Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carlson Garage Doors Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since July 2006

5.0

(55) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

67 Maiden Ln

Bristol, CT 06010

Description

Family owned & operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. Service charges may apply.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Nancy B.
5.0
11/03/2017
The job was performed quickly. The door works perfectly.
Description of Work
The garage door would not open. The springs above the door were broken and needed to be replaced.
Category
garage doors
Paul O.
5.0
10/19/2017
Everything went well. Installer explained how it worked and how the keypad options functioned. Made a special connection to handle possible flooding in my area.
Description of Work
Have a garage door opener installed.
Category
garage doors
Stephanie B.
5.0
09/05/2017
The serviceman was professional, straightforward and thorough. He fixed the door in 90 minutes and charged me the price I was quoted. If I have another garage door issue or decide to replace my door I will definitely call use this company. Also the spring broke around 6pm of the Friday of Labor Day weekend and there is a number you can call after business hours. I spoke to someone right away and was given the option of having someone come for an emergency repair at an emergency price or to have it repaired the Tuesday after Labor Day at the normal service cost. While I opted to have it done after the holiday, I appreciate that if I needed it done sooner they would have been able to do it as my car was stuck in the garage for the weekend.
Description of Work
A torsion spring broke on my garage door and we were unable to open it.
Category
garage doors
Pamela Y.
5.0
01/04/2017
Everything went smoothly and quickly. Came on time, very knowledgeable, honorable worker.
Description of Work
I needed a garage door opener installed. Excellent service and quality of work. Very knowledgeable, answered all my questions and I love my new garage door opener.
Category
garage doors
Erika I.
5.0
10/17/2016
Everything went really well. They sold me and installed the garage door opener. They let me know when I had questions about the model of the motor that a different model was more expensive and that it wasn't really necessary. I really appropriated that level of candor. So many providers don't offer that.
Description of Work
Replaced the garage door opener.
Category
garage doors
Lisa L.
5.0
11/23/2015
He was very honest, courteous, and a complete gentleman.
Description of Work
My garage door opener was not closing properly. The technical was able to fix the problem with a very small adjustment to my sensor. He was very honest and fixed the issue within 15 mins.
Category
garage doors
Alex B.
5.0
03/23/2015
He was excellent. He was right on time, was very professional, and fixed my door quickly and for a reasonable price.
Description of Work
Fixed a garage door that got stuck and wasn't opening.
Category
garage doors, doors
Eugene E.
5.0
02/20/2015
The service went very well. He is a professional man, he is prompt, he came out when he said he would be there and he cleaned up the work area when he was finished. I would recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Carlson Garage Doors Inc came out and repaired our garage door for us.
Category
garage doors
Russell A.
5.0
01/29/2015
Showed up on time. Very professional and friendly. He was not rushed but finished quickly and did a great job.
Description of Work
Replaced the spring on my garage door.
Category
garage doors
Alvin B.
5.0
11/20/2014
They came out really quickly and did a good job.
Description of Work
They repaired my garage door and replaced some of the rollers.
Category
garage doors
Diane M.
5.0
10/01/2014
He was punctual and his work held up fine.
Description of Work
Repair a garage door opener
Category
garage doors
Michael C.
5.0
08/13/2014
Garage door opener stopped working on Sunday night. Called Carlson first thing Monday morning and left a voicemail. Owner called back a few minutes later. They showed up within an hour. We discussed options and decided to go with replacing the broken gear instead of installing a new unit. They had the door up and operational in less then an hour.
Description of Work
Replaced Stripped Gear in Garage Opener
Category
garage doors
Jessica W.
5.0
06/30/2014
We knew that the garage door on the house we recently bought was quite old, perhaps 50 years, and replacing it is on our endless list, just not at the top. However, last week a bolt on one of the rollers rusted through and shot off. I chose Carlson based on their positive rating and reviews here and the fact that it was a local, family company. The price structure was clearly explained to me over the phone, it was easy to schedule a convenient appointment, they were very prompt and friendly, took a thorough look, explained everything to us, provided a detailed quote for replacement, but felt that a repair would safely buy us some time. They replaced all the roller hardware on the whole door as well as the cables. We found the charge quite reasonable for the work they did. At the end of the visit they again showed us everything that they had replaced. The garage door is now quieter and smoother than it has been in our time here. We could not be happier with the outcome and definitely will be calling them to do a replacement of the door, opener, keypad, etc. when we can.
Description of Work
Inspected garage door with broken/rusty hardward. Provided quote for full replacement of door, hardware, opener, keypad. Completed repair by replacing roller and cable hardware.
Category
garage doors
Bradley F.
2.0
01/09/2014
I called Carlson Garage Doors Inc because according to Angie's List it was bonded, insured and gave free estimates. When Eric returned my call he told me it was $95 an hour for labor, implying they would not give me a free estimate. I asked him if the estimate was free and he said they do not give free estimates. They would come to my house and tell me what the job cost for $95/hour and if I wanted to the work the $95 would be included in the cost of the job. I wanted to get two or three estimates before I decided which business got the job. That's how I pick contractors. Long story short, unless "free" means $95, the "free estimates" claim on the Angie's List web site is not true and should be changed.
Description of Work
Eric returned my phone call the same day.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

This is Eric Carlson owner of Carlson Garage doors. I am sorry for your confusion but when we say free estimates we mean free. l gave you a estimate over the phone of 95 dollars. This is our standard per hour " service" call. Now if you were not so quick to berate me over the phone then hang up on me I would have been able to explain our business practices to you. Again I am sorry that you were unable to understand how service calls work but if you would like to call me back we can discuss it. As you can see from all the other reviews here on Angie ' s list we take care of our customers. Eric Carlson
Bill and Pam B.
5.0
01/06/2014
See above description - it's all there!
Description of Work
I was recommending Carlson doors to a friend and realized I had not submitted a review on the garage door installation Carlson's did for us. We purchased a previously owned home and had Carlson replace 3 garage doors for us, install one new opener, an external keypad and 3 additional control buttons next to the inside entry door. The garage door opener was quoted by 2 other companies as requiring a heavier duty motor due to the fact it needs to rise higher than the other garage doors so as not to interfer with an adjacent entry that has 3 steps into the house. (The prior owner of our house had not installed an opener on this garage door due to the extra expense associated with this door arrangement.) Carlson's figured out a way to add to the track height without putting on a more expensive motor and assured us the regular size opener motor was sufficient. It's now Jan 2014 and all 3 doors continue to function well with no issues. Carlsons were correct about the unusual door installation and their price was among the lower quotes. Most of all, the Carlson's are honest and straight-forward. We even trusted them to install the doors while we were out of town, which is not the usual mode of operation for us. We are very satisfied. We will continue to recommend them!
Category
garage doors
Eugene E.
5.0
11/22/2013
Very good. He showed up on time, very efficient in his work, reasonable price.
Description of Work
Repair garage door - operator bracket
Category
garage doors
Florence S.
5.0
09/30/2013
- Dependable and neat - Followed through on commitments - Very pleased with final product and job overall
Description of Work
Replace and install garage doors and openers
Category
garage doors
Ann S.
5.0
05/20/2013
We've hired Carlson Garage several times through the years to repair garage-door springs and related issues, but most recently, we had them install a replacement door. When our 30-year old door finally gave out, Mr. Carlson repaired it so that it was operational during the time that our new door was being manufactured. Regarding the replacement door, he suggested a well-made brand that he trusts, and knowing how reliable he's always been, we trusted his recommendation. The new door was just installed. As usual, Carlson was conscientious, on-time, fairly priced and did a great job. We are very happy with the install and with our new door. Carlson is a stand-out vendor for us because they follow through on all of their promises, don't try to up-sell us on replacements or features we don't need, are reliable, fair and professional.
Description of Work
Installed New Garage Door
Category
garage doors
Vivek D.
5.0
05/06/2013
They fixed the problem at very reasonable cost.
Description of Work
My garage door started acting erratic. It would open by itself at random times. I contacted the manufacturer and they thought something could be wrong in the wiring or switch. I found Carlson Garage Door on Angie's list. They were very responsive, prompt and punctual. They gave me an upfront idea of work required and did not try to sell me more than required. On the contrary when I asked if some parts needed replacement they told me that the parts still had life. They warned me that due to nature of the problem it may not get resolved. When I called them second time they accurately fixed the problem by resetting garage and did not charge me. I will definitely use their services again and I highly recommend them
Category
garage doors
Enola K.
5.0
04/22/2013
Arrived exactly when he said he would, explained what he was doing. Suggested programming both doors into one of my openers. Would certainly use again or recommend to anyone.
Description of Work
Reprogrammed my gararge door openers (portable openers, in car openers and key pad on door)
Category
garage doors
Linda Chen R.
5.0
02/27/2013
I backed the minivan out of the garage as the door was still opening and took out the bottom 1/3rd of the door, also doing some damage on the frame. Panicked, I quickly went on Angie's List to look for a garage door service provider. I came across Carlson Garage Doors review and liked the consistency of what I read. I called the number and the call was picked up right way. Luckily, Carlson was in the area and within about half hour or so from the call, they were able to come and check out the situation. Upon inspection, they laid out a few options for me - ranging from cheapest quick fix to full replacement of both garage doors (even though the damage was only done to one, you need to match). After discussion with my husband, we decided on a full replacement of the doors because our doors were old already. There were some concerns that the garage door would take a couple/few weeks to arrive but Carlson did some quick thinking and found a brand new set in stock that would work for us. Altogether we had new doors on and ready to go in about a couple of weeks time since the damage. I'm extremely grateful that they were able to execute on the quick turnaround because the install happened on Thursday 2/7 - the day before the Storm Nemo, the blizzard of 2013 hit our area. That alone makes Carlson forever our garage door provider of choice. Eric and Paul are a father-son team and have been in the business for many, many years. They're straight-shooters. They were professional, arrived when they said they would, worked efficiently, left no mess. They didn't try to influence us to make changes to the garage door motors that are working perfectly fine right now. They didn't try to upsell. They simply provided the information that was needed, the benefits and increases in cost of upgraded selections and then left the decision-making to us. I'd definitely recommend them to others.
Description of Work
inspection of damaged garage door and install of new garage doors
Category
garage doors
peter B.
5.0
02/25/2013
Very pleased with next day response and their willingness to repair rather than try to sell new openers and/or new doors. I was very satisfied and would definitely use them again and highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I have a two bay garage with the original garage doors from approximately 1955. The electric garage door openers on both doors were not working properly. On one, failed to close properly. It would go down part way and then retract. We checked for obstructions. There were none. The Carlson Father and son team adjusted the electric eye mechanism, lubricated all the moving parts and it worked correctly, much more smoothly, and with less noise. Material cost $1.00 for a new bolt. On the other, where the remote controls had been lost, two new ones were provided at a cost of $70.00. The outside control was made workable with a new battery that I furnished. All moving parts were lubricated. Now the door opener works well for the first time in years. Service call/labor was $95.00. Total cost $170.
Category
garage doors
Janice D.
5.0
01/26/2013
Excellent overall experience. Could not close garage door even when disengaged. Very cold (19 degrees). Based on reviews on Angie's List, called Carlson for service. They were at my home in about 20 minutes. Very pleasant Father and Son team who repaired the door for a reasonable price. If my garage doors need repairing or replacement in the future, will definitely call them.
Description of Work
Could not close garage door even when disengaged. Very cold (19 degrees). Based on reviews on Angie's List, called Carlson for service. They were at my home in about 20 minutes. Very pleasant Father and Son team who repaired the door for a reasonable price. If my garage doors need repairing or replacement in the future, will definitely call them.
Category
garage doors
William O.
5.0
09/23/2012
Punctual, professional, knowledgeable. One need look no further for superior service. They even saved me a few dollars as they were able to reuse the existing garage door tracks. They are HIGHLY recommended.
Description of Work
Replaced 2 garage doors.
Category
garage doors
Elke B.
5.0
08/08/2012
Mr. Carlson completed the installation on time and within budget. Not only was the work done in a professional way, but he inspected and adjusted all door hardware as well. A truly masterful job. We'd recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Complete a garage door installation which another company was unable to do.
Category
garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    A Garage Door Guy, LLC

    Garage door/ motor sales and service. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Mascolo Overhead Doors & Maintenance LLC

    We specialize in garage door installation and openers. We also do repairs and maintenance work on doors such as track and roller repair, spring replacement, replacing panels, keypads and remotes, along with trim work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    American Overhead Door

    Residential and commercial garage door and opener sales and service. We can service and repair all major brands of doors and openers throughout the entire state of CT. We pride ourselves on having the BEST service anywhere and have a huge showroom in Middletown with several doors on display as well as openers and small color and material samples. We have been in business in Connecticut for over 30 years and are experts in garage door and opener replacement and repair. If your garage door is broken, off the tracks, has broken springs or is just not working properly, do not attempt to repair the door yourself. There are components on the door that can cause serious injury if not handled properly. Call the professionals at American Overhead Doors. American Overhead Doors offers a wide selection of Clopay door styles and construction options to meet your home style and budget. From custom carriage house doors to insulated raised panel doors, we have it all. Financing available. Cost is determined by job.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Doors. Garage Doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carlson Garage Doors Inc

    How is Carlson Garage Doors Inc overall rated?

    Carlson Garage Doors Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carlson Garage Doors Inc open?

    Carlson Garage Doors Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    What payment options does Carlson Garage Doors Inc provide

    Carlson Garage Doors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Carlson Garage Doors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carlson Garage Doors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Carlson Garage Doors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Carlson Garage Doors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carlson Garage Doors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Carlson Garage Doors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Carlson Garage Doors Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Carlson Garage Doors Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Carlson Garage Doors Inc?

    No, Carlson Garage Doors Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Carlson Garage Doors Inc offer?

    Carlson Garage Doors Inc offers the following services: Doors. Garage Doors.