Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Uncle Brian's Home Improvements

Founded 1981 • With Angi since February 2012

4.8

(165) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7598 County Road 5

Longmont, CO 80504

Description

Uncle Brian has 39 years of experience in the Home Improvement Industry and has completed thousands of jobs -leaving many customers not only satisfied, but feeling they received more than they were promised. Treating Clients as I would want to be treated is my philosophy in business and life in
Master Bathroom project
Master Bathroom

home remodeling

202080241

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/22/2020


Juli D.

We hired Uncle Brian for two master bathroom remodeling projects. They are both beautiful, functional, and within budget, despite my lofty ideas. He gave us great advice, helped us with decision making ,and created bathrooms that look like they're out of a home magazine, but without the price tag. He is absolutely the best contractor we've ever worked with. Brian and his crew do thorough, excellent work and they clean up after themselves. Brian is very responsive with communications. He is transparent, honest, extremely hard working, and will be the first person we call for our next remodeling project.

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Kind Review!! Uncle Brian's is here to help our Client's get the Kitchen or Bathroom they've been DREAMING about. We do that by Listening closely / Getting to know our customers and their preferences / Asking questions and Making suggestions. Many times my clients have an idea concerning their project - but don't know exactly what they want. That's when we shine - because, we can steer the client to concepts that have worked Best in the past! We definitely build 1 of a kind Kitchens/Bathrooms - but, I like to recycle/reuse the Best of the Remodeling ideas we've accumulated over the past 40+ years. Some of these include: 1) Large Medicine Cabinets that are "disguised" as Framed Mirrors with Integrated Outlets (inside) - this way hair dryers and electric toothbrushes can be plugged in while still - Out of Sight! 2) Hidden Shampoo Niches- so, Shampoo is in it's Place - But not showcased. That's 2 of the dozens of The Best of Uncle Brian's Remodeling Ideas. Someday soon - it'll be time to write a book - in the meantime, I'm still on the Hunt for the Best of the Best! Thanks Denver ! Uncle Brian
5.0

10/13/2020


Eric & Jill L.

Brian’s approach and professionalism, along with his down to earth demeanor, were a great fit for us. Our family actually calls him “Uncle Brian”. He’s done a full kitchen and bathroom remodel as well as finished our loft to create an office. He knows his stuff and shares ideas for quality but also to save money on the project. He and his crew took great care of our house. He is 100% trustworthy and we would highly recommend him, his crew and their work.

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your Kind Words! We've worked for this Lovely Family many times - so, their house is starting to feel like a Real Home! By that I mean, we've customized it to their Style and Liking. Believe it or Not - We've also worked for the neighbors - a number of times - so, this neighborhood in Thornton is becoming a regular stomping ground for Uncle Brian's Crew. We take our work seriously and want Happy Customers - after 41 years I've come to realize, it's not always possible - BUT, it is - 99% of the Time. So, that's our goal each day - Make 99% of our Customers Happy - Like this Great Family. Over 95% of our Customers say they'd hire us again! That's Good, But we're still working to Improve our Services and Reach our 99% Goal. We'll do Our Best 2 make your Family "fans" of Uncle Brian's Home Improvements too? Quick FYI Our customers put us in Categories where we don't really belong - this customer placed us in the cabinet making category - which is sweet - but, not really accurate, since we don't actually make cabinets - We just assemble RTA Cabinetry. This is only noteworthy because folks that don't know us - sometimes assume we don't want to work for them - when I mention we don't make cabinets. Some insist - you did for this previous customer. What can I say?? Being wanted is really nice - I'll leave it at that. Funny True Story - a customer was Late coming home and we were locked out for almost 45 minutes. We had ladders and guys that wanted to get to work - so, we cleaned the overflowing gutters. My customer was very grateful and you guessed it - put UBHI in the gutter cleaning category!! What can I say to the next customer that calls for a gutter cleaning?? You Gotta Love It! Happy Holidays - We Love you Denver! Uncle Brian
5.0

10/08/2020


Caryn F.

Brian and crew did a beautiful job. We were blessed to have them redo our kitchen

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Review! We worked for these nice folks a year ago - Time flies! We remodeled their Master Bathroom / Powder room and Kitchen. We4 also installed LVP flooring on the 1st Level and replaced their bifold closet doors (which were broken) and their Front Entry Door. They were a pleasure to work with/for because they treated us like family from Day 1. Mike and I hit it off quickly because we are both from the east coast and have alot in common. We look forward to getting back to their place for more Improvements - soon!
5.0

10/06/2020


Mike G.

It was great. Brian was always upfront and very honest. The pricing was straightforward and fair.

Description of Work
He put in a hot tub on my basement.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This nice fellow had an electrical problem when he called us recently. His wires were melting inside the wall on a dining room and kitchen circuit. He called an electrician who told him the "Fix" would cost $10k. He spoke to me (uncle Brian) about the issue and I suggested calling my Master electrician. Andy resolved the problem / replaced some bad wiring / installed new light fixtures with smart dimmers for about 25% of that original quote. We also patched the holes that were needed to replace the wires and strengthened the 4 sets of stairs that were falling apart. The builder didn't use any glue when building the stairs - Big Mistake! At the conclusion, we charged the client about 40% of his initial quote and did about twice the work. This customer was almost taken but a not so scrupulous company. Sometimes, I hear about the issue when it's too late - this time we arrived b4 that happened. We don't take advantage of our customers misfortune - we do what we can to get them up and running again - at a fair price. Uncle Brian
5.0

10/05/2020


Denise D.

It went exceptionally well. I have a very small kitchen in a very small condo and I did not want to change the footprint in an effort to keep costs down. I was provided renderings and was able to see what the end result would be. Just by installing the new cabinets, the granite countertops and new appliances made a world of difference. My kitchen went from awful to awesome. The guys cleaned up after themselves every day and although I wasn't able to use the kitchen briefly, they did install a temporary sink and countertop, which was most helpful. I was back in business in a very short period of time. There was no foul language, they were polite and courteous and I was glad to see them arrive every day.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category countertops, lighting, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the Kind Words! We enjoyed this Kitchen Remodel and I looked forward to seeing the progression each and every day. Here's a little of the Lowdown: We installed a Pro Series Gas Range in place of the Electric Clunker. [Member Name Removed] mentioned she was sorry she couldn't get a Gas Range - I said "Why not?" She said the plumber said it's not possible. I said - That's not true - it's just difficult, She said, "How much would it cost?" I said about $1K [Member Name Removed] said - "Then, Let's do it!" [Member Name Removed] wanted her 2 tier countertop area reduced to 1 Level and asked if that was possible. I said, " We'll need to move some plumbing and electrical - But, sure it's possible.." She said - well you already know. We installed new Lighting and a really Great LVP Floor thru out the main level. Her neighbors were more than a little jealous. I was too! She ended up with exactly what she wanted / pretty close to budget / in record time. So, [Member Name Removed] was a Happy Camper and so was Uncle Brian. :)
5.0

10/05/2020


JACQUE J.

Brian and his crew did a great job from the beginning. He dropped by soon after our inquiry to discuss our plans and to give us a quote. He stayed in contact with us continually from the first demo day to the last day checking on the glass installation. He always arrived when he said he would - very important! We made several changes throughout the process and he walked us through those ensuring he understood exactly what we wanted. We are very pleased with the end result! In fact, we are looking ahead at our next dream project.

Description of Work
Remodeled Master Bathroom with new much larger tub and shower

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You Both for a Great Experience! Working with Nice Folks makes the process - Fun! This Project went smoothly because there was no deadlines and if something unexpected happened - we dealt with it. Deadlines are a sure fire way of making certain that things will go awry. I let the project determine how long things take - with my eye on a Quality end result / no injuries and a reasonable price tag. It's interesting to me - when a customer sees how much work goes into a project - they are always amazed and never feel we charged too much. That's because when you select Uncle Brian's - you get Uncle Brian - along with 40 plus years of experience. We give folks their moneys worth - that's important to me and always will be! A Quality Product / A Fair Price / and a Smile each and every day - that's the UBHI way! Wishing your Family a Happy/HEALTHY 2020 ! Uncle Brian and Co.
5.0

10/03/2020


Dan M.

This is the 2nd time i used them i hired them 5 yrs ago and I was very satisfied last time and aim also very satisfied now.

Description of Work
Replacing the bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Review! [Member Name Removed] is and engineer - so he looks for Quality and really understands Building. We've done 2 Bathrooms for his family - just finishing up the Hall Bathroom. We completed the Master Bath about 6 years ago. Time Flies. Both Bathrooms were in a state of Failure - since the Bathrooms were builder grade and corners were cut. This is unfortunately - the norm. They're now talking about a new Kitchen, Hopefully they'll be ready - b4 I retire. :) Uncle Brian
5.0

10/03/2020


Pat A.

It went very well. They were on time, professional, and excellent.

Description of Work
They did interior home renovation.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Review - we've worked for this family many times which is good because we both know what to expect. They know we'll get to work and do what they need done and we know their story - which makes everything easier. I worked in NJ for 30 years and stopped doing estimates the last 12 years because we worked for the same customers again and again. They wouldn't ask for an estimate because there was mutually trust and respect. The same is now happening in Colorado, Fewer of our jobs are quoted and we're doing more work for repeat clients . In a few years- I'll retire - it's been almost 42 years SINCE I started in the remodeling trades. I guess - i lOVE IT! HAPPY REMODELING! UB
5.0

05/31/2020


Linda R.

It went great. The bathroom is exactly what we wanted with a few extra touches. We are so happy with Brian that we hired him to do our next two projects. We have a few important reasons for hiring him again. Attention to us. Attention to detail. Like just about everyone, we had our share of contractors who disappeared. Brian was in contact with us just about everyday either by being here or by contacting us. With Brian, we felt pretty confident every step of the way that the project would be completed, even though we had time setbacks due to change orders that we requested. Brian went out of his way to get the materials that we wanted. If you look closely at the pictures, you can see the window that we asked Brian to install. We wanted a specific counter top and we went back and forth about the window trim and seal. Brain found a company to custom create our window sill and the box upon which the center cabinet is sitting. Brian has a couple of great guys working for him. They were respectful of our home, the project, and us. They answered our questions and explained things if we asked them a question. They cleaned up after themselves every day. Along with his creative and talented crew, Brian's supervisor (uh, mother) come check on him. We were assured she is a stickler for detail and getting things right. Her verdict? Mother's Seal of Approval. Now you know if mom approves, it has to be great.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your Kind Review! Always glad to hear our work is appreciated and our guys are being friendly and respectful! It's true - my mom will stop in occasionally to have lunch (she brings it) with her son (that's me). I only have a few years left as this is my 41st year in the remodeling business. Glad to have left a wake of Happy Customers in the rearview mirror. Uncle Brian and Co.
5.0

04/24/2020


Kristin W.

Uncle Brian’s is a top notch company. The crew are friendly, considerate, hard working, punctual, knowledgeable and all around great. Sub contractors were top quality as well. They cleaned up every day, showed up on time and worked hard all day. Couldn’t be happier with the finished project.

Description of Work
New floors, countertops, walls removed, new drywall, new lights, insulation, electrical, plumbing, paint, countertops

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] Thanks for your Kind Review! We've been doing our small part in making remodels work for our customers during the health crisis. We wear face masks when customers are around / we use hand sanitizer / spray Lysol when we leave at the end of the day and practice frequent hand washing. So far, so Good! Uncle Brian and Co.
5.0

01/21/2019


Scott E.

It went extremely well. Brian set us up with a granite counter top person. Brian removed our old counter tops and added bracing to make sure the new granite counter top would be perfectly level. The granite counter top person Brian recommended was excellent as well. After the counter tops were installed, Brian came by to check the work and he changed our sink drainage system around to work more efficiently. And, they are perfectly level. We can set eggs on the counter top and they don't roll away and fall and break on the floor! Also, previously, Uncle Brian's built a set of front stairs and railing over our cement slab and steps. It is very high quality and very solid. It makes no noises when walked on. We really like it! Both of these projects were completed in a very high quality manner and both were completed on time. I would hire Uncle Brian's Home Improvements again. It's nice to know I don't have to look anywhere else, now.

Description of Work
Granite counter tops and sink drain work.

Category countertops, decks, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for taking the Time to Review UBHI ! We only recommend a few (quality) companies, so - I'm not surprised to hear you were pleased with the results. We demoed the old countertops / reworked the base cabinets to strengthen and Level / Scheduled the granite templating and Installation. Once the Granite was installed - we installed the Faucet/Drains and Disposal. After we checked everything to make certain there were no leaks - we cleaned up. We do our best to schedule everything as soon as practical - so our client isn't sitting and waiting too long. Most times we'll install a temp. sink and faucet - so, there's very little down time. Another Happy customer! Uncle Brian and Co.
5.0

01/21/2019


Steve V.

We could not be happier with our A+ experience with Uncle Brian’s. The level of professionalism and experience they possess was evident from our first conversation and continued through the entire project. Brian was very upfront about the process and explained it from his perspective so we understood completely why things needed to be completed in a particular order. They were very punctual each day and worked very efficiently. Their goal was to have our bathroom fully operational as quickly as possible and they succeeded. They helped us work within our budget and gave us a more beautiful bathroom than we could have imagined. We would highly recommend Uncle Brian’s to anyone looking for home improvement work.

Description of Work
Full Bathroom Remodel

Category drywall, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so Much for your review! This job was unusual because it was back in my home state of NJ. We've been in Colorado for 13 years remodeling Kitchens and Bathrooms and installing Windows and Doors, but I started Uncle Brian's in NJ decades ago. From time to time, we go back East to help out an old friend / family member or Customer. We're thrilled to hear the New Bathroom is making them - Happy! Uncle Brian
5.0

12/16/2018


Donna M.

Brian and Jeremiah are AWESOME! Brian is thorough and doesn't try to pressure you into anything. He pointed our some code issues we had and fixed them at a very reasonable price. Recommended him to a neighbor and they had their bathroom redone. Am still using him as we have a lot of work still to go!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel, Flooring, Exterior doors

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind review! The number one quality people need to have a successful remodeling experience is - Patience. The 2nd - is a good sense of Humor! [Member Name Removed] and her husband are a pleasure to work with because they possess Both! Being uptight / impatient and expecting no difficulties to arise during a remodel is a recipe for disappointment. After you've selected a contractor, do what you can to facilitate a smooth running job. What does that mean? Empty the area of personal items / Ask the men if they need space in the garage for tools / Keep pets away from the work area / Talk about what you expect / Be reasonable I tell folks how i determine if I'm being reasonable with people that work at my home - turn the situation around. Imagine someone is asking you to do such and such / if you feel it's reasonable still - you're probably Ok. We look forward to working for this family again! Uncle Brian
5.0

12/16/2018


Donna M.

Awesome experience! Brian, Jeremiah and the rest of the crew were the best to work with! We wanted to remodel 2 bathrooms and had such a great experience ended up with a new front door, flooring in our bedroom and lots more. During construction out hot water heater sprang a leak, found some electrical problems as well as plumbing. Brian was able to fix everything! We are on his calendar in 2019 for flooring and interior doors....most definitely recommend Brian and his crew for ANY remodeling need!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your Kind Review! The actual cost of the 2 Bathrooms and the other projects [Member Name Removed] mentioned were more than the 15k she mentioned. She may only be figuring the Labor portion of the Projects. We were at her place for about 5 weeks - so there was a lot to do! [Member Name Removed] and her family were a Pleasure to deal with and treated us like family - so we were able to quickly help them with the many of the issues they were dealing with. They had electrical and plumbing issues because their home is about 40 years old and has been maintained by unskilled handymen. So, everything that was repaired or reworked was - let's say - less than excellent - ALOT. When the Water heater sprung a leak on day 10 - [Member Name Removed] trusted UBHI enough to say - Please just Replace it with a model you'd select for your own home. She wasn't panicked - they had Hot Water. My point is that she knew from experience that Uncle Brian's was not going to take advantage of her situation and overcharge her. She was going to get a Better quality Water heater / Get it Installed Properly at a Reasonable price. I know what a reasonable price is because I'm a consumer also - I charge a price that'd I'd be willing to pay. That's a simple philosophy and keeps us out of trouble. Many companies will take advantage of consumers in distress and clean out their bank account when they can. I've heard recently of plumbing companies charging up to $1500 for a toilet. That's unfair - by A lot! I can guarantee that they would object to being charged that kind of a mark up at their home. Capitalism is based on people helping/serving one another - it certainly shouldn't include gouging or getting the most for the least. Capitalism is under attack partly because many businesses have lost their way and don't treat their customers as they'd want to be treated. Enough of that. I enjoy what I do - I explain to my coworkers that what we do is not simply remodeling. We are there to make Folks Lives Better - so treating them well and charging a fair price is just the beginning. I'm looking Forward to returning to [Member Name Removed]'s later this Year. I'm looking forward to meeting your Family soon - too! Lastly, We Now have 126 A's and 11 B's on AngiesList 8 F grades came from folks we never worked for. Most were annoyed that we couldn't get to their project quickly - I understand since - I've been disappointed too. I remember wanting to get my large family into a Restaurant on our Reunion - no tables for over 2 1/2 hours. Frustrating - But we ended up having a Grand time anyway at a Fast Food Joint! I wish you All the Best for 2019 Uncle Brian
5.0

05/20/2018


Jeremy W.

Uncle Brian is awesome! He does a great job!

Description of Work
Added duct for dryer, ran water line to fridge

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your Kind Review! [Member Name Removed] was in need of a little Home Improving and connected with Uncle Brian's Home Improvements. We usually can't accommodate a new customer if they need work done yesterday - But [Member Name Removed] contacted us at the right time and got his small job done in a jiffy. I'm always happy to hear that a new Customer is pleased with our Service because - it's my name on the Line! Happy Home Improvementing! Uncle Brian and Co.
5.0

12/20/2017


Robin H.

The setup is a lot safer and less cluttered. I loved that they fixed things they found along the way that made the house more structurally sound (and without driving up the price). The crew took great care with the details, communicated clearly about when utilities would be impacted, and left things spotless at the end. Definitely a good investment.

Description of Work
Replaced old gas and water lines and took out a crumbling ceiling.

Category plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your Review!! [Member Name Removed] purchased an older home in a great part of historic Golden. The Laundry room is in the basement which is not ideal - But the maze of poorly strewn pipes and wires below the "not so nice" ceiling were enough to get most folks to the laundromat. [Member Name Removed] asked if we could lower the ceiling to hide the poorly installed labyrinth of scary stuff overhead. I recommended that she instead consider - 1) removing the existing homasote ceiling 2) removing the maze of gas and water lines 3) removing the old wiring and improperly wired fixtures AND 4) install new gas and water lines orderly and tight to the ceiling joists 5) rewire the laundry room and add additional lighting 6) install shut off valves as needed 6) Install furring strips and framing to prep for a T&G pine ceiling down the road. [Member Name Removed] agreed and the rest is history. The room is Cleaner and Healthier as well as much Safer! The knotty Pine ceiling that's planned will not hide a disaster above, but will make a basement Laundry room a bit more homey - if you know what I mean. [Member Name Removed] is a smart lady - she chose to put safety and health first. I'd recommend others follow her lead. We kept the price under control by planning the work ahead of time and minimizing trips to the supply house. [Member Name Removed] is pleased and her family has a healthy/safe place to clean their clothes. That makes me Happy! Uncle Brian and Company
5.0

10/26/2017


Jeff E.

Brian and his team did an outstanding job. We wanted to upgrade all of our windows. Although our home is semi-custom, the builder had used middling windows that had started to sag and were difficult to open or close. Brian showed us options with no pressure. It was an education not a sales process. We ended up selecting high quality Anderson windows. We have been very pleased with our selection and with the installation quality. Brian does not cut corners. His intergrity and quality are both outstanding.

Description of Work
We replaced all windows in our home

Category replacement windows

4.0

09/20/2017


Jessica A.

We love our new kitchen now that it's done. The reality is, kitchen remodels are extremely intrusive, dusty, and inconvenient. However, Brian and his team are professional, friendly, reliable, and did everything they could to minimize disruption to our family and small child, including altering their normal hours slightly to accommodate our schedule and cleaning well at the end of each day. Pros of using UB: Billing and expenses will be within the range he provides, if you don't like the way something is coming together he will fix it, he has a ton of experience so his expectations of how a project will go seem to be right on. Crew is friendly and accommodating. Work quality is good. Any small followup items after the project completed, Brian has been extremely responsive, even though he's finished the project and moved on to other stuff. Areas of consideration if considering using UB: -Our kitchen was large and had a lot of pro style appliances, including a farmhouse sink. Brian cautioned us against these types of appliances and fixtures as install is a lot more expensive (labor intensive) and he has less experience with these items. The crew had a tough time with some of the items (36" pro style range, pro style hood, 36" cast iron farmhouse sink requiring custom fabrication), though now that everything is in it looks great. Bottom line, though, if you want those items be prepared to pay for it. We came in at the top of his labor range quote. I think he would probably say he feels a lot better about doing mid-range kitchens and appliances than higher end / pro style. -His pricing isn't "all you can eat". Meaning, he will do what you initially agree upon (read the estimates up front closely, know what is in/out). Change orders and other things you ask him to do, you will pay for, just be sure you are clear up front what the cost of anything additional you ask for can be as it can be expensive. They have the tools and the truck at your house, but when you go beyond their scope of work, you will get billed for it. Completely fair, just know that. -Most of his projects, he buys the majority of fixtures/parts/etc himself. We wanted to buy everything ourselves, mostly to save money and get the best price but also because we're particular and didn't like a lot of the generic products sold at the big box stores. This can result in unplanned labor charges, if items you buy on your own that he's not aware of require install beyond normal. IE, I bought a commercial range hood that required makeup air electrical and install. I was charged extra for the electrical to run that, as it required an electrician, but I had assumed that - since I'd sent over the hood specs in advance - it would have been covered. I had neglected to mention that I was also buying the makeup air kit with it. Just be sure you communicate with Brian on exactly what you're buying before you start the project to avoid any confusion. -Work quality is good, over the course of the project there were a few small things we wanted redone or fixed but I think that is the norm on a project like this. -Shop around on Cabinets. Brian uses RTA (ready to assemble) cabinets on most jobs, we purchased Cabinet Giant ( who we thought was the maker, turns out they are just a distributor of Forevermark cabinetry) through him and of everything related to the project these are probably our biggest regret - finish durability has been suspect and we wish we would have paid a bit more for better cabinetry. Overall on any major project there are ups and downs throughout, Brian worked very hard to make sure we were happy with the finished product. We asked a lot of questions, it seemed like a lot more than Brian was used to. He mentioned toward the end our "administrative load" was significantly higher than normal clients but we had a good working relationship throughout. We don't have other contractors to compare Brian to, but would say he cares a lot about customer service and reputation and will stand behind his work and make sure you are happy with your project. We have attached pictures of the before, renderings, and after.

Description of Work
We had a complete gut/remodel in a large, 20 year old kitchen. We needed Brian's help with design, demo, all GC work, and appliance installation. We interviewed several contractors, we chose Brian due to his reviews online and straightforward communication style. Brian was not our cheapest bid. This is the first project of this size we had ever been through and we are first time homeowners. We were very particular about what we wanted from the design, we wanted higher end finishes and appliances and someone that was comfortable working with people that expected very high quality work at a fair price. We ended up spending $55K total on the project, of which labor, cabinets, and materials were two thirds of the total cost (so that's what we ended up paying directly to Brian).

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Detailed Review. This project was one I would have passed on in retrospect, not because I didn't like the couple, they were very nice and we got along well. They were new at this game and wanted the Highest Quality possible at the Lowest possible price. These 2 ends don't fit together well - like 2 puzzle pieces that aren't a matched set. So, getting these type of folks to a happy place was more than difficult and to me - that's emotional draining, because I want my customers to be happy and I'll do back flips to make them smile. Well almost. I don't mind when folks want Mercedes remodels because I'm a perfectionist and like to get things -Just So, BUT ONLY when the budget allows. Frankly, I need the necessary resources to install the upgraded suspension and super chaRGED engine, I think you get the point. From time to time we change policies to deal with current events or eliminate potential problems and do everything we can to zero out misunderstandings with our customers. Case in point: we no longer allow our customers to purchase their own materials. This policy was changed because of the complexity of the building codes and the difficulty in purchasing the correct materials even 4 a pro. We've had customers purchase the wrong tiles - then realize the mistake only after the shower was almost complete. When customers and I shop together which we usually do, I have a chance to explain why a certain Gas Range or Exhaust hood will cost more to install than a standard range or hood. There's a chance to consider that extra expense before the purchase and before the delivery. When the item shows up in their garage I am the bad guy that needs to explain - this appliance requires this system (due to your town's building code). I don't like to be the bearer of bad news, so, we've stopped our clients' from purchasing their own materials. I still make mistakes - but, after 41 years they're few and far between. When I make a mistake, I pay the tab no one is upset and that's the way I prefer it. UB
5.0

07/25/2017


Alison M.

Absolutely great! Very happy with the work done. Will use again.

Description of Work
Fence gate, wall repairs/painting window well repair, baseboard repair/painting, sump pump install.

Category contractors, drywall, fencing, remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your Review! This work was actually done by my Nephew. We recommended him for these Projects because he just moved back to the area and has a lighter work load. We are usually booked out 3 to 4 months - and these types of projects are most often urgent to most folks. We recommend another Contractor when we feel the projects are a good fit for a particular person. We've been very busy for about 5 years and just recently have noticed a little easing of demand on our schedule - so remodeling a Kitchen or Bathroom this Fall is still a Possibility! We usually start with an Overall Cost Analysis - the Labor portion is a bit more fine tuned - since we usually don't know exactly what our client will spend on materials at this stage. But, I do put a number on the materials - I call it a guesstimate . I prefer to give my customer the big picture before they decide to proceed - in order to avoid any surprises downstream. We've demoed many Bathrooms that are relatively new - some less than 5 years old! These Bathrooms were poorly designed and constructed and are always the most expensive on a per month cost basis. A well designed Bathroom should last 40+ years and the cost per day should end up - at only pennies! Developing a solid Plan / Working up an overall Budget / Purchasing Quality Materials / Finding the Right Contractor to Build your Dream - is most often rewarded with a Quality End Product that will actually increase in Value over the years! I'm not suggesting throwing buckets of money at each detail though - finding some bargains along the way and paying a fair price for Labor is the path I recommend. Many folks hope that their project will run smoothly and turn out well - But the Reality is - most folks don't have a good experience. I know because I've spoken to many hundreds of them. Have a great Summer! Uncle Brian
5.0

07/12/2017


Mike K.

Great, we are happy with all of Brian's work.

Description of Work
Dear Angie’s List Readers, Uncle Brian’s Home Improvement in Thornton, Colorado has twice done renovation work in our home. Most recently, he’s completed remodeling an upstairs hall bathroom and a bedroom vanity’/sink. Two years ago he completely redesigned and rebuilt our kitchen by changing the layout of our cabinets, by moving a wall that needlessly hid empty space, and by opening the passage to our dining room. The two of us can now prepare dinner together, because we have space to move and counters to prepare meals. Brian went above and beyond what was expected by gently guiding us toward more contemporary styles yet still allowing for our somewhat old-fashioned tastes. With each and every kitchen and bathroom redo, he has jointly created home spaces unique for each customer. We know this because he invited us to see other homes, in which he has worked. We in turn enjoyed showing off our home. While his estimate was not the cheapest; his higher quality materials and workmanship compared well with more expensive contractors, yet was far from being the most costly. His rates were reasonable. Before Brian, we had company “x” do some work for us, but they gave us few choices and refused to adapt to our tastes or even allow us any changes with their “package deal.” Brian, on the other hand, collaborated with us to achieve our goals. First, he took us shopping to learn our tastes allowing for our budget. Whether working on our complete kitchen or overhauling our small bathrooms, he attended to details, such as insulating our bathroom floor and walls keeping my tub water warm longer and putting a plastic cover over my basement light switch, so we need not run up & down trying to figure out how to turn on the light! Also, he filled in the holes his electrician made in the wall and retextured them, too. He custom built matching bathroom mirrored medicine chests, too. More importantly, he found us bargains, whenever he could. Jen, Brian’s go getter, got us a European style adjustable height shower unit at reduced cost—perfect for our home. She also got us a good deal on an over-the-toilet cabinet to match our new comfort height counters. Brian recommended many inexpensive tile choices from which to choose. When we requested cross-reeded glass for our upper kitchen cabinets, he marvelously matched the square pattern with a glass backsplash that looked made-to-match, pleasing us greatly. Oh, he installed a new front entrance for us, too. Our new Feather River door was reasonably priced saving us money over other brands and giving us natural light in our entranceway. Everything looks great. With our kitchen and bathroom projects concluded, we are already on his waiting list to repair our front porch and perhaps replace our back door. Brian and his assistants, Aaron, Jeremiah, Dave and Jen were polite and attentive to our needs. Each day the men cleaned up their mess—a biggy. Our home now has one, complete and pleasing overall unity. We are repeat customers of Uncle Brian’s and heartily recommend his remodeling business to all Angie’s List subscribers in the North Metro Denver area! P.S. The side of his truck reads, “…like having an uncle in the business”—it’s true!

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

05/07/2017


Kim P.

Brian was professional and completed meticulous work in the time estimated. It's not easy to custom fit doors in an old home, but Brian and his assistant did a great job! We love our doors and would definitely call them again

Description of Work
We live an a 1920s home and didn't have a bedroom door and our other two doors were odd sizes, making it impossible for us to replace the doors. Brian and his assistant did a great job!

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to Review Uncle Brian's Home Improvements. The Cost of the Project was actually about $1900 - Labor and Materials. Having Folks value quality work is always much appreciated. Uncle Brian (that's me) moved to Denver from NJ about 10 years ago and now has hundreds of satisfied customers locally. Our F grades were received from 8 nice Folks we never worked for - I understand how they feel. When I'm on vacation and want to have dinner out at a certain restaurant and there's too many others with the same idea - it's well - Disappointing! So - I actually consider it a compliment when folks get upset that we can't get to their project because we made prior commitments - they want us to take their project on - but sooner than we are able to. I tell my friends and family to be patient and wait for the right person to do a job - because I've heard hundreds of sad stories over the decades of folks who choose quickly and regretted it later. Many times folks start an estimate request saying - " we'll wait if the price is good". Let me explain this from my perspective. Contractors that skip lots of steps and use inferior materials have a big advantage at this stage of any project. A 200 hour project can be chiseled down to say 140 hours at this stage without much effort - but later in the process - those short cuts take on a life of their own. That'e when folks are disappointed and wish they'd chosen differently. I tell my customers the full story - right from the start. If a project will take 200 man hours to complete and they want me to do it in 150 hours, I can make some changes to their wish list and make it happen - but I can't make those hours disappear, cause I'm not a magician... I'm a trim carpenter. I feel badly for folks who get cheated or have a Bad experience when remodeling, this doesn't have to happen to so many. Angieslist empowers the consumer to make wise decisions and see what others are saying about their experience with a particular company. The founder of this company was a very smart lady - she saw the plight of so many people and figured out a way to help them choose the right company for their projects and avoid the others. Sooo - Don't Rush the initial decisions / Plan your Remodel thoroughly / Ask Contractors if your project is a Good fit for their Skillset / Choose a Contractor after considering Several candidates / Don't select a Contractor just because of a low price / Never give a Con tractor money for Labor before the work is Complete / Ask lots of questions / Be Reasonable / Take Responsibility for your Project Happy Remodeling Uncle Brian
5.0

11/11/2016


Maia N.

It went great. Here's why: - They provide detailed cost estimates and let you know when they have availability, and then they let you decide whether and when you want to move forward. Zero pressure. It's not a negotiation because costs are what they are and they're transparent, so you feel you have all the info with no games or surprises. - They are great at keeping customers updated about when they'll be showing up at the house. In construction, there are constant changes and interruptions, but they let you know the minute something shifts so, again, you're not surprised. - Brian holds every member of his crew to a high standard and is constantly teaching and modeling best practices. It's pleasant to be around the team. - Brian keeps up on the latest materials and techniques and, although his taste is traditional and ours is more modern, he is very open to design ideas and brings a truly collaborative problem-solving attitude to the project. In my experience, when some little hitch presented itself, the "Plan B" turned out even better than the "Plan A." - Brian takes craftsmanship seriously. There's a right way to do everything, and it drives him nuts to see anything done not-quite-right. He built our new bathroom to last 50 years. - The whole team exudes integrity. They're honest, accountable, and consistent. - They care. They want their customers to be satisfied with the end product but they also work to minimize inconvenience during renovations, which are inherently stressful. - They protect your stuff and clean up after themselves. - Are they the cheapest bid you'll get? Probably not. But value for the money is very high. Doing things the right way isn't cheap because it shouldn't be! Bottom line: We've worked with them twice, have referred friends to them, and look forward to working with them again someday.

Description of Work
We've worked with UBHI twice - in 2013, on a wholesale replacement of our 1985 kitchen, and this fall, to replace half of our (huge) master bath as a result of a longstanding plumbing issue. This review is for the MBR project, although everything said here also applies to our experience back in 2013.

Category countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your Review! I've been in this Game since I was a teenager - it's been over 40 years now! I know what's important to me when I'm the one dishing out the mula - so I just turn the scenario on its head each time my customer is in that seat. I explain to my crew - they've heard it at least a hundred times - the remodeling experience is stressful and expensive and our job is to minimize this whenever possible. I don't focus on the areas that are not within my control - I focus on those things that we can control - our jobsite cleanliness and safety, my customers comfort during the process. Most people are really good sports as we move them down field and thru the process - but nerves can still become a bit frayed at times - so I use humor frequently to keep spirits up. Good communication is essential in keeping a project running smoothly - most folks want to know what's going on during their renovation - many are at work - so we take plenty of pics and create an album that we send to most as their job moves forward. We don't take advantage of customers or their wallets - so if something unexpected turns up - I'm not there to pounce but rather get them thru it successfully. We offer options to deal with each detail and looks for the sweet spot - that place between cost effectiveness and best case result. I keep an eye out for special deals and clearance items for customers - because I like a deal when I'm shelling out my cash too. I usually end each job - asking the client what they'd do differently if we had to do it all again. I Love to hear the word, "nothing" at this juncture and frequently do. My job is to get my customer the End Product they want - with a pleasant trip thru the ordeal. Their experience is just as important to me as the end result - as is the safety of each person involved - it's a bit of a juggling act at times - but one I've come to know and love. Uncle Brian
5.0

09/26/2016


Michelle N.

Brian came out and looked over the bathroom and reviewed our desire and needs for the bathroom. He provided an equitable and fair estimate a few days after his visit. My fiancé and I decided to attempt to do it ourselves, however, from all the estimates we received, Uncle Brian's Home Improvement would have been requested to do the work.

Description of Work
I requested an estimate for a partial bathroom renovation/remodel.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your Review and that Feedback! I always appreciate to hear the rest of the Story when I quote a Project and don't get the job. Here'[Member Information Removed] a True Story of a Bathroom project I quoted in Denver not too long ago. I fellow called me and explained he'd be getting married soon and wanted a Bathroom remodeled by such and such a date. I told him the deadline was workable and spent about 10 hours with him to design and estimate his project. I was scheduled to begin the work the following week when he called me and told me he wanted to be upfront with me. He explained he'd gotten 17 quotes and he wanted to hire Uncle Brian'[Member Information Removed] but we were about 2k more than his 2nd choice and would I lower my estimate to match this other contractor? I told him the estimate was my best price and I couldn't lower it and still provide him with a high quality result. So - we parted company friends and I wished him well. Zoom ahead 7 weeks. I received a phone message from this same fellow asking if I'd consider stopping by and quoting the completion of this bathroom remodel. I decided to take a look and see if I could assist The design was definitely what we spoke about - But - the execution was not so Good. Everything was crooked or loose. I told him I'd have to demo the Bathroom and start again because the plumbing fixtures inside the tiled walls were installed improperly. He was disappointed to hear I had no magic wand to erase the problems, we parted company a 2nd time. I felt bad for this fellow - his deadline passed / his project a mess / his new wife upset. This fellow thought he had done his " due diligence" because he got 17 estimates. He thought each contractor came to the table with the same set of skills and professionalism. He was not correct in this assumption - remodeling a Bathroom or Kitchen is different than purchasing a car. A car can be tested / driven and inspected prior to negotiating a price with the seller. A remodel is only in the imagination of the buyer and seller - at the early stages of the process But the differences (between one contractor and another) will become painfully apparent downstream. Enjoy the Summer! Uncle Brian
5.0

09/26/2016


Hollyn C.

It was a wonderful experience for both my husband and I from beginning to end. Communication was wonderful and Brian and his staff were very quick with their responses to any questions I ever had. Brian gave us an estimate in the beginning and he did his absolute best to keep us around that estimate, even when unforeseen things came up. At every step of the process, Brian would make sure that we were involved in the decisions. He would give us his expert recommendations and made sure we knew all the options before we made our decisions. He also worked with us when we wanted to do some of the work to help save money. All of the work was excellent and completed as fast as they could. We are extremely happy with the entire process and our brand new kitchen is better than we ever expected! Thank you Brian and team!

Description of Work
Full kitchen and dining room remodel, including removing 2 walls, old cabinets, flooring and popcorn ceiling, building a new pantry, pluming and electrical changes, installing new cabinets, flooring, doors, texturing, installing a new window, reinstalling all appliances and many other things

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your Kind Review!! This Kitchen Remodel was more complicated than most because we completely redesigned the large first level area. The "before" consisted of a large Living Room / small formal Dining Room a small Kitchen that was completely walled off and a Breakfast Area. The "after" is pictured above and shows a Completely Open Floor plan (620 sq. ft.), except for a large walk in Pantry we built in the Formal Dining room space. My vision of this Kitchen was a more Traditional one - BUT - in the end - I'm glad my Customers stuck to their guns when I tried to gently nudge them toward a design I was more comfortable building - their design was not only a Good one, It was also their design. I've learned alot from my customers over the Years - their Ideas are often different and many times quite Wonderful!. This was definitely the Case on this Remodel. Westminster's Building Dept. was easy to deal with and very professional - other towns we've dealt with are not always so - shall we say "Pleasant". I've been remodeling for going on 40 Years now - I have a few good Years left and then I'll hang up my Hat and Tool belt. It's been a good run - I've met alot of Great folks and have had lots of Fun along the Way. Many Thanks to Angies list for making my years in Colorado so Busy! Happy Thanksgiving to You Uncle Brian and Family
5.0

09/07/2016


Kathleen R.

Brian is the consummate professional. His work is excellent and he pays attention to every detail. He also took the time to review all the safety features in the house and replaced where necessary. We couldn't be more pleased with the quality of his work.

Description of Work
Two bathrooms upgraded and other more minor improvements.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You for Your Kind Review! My job - as I see it - is to improve my customers lives and to educate them in the safety features of todays' modern homes. Carbon Monoxide Detectors and Smoke Detectors not only save folks aggravation and money - But can save their Lives as Well! Many people ignore these devices and assume they last forever - truth is they last about 10 years and need to be monitored and tested periodically and replaced when they are 10 years old or more. These modern marvels have become more effective and last longer than past years - But they still need a little attention. Water Alarms are a small device (about the size of a smoke detector) and sense water in areas where leaks are common. 2 probes on the bottom of this device will cause the alarm to sound when a small amount of water closes the circuit - almost like turning a light switch to the "On" position. These devices will let you know you have a leak if they're placed strategically around your Home. I use them under Sink bases and in Vanities, I also place them around Water heaters and In the Basement near the Main shut off valves. Most folks Kitchen Sink base floors are rotted and mildewed after 20 years or so (check yours today) the reason this happens is - we all stuff too much under the Sink base and eventually the "Stuff" will nudge a P Trap and cause a minor leak - No problem - except for a little mold and a messy Sink base floor. Rebuilding a Sink base floor is difficult and unnecessary - use a water alarm (about $14) and Save yourself the hassle and $$$. Smoke Detectors and CO Detectors are not optional accessories these Days - they're required by all Building Dept.'s and for Good reason - they Save Lives! Make it a Point to check your Detectors and keep them in working order - Don't Paint them and keep them clean. Sometimes a spider will cause a Smoke detector to alarm - this usually happens when the detectors are older and dusty - keep yours clean by vacuuming them and check that Battery often. If your Detectors are Yellow - they're too Old - Replace them Today! Consider buying a 6 Pack and giving the extras to your Friends or Family - that's the way I sleep soundly at Night. On a different topic - Bathrooms that are well designed and Constructed can and Will increase in Value over the years - and will likely be enjoyed for 4 or more decades. A bathroom that costs $20k today will often increase a Home's Value by a similar amount making a Bathroom an Investment rather than an expenditure. My customers will usually get all their money back and then some - after we design and build a Custom Bathroom for them - since a future Buyer will Usually Pay for these Improvements and when given the choice will most often buy the Upgraded Home over the plain Jane. Bathrooms and Kitchens top the List of Home Improvements that bring the largest payback to consumers - this fact makes investing money in these rooms a satisfying experience. I may sound like a salesman here - and if I do - so be it, I just want people (like you) to consider how we all spend our money. Most times when we spend $$ - going on vacation or out to dinner - the $$ is Gone and needs to be replaced. But when we invest in our Homes and end up with a Magazine Cover Bathroom - that money is tucked away in an account that will actually Increase as the years pass. This scenario is not a common one - most of our purchases will not increase in Value but a well thought out Bathroom/Kitchen Remodel that is Functional and makes you want to Pull Up a chair to sit and admire the View - Will. Enough of that - Enjoy the Beautiful Spring Weather! Uncle Brian and Company

    Other local Pros in your area

    Diaz De Leon Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting and drywall services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    JAC Decks LLC

    J.A.C Decks is an owner operated business, specializing in transforming your outdoor living area into somewhere you will not want to leave. We are an up and coming small business taking pride in what we love doing. After five years of being in the industry we opened shop in northern Colorado. Our scope of work ranges from full deck remodels, resurfacing, deck maintenance, and deck additions. Additionally, we offer various handyman services. From cabinetry work, various electrical needs, and door maintenance. This includes our knowledge and tools for anything that is needed.  

    J&N Maintenance

    J&N Maintenance, LLC. is a local, family-owned business established in 2016. With over 20 years of construction experience, there is no task too small for our team. From bathroom remodels to rebuilding your back porch, our team has all the tradecraft you need for your residential or commercial project. Our Promises: - Clear Communication - Free Estimates & Scope Assessments - Quality Craftsmanship - Satisfaction Guaranteed  

    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Makeovers, Crown Molding Installation, Interior and Exterior Door Installation, Storm Door Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    We don't work on roofing, heating and cooling, wood refinishing, hardwood flooring, furniture buiding, cabinet refacing, texturing, staining, or painting, exterior siding, brick work, cement work - and try to stay out of marriage counseling! Our schedule does not permit us to work on Rental Properties.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Uncle Brian's Home Improvements

    How is Uncle Brian's Home Improvements overall rated?

    Uncle Brian's Home Improvements is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Uncle Brian's Home Improvements provide

    Uncle Brian's Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Uncle Brian's Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    No, Uncle Brian's Home Improvements does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Uncle Brian's Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Uncle Brian's Home Improvements does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Uncle Brian's Home Improvements?

    Yes, Uncle Brian's Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Uncle Brian's Home Improvements offer?

    Uncle Brian's Home Improvements offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Makeovers, Crown Molding Installation, Interior and Exterior Door Installation, Storm Door Installation.

    Are there any services Uncle Brian's Home Improvements does not offer?

    We don't work on roofing, heating and cooling, wood refinishing, hardwood flooring, furniture buiding, cabinet refacing, texturing, staining, or painting, exterior siding, brick work, cement work - and try to stay out of marriage counseling! Our schedule does not permit us to work on Rental Properties.