Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apple Hill Construction LLC

Founded 2000 • With Angi since May 2010

4.8

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 206

Beacon Falls, CT 06403

Description

We offer complete interior and exterior Painting Services for your home. Serving the area for 25 years. Visit our website for some examples of our quality work, and great discounts too! We offer a full range of Painting services, from expert interior and exterior painting and prep, even many common Punchlist Services for buyers and sellers. Let us take the stress out of your next painting or improvement project with our professional approach....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/06/2017


Jane G.

Dan suggested new drywall, painting, and the addition of shelving and a closet rod. It was a great plan. Now instead of a large negative space we have a well organized, clean and bright linen closet. Dan has helped us several times to make great improvements in the house. He and his team do wonderful work and are great people. We were so pleased with their work that last year that we did not feel the need to get other bids this time. You will also get a repeat customer discount for subsequent jobs.

Description of Work
In the ongoing work in our old house, we wanted to upgrade a large but nonfunctional closet on the second floor that was in very poor condition. Since Dan had done a great job on a larger remodeling project last year, I called him again for this one.

Category remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

03/21/2016


Katie F.

Dan's work is fantastic. While his work on the crown moulding, trim, and other various things he did was wonderful (truly wonderful), I was extremely impressed with his paint work. I had deep, brick red accent wall and was going to a light tan. You cannot tell there was every any red in that room. There were no drops on the floor and not even a slight missed brush stroke along the trim. He also painted the bathroom ceiling he replaced and it looks great! I would recommend him to anyone and everyone for any job, big or small, you may have. Whenever I have any work, I will only have one number to call from now on!

Description of Work
Replaced a cracked ceiling, replaced a bathroom light/fan, crown moulding, trim, fixed a poorly taped ceiling, replaced door casings (3), replaced doorknobs & installed deadbolts, and painted a living room, doors, & ceilings.

Category drywall, lighting, locksmith, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters, doors

5.0

02/04/2016


Jane G.

Description of Work
Reconfigured some rooms as I wanted. I can't say enough good about Dan. He is incredibly talented and enthusiastic; he came up with good ideas for this project. His work is excellent; he is very neat, and he is a pleasure to have in the house. He also has a great plumber and electrician working with him.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling

2.0

12/28/2015


Kim H.

Since I had not heard from Dan, I reached out again and left a voice mail. I wrote an email as well. Then in a voice message said that they were busy and it the work is not something that they could get to any time soon. He recommended that I find a new contractor for the job. I would not give him an "F" since he did get back with me, but it just took him quite a while. It was disappointing that I was referred elsewhere, but he was very polite.

Description of Work
I researched Apple Hill Construction LLC through Angie's List in looking for contractors with an A or better rating. I reached out to him via the message area of Angie’s List and Dan, the owner, said that he would get back with me via email after the Thanksgiving holiday.

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We made three attempts to speak with this member, and feel we were very prompt and responsive in our effort. In her initial voicemail, she said that she'd reached out to several providers on Angie's List. We believe she has confused us with another company she'd been speaking with. This member contacted us by email two days before Thanksgiving. Her email indicated she needed a contractor to complete a job that her previous contractor had begun but left unfinished. Apparently she wanted to re-open an insurance claim she'd filed for water leaks at her home, and was trying to find a new contractor to negotiate with the insurance claims adjustor for a higher payout than she'd previously settled for. She stated that a previous contractor had removed damaged floor and ceilings before stopping work. Member also stated that she needed work to begin ASAP. She provided her work phone number and asked us to call to discuss. I replied to her initial email the next day, and said I'd be out of town until Monday of the following week but would call then to discuss with her. I left two voicemails the following week for this member. Unfortunately I was not available when she returned my first phone call. She did not respond to my second or third phone calls and voicemails. I called a third time one week later and got her voicemail again. In my final message, I said that since the late Fall is a very busy season for our company and since we could not seem to connect to discuss her project; I suggested she try to locate another contractor who might be less busy and could get started on her job as quickly as she'd like. Dan Delafield- Owner Apple Hill Construction

5.0

12/21/2015


Dennis F.

Overall work was excellent. Beautiful job by the carpenter Jeff Adams. I believe he is a master carpenter. Could not ask for a better job. Dan Delafield owner of Apple Hill Construction was good to work with, stayed within quoted estimate. Dan worked with me on problems that arose in the planning stage very professionally. The town building inspector was impressed with quality of the job, and commented on it. We would recommend this company.

Description of Work
Remove old deck, dig new footings, build 12 X 20 new deck and stairs.

Category concrete repair, decks, woodworking

5.0

11/14/2015


Joel C.

Excellent in every way!! Dan listened to your ideas and essentially incorporated them into the finished product. His suggestions as to how to achieve what we wanted were invaluable, perceptive and on point. A couple months have gone by and we are still thrilled with the outcome. Thank you Dan!

Description of Work
Repaired our screened-in porch, replaced our back door rescreened the porch, replaced a rotted piece of flooring and painted the flooring and supports. In addition, repainted the steps leading up to the porch

Category contractors, screen repair, deck cleaning, woodworking, house painters, doors

5.0

11/03/2015


Katie F.

Description of Work
Dan replaced a basement window that had been leaking. He was incredibly knowledgeable and professional. We're already having him estimate more work around the place!

Category remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

10/05/2015


Terry M.

I was extremely happy with the work that Dan and his team did to my home. They incorporated my ideas for the new deck and Dan also had several very good ideas that I had not thought of. The finished product was even better than I had imagined. They were very communicative about the details - I was always kept well informed about the schedule and all aspects of the project as it went along. Dan's team was very skilled, polite and worked hard to make sure the job came out just as I wanted it. We also had several rooms painted in the house and there were many wall repairs. They did an excellent job with the repairs - the paint job is just beautiful. They showed up when they said they would, and everything was done in a timely manner. They were very neat and they cleaned up at the end of every day. I had a few estimates from other contractors - Dan stood out to me because he took the time to explain my options and how to get everything done with the budget that I was dealing with. My next project is to have my basement finished, and I will definitely be calling Apple Hill Construction. After seeing how beautiful my new deck turned out, I cannot wait to see how Dan will transform my basement.

Description of Work
Painted several rooms inside the house, built a new deck and re-screened our screen room.

Category decks, remodeling, screen repair, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

08/27/2015


Jeremy Scott A.

Dan provided me with two options for a full custom job replacing these features that were water damaged. ?His crew showed up on time and did a good job in about the hottest week of the year.? Dan spent a lot of time with me before we even got to an agreement, taking my requirements and explaining the considerations. ?He was clear about what he could do and what he was not so sure of. ?His guys got everything done and my only quibble was a little bit of white paint on my black fence rails. ?The job looks beautiful and it is a full custom job that matches the exterior of a high end house very nicely. ?I got out there with a razor blade and the paint issue is resolved as well. ?I definitely recommend Apple Hill based on my experience and will call them back if I need similar work done in the future.

Description of Work
Custom built 4 architectural column wraps

Category water damage restoration, woodworking, house painters

5.0

11/24/2014


Ann A.

I cannot say enough about the wonderful service I received from Dan Delafield and his team. From the first telephone call through the entire process, Apple Hill was prompt, professional, and did outstanding work. Dan clearly knows what he is talking about and was able to guide us to make the appropriate choices for the work he was doing. He alerted us to problems and went above and beyond to ensure the work was completed in a timely manner and to his exacting standards. And unless we made changes or added projects, his contract price was the price we paid - absolutely no surprises. We have worked with a lot of contractors over the years, but none of them have come close to Dan and his team. We are taking a break now, but Dan will be back to help us with future projects, including bathroom and flooring renovations. We can't imagine using anyone else. And if A+ was a rating, that's what Apple Hill Construction would receive.

Description of Work
Almost the entire interior of the house was painted, including trim, doors and kitchen cabinets. An exterior French door was replaced, basement stairs were removed and replaced, and a room in the basement was finished. There were also a lot of smaller items repaired/replaced.

Category woodworking, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

2.0

07/30/2014


Margaret K.

Category remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

This member contacted us by phone in early December 2013. I spoke to her at length to determine the nature of her project. After a few attempts to get a clear explanation of her project, this member told me that she needed a contractor to complete a project that her previous contractor had started but had left only half finished. Apparently her previous contractor had framed the opening for a set of french doors; but had improperly framed the height of the opening about one inch too short. She explained that she would need us to cut the top and/or bottom of the new french doors to accommodate the improperly framed opening. At that point I told her that we do not take on projects that another contractor has started and left unfinished due to the kind of poor workmanship explained above. I also explained that cutting the doors should be done by the door manufacturer, and that if we were to cut the doors it would void her warranty. This member then explained that she was having a hard time finding any contractors who were willing to complete the project for the same reasons I'd explained to her. She asked again if I'd at least come out and look at the job and possibly reconsider finishing the project. I again explained that we would not be willing to take on such a project due to the liability for us, but told her to try to find another contractor or possibly a handyman who might be willing to take such a risk. We never scheduled an appointment or estimate, so I'd assumed the member had found a contractor for her project last year. I simply don't understand this member's negative review and lack of any stated complaint. I contacted Angie's List to find out if such a review was common or if our company had any options to have it removed or properly explained by the member. Angie's List explained that since member reviews are essentially a member's forum, they don't require the member to offer additional details or explanation; and the member's letter grade is considered to be a complete review. Dan Delafield- Owner Apple Hill Construction

5.0

01/20/2014


Ronald H.

All work done as promised. Beautiful job. Dan is a polite, creative, detail-dedicated professional. His helpers are always courteous and capable.

Description of Work
Enclosed alcove to enlarge a room; built new wall.

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

11/18/2013


Linda D.

We are extremely happy with the work that was performed. Our contractor, Dan, was very conscientious about the quality of the work performed. The unexpected challenges that were encountered in the course of the project were handled professionally and methodically with an excellent outcome. Dan, and his team worked diligently to complete the project within the contracted time frame. Dan took the time to explain all facets of the project and the work that needed to be performed. He was very organized and neat and made sure everything was put back in order at the end of each day. We would not hesitate to hire Apple Hill Construction again, and would highly recommend the services of this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

10/21/2013


Susan E.

We had some weather problems that delayed the work, so the project was not completed as soon as we had liked. However, once the work was completed, we were happy with the work.

Description of Work
I hired this company for both power washing and painting.

Category pressure washing, house painters

1.0

06/19/2013


Donna G.

Never gave me an estimate or returned my two phone calls after he showed up so I could get an estimate!

Description of Work
Never provided an estimate or returned my two phone calls.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We make a great effort to achieve complete customer satisfaction. Occasionally, a customer simply can't provide us with the basic information we need to provide them with an accurate estimate. This member had called about an estimate for a kitchen remodel, and decided to purchase the materials on her own and requested a price for installation only. Unfortunately, she had not chosen a line of cabinets or sizes and style, new flooring choice etc.. that we could work from to calculate an overall installation price. I spent an hour or so at her home discussing all the options, and explained to her that we needed firm information regarding these choices before we could provide an accurate price. The customer said that she would continue looking and get back to us when she had chosen the various materials/products she would like to use. It's possible that this customer called again at some point after I'd been to her estimate, and just didn't leave a message, as we never got a voicemail. We're very sorry for any misunderstanding.

5.0

06/11/2013


Ronald H.

Dan and his crew were punctual, professional and committed to a quality end-result. The work is beautiful and rock-solid. Issues with the original design and the town building-inspector were quickly and easily resolved. The deck is far more beautiful than we originally envisioned, and Dan's commitment to quality is unsurpassed. I can't say enough about Dan's professionalism and good humor. It was a pleasure to work with him, and we would not hesitate to use him again. In fact, we're already talking to him about another project.

Description of Work
Designed and constructed a beautiful 16'x32' cedar-wood deck with a graceful, curved leading edge.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking

4.0

04/16/2013


Matt K.

He was very detailed oriented, noticed things the other builder missed. Unfortunately he was about $7K over budget. Will def try using them for the kitchen remodel next yr.

Description of Work
Dan came over for just the estimate of our small bath.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/04/2013


Alan P.

I contacted Dan at Apple Hill rather late in the season at the beginning of October regarding exterior painting. Dan and his painting chief Pete were prompt in their response and stopped by to survey the job. The house itself is over 100 years old, and while there has been a lot of work inside, the same can't be said for the outside. Paint was peeling in many locations and the previous owner had chosen a rather unattractive yellow. Dan and Pete went over the house, and they were quick to point out that, while the paint job itself wouldn't be difficult, getting the house in shape to accept the paint job was another issue, especially on the south side of the house. Dan pointed out many locations where the clapboards were cracked or broken completely, and even pointed out that the clapboards were staggered differently on opposite sides of the kitchen door on the south side. Moving on from the exterior inspection, Dan examined every window in the house to check that the sills and trim were in good shape, and determined that many of the sills were rotted. We even discovered that one window (attic level) had never even been properly trimmed at all. Dan was able to get a quote to me quickly, and we moved ahead. Given the season, we had to work around weather so it took a little over a month for all the pieces to come together. However, Dan and his crews were always on location and on time when they said they would be (excepting unexpected weather delays) and careful and clean. When all was said and done, the work and the repairs came together quite nicely. Even beyond the improvement from painting, the exterior repairs and improvements to the windows make the house so much more pleasant to come home to and to show off. In the end, I think the most important thing was that Dan (and Pete) noticed and pointed out so much more than any other contractor I talked to. It still amazes me that so many others came by and quoted prices without ever commenting on the fact that the paint job they were willing to do would have simply covered over problems. Apple Hill took the time to fix the problems before putting the finishing touches on top.

Description of Work
Exterior remodeling - complete replacement of exterior clapboards on first floor, south side of house; also replacement of damaged clapboards on other sides of house Window repair - replacement of rotted window sills and trim boards on ground floor, second story, and attic level; caulking of all windows and door trim Pressure wash and paint exterior; paint and rehang window shutters, first and second story.

Category remodeling, siding, replacement windows, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

09/04/2012


Lisa H.

My husband and I bought a house and it needed a lot of improvements. We really wanted a nice deck but had a tight budget. We got a good feeling when the owner came out to give us the estimate. Their price was a little more than one of the other estimates we got, but the other companies only sent a salesman! We had a few ideas in mind. Dan offered some suggestions and answered all of our questions. We got a very unique deck and a beautiful new backsplash without going over budget.The whole crew was very courteous and professional. They kept the job site picked up each night and cleaned up well at the end. They uncovered a few rotten boards in the wall since the original windows had been leaking. They explained the additional cost to fix it very clearly and corrected everything.We liked that Dan was involved throughout the job and he explained all the steps involved as the work was happening, Their work is excellent. We will hiring them again next year when we are ready to finish our basement.

Description of Work
We needed to have 4 windows replaced and added french doors to the deck. We had a ceramic tile backsplash installed in the kitchen.Interior painting was done in the bathroom, kitchen, living room, foyer and hall.Build new pressure treated deck 12x16 two levels with herringbone design in the decking.

Category ceramic tile, decks, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

08/20/2012


Susan Z.

Arrived on promised date, completed a day late because of weekends. Is there at times promised. Every project came out neat and clean and look & works. Thrilled!

Description of Work
Completed 2 Bathroom walk-in shower installations, install app. plumbing, mirror installation. Installed awnings he had to fashion himself to fit installation. Complete re-do of walk-in closet (came out beautiful), Very specific in explaination of what he will be doing. Very specific contract with start n complete dates. Cleans up after installations. Took care of co-ordination of plumber for parts of installation. Will advise if permits needed. Very considerate with noise level and your schedules. Very polite.

Category decks, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

5.0

05/17/2012


Nancy B.

I trust him with all my projects. He always does things right. If he sees something wrong, he will let you know that you should replace it. He shows up when he says he is going to be here, very clean and neat, and he is very thorough.

Description of Work
He repaired a window that had water leaks. He repaired the framing around it. He had to sand, cork, and paint it. He has also put in a floor for me in November of 2009.

Category flooring contractor, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters

5.0

05/07/2012


Carlena G.

He cleans up after himself and very efficient. He is prompt with his timing of when he’ll be here to work. I will be hiring him again soon to do more work for me in another room. He is also very polite guy to be around. He was good a communicating his whereabouts and if he was going to be late.

Description of Work
He remodeled my whole kitchen (including cabinets, coutertop installation, sink, walls, put in an island, etc), put in laminated floors in livinroom, put in ceiling fan, put in trim around my windows, sheetrock, some electrical plugs, installed A/C unit in wall, interior painter.

Category flooring contractor, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Star Painters, LLC

    Star Painters LLC is a Painting service company in operation since 2005 in the Connecticut. Our areas of expertise is interior and exterior painting. When you work with Star Painters Contractors, you can trust that the job will be done right, the first time, every time. You will see the same crew and foreman throughout the project, and they’ll know your specifications start to finish. The job is not complete until you the customer are completely satisfied. Our crews are friendly, prompt and reliable. Our professional work will take years off the age of your home or business.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Star Painters, LLC on Angi
    BiPro

    We are a general contracting company, with over 15 years of combined work experience. Here to help you with any remodeling project you may have such as a kitchen, bathroom, other rooms.  

    DC Painting

    We are a professional painting contractor specializing in interior and exterior painting, powerwashing and deck staining. Our company has over 35 years experience with professional references. Our work is always high quality with the utmost in professionalism. We strive to create a unique business-customer relationship always attentive to the customers needs and schedules. We always offer senior citizen, law enforcement, fire fighter, military and all medical personnel discounts. Licensed, insured and bonded.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting, Decks, General Repairs, Siding - wood and vinyl, Finished Basements, Windows and Doors, Kitchens, Bathrooms, Barns- painted, repaired, restored.

    Services Not Offered

    We're sorry, but we don't offer the following services: We do not offer free estimates for members seeking documentation for use in an insurance claim. We do not offer free estimates for multi-family homes or rental properties.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Apple Hill Construction LLC

    How is Apple Hill Construction LLC overall rated?

    Apple Hill Construction LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Apple Hill Construction LLC open?

    Apple Hill Construction LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Apple Hill Construction LLC provide

    Apple Hill Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Apple Hill Construction LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Apple Hill Construction LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Apple Hill Construction LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Apple Hill Construction LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Apple Hill Construction LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Apple Hill Construction LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Apple Hill Construction LLC?

    Yes, Apple Hill Construction LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Apple Hill Construction LLC offer?

    Apple Hill Construction LLC offers the following services: Painting, Decks, General Repairs, Siding - wood and vinyl, Finished Basements, Windows and Doors, Kitchens, Bathrooms, Barns- painted, repaired, restored.

    Are there any services Apple Hill Construction LLC does not offer?

    We're sorry, but we don't offer the following services: We do not offer free estimates for members seeking documentation for use in an insurance claim. We do not offer free estimates for multi-family homes or rental properties.