Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Perfect Curb

Founded 2013 • With Angi since January 2014

4.3

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

171 S Main St

Colchester, CT 06415

Description

Perfect Curb is a family owned landscape\hardscape firm that offers a wide variety of services. Our owner is a licensed civil engineer with over 25 years of concrete, soils, and drainage experience. We have a strong commitment to provide superior service and customer satisfaction. Being an engineer, our owner has a strong ethical background and a commitment to building a project the right way. Key components of our mission statement are: to provide superior customer service, build with exceptional quality, and offer a fair price. Upon your initial contact, we will make an appointment to visit your project, review your layout and current landscaping, provide design consultation and cost saving measures, and then prepare a free written estimate. Give us a call to see how affordable your next landscaping project can be....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/02/2019


Pamela F.

The owner, Dane White, was friendly, prompt, and spent a lot of time discussing the project. The employee, Ron, was friendly and conscientious. We have a difficult property, but he handled the challenge beautifully, going above and beyond what we expected. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Snow removal

Category hardscaping

3.0

08/03/2018


Diana D.

I had Dane come out and give us a quote for 3 projects; a walkway with pavers, adding small stone and steps to a firepit area and re-graveling the drive way. Due to budget, I had Dane do the walkway and firepit area last year and this year in April he came to re-gravel the driveway. The work he did on the first 2 projects I was excited and pleased with. He was a state engineer and I felt that he had good ideas and was very helpful. This year he came back to do the driveway which included expanding it 5', and adding new stone. He did quote me for regular stone and also the more expensive white marble chip stone, which I could not afford. However, we never spoke of what other driveway stone options there were or what i would be receiving. The contract was very vague saying typical gravel driveway stone and doesn't mention much about the excavation of the old gravel/weeds. The day the driveway was done I called him, because I felt the stones were too "loose" and not compacted enough. As I had mentioned in our initial meeting, we get a lot of weeds in it and I find it to be embarrassing so I wanted this taken care of. He assured me that they "compacted the heck" out of it and it would be fine. A couple weeks later I contacted him again because weeds were starting to spring up everywhere and I didn't think a newly re-done driveway should already have weeds showing in such quantity. He mentioned several times to just spray weed killer, but our well is close by and I do not want to harm pollinators like bees and butterflies with toxins. He said we discussed the type of stone he brought but we did not, and that too much time had gone by since our initial meeting to remember everything. I can understand that, but I know the weed concern was certainly mentioned. He did agree to send someone with a bit more rock for a fee ($100)which he did waved, but I still do not think enough of a base or rock was but down to prevent the weed situation. (I have pictures but will not let me add here) In the worst areas, I can remove a rock and see the dirt below, I do not see a base at all. The drive has very skimp areas and in the areas where there is less weeds, there is a much more noticeable thickness. They used a hand compacter on the driveway because the large ride on machine could not be used in my driveway due to size I was told but perhaps that would have helped compact it better. I really liked Dane in our first projects, I think he came across as someone who wants to give fair work at a fair price, but I can not give a good review on the driveway project, so I left 3 stars because of the good job on the first projects. It took me a long time to save enough money to get the driveway re-done and I just don't think it should look like it does after just 2/3 months. He was not present on the initial day of the driveway nor when more rock was brought to see the situation for himself, he just asked for pictures. Going forward I would look for a driveway business to fix the issue, but for walkways and patio he still does a good job.

Description of Work
Walkway, fire pit area, Driveway regraveled

Category pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

I can't even respond except to say we did offer alternatives to stone such as asphalt millings....The real problem is that the customer only mows the lawn when it gets real high....then they do not pick up the clippings that get thrown in the driveway (as these will breakdown and cause weeds to grow)....we witnessed this a few times as we had other projects in their neighborhood

5.0

03/13/2018


Diane P.

We waited a couple years to have this patio redone, being on an existing concrete slab we were limited with options or to pay to have the patio totally removed and fresh from start, which was out of our price ability. Dane - was the first to give us options and ideas, he had to go out of state to get a thinner patio brick that was not available around here. We find limited contractors able to work with the old construction. New patio, new steps, landscaping to add dimension to the back yard with a fire pit for ambiance. The test was how it word work with snow and rain drainage this year, we always had back up in front of the steps making it a hazard to walk onto ice. Perfect pitch - no more drainage issues. I would recommend Dane to put in a patio and would use him again. I am pleased to put up pictures as you can see the transformation for yourself. Ican't wait for our new slider chairs to put near the fire pit come in! Dane also repaired a retaining wall that did not have proper drainage and he was able to use the existing bricks to save us money. No one else would give us that option when there was nothing wrong with the bricks, they needed to be rebuilt!

Description of Work
Patio overlay and landscaping with fire pit

Category landscaping, fireplaces, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the Review [Member Name Removed]....It was a pleasure working with you both and we hope you enjoy the new look patio.

5.0

04/02/2017


Lalitha H.

We were delighted with the results. The island had grown totally out of balance with overgrown bushes. After the work was completed, it looked well manicured and professionally done. They provided us with excellent service at a great value. We will definitely be calling them again.

Description of Work
The provider did the following work on an island (approximately 1000 sq.ft.) that is on our front yard: Clearing the island by raking layers of leaves and edging the island. Extensive cutting back and trimming of all the overgrown bushes. Mulching the island. They also provided top soil to solve a sinkhole issue.

Category hardscaping

5.0

02/20/2017


Kathryn S.

Mr. White worked at an exceptional pace with precision, professionalism, and without disturbing any of our employees or the flow of our work day. His attention to detail was remarkable.

Description of Work
Replaced old/damaged ceiling tiles, hung various items on the walls, hung window blinds, repaired shelving/doors, relocated office machines & safe, other odds and ends.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/27/2016


Tim B.

Dane White, the owner of Perfect Curb was a true professional from the start. My wife and I talked with Perfect Curb and two other companies and it was pretty obvious from the beginning that we wanted to reward the job to Perfect Curb. Dane knew his business well, he offered great suggestions/ideas to make the patio look and present better and he gave us a fair price. The follow up since the patio was installed last week has been great and I would strongly recommend you consider Perfect Curb and Dane White if you are thinking about building a patio. We are very happy we decided to use Perfect Curb Tim and Cindy Berger Coventry. CT

Description of Work
Installed a patio using pavers.

Category hardscaping, stamped concrete, patios

1.0

08/14/2015


marjorie F.

The areas were not protected. There is black residue on my white fence, sliding doors, swimming pool liner, six screen doors and on the house. He did not strip off existing seal and resealed over it and so washed away the rain. He killed my fish and plants. Do not hire this company!

Description of Work
He was supposed to strip and reseal pool surround

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

It is unfortunate that all customers cannot be pleased 100% of the time. This was a difficult customer who through her negative actions and comments wanted to get the job done for free. The stripping and sealing of the pool surround was a difficult job. Perfect Curb did our best to remedy any issues the customer had and the end result was a great looking sealed finish . However, nothing we did was satisfactory to this customer. Basically, the customer wanted the job done for free and they are going to enormous lengths to do so.

5.0

03/09/2015


Claudette A.

From the initial meeting with Perfect Curb, to the final installation, I was blown away by the professionalism and expertise of Dane White. He walked me through the whole process and gave me great ideas to help me decide on the final design of my walkway. His crew were personable and efficient. Perfect Curb met the timeline they initially gave me and the end result was a beautiful walkway that I still get compliments on. In fact, my experience was so good, that I hired Perfect Curb the following spring to mulch my garden and install a fire pit. Again, they didn't disappoint! Dane's engineering background was instrumental in ensuring that both jobs were done to the highest quality standards. I highly recommend Perfect Curb for all decorative hardscape needs...they were awesome!

Description of Work
Installed a front walkway, mulched my garden, installed firepit

Category hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    A2Z Home Maintenance services

    We understand what it means to let someone new into your home, and we work very hard to earn your trust with good communication and attention to detail. Customer referrals drive us, so getting it right is important to us every time. We are experts Home improvement services including, roofing, deck repair, remodels, electrical, interior painting, exterior painting, and plumbing repairs. Give us a call today! contractor also a A+ accredited member with the Better Business Bureau of Connecticut  

    Alex Masonry

    We specialize in all types of masonry. We fulfill all your masonry needs. Give us a call so you can see what we can do for you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    MJD PAVING AND MASONRY INC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today 203-390-1059 ask for Mike or John!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Perfect Curb specializes in helping you create an attractive project for an affordable price. Whether your looking for a simplistic layout or seek specific artistic features, we will help you choose the right look. We also offer the following services: general landscaping; masonry services to include pavers, brickwork and stonework; plain concrete flatwork and stamped concrete for walkways, patios, and driveways.

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn Care, Asphalt Driveway Construction, Pool Construction, & Water Features

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Perfect Curb

    How is Perfect Curb overall rated?

    Perfect Curb is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Perfect Curb open?

    Perfect Curb is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Perfect Curb provide

    Perfect Curb accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Perfect Curb offer free estimates?

    Yes, Perfect Curb offers free project estimates.

    Does Perfect Curb offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Perfect Curb offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Perfect Curb offer a senior discount?

    No, Perfect Curb does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Perfect Curb offer emergency services?

    Yes, Perfect Curb offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Perfect Curb?

    Yes, Perfect Curb offers warranties.

    What services does Perfect Curb offer?

    Perfect Curb offers the following services: Perfect Curb specializes in helping you create an attractive project for an affordable price. Whether your looking for a simplistic layout or seek specific artistic features, we will help you choose the right look. We also offer the following services: general landscaping; masonry services to include pavers, brickwork and stonework; plain concrete flatwork and stamped concrete for walkways, patios, and driveways.

    Are there any services Perfect Curb does not offer?

    Lawn Care, Asphalt Driveway Construction, Pool Construction, & Water Features