern, they quickly came out for an inspection and assessment. Without hesitation they recommended a full window replacement. The new window was ordered, a date/time scheduled for install, and a clean and quality install job was professionally completed. It is rare that I write letters such as this, however the AWS service was exemplary, the customer service was outstanding, and I would strongly recommend this business to anyone looking for competent, solid, stand behind your workmanship contracting. They did exactly what they said they would do when I initially purchased the window; Lifetime Warranty. My out of pocket expense was $0. It actually makes one proud that this transaction transpired the way it did, the way it should. They're good with their handshake.

Description of Work
AWS returned to my home many years (>10yrs) after an expensive bay window purchase/install and replaced the total window casement and glass.

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/17/2013


Gail H.

We are extremely pleased with the services Advanced Window Systems provided. They were very kind and courteous, punctual and very professional. At the end of each work day, they cleaned up and put everything back the way they found it. It was a pleasure working with them. They did a great job. We highly recommend them. Our home is absolutely beautiful!!!

Description of Work
They replaced our roof, windows, vinyl siding and repaired an insect-damaged external wall.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

11/11/2013


Janis B.

In January 2011, Advanced Window Systems installed 20 windows and 1 picture window. The crew was very professional and did a superb job. They worked through very cold weather conditions and did a wonderful job with the cleanup, etc. I love the windows and they have proven to keep the cold out in the winter and the heat out in the summer. I was so pleased with the professionalism of the office staff and all the other service employees that I contacted Advanced Window Systems again and had them install two storm/screen doors in September 2013. I love the doors and when I called for service on them, they responded quickly. I chose Advanced Window Systems because they are NOT a franchise and I felt very confident that they would be around for a long time in the future for any problems that could arise. That was a very big selling point for me. I would highly recommend them with great peace of mind.

Description of Work
Installed two storm/screen doors in front of the house 9/13 and 21 windows in 1/2011.

Category doors

5.0

10/29/2013


Tom S.

The process was professional from start to finish The sales representative, son of the owner of this family business, was thorough and courteous; there was absolutely no pressure to purchase. We took several days to evaluate and think things over and then, when we were completely comfortable, we called to make the purchase. Another representative from the company came out on time as scheduled about a week later and took all necessary measurements. The breezeway replacement doors were a particular challenge and he suggested an installation that has worked perfectly. When the windows arrived we set up an appointment for installation. The installation took four days and the installers were as professional as everyone else we had encountered with AWS. One window was accidentally broken during installation and a new one was ordered immediately and replaced within two weeks. During that time we noticed a few minor glitches here and there which were taken care of at the time the broken window was replaced. The windows were trimmed out so beautifully on the outside that several of our neighbors commented within days on how beautiful the house looked. One day after the broken window was replaced, the sales representative who had made the original visit called to check in to see how everything had gone and ask about our satisfaction with the job, windows, doors, etc. We were impressed by that! Without a doubt we would recommend this company to others!

Description of Work
The provider replaced 17 windows in the house as well as the main (with side lights and a new surround outside) and side entry doors. One of these windows was a garden window (kitchen). The provider also replaced the storm doors on both of the new doors and replaced two other storm doors on our breezeway. The provider also replaced all of our our old shutters.

Category replacement windows, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Luxury roofing & Design LLC

    We specialize in all phases of roofing services, repairs, replacements, installs, as well as all types of interior remodeling! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    JS and R LLC

    We specialize in ASPHALT SHINGLES. We do not offer slate roofs. Our company offers homeowners a sense of security knowing that we have been in business for 13 years. We specify in roofing and siding, and offer all our shingle installation with a lifetime warranty. Most roofing jobs are done in 1 day. We have 6 to 8 employees per job site who are fully insured, which allows us to complete our jobs in a timely manner. We offer 4 ways of payment, a third down and the rest when job is complete, homeowner can pay for materials up front and the rest when job is complete, depending on the situation some customers can pay in full when the job is complete, and we also financing. Wells Fargo Retail Services - Wells Fargo Home Projects, visa. This program is a consumer financial program that benefits you. We a number for Waterford homeowners 860 934 5827 and also Norwich 860 823 1204.  

    Angi Certified

    Manny Construction

    We offer quality and affordable roofing, siding, and general contracting services.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Replacement: windows, siding, roofing, doors

    Services Not Offered

    New construction

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Advanced Window Systems

    How is Advanced Window Systems overall rated?

    Advanced Window Systems is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Advanced Window Systems open?

    Advanced Window Systems is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Advanced Window Systems provide

    Advanced Window Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Advanced Window Systems offer free estimates?

    Yes, Advanced Window Systems offers free project estimates.

    Does Advanced Window Systems offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Advanced Window Systems offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Advanced Window Systems offer a senior discount?

    No, Advanced Window Systems does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Advanced Window Systems?

    No, Advanced Window Systems does not offer warranties.

    What services does Advanced Window Systems offer?

    Advanced Window Systems offers the following services: Replacement: windows, siding, roofing, doors

    Are there any services Advanced Window Systems does not offer?

    New construction