Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2007

3.7

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

667 Boston Turnpike P.O. Box 9216

Bolton, CT 06043

Description

Amazing Hardwood Floors LLC was started in 2003. Our showroom is located in the Notch Plaza in Bolton, next to England's True Value. We currently have 15 quality full time employees with all specialized job skills. Our honed procedures keep our pricing competitive and our quality unbeatable....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/13/2017


Cynthia H.

Work was done very well, looks great. They completed the work ahead of schedule. The workers were very professional and considerate. The sales person did a nice job previewing what to expect and worked with me to help reduce costs without sacrificing the look and quality.

Description of Work
New hardwood floors throughout living and dining areas, plus entry way. New LVT flooring (Luxury Vinyl Tile) in kitchen, bathrooms, and office.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

3.0

06/11/2015


jon D.

Description of Work
I would not recommend this company for anything other than the simplest of jobs. They admitted they rushed through the job even though it was a time frame they gave and then used that as an excuse for the problems. They leveled holes in the wood floor with cardboard, face nailed every board (didn't even hit the joists so all their nails did nothing), got stain 1 foot up the wall replaced damaged boards with a different kind of wood, used wood purchased for another job and still charged me 600 sqft of replacement boards when nowhere near than amount was used, sanded the floor so low they couldn't even repair all their mistakes, left garbage all over my house, and stole my equipment. Overall terrible experience.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

2.0

05/20/2013


Sam and Mariah R.

Terrible. The installation of the wood was definitely the best part and the reason that they get a and quot;Dand quot; rather than an and quot;Fand quot; overall, but the rest was terrible. The refinishing was bubbly and had to be completely redone. Then once it was redone, the worker walked across the wet floor with shoes on... So it had to be redone again. This time they said they could just refinish those spots where the shoe prints were since it had been done in the last 24 hours, but the next day it looked like someone had made stepping stones across our floor because they used a different finish (semi-gloss rather than the satin we had selected). So it had to be redone again. To make matters worse, they were incredibly careless (and even reckless with our home). By the time Amazing Hardwood Floors was finished, there were hundreds (yes, we counted as we patched and painted) of dings and gouges in the freshly painted walls; Amazing had agreed to cut the wood pieces in the garage, but instead cut the wood in the rooms - and let it go flying. Some incidental damage to the walls can be expected during this type of project, but this was excessive. On top of the damage to the walls, one of the workers was drinking grape soda (yes, grape soda) in our master bedroom while working and spilled it on our freshly painted white walls as well as on our bluestone fireplace hearth. Magic eraser (yes, they didn't clean it off - we did) worked great on the walls but the hearth needed some serious attention. After we asked Amazing to clean the hearth - they went out and bought and quot;Goof offand quot; to clean it themselves. It didn't clean the soda, and instead discolored a swath of the hearth. We did a few seconds of research from people who specialize in stone, and learned that that was one of the worst things they could have used. We had to spend hours cleaning the grape soda off using the proper cleaning products for the stone. Amazing had tried to fill in the space between the hearth and the wood floor with a putty, but then realized it was not working well, so they removed the bulk of it. But all along the edge of the stone, putty remained stuck. We spent hours cleaning the wood putty off of the edge with an exacto knife. The initial request was to scribe the wood and cut it to fit, the space. Instead, we have a gap between the hearth and the wood floor - not horrible, but not what was promised. The whole project took much much longer than anticipated (due to the repeated 'fixes' and repairs) and was an overall disaster. In the end, the wood installation was good, and we were able to insist that they eventually finish it properly. It took a lot of back and forth, time, and frustration. We did end up requesting and receiving a small discount on the initial quote for the work after all of the troubles we went through, though that took some negotiating. We would never recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Install and finish hardwood floors throughout downstairs and master bedroom/closet/office upstairs. Refinish existing hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Amazing Hardwood Floors has been in business for over 10 years and we have completed thousands of jobs. During this time, our company culture has always been one that promotes quality first. A flooring project in your home can be a source of major stress. From the moment you make your first phone call, our goal is to eliminate - as much as possible – stress, by educating you about your product options, walking you through our procedures, and providing a mandatory quality control check for each and every one of our jobs. We do not want you to spend a dime, unless you are getting exactly what you want. Our job does not end when we collect a final payment; we stand behind our work and our products. We readily and happily field questions from customers from jobs completed many years prior. It pains us, therefore, to hear that we did not deliver on our goals in your instance. Our mandatory quality control checks indicate a customer satisfaction rate in the 99 percentile. A statistical outlier is not just another number on a sheet to us, however. We care very deeply about the interpersonal relationships that develop as a result of our business and we do everything we can to make things right. It is very sad for us, that we could not do so for you in your case. However, we thank you for spending the time to write this review. Every single day at Amazing we strive to become better, and drive that customer satisfaction rate to 100 percent. Negative reviews can sometimes be the driving force to make the changes happen. Since the completion of your job, we have rounded out a flooring 'dream team' whose combined experience gives them the wherewithal to handle any situation flawlessly. We have also added quality-based incentives for each job that they perform. Our 4 crews are professional and friendly, yet hardworking and extremely detail oriented - giving us great pride to have them as part of the Amazing Team.
5.0

04/15/2013


David G.

They quoted $1200 for the job. They were professional, thorough and punctual.

Description of Work
I received an estimate from Amazing Hardwood Floors.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

03/19/2013


Karen M.

They were to start November 1st, with the possibility of it being a 1-2 day project. We had to remove all of our furniture and appliances into the garage. They started a week late because of delays in another job. When the job was complete they had used 2 different finishes on the floor so you could see a stripe across the entire floor as well as pooling and puddle marks. They also sanded the floor so it was uneven. They returned once to correct the problem but it was still striped and uneven floor. Finally the owner came out to the house to see the problems and he offered to have someone come out again in a week to correct the problems and he would oversee the work. By this time it was the week before Thanksgivings, we told him he would have to wait to correct the problem with the holidays coming and our entire kitchen, living room, dining room, and family room in the garage. We agreed to call him in the spring however by then we were finished with Amazing floors and were not going to pull our home apart again. We did not pay the balance of the contract. Til this day as I sit writing this review I can look across the floor and see the stripes and the unevenness as the light hits it.

Description of Work
Amazing Floor's was contracted to refinish our hardwood floors on the main floor of our house. Which included sanding and applying a new finish.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

12/03/2012


Daniel D.

I've used Amazing Hardwood in the past on my own house, in addition to the time that I am reviewing now. Their prices seem to be competitive and their quality is very good. Being that they are one of the larger hardwood flooring companies in central CT, they are able to usually schedule out the work very quickly, where as with some of the smaller companies they need to book you further out. Their workers seem to be friendly and knowledgeable and if you bring up any of the concerns you might have, they will try to satisfy you to make sure it is done to the level of quality that you desire. Sales team is friendly and easy-going and will generally work with me on a price. The office team did a follow-up call several weeks after the work was done to see if I was happy. That was nice, but I think it should have been done in the week prior to completion of the job. As far as quality and craftsmanship, they do a very good job. They were able to match up a new installation that abutted an existing floor with no problem. I have heard critiques from other contractors that Amazing Hardwood has become so big that they have lost the personal touch they started out with. However, I have yet to experience that and would surely recommend them for your hardwood flooring installation/refinishing job.

Description of Work
Amazing Hardwood refinished all the flooring in a raised ranch that I had purchased. They refinished 3 bedrooms with closets, hallway with closet, and living room. They also installed new matching hardwood in the kitchen and dining room.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/05/2012


Noga S.

They did a great job removing all the stains and scratches. The floors came out like new without needing to replace any boards. We got the finish we wanted at the price we could afford, thanks to some brainstorming and their suggestion to do three coats of emulsion. It turned out great.

Description of Work
Refinished all hardwood floors in 2-story home.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

3.0

10/06/2008


Elaine B.

We chose Amazing Hardwood Floors because we received a good estimate and presentation. We were told that they would match any other offer. We told them we had an offer for well below their price, but they came down only $100. We agreed to this. There was very poor communication between the company and us after we hired them. No confirmation of receipt of our deposit or confirmation of start date and time. We had to assume that what was agreed upon was still in effect. We had to call the first day of service and were told serviceman could not be at the house until 5:00 or 6:00 p.m. Arrival to start job was 7:00 p.m. No response from office to my phone call asking if this job would now take longer than agreed. Basically the same happened the following 2 days of service. We had to call to find out the schedule. A threshold was needed and we spoke to the servicemen about this, but it was never done. We then had to call again to request it and the cost would be $30.00. It was installed, but we had to apply the stain. After our complaints the owner phoned us and removed the cost of the threshold. All in all it was a very frustrating experience.

Description of Work
Living room was sanded and refinished with polyurethane.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/26/2007


JESSICA L.

I found the company in a newspaper advertisement. Four months after the floor had been laid, the humidity set in and caused the laminate to start bubbling. Also, the stairway with the real wood shrunk. I contacted the company about the issues. They came out immediately to fix the problems. I was so pleased with their follow-up and willingness to do it without hesitation. The cost is for the labor only.

Description of Work
I had a laminate flooring installed in my family room. On the stair steps, I have real oak wood flooring and they were able to match and stain a small area to make the transition workable. To save money, I opted to remove the old carpeting myself. Therefore, no preparation was required on the company's part.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Poitras Remodeling LLC.

    We do all types of flooring, painting, power washing, landscaping, snow removal and etc. we do it all at an affordable price.  

    BHI Tile

    We are here to provide you with professional and satisfying services such as : new tile installations, kitchen backsplash,repairs, re-grouting, tub re-caulking, mildew control, and cleaning. If you live in Connecticut and have a shower leak or problems with the grout and caulk joints of your tile make sure you schedule your free inspection by contacting us today. Additional address - PO Box 6005 Wolcott, CT 06716. Cost is determined by the job.  

    TLC Floor Center LLC

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We offer all types of flooring installation, refinishing and repair services including incidentals like moving and demo. Some of our jobs include wood flooring refinishing and repair, installation of engineered and raw wood, carpet installation, tile installation, vinyl installation, laminate and other types of flooring and repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC

    How is AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC overall rated?

    AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC open?

    AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC provide

    AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC?

    Yes, AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offers warranties.

    What services does AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offer?

    AMAZING HARDWOOD FLOORS LLC offers the following services: We offer all types of flooring installation, refinishing and repair services including incidentals like moving and demo. Some of our jobs include wood flooring refinishing and repair, installation of engineered and raw wood, carpet installation, tile installation, vinyl installation, laminate and other types of flooring and repairs.