Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Schmidt Custom Floors Inc

Founded 1998 • With Angi since October 2008

4.8

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1264 S Grant Ave

Loveland, CO 80537

Description

Locally owned & operated. 14 employees.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/04/2016


Marc V.

We had purchased a home that has hickory floors that had been deeply scratched by two dogs and had been coated with Orange Glow. The two workers who did the refinishing were polite and professional. They used a sanding machine that sucked up most of the dust. When finished, they hand dusted the rooms that had been worked on. They were very careful not to damage the walls with the sanding machine. The project took four days. When they were done, we had brand new floors. We would highly recommend Schmidt Custom Floors for refinishing.

Description of Work
Refinish 1000 sq feet of hardwood floor

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/16/2015


Brian R.

The way our floors were installed made a crack between boards. Sent a person who explained everything he did as he fixed the 3 foot area. This repaired area is so well done, we cant tell it ever had a repaired.

Description of Work
Great job, finished ahead of schedule. Color is wonderful. Repaired a area cant tell it ever had a repair.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/11/2014


Ronald C.

Showed up on time, all work was done on time and very high quality. I would definitely hire them again

Description of Work
refinished 4 rooms with original 1956 oak floors including three closets. Also repaired several holes left from cable installation and built three thresholds.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

07/27/2014


Kristine F.

The floor looks great! We're happy with the outcome and would recommend Schmidt Custom Floors to anyone.

Description of Work
Installed a wood floor, removed old carpeting, laminate and tile.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/14/2014


Arthur B.

The purchase went very well. Salesman/part owner was very good, listened to our needs, and directed us to a carpet and pad that met both our need and budget. He was very pleasent to deal with. His installer was prompt, efficent and professional. Very good to deal with. Job was done one time and very well. One of his helpers had to leave before the install was complete which left him temporaly short handed. He immediately called another helper who was here within 30 minutes or so and the work was completed timely. The only confusion was with the transition pieces in the bedroom doors to bridge the area between the bedroom carpet and the laminate flooring in the hall. I had the transition material, which matched the hall flooring, on hand but forgot to mention it to to the carpet sales man so it was not covered by the instructions given the installer. I only discovered the omission when I went to check on their progress and found them using the old metal transitions pieces they pulled up when the removed the old carpet and pad. . I pointed out the problem and got the correct transiton mateial from the garage. The installer promptly and without question or hesditation pulled up the old transitions and neatly and professionally cut, fitted and installed the proper ones. I couldn't ask for more from him. I would have preferred that the company's owner/salesman mention the transitions at the time we purchased the carpet so it was covered in the installers instructions and the confusion would not have occured. This is the only glitch in our experience with Schmidt. I regard it as minor and will not hesitate to purchase from them again.

Description of Work
Sold and installed new carpet and pad in three bedrooms in our home. This included removing and taking away the old carpet and pad.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

05/19/2014


Marianne L.

Schmidt Custom Floors was very helpful (and patient) through a long process of trying to decide which style and color of carpet I liked best. I spent several hours in their show room, and they ordered several samples for me to look at in my home. Dave, the manager of the carpet showroom, made several good suggestions about which types of patterns work well in different settings. Jill, an Interior Designer, helped me coordinate carpet color with paint samples. The long deciding process was worth it, because the new carpet looks beautiful with the paint and wood trim in the house. The install process included removing and disposing of old carpet and pad, installing new pad and carpet over the entire 2nd floor (including inside closets), and recarpeting the stairwell. The work went smoothly and was finished in a day. I'm very happy with the new carpet.

Description of Work
Schmidt Custom Floors installed new carpet in my 2nd story and stairwell.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

01/20/2014


Cindy W.

Our call was returned. The estimator arrived on time, and was courteous and knowledgeable. He provided an estimate. We would have used them, but a company we had used before came with a lower estimate and we were very happy with their previous work. We would contact Schmidt again if the company we used were unavailable.

Description of Work
They came out and gave a thorough estimate for refinishing our wood floors.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/16/2013


William M.

Everything went as planned and promised. The job took two days. Brian and Corey came on day one to sand off the old finish and apply stain, which had to dry overnight. They were prompt, efficient, polite, pleasant and very professional. They came with some very impressive equipment and were obviously well trained in how to set up and use it. I was particularly impressed by the vacuum system that was attached to the commercial grade sanders they used. The result was an almost dustless job. The stain that was used had a solvent odor that lingered for a while but it was not overbearing. Fortunately, the job took place over two nice days so we were able to open windows and doors for cross ventilation. On day two Corey and Mark came back to put down the final finish coat. It went on in two applications, the first in the morning and the second about three hours later. It dried quickly and set up beautifully. About four hours after the second coat dried we were able to walk on the floor in sock feet. Our breakfast set can be put back in two to three days and our area rugs in a week. That's because the final coatings need time to continue to cure and harden. The floors were installed 16 years ago when the house was built. Over that time have taken a beating because our home has been the site of many family gatherings, not to mention the strain of normal traffic, wear and tear resulting from pets and kids in a busy kitchen that is pretty much the heart of the house. We selected a stain called Nutmeg, which is about three shades darker than no stain at all and has a slightly warm brown tone to it. It is by no means dark, so the beauty of the oak planking and all the variations in color and grain literally pop out at you. The sheen is satin, which makes far better sense for flooring than high gloss. The bottom line is I couldn't be happier about the outcome. This is a quality company that employs well trained professionals. I am elated with the results and would not hesitate to use them again. I highly recommend Schmidt's to anyone who needs wood floors refinished.

Description of Work
Refinished oak flooring in our kitchen and breakfast area.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/22/2013


stephen B.

We purchased a home 5 years ago. The hardwood floor was in poor condition, but we didn't re-finish until this year. I contacted 4 companies - 3 on Angie's list and one on a free list. The one on the free list and one of the others set appointments but never showed up. Schmidt responded fastest, the other was in about a week. That was ok since they both are very busy. Schmidt had a very professional person come to see what we wanted. The other company seemed to have a foreman type for whom the estimating was a chore rather than his main job. Schmidt gave an inclusive quote. I liked that because the other one had several options. I am not the knowledgeable one - I want to be quoted what I needed. I also liked that Schmidt always used the dustless sanding. Why would I want anything else? Why would a company make that an option? While Schmidt doesn't move furniture, they had a name of a company that does (which we used and they did a good job). The job was scheduled to meet my schedule and when they called to confirm a few days before the job was to start, they accommodated a day's delay with no problem. The crew showed up on time and answered every question we had regarding the timetable. They did an excellent job. One tricky thing was at the top of our stairs. I had installed a floor on the second floor, but was unsure how to tie the two floors together. They did a job that tied the two floors together seamlessly. I couldn't be happier. A day after the job was completed, Mr. Schmidt called me up to schedule a final inspection. He came by to make sure that we were happy with the job. Having been a contractor in a former life (35 years ago) , I was very impressed with Schmidt Custom Floors.

Description of Work
Sanded and re-finished hardwood floor and stairs. Connected top of stairs to upper floor with custom made piece

Category hardwood floor

4.0

08/29/2013


Debra C.

They were very professional; had very nice samples, but their estimate was much higher than we wanted.

Description of Work
provided estimate to lay pre-finished exotic hardwood flooring

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/05/2013


Stephen S.

The job went smoothly as expected.

Description of Work
Refinished our wood floors and installed new baseboards.

Category hardwood floor

3.0

07/17/2013


Kelli H.

They didn't do the work, because they never sent me a bid

Description of Work
They came out to my house to do a bid and never got me the price.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/14/2013


Marianne L.

The finished floor is beautiful. The job was challenging because the hardwood covers the entire first floor of the house, and a large area by the back entry needed to be replaced with new boards. With the work complete, the new boards blend in seamlessly with the old wood, and the new finish is even and uniform throughout. The office staff at Schmidt Custom Floors was helpful and responsive during the bidding process. Work started and completed on time. The floor technicians were skilled and professional. I felt confident throughout the entire process.

Description of Work
Schmidt Custom Floors repaired, sanded, and refinished a 15-year-old hardwood floor, including replacement of damaged boards in the back entryway.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

06/13/2013


Roger D.

We haven't followed through; we just haven't done anything. It was nothing that they did or didn’t do; we just haven't followed through on what we want to do. Our overall experience with them was fine.

Description of Work
Schmidt Custom Floors Inc gave us an estimate for a new carpet for our stairs. We were thinking about doing something with our stairs. They came and did some measurements. The stairs are carpeted; we needed a new carpet and we were trying to decide what to do with the stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/06/2013


Laura C.

Excellent in every way. They were extremely professional, arrived when they said they would, did what they said they would, and explained everything very well. I thought the floor might have to be replaced because it was in very bad shape but when Dave came to do the estimate he determined it could withstand one more sanding. They just finished it a couple of days ago and it looks GREAT - you'd never know it had been in such bad shape. It was so nice to have a reliable professional company to work with. I was also amazed that they were able to do the job with virtually NO sawdust and minimal smell from the stain and coating. They say they have a "Dust-free" process and it's really true. So no messy clean-up to worry about after they were done.

Description of Work
Sand, stain, and coat a heavily damaged hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

05/08/2013


Greg C.

They did excellent work. Always on time, very professional.... but I now think that they were too expensive. I got two estimates before starting. The other company was cheaper but unimpressive. So I knew that I would be paying Schmidt more money but would receive better service. Their service is exceptional, absolutely no complaints. I have since gone for a third estimate which was significantly less than Schmidt but I feel they could have done a comparable job. If quality is your only concern, pick Schmidt. If cost is a consideration, be sure to get other estimates to compare.

Description of Work
Repaired a section of oak wood floor. This process is referred to as "lacing".

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the positive review on our commitment to customer service. After speaking with you on the phone today it sounds like the difference in cost was the inclusion of our Commercial Finish and the Dust Containment Equipment. Those options are typically included in all of our remodel work but you can opt out of them to cut cost. Thanks again.
5.0

05/06/2013


Gary H.

Schmidt's Custom Flooring is an example of what ALL companies should be! When the gentleman came in to do the bid, he immediately disclosed the fact that his work would not be done by any subcontractors. He explained that his employee's received a living wage with benefits including health insurance, and were provided with the most recent and up-to-date instruction about the products and installation techniques that they use. His employees have been with him for years, helping him build his business. (This was confirmed by his employees as they worked.) He was very knowledgeable about the products needed for low or no VOC's, and in fact, used them to protect his staff. His suggestions for the work that needed to be done, gave us some advantages for pricing, and were exactly what we were looking for. On contacting them about winning the bid, they immediately gave us an appointment for completing the work within three weeks. They brought the wood over the next day to acclimate to the house. They showed up for the appointment at the designated time, and immediately began work. They found that even though the floor had been dried by the restoration company, there was still an area that was wet. They took steps to ensure that it would dry by removing more materials, and made changes to their schedule to accommodate the time needed to have the floor completely dry . They could have completed their work without making sure the floor was dry , but made sure it was done correctly. They came back to check on it's progress to make sure it was drying. When it was completely dry, they finished the work very professionally in a timely manner. The wood floor never looked so good...even when it was new, and the tile floor is amazing. The color match between the newly replaced wood and the old flooring is amazing! Not only does it look great, but the products didn't bother my wife AT ALL. They went out of their way to come over and do a simple touch up that showed up after they left. They showed us how to do it, and even gave us a product that made touch-ups simple. We are thrilled with their work, and would recommend them to anyone!

Description of Work
We had water damage in our utility room, dining room and kitchen floors. After having a restoration company come in to dry the damaged area, we called several other flooring companies for a bid, and chose Schmidt's Custom Flooring. They came to do the bid almost immediately, and fully explained the choices they could provide. They were extremely knowledgeable and very helpful in providing materials and products to accommodate my wife's extreme sensitivities to chemicals. Their bid included all aspects of the work they would do without any surprise expenses. They replaced damaged hardwood flooring, refinished the rest of the hardwood flooring, and installed tile in the laundry room. They were able to do the work in a timely fashion, and took the extra time to make sure it was done correctly.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor

5.0

03/21/2013


Lynnell R.

They did a very good, professional job. They were prompt and came when they said they would. I was very pleased with the work that they did. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They refinished my wood floors.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

11/27/2012


ann B.

The work took a little longer than estimated. Workers stayed late Thurs and Friday evenings in order to get everything done and ready to move back into for the weekend. Everyone was concientious and professional.

Description of Work
Schmidt Custom Flooring installed a sub floor over a concrete slab and then an oak wood floor over that. They also installed 3 stair treads and risers. Installation included a family room, laundry room and bathroom so specialty cutting of flooring was required to accomodate plumbing fixtures, a floor drain (under washer) and around a fire place hearth. Due to its being a high traffic area, they recomended their best finish. Everything looked perfect when the work was completed and after 1 1/2 years it still looks beautiful. We are very pleased with the work done and look forward to having another level of our home done to match in the future.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

11/04/2012


jody S.

My experience with Sc'midt's was great from the estimate to finished product. David was very help full when giving the initial estimate. He not only gave great ideas, he helped wth ideas to keep the cost down. The installation guys were wonderful. They not only were punctual, professional and very skilled, they had great personalities. The work took about 2 weeks, but they did their best to not inconvenience us too much. They floors look beautiful and you can't tell where the old floors and new floors begin. I highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
had hard wood floors installed throughout house. main floor. upstairs bedrooms (3) and hallway. Existing floors were sanded and refinished to match.. had new carpet installed on stairs

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words Member! I will let the guys know how much you appreciated their work! Take Care. Barry Schmidt
5.0

11/01/2012


christine B.

A superior customer service experience! The entire company works closely with the customer to ensure the customer is happy with the final results. Initially David helped me to understand my options, as I wasn't sure whether I needed a complete refinish (I was hoping to have the buff and coat.) After the 20-year-old carpeting was removed, David helped me to visualize the tradeoffs if I was not able to go with the refinish. I opted for the refinish work, which was done by Andrew and Keith, and I am very happy with that choice. Andrew and Keith were outstanding and meticulous. I am very pleased with the results they were able to achieve! Friends complement me on the way the floors turned out! This is not the cheapest quote you will get, but you will love this company's work!

Description of Work
--complete refinishing of existing hardwood floors in the living room, dining room, hallway and three bedrooms --removal of existing wall-to-wall carpeting

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks! We enjoyed working with you too. Glad you are happy with your new floors!
5.0

05/08/2012


joseph B.

It went very smooth I am very happy that Dave came out and gave me a very good estimate. thier workers did a wonderful job I would not hesitate to recomend them. they did a great job at a reasonable cost and I recieved a container of cleaner.

Description of Work
They sanded,stained and sealed my hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

03/21/2012


Dan D.

The installers were polite. They seemed to start out at a good pac but then began to rush the job. There was an area where the boards left a gap at the wall. The defect was pointed out to them but never addressed. They cracked and damaged multiple tiles on abutting floors. An attempt was made to reapir one of the damaged spots but they simply used white silicone caulk in place of adhesive. The finish that was applied was supposed to be "commercial" grade. It has not held up well over time. When the installers left we found a huge mess of sawdust on the back patio where they had been cutting the boards to size. I had to clean it up myself. It filled a 33 gallon trash can. Multiple attempts were made to contact the owner to get some resolution but each time we called the person answering the phone was not able to "get hold of the owner". Overall a terrible experience. I would NEVER use this company again.

Description of Work
The job was to be installation and polyurethane finish on hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

We have not been contacted by (member) since 12/2007. Approximately 1 month after the work was completed. According to our notes, he did express that he was not 100% happy, felt things were rushed and that he wasn't communicated with. At the time of his call 12/2007 he also stated that there wasn't anything he wanted us to come back and fix. We are very responsive to our clients and strive for a high satisfaction. We also, recommend having floors maintained every 3-7 years to prevent premature wear. We have also attempted to contact (member) since this review was posted.
5.0

02/09/2012


Joanne L.

I was originally going to have my hardwood floors cleaned and a coating put on. When this wasn't feasible, I was offered an alternative of refinishing that turned out beautifully.. Though I didn't shop around, I felt their price was good. The estimator was very professional and laid everything out for me. The finishers were very professional and arrived when they said they would. I am very happy with this company.

Description of Work
Hardwood floor refinishing (sanding, staining and two coatings of gloss).

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/20/2012


Gloria R.

We had put in wood floors on about half of our first floor and put in new wood flooring and refinished the other wood flooring to match. It was a beautiful job. They came with crews of people and were here for about a week. They do have a semi dustless system, but it was loud. The finish they put on was very fumy, more so than we expected and we had to stay out of the house for 5-6 nights and really should have stayed out another couple of nights. The finish is beautiful and everyone loves our floors.

Description of Work
Put in wood flooring and refinished some wood floors.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Revive Restoration

    Revie Restoration is a Colorado Proud company that provides 24/7 water damage cleanup, mitigation and rebuild of your property to its original contition. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and expertise. It is our mission to provide excellent workmanship from start to completion of every project. Our reputation is based on excellent service, safety, and quality, regardless of how large or small job. Call us today. We look forward to working with you!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    JBC Custom Flooring

    Independent craftsman with over 20 years experience and an artistic eye. Locally owned and operated. Friendly and personal service, professionalism, and highest of quality standards will make your project a great experience.  

    Angi Certified

    The Floor Daddy

    Passionate for the art of hardwood flooring! I take pride in every floor I do. I have been professional flooring for 3 years and decided its time to start my own venture into providing the best customer care in the flooring industry at a lower cost than my competitors. Specializing in hardwood, LVT and tile. Contact The Floor Daddy today for a free estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Prefinished and handscraped hardwood flooring installation and refinishing, dust-free sanding, carpet & sales, tile installation & sales.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Schmidt Custom Floors Inc

    How is Schmidt Custom Floors Inc overall rated?

    Schmidt Custom Floors Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Schmidt Custom Floors Inc open?

    Schmidt Custom Floors Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Schmidt Custom Floors Inc provide

    Schmidt Custom Floors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Schmidt Custom Floors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Schmidt Custom Floors Inc?

    Yes, Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offer?

    Schmidt Custom Floors Inc offers the following services: Prefinished and handscraped hardwood flooring installation and refinishing, dust-free sanding, carpet & sales, tile installation & sales.