Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

One Stop Home Repairs

Founded 2004 • With Angi since July 2008

Over 25 years experience working in the family business, we have been professionally servicing both Fairfield and New Haven counties providing complete home Remodeling, Repair & Handyman services.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5% on jobs over $5000.00
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
HIC 0633443
Trade License Expiration
11/30/2021
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to: https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Verified Reviews

4.7

(126) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 126 reviews
John B.
5.0
01/31/2021
Derrick responded within a day and came out to give me an estimate promptly. He was very reasonable and even when the job ended up being more complicated, he never complained or raised his estimate. He worked hard and was meticulous. I was very impressed and always felt comfortable having him in my home, even when I wasn't there. I'd hire him again in an instant. He is a decent, hard working guy (unlike many others out there.)
Description of Work
Shower Repair
Category
chimney repair, home remodeling
Craig P.
5.0
01/10/2021
We had a great experience with Derrick and his team. Derrick understood what we were looking to achieve with our remodeling project and was creative in identifying alteratives when we ran into problems. We were very specific about certain items and Derrick listened and had great attention to detail. When adjustments were needed, Derrick communicated well and provided options. The project was completed with high quality, on schedule and on budget. We would definitely work with Derrick again.
Description of Work
Our project included removing a non-loadbearing wall, removing an exterior window, relocating a central vacuum, constructing two closets, tiling, electric work, painting and wood flooring.
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, remodeling, replacement windows, chimney repair, interior painters
Donna R.
5.0
10/16/2020
Took longer than expected but VERY PLEASED with the work. Highly recommend
Description of Work
Mailbox installation and interior painting
Category
mailbox repair, interior painters, cabinet refacing
Melodie M.
5.0
06/29/2020
Derrick arrived on time and did a great job replacing the old basement windows with vinyl hoppers. He was careful of my gardens, which was a request of mine. He also did a good job finishing the slider door frame with a deck piece and replacing the rotted window sill in the garage. I am very happy with his work.
Description of Work
Derrick replaced three basement windows and did some carpentry work, replacing rotted garage window sill and caulking and finishing the bottom frame on sliding glass doors at deck.
Category
handyman service
Anne S.
5.0
05/26/2018
One Stop Home Repairs (owner, Derrick Smith) have handled 2 larger projects for us this past year and I can't say enough about how wonderful they are: unparalleled quality of workmanship, used excellent materials, all workers were polite and did quality work, prompt, very neat - we really have no complaints at all. So impressed! I also found him to be really smart and a wonderful creative problem solver. For example, we had contacted about a half dozen contractors for ideas and estimates on how to repair our porch and deck. Most had no ideas at all except to tear it down and start again. Derrick came up with an affordable elegant solution and we now have a wonderful porch thanks to him! I recommend this company without reservation. You won't be disappointed!
Description of Work
Remodel and rebuild porch, partial roof, replace shingles, repair/replace windows, exterior paint
Category
contractors, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, sunrooms
Marcella K.
5.0
05/23/2018
Derrick and his team have the highest level of integrity for their work. They show up on time, they stick to their estimates and budgets, and they are thoughtful problem solvers. On top of all that, they are kind and generous human beings. Put simply: they care. We had to get creative about some renovations to our brownstone, in a pinch—Derrick saved the day. Our place looks brand new and we could not be happier. He's since helped with lot of projects. We'd previously struggled to find a dependable resource for our home repair and renovations needs, and cannot say enough about what Derrick and his team have done for our home and our peace of mind. Thank you!
Description of Work
Home Repair/Renovation
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling
Sonia H.
5.0
01/09/2018
Derrick and his staff were very professional and reliable. The work was completed before the promised date. They were very diligent; they even worked on Saturday. The completed work was excellent. We are very satisfied and recommend them. Derrick was especially courteous and helpful.
Description of Work
Carpentry for window trim, paintings rooms, installation of new doors, cabinet repairs and plumbing.
Category
handyman service, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors
Davide H.
5.0
09/20/2017
Came on time. Cleaned up well. Came back to ensure everything was good
Description of Work
closed off a hall way and made it a closet, put doors on our closets and repaired our porch.
Category
drywall, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking
Christine R.
5.0
09/02/2017
We were looking to hire a contractor to bring our 1960’s bathroom/laundry room into this century. When we search Angie’s List with a project in mind, we always look to have the work done by someone local and one with outstanding reviews. That is how we found Derrick Smith of One Stop Home Repairs. I was immediately impressed with his comprehensive estimate and the flexibility it took to fit the project into my schedule. He and his crew were punctual, polite and professional. The work area was left spotless every evening and the job was completed on time. The completed project exceeded my expectations because of Derrick’s expertise and attention to detail. I recommend One Stop Home Repairs without reservation and I look forward to working with them in the future.
Description of Work
Update Bathroom/Laundry Room
Category
electrician, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters
Steven S.
5.0
04/03/2017
Derrick was professional in every manner. On time, delivered as promised and high quality work. Highly recommended, the fence came out as well as i could have hoped.
Description of Work
Installed fence
Category
handyman service
Robert N.
5.0
03/05/2017
Very well, items were properly installed in an efficient manner. I like that you are dealing with the owner and you see his pride in his workmanship.
Description of Work
Replace kitchen faucet Replace ceiling fan install address plaque on mailbox
Category
electrician, handyman service, plumbing
Mary-Kay H.
5.0
10/12/2016
I always feel a huge sense of relief when I find a provider who does quality work like Derrick Smith of One Stop Home Repair. Derrick and Lance, the man working on the project, are clearly very experienced and do high-quality work. Derrick made very helpful suggestions when assessing the job pre-quote and during the project when unexpected problems cropped up (extensive termite damage to porch frame discovered when the old floor was removed.) The termite damage required additional work; Derrick proposed a sound approach that stabilized the porch without having to rebuild it. All the work was done very efficiently and cleanly. I appreciated Derrick's attention to detail, including receiving a written project quote. I would definitely hire One Stop Home Repair again.
Description of Work
Floor and wainscoting replaced and ceiling painted in an enclosed front porch
Category
contractors
Marc S.
5.0
04/04/2016
Derrick and One-Stop are top-notch professionals. Incredible pride in the work they do, I was continually impressed by how seriously they took their promises and schedules seriously. Derrick runs a project with efficiency and adaptability and is a great communicor. The follow-through and lack of surprises was terrific. He helped transform a small pool shed into a gorgeous pool house in days. Arrived every day he said he would bright and early and did an impeccable job. I can't say enough about the excellent decisions he made throughout the project to solve problems and make the end result better than we expected. We'll be having Derri
Description of Work
Renovated our pool house from just 2x4 beams to a finished interior with a vaulted ceiling, recessed lighting, wall trim and new floor.
Category
electrician, handyman service, lighting, pool cleaners
Joanne C.
5.0
01/12/2016
Great, professional, nice and did a great job.
Description of Work
Hung cabinet doors, planned dining room cupboard, fixed bathroom door
Category
handyman service, doors
Josh W.
5.0
12/03/2015
Everything went great. I've been in contact with Derrick over the past couple of years getting estimates on various projects. We were finally ready to go ahead with one of them so I emailed Derrick and he got back to me very quickly, and came over within a few days to confirm the estimate. A few days later he and one of his employees came over and did a great job installing insulation on the ceiling of a basement crawl space, as well as removing old caulk, cleaning mildew/mold, and re-applying caulk. They left no mess and everything looks great. I will definitely use them again for future projects (large and small).
Description of Work
Installed insulation in crawl space and cleaned/re-caulked part of a tub.
Category
electrician, handyman service, insulation
Jesus R.
5.0
11/16/2015
Everything went perfect. They did the repairs and clean everything. Really happy
Description of Work
Fix the drywall in the ceiling.
Category
handyman service
Mark D.
5.0
10/15/2015
We had some lighting fixtures which I had installed about 20 years ago, which needed to be updated, and I found some beautiful lights which I purchased but needed help or someone else to install. So I called Derrick of One Stop who had done some work for us previously, and he came over to see what was involved and to give us an estimate of when he could do the work. I was anxious to get the lights up before daylight savings time turned on me, and Derrick told me he could do the work within the week, which we scheduled. He showed up on time ( wish I could say that for myself ) and the two workman were able to turn the job around in under two hours. All the old fixtures were removed and everything was cleaned up nicely, and the lights look and worked fabulously. Everything went according to plan, and I was glad to be able to count on One Stop Home Repairs - again. Thanks.
Description of Work
I purchased 3 outdoor lights fixtures which I needed help with installing so I called One Stop to see if they could take this job off of my hands. And of course they could and they did.
Category
electrician, handyman service, lighting
Mark D.
5.0
08/18/2015
Derrick came out on both occasions to provide estimates and we felt comfortable with his professionalism and estimates to give the company one job and then it was a no brain-er for us when considering the work we needed done to hire One-Stop again after the first job On both jobs the areas of the house were cleaned up after the work was done, the boxes and any extra wrapping or materials from the job were always cleaned up, and put where we requested them. In other words he did what he was asked to, and left the house in great shape. In our case my wife and I had picked out and purchased all of the parts and cabinets because we knew what we wanted and One Stop did not have a problem with us purchasing the materials which they installed. All in all both experiences were very positive and we will be using One Stop again when the opportunity presents itself. I always felt bad that I procrastinated with this review, my fault - but I wanted people to know that this is a contractor that does what you want and I am happy to recommend them to another member. Mark D
Description of Work
I have used One Stop on two occasions, once to install a light/ceiling fan in our bathroom, as well as a medicine cabinet and a large wall mount vanity mirror. The previous job was similar handyman work that I could not perform myself because the jobs were too big for me to handle by myself.
Category
countertops, electrician, handyman service, lighting, ceiling fans
Ailene Q.
5.0
08/04/2015
They were so punctual that they were always waiting on me or the cabinet company rather than the other way around. All four projects we have done with One Stop Home Repair have gone smoothly and have been executed beautifully.
Description of Work
Demolished entire kitchen and took out siding and tile, put in new tile and drywall and sound barrier. Rewired electrical and reconfigured plumbing, installed lighting in fixtures and painted. We had a cabinet company design and install the cabinets and One Stop Home Repair did the rest. They even removed an ugly sculptural railing and built a beautiful new oak one in its place.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing
Melodie M.
1.0
07/03/2015
It didn't go at all. The provider did not respond.
Description of Work
I contacted the provider with my problem and he contacted me with a date to come by. I sent an email to his address provided, accepting the date. He did not show up or call. I called later and left a message and did not get a response. So, the provider did nothing.
Category
handyman service
Davide H.
5.0
12/30/2014
One Stop did a great job. We didn't ask for new insulation, but when we did he was flexible and did it. Derrik also made great suggestions and his tiling looked great. Finish details were very good and he used good materials
Description of Work
Derrik remodeled our bathroom which as an untouched 1957 bathroom.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service, insulation, remodeling, home remodeling
Davide H.
4.0
10/30/2014
Came as promised. Did good job
Description of Work
Repaired rotten beam in porch ceiling
Category
drywall, handyman service
stella C.
5.0
07/25/2014
excellent, prompt response after we called him, showed up on time, completed the work exactly as he said he would.
Description of Work
replaced wooden stairs going down to the family room. replaced a door going out into the garage and regrouted a bathroom shower
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Alyssa I.
5.0
06/27/2014
He was reasonably priced, on time, and did a great job. We would definitely hire him again.
Description of Work
Derrick did plumbing and carpentry work for us.
Category
contractors, plumbing
Angela C.
5.0
06/23/2014
Outstanding work. Very pleasant. Will call them again to complete more work for me.
Description of Work
Stabilized deck stairs
Category
handyman service

Phone

Address

721 Platt St.

Bridgeport., CT 06606

Other Information

Services offered

Plumbing, electrical, painting, carpentry, roofing, windows, doors, masonry, shelf installation, ceiling fans & handyman

Payment options

Check
PayPal

FAQ

One Stop Home Repairs is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

One Stop Home Repairs is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

One Stop Home Repairs accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

Yes, One Stop Home Repairs offers free project estimates.

Yes, One Stop Home Repairs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, One Stop Home Repairs does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, One Stop Home Repairs offers emergency services.

Yes, One Stop Home Repairs offers warranties.

One Stop Home Repairs offers the following services: Plumbing, electrical, painting, carpentry, roofing, windows, doors, masonry, shelf installation, ceiling fans & handyman

Other Local Pros In Your Area

JimmyG Woodworks LLC

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

JimmyG Woodworks LLC

 

We're a very well established business with over 30 years of unmatched expertise. Customer preference and priorities are always first. We're very timely with our work and never lose attention to detail. We bring decades of experience to each of our masonry and construction projects. We are fully insured and licensed and offer high quality craftsmanship at reasonable rates. We will treat your home as if it is our own and make sure we leave you 100% satisfied with the finished project. We cater to any type of masonry construction, masonry repairs & restorations, asphalt paving new & repairs, chimney, fireplaces, fire-pits, retaining walls, brick, block, concrete, pavers, all natural stones, cultured stone, tile work, asphalt services, and landscaping work for residential and commercial property owners. We are capable of handling projects of all sizes and scope. You can contact us today for a no cost estimate and consultation. We look forward to hearing from you!  

JCN COMPUTER CONSULTANTS

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

JCN COMPUTER CONSULTANTS

Computer hardware and networks can be complicated when fixing, integrating new things or buying a new system, this is where we step in. We can advise you on exactly what you need, we can resolve your technical problems or fix and upgrade older systems. Since 1998 we have been there for many businesses and home users. Give us a call today and we will provide honest, techno-babble free solutions at an affordable price.