Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2009

4.9

(69) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

902 Hwy 50

Grand Junction, CO 81503

Description

Service with a Smile. If we don't provide what you need and want, we're not doing our job. Second, we work with the leader in home heating and cooling equipment, American Standard. Third, we train each employee to see your job through from start to finish, making sure the unit or system performs up to your expectations....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/09/2017


jan M.

They did a wonderful job. Would hire them again.

Description of Work
Install gas line for stove

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/19/2017


Richard L.

I was very pleased with the staff and work that was completed. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replacing a water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

08/18/2016


Brian P.

The technician was polite, professional, and prompt! We had just purchased our home so this was the first time starting the cooler for us. Our swamp cooler is OLD and he spent a considerable amount of time tweaking it to make sure it would work well. He also repaired a duct that had become loose in the attic. When we have work done on the cooler in the future, or if we should ever have to replace it. Avalanche Heating & Cooling will be our first choice.

Description of Work
Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing started up our swamp cooler.

Category water delivery

5.0

01/05/2016


Nancee P.

Tenant initiated the call. Avalanche confirmed the service need with owner prior to onsite visit. After onsite visit, called owner to provide options/recommendations. Owner conferred with tenant regarding options, and returned call to Avalanche to approve service option. Avalance completed the installation same day. Avalance initiated the product registration the following morning and initiated the invoice to me by email.

Description of Work
Removed and installed a new HTP electric water heater in rental home on 17 RD, Fruita, CO

Category water heater repair

5.0

11/30/2015


Tami G.

Very well, they came out and gave us an accurate estimate for what was a fairly complex job, they returned and spent most of a day working. Very professional, would absolutely recommend them and call them again when needed.

Description of Work
New hot water heaters and correction of several plumbing and duct problems.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

11/09/2015


Rob B.

Very prompt and courteous. Was able to evaluate the error code and find a solution.

Description of Work
Heating system tune up and evaluation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/01/2015


Brian W.

I chose Avalanche for two reasons: 1. They beat the competition?s price by more than $1500, (28%), 2. I was impressed by the knowledge and professionalism of the technician, Jim, they sent to do the estimate. I could go on for pages, in fact in my original draft of this I do, about the reasons why I appreciate Avalanche. Let me just say that I expect a certain level of professionalism, efficiency and competency from any company with which I do business. It?s hard to find a company that you can trust, let alone one that will listen to your concerns and really work with you to resolve them. I can give you at least a half a dozen examples of how Avalanche exceeded my expectations in every area. I have found a new HVAC company. I just hired them again, Oct 27th 2015, to come out and do the annual check-up on my boiler and water heater. Once again, I was impressed by the level of service provided. I?ll see them again next year.

Description of Work
Replaced old roof mounted evaporative cooler with a Breezair Icon EXH170 and installed whole house ducting (4 ducts).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

10/27/2015


Stephen C.

Installer was on time and professional. The work was done efficiently and effectively. The technician kept a clean workspace and was finished an hour ahead of schedule. Great people skills and follow up. We will use them again when we get our Air Conditioning put in next year. Great service!!

Description of Work
Replaced the old water heater with a new one.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

10/22/2015


Richard R.

After arranging with dispatch by telephone for an appointment, the tech from Avalanche arrived on time and reviewed our leaky valve and faucet. He first set to work on the bathroom tub faucet. The fixture was older - from the late 1990s - and so he took the time to carefully remove it and find appropriate replacement parts. It now works well. Next up was the leaky valve on the line leading to the swamp cooler. He removed the old valve and in minutes, installed a new valve that stopped the dripping and will be easier to use in the spring, when the cooler is again used. After he installed the new components, he explained exactly what he had done. Pricing was fair for the time and parts. We'll use Avalanche again for our plumbing, heating and cooling needs!

Description of Work
Fixed a leak in a valve leading to a swamp cooler and repaired a leaky bathtub faucet.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

10/14/2015


Marcia P.

Austin was very professional, friendly, and punctual. I had another quote from Countryside which was about $95 lower so I went with them. Unfortunately, after Countryside was done the bill came to over $1300, so I should have gone with Avalanche in the first place.

Description of Work
Inspected the unit and quoted me a price on a new motor for the Breeziar

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/10/2015


Richard R.

The tech from Avalanche arrived a few minutes early and set to work right away. He removed our old water heater and installed a new unit in about 90 minutes. During the visit, he also checked other water heater-related piping and fixtures and took the time to explain what he was doing and what to watch for in case an unforeseen problem occurred. The Rheem heater somehow was packed in its box without a barcode sticker, so the tech checked directly with Rheem about receiving one. The company resisted sending a sticker, and instead suggested returning the heater, since they would not provide a warranty for the unstickered unit. However, Avalanche offered to honor the manufacturer's five year tank and one year labor warranty, avoiding the need to take out the unit and install a new unit. Avalanche clearly stands behind their products and services.

Description of Work
Replaced home water heater with new unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

09/28/2015


Alex L.

It went great. They took the time to talk to us about what our options were and what sort of efficiency units we were looking for. Many other contractors just told us what they were going to put in. Everything has been working great (1 year later). They do an audit to make sure it's sized right for the house (and they even told us that our insulation was a little thin and we could either oversize it a little or add insulation and the smaller size would suffice). They had to deal with working in the crawl space under the house and had no complaints even though it is tight and dirty down there. They also took care of the paperwork for all the rebates and credits from Xcel.

Description of Work
We had a new AC and furnace installed. They corrected some issues with the previous installation. They put in new air return ducts and insulated some ducting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/29/2015


Tracy B.

Absolutely I would recommend AVALANCHE HEATING TO ANY AND ALL - on the Western Slope! I had noticed that my heating bill had tripled, and that the furnace would never shut down. It was cold, so I knew I needed help - but wasn't quite sure what that would look like. Avalanche was over the next day to check it out... I was told that if there was no carbon monoxid leaking, they would be happy to talk to me about several different options for fixing the problem. But, they needed to do the CO2 check first, since several of my neighbors had had leaks - and had had to have their entire boilers replaced. (all 19 townhomes in my area were built at the same time.) Of course, mine registered at dangerous levels,there was a leak - and the boiler needed to be replaced after all. (I saw the readings myself, and the representative from Avalance was fabulous about explaining the concerns...) ...and so I bought myself a new boiler! (the other one was 33 years old!) Nervous about the cost, I did a price comparison with other companies, and found Avalance to be right in line, or even less than their competitors. PLUS, THEY GAVE ME A 5% DISCOUNT FOR BEING A MEMBER OF ANGIE'S LIST -- which was most helpful! The actual work was done two days later - between 8 and 4. The two guys that arrived were punctual, SO INCREDIBLY NICE and professional, and did not break until the job was done (not even lunch, which surprised me!) It was obvious how competent they were, working efficiently, and carefully. I was welcomed - to ask questions and observe the work, if I so desired. I felt entirely comfortable with the service, knowing that they would do right by me... They did. When the day was done, the work was complete, and the area was entirely cleaned. My new unit - and the operation of the new thermostats were explained to me -- with the guarantee that someone from Avalanche was just a phone call away at any time. I appreciated that - more than they could know! But, I was unable to tell them that, because almost immediately I went out of town for a couple of months. And, that made it impossible to comment on their service. But, truly If not for their prompt scheduling and service, I would have had to leave that defective furnace - that may have left my home dangerous for habitation, and my heating bills OUT OF CONTROL! With the oncoming winter, I wouldn't have dared to turn it off - for fear of pipes freezing. But I didn't worry - since it had been fixed ahead of time! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND AVALANCE TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR HEATING SERVICE, now! My heating bills have never been lower, they were prompt, effective, and a pleasure to work with. Without a doubt, I would go back to them in the future!

Description of Work
they replaced my 33 year old boiler for my furnace - including all necessary pipes and new thermostats

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

01/21/2015


Jackie M.

Called about routine service on HVAC furnace about 9:30 as it was overdue and problem with toillet. Matt was here by noon. Extremely informative and answered all my questions in a very professional and straightforward way. Performed work requested and asked if I would like to have my water heater drained to prevent build-up while they completed other work and they completed the drain at no charge. Showed me the part that was replaced on the toilet and explained why it failed - appeared probably a defective part when originally installed. After they were done Matt mentioned that the pressure tank on top of water heater was corroded around the fitting - it was obvious when I looked at it. Again answered all my questions and I asked if they could check it. My house is only 3 years old but I had problems with water heater installation when I bought it and had to have installer come out then and address the problem with a leak in a connection. As it turns out realized back then that the original company did a very shoddy job. Asked Mark if he would check the pressure tank and he cleaned it and then removed it to see what the problem was - it was obvious that the original contractor had installed it incorrectly resulting in stripped threads which caused the leak - I was present when they removed it and was able to inspect it. Thought they would have to come back to replace but they had the part with them. Thought the rates were a bit high for the parts/repairs but was satisfied with the service. Did have an additional problem with the toilet but Matt came back and did a complementary fix.

Description of Work
Seasonal maintenance on furnace (filter was extra), replaced fill valve in toilet, replaced expansion tank on water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/11/2015


BRAD N.

I cannot say enough positive things about Avalanche Heating, Cooling, and Plumbing. This is a top-rate company. They are high achievers with professionalism, punctuality, communication, knowledge, and customer service. After another company tried to solve my problem and couldn't, I called Avalanche. They were very responsive and efficient. They quickly solved our problem and worked on it right away. They were not obtrusive and worked past their normal business hours to finish the job. They were confident and communicated with me every step of the way. This will be my "go-to" company for the future. A true gem in the industry.

Description of Work
Evaluation and repair of dysfunctional in-floor heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/03/2015


Debra R.

Very impressed with Jim! Showed up right on time.... I explained that my house was cold and I just wanted the baseboard heat replaced. He went around the house checking the baseboards and agreed something was wrong.... When he was checking the furnace he noticed a small valve that was turned in the wrong direction restricting the water flow. Water started circulating immediately but it started a leak in the pressure valve. Jim suggested draining the water and flushing out the system, which he did. He tightened the valve and discovered a couple of other leaks. He was here about an hour. When I asked him how much all this was going to cost and he was reluctant to charge me anything, but said the flush would normally be $45. I paid him an extra $55 just because I felt that was fair. Jim could have totally taken advantage of the situation. I was willing at the time to pay $10,000 for a new system, but a simple fix saved me from having to spend that money. I still hate baseboard heat, but l love not having to pay $10,000! Thanks Jim!!!! I will be recommending you to everyone I know!

Description of Work
I called to get a quote on replacing my hot water baseboard heat with a heat pump

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/29/2014


William .

I have done business with this company multiple times over the last two years and have not ceased to be amazed. My wife and I purchased an older home two years ago and had two plumbers out to help us before we found Avalanche, both of which either gave us a sky high estimates or plainly weren't willing to do the work (we have a very tight crawlspace). When Jim with Avalanche came out to take a look he wasn't deterred and happily took on the job. We got to know a couple of his technicians during the project both of whom were extremely professional and willing to help with any questions. Overall we would be happy to have them back and only wish we could find other contractors with similar professionalism.

Description of Work
Water heater, gas lines, water lines, sinks, toilet, swamp cooler, gas unit heater. Just about everything in the house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/20/2014


Bob B.

They we're very thorough. Jim gave us several options and ideas about heating an older historic home. Ideas that we didn't even think about. We chose the option of heating the second story separate from the first story. The workers Joe, lead, Matt and Dawson were very professional and hard working. They finished the job in a very timely manner, cleaned up every day, and cleaned up at the end of the job really well. We would highly recommend them. Jim and Matt, the co-owners were out here working as well

Description of Work
installed two heater systems, one upstairs, and one downstairs

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/22/2014


Gail P.

Showed up right on time, friendly and professional. Explained all that he was going to do and was efficient. Will call again for the next plumbing problem.

Description of Work
Winterized swamp cooler, checked furnace and replaced corroded hoses on washing machine.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

08/04/2014


Dick C.

Contractor showed up as promised and completed work as expected. Determined cause of problems correctly and executed work in a professional manner. Very competent contractor with fair pricing.

Description of Work
Worked on air conditioning system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/29/2014


Lisa J.

Prices and info on equipment given at the onset. Explained the difference in units. Advised me to register the furnace with Trane in order to receive any needed free parts for five years. Scheduled a date and time. Service people showed up on time and were complete in half a day. Cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Replaced older gas furnace in garage with new gas furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/25/2014


ROBYN M.

The tech was only offering one manufacturer for a/c.

Description of Work
PROVIDED AN ESTIMATE

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) thank you for allowing us to look at your project. I'm sorry our proposal did not fit your budget, however using less expensive brands has proven to be a mistake for us in the past. Our experience with nearly every brand other than Fujitsu has resulted in high failure rates and poor tech and warranty support from the manufactures. Ultimately letting our customers down and not providing the level of service and satisfaction we hold ourselves accountable to provide to every customer. I understand the price is higher than some of the other brands, but it is well worth the money. Hopefully you will still keep us in mind for any other heating, cooling, or plumbing needs.
5.0

07/12/2014


Noel E.

The entire job went great! The installation looks great and works better. The installation took several days to complete ( which they had informed me of early on), although at the end of each day they cleaned up so well you couldn't tell that they had been there at all. Everyone that worked on my house was professional and polite. I was very impressed with the attention to fine detail! They arrived when they said they would and even worked late the last night just to get finished, In addition they finished the job faster than originally anticipated. Their pricing was very fair. One bid I got was more than double what they charged (the guys in the big red trucks). I would recommend Avalanche to everyone I know.

Description of Work
Converted my house from hot water heat and no cooling, to forced air and added A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

07/03/2014


rose K.

When we had them out last March they had to reinstall a ductless air conditioning that the previous plumber mis-installed. So we basically had to have them tear it all down and put in together like they were installing it for the first time. Then we had them come out and install another ductless air conditioning unit in another part of the house. I picked them because we have a plan to excel energy and I was having trouble getting. I got ripped off by two pluming companies and I didn't know what to do so I called another plumber and asked them who they had contracted under out service plan if I were to have a problem with my boiler and they recommended Avalanche to me so that is what made me pick them. They are very professional and we were very impressed. His prices are very competitive. We are very happy.

Description of Work
We had Avalanche Heating & Cooling to do a system maintenance check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

06/08/2014


Galen W.

The Avalanche front office was very responsive and helpful in setting up the appointment and answering my questions. Their technician arrived toward the end of the 4-hour window I was given and got right to work. He was very pleasant, knowledgeable, explained what he was doing, and, unlike another company that we had shut it down last fall, didn't try to sell us new pads or other products or services that we didn't need. He even folded the cover for me. I was very pleased by their work, and we got the cooler on just in time for a hot spell.

Description of Work
Started up our Breezaire for the season.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Airstream Plumbing & Heating Inc

    Airstream Plumbing & Heating Inc. has served western Colorado and greater Grand Valley since 1983. We would love the opportunity to show you what expertise, experience and conscientious concern can mean for the overall value of your project. We are a service company that specializes in plumbing repairs, fixture & faucet repairs or replacement, drain maintenance, point of use water filters, reverse osmosis water dispensing units, whole house water filtration, whole house water conditioning, whole house water softeners, hot water boiler maintenance, repair or replacement, hot water baseboard heating installation and repair, radiant in-floor heating installation and repair, forced air furnace maintenance, repair or replacement evap. cooler maintenance, repair or replacement and central air, refrigerated air maintenance, repair or replacement, mini-split A/C installation, rooftop (package) unit repair & replacement and much more. We also have plumbing, heating and cooling maintenance contracts that offer same day service, no overtime charges on evenings, weekends or holidays and discounts on all repairs. Maintain, repair or replace - the choice is yours. Regret is not an option we give. Call today!  

    Diversity Mechanical

    My father Mark started this company almost 20 years ago, after our family moved across the country where he worked as a union carpenter and a master of all trades. Years ago he brought my brother and I on board where we run and operate the company locally. We love to bid against other companies in order to show our unbeatable prices and honest work. All of us have many years of experience in all and any home improvement needs you may have.  

    Double Diamond Plumbing

    Call today for plumbing services. LICENSE #1323.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential Heating & Cooling Installation, Furnaces, Boilers, Gas Piping, Water Heaters, Swamp Coolers, Air Conditioners, Solar Hot Water, Refrigeration, Conditioning, Ventilation & Swamp Coolers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing

    How is Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing overall rated?

    Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing open?

    Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing provide

    Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing?

    No, Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing does not offer warranties.

    What services does Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offer?

    Avalanche Heating Cooling & Plumbing offers the following services: Residential Heating & Cooling Installation, Furnaces, Boilers, Gas Piping, Water Heaters, Swamp Coolers, Air Conditioners, Solar Hot Water, Refrigeration, Conditioning, Ventilation & Swamp Coolers.