Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Safe work practices. No contact contract signing.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

J&K Roofing

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2005

4.7

(113) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13000 W 43rd Dr

Golden, CO 80403

Description

J&K Roofing is a locally-owned and operated family business specializing in a wide range of roofing materials since 1984. During that time we have roofed over 50,000 roofs in the metro Denver and Front Range communities. Our experienced staff, manufacturer certified installations, and unparalleled customer service are just a few of the qualities that set us apart from other roofing companies in the region. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

06/07/2022


Amanda F.

While we had some trouble with the scheduling of this project and the overall communication, Noah did a very nice job of documenting the needs of this project and including it in the quote even though it was such a small job. Overall, we are extremely happy with the result and it looks as seamless as possible after the patch.

Description of Work
Roof patch after the removal of a swamp cooler

Category roofing

5.0

07/10/2018


Dena K.

We recently replaced our roof due to hail damage. We met with four different roofing companies and decided on J&K Roofing due to their competitive pricing and the great service we received from Taylor. He made it super easy to work with the insurance company and everything went incredibly smooth. Taylor was professional, helpful and responsive to all of our needs. The crew arrived as scheduled and worked a really long, hard day to get everything done in one day (our roof is huge). We were a little worried about the cleanup job because it was getting dark by the time they finished, but we checked it out the next morning and the cleanup was excellent! We were very satisfied with everything about the experience as well as the overall results.

Description of Work
Roof Replaced Due to Hail Storm

Category roofing

5.0

06/09/2018


Mary E.

Very well. Company professional And responsive from start to finish. Good price. Did what they said they would on time. Discussed with us a fix for an area of the of roof that was slanted incorrectly and a source of leaks. Crews worked from early to late. Had a few days delay due to a inspector showing up late and throwing off the schedule, but that was remedied. Very cooperative to saving old tiles for neighbor's, and very nice offering to help load them for several of the ladies.

Description of Work
Complete reroof of our tile roof

Category roofing

2.0

03/20/2018


Anthony S.

Dealing with J&K was a miserable experience from start to finish. I only hired this company due to Tim being friends with my buddy. I was told my buddy would get a reward for bringing my business but to this day he hasn't gotten a thing so the lies started day 1. I felt like I was constantly lied too and in the dark this entire 6 month process. From the second I signed the contract and got the insurance check I basically never heard from anyone. They do not schedule anything and will not work with your schedule. When I signed the contract they didn't even cover the hole in my skylight for me. A month later the roofing materials were delivered at 10pm on a Sunday without notice. I was sitting on my couch then bam, house shakes and alarms go off. I called Tim and he apologized then said work would start at the end of the week. 24 hours later at 6am it was complete construction mayhem. Zero notice given. My car was stuck in the garage getting rained on by debris because it was blocked by their dumpster. The skylights were all removed so no family member could use the bathroom. My wife had to call off work and my brother had to cancel his visit because of his young kids. The roof crew threw away my rain sensor costing me $230 which I wasn't refunded until the end. They removed my swamp cooler but since I had no notice I had to call out an emergency electrician and pay more to shut it off. J&K does not work on anything but the roof so I couldn't have areas fixed causing one corner of my house to now be busted through. All of this could have been avoided with proper notice of when they were coming. After they left I never heard from anyone and waited a month for gutters. I called Tim and was told gutters were scheduled for the end of that week. 1 hour later 4 Hispanics in a rental truck show up with a work notice and no English skills. It was the gutters. J&K seem to have zero clue of who they hire or when they are showing up. They didn't replace the downspouts as I was promised. Tim apologized and again promised to let me know when things were going to happen. Few weeks later a random guy shows up and complains to me he was told the wrong skylight size. I had no idea who this person was. Four days later guy shows up while I'm at my doctor, cusses out my wife, installs the wrong skylight, sets off my alarms, and throws the old one into my yard. Tim once again apologized and threw the trash away. A week later I got a call, had a time scheduled, and another J&k guy installed my new skylights. That was great and I thought things were getting better. After awhile a guy showed up from my insurance to inspect for additional things as requested by J&K. I was never even told they were going to do this and just wanted to be done. I got an additional $500 for my shed that's gonna cost 3k to replace and more money for a back part of my roof. I was continously asked about this additional check by Tim and didn't want to tell him the amount. I felt like they wanted to pad the bill. They never did the work on the back part of my roof. I found out everything was finished by coming home to discover the roofing sign gone and inspection paper removed. Nobody ever calls you. I called the office multiple times and wrote multiple emails to no replies for my bill. When I finally got my bill there was zero break downs on cost or any paper work. The bill was given to me 5 days after the due date shown. The bill had been generated over a month before. Not to my shock my bill was the exact amount insurance gave me plus about $5,000 out of my pocket. I was charged for special shingles but I have no clue if those were actually installed. I have to have someone now fix the broken part of my roof, someone replace a shed with zero funds, finish the gutters, and drag myself out of debt for hiring this company. I had hoped hiring them would relieve stress but their lack of communication or scheduling caused more. I really wished I had hired a different company. I only paid my bill because of fear of having a lein put on me and wanting to just be done with it.

Description of Work
Roofing replacement after hail storm including gutters, skylights, and shed.

Category gutter repair, roofing, garage builders, skylights

5.0

09/29/2017


Roger R.

I have no complaints. Re-roofing was done in a timely manner. A couple of small problems were corrected quickly. The sales technician was pleasant and responsive to work with and the work crew did a good cleanup.

Description of Work
New roof and gutters after 2017 hail storm.

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

08/18/2017


Jamey M.

Nice roof, shady contractors, bad communication. The roofing contractors used my water hoses without asking. In fact they used them once they saw me leave. I'm not a jerk or anything, the problem lies in my backyard hose spigot was broken which was very clear as soon as you turn it on. Instead of turning it off they flooded my basement and ruined a mattress. Then we were not told when the gutter crew was coming and I had scheduled meeting away from my house. So they see us leave, we were gone for approx 45 minutes. Upon return our back door lock was broken, key would go in but would not turn. We would have been there the entire time had it been communicated that they would be there that day. Then randomly without telling us about 2 weeks later they sent someone to "fix" our lock, not sure how they were planning on fixing it without us being there. I saw them on my new security camera while my husband was sleeping and called him. Um, we already fixed the lock the day it was broken, which was communicated on my part. After all this headache they tried charging me tax twice. Then offered to take $300 off the bill, ouch. Bad business

Description of Work
New roof & gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

04/13/2017


Danielle L.

The communication between the "salesman" and workers was not concise. The overall experience was negative, the only positive thing that came out of the experience is a good quality roof. The process of scheduling and going over money details was disappointing and confusing. Having homeowners insurance cover the entire process should have made it easy, but payments came to us at different times through insurance, figuring out what amount was paid and owed was not clearly explained. The biggest "uh-oh" or lack of communication was regarding the swamp cooler. We had removed the non-working swamp cooler and let the salesman know to leave a hole where the ducting is so that the day the roof is complete, we can install the new swamp cooler. We were not able to be home that day before the completion of the roof, and the workers covered up the swamp cooler access with shingles! We were not able to schedule a time for them to come back out due to weather and it being less important for us to be squeezed into their schedule since we had already paid and the job was complete. The new metal vents on the roof were supposed to be replaced and instead were painted, so I had to request the company to come back and replace with new items like we paid for. Again, this was not a priority due to the job being complete. The job was done promptly and cleanup was sufficient, but overall the experience was not worth using this company again or recommending them.

Description of Work
Roof and gutters replaced via home owners insurance claim due to hail damage

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

08/02/2016


Michael G.

Worked with Carlos, the whole process was very professional and went smoothly. All prices were presented up front and reasonable. Extremely happy with all the work performed.

Description of Work
Replaced roof and removed old swamp cooler

Category roofing

4.0

05/18/2016


Jessica A.

Didn't get too far on the phone; they no longer certify / provide a warranty on their workmanship. This was a big red-flag to me, as every other roofer I called will back their repairs for at least 5yrs.

Description of Work
No services rendered

Category roofing

5.0

11/28/2015


Pieter L.

Excellent job! They handled everything professionally from the quick day and a half to tear off and replace the brittle cedar from 37 years of south face exposure and a recent hail storm. North side was barely damaged and not insured, but they replaced a few vulnerable shingles on that side anyway. Cleaned up thoroughly. Best estimate and willingless to do a partial roof. Recommended by our H.O.A.

Description of Work
Replaced south side of cedar shake roof. Approximately 55 percent of total roof.

Category roofing

5.0

11/28/2015


Pieter L.

Replaced south side of cedar shake roof.? Approximately 55 percent of total roof.

Description of Work
Excellent job! They handled everything professionally from the quick day and a half to tear off and replace the brittle cedar from 37 years of south face exposure and a recent hail storm.? North side was barely damaged and not insured, but they replaced a few vulnerable shingles on that side anyway.?Cleaned up thoroughly. ?Best estimate and willingless to do a partial roof. Recommended by our H.O.A.

Category roofing

5.0

03/28/2015


Don H.

I am extremely happy with Jand K Roofing, and especially my company contact, Danny B. Danny does a great job keeping me informed of the progress of the job, and if there is ever an issue to be dealt with (which is rare), he handles it promptly and professionally. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
I have been using J&K Roofing for the past two years on my rental properties. They re-roofed 11 houses for me in November of 2014, numerous others in 2013, and they will soon be doing my personal residence.

Category roofing

2.0

03/11/2015


Denise Z.

I contacted them for a bid to replace my roof. A rep came over and measured my roof and I picked my product. The rep said he would email me a bid. I never got it. After 2 weeks, I emailed the office to see where it was. No response. I saw a rep at the Colorado Home Show and again no response. I don't know why they weren't interested. I was ready to have the roof replaced. The only thing I can think of is that I refused to give the rep a copy of what my insurance company said they would PAY for my roof. I did give him the specs and measurements that the adjuster wrote, I just wouldn't give the rep the actual dollar amount the insurance company would pay me. I signed a roofing contract with Academy Roofing this morning. They were responsive, not pushy and gave much better service. They are longtime Denver roofers and may not be the cheapest but that wasn't what I was looking for. I just wanted a proper job done.

Description of Work
Not much.

Category roofing

5.0

10/27/2014


Glenn T.

Excellent service in helping us file and obtain the proper insurance claim. Installers were very respectful of our property, very fast and did extremely good work. I would not hesitate to refer them to anyone. Arvada Homeowner

Description of Work
Negotiated with home insurance claim adjusters. Total roof replacement.

Category roofing

5.0

10/20/2014


James P.

They did a good job. They came as quick as they could, and they did a good job. There was one item that I had a problem with, but overall they did a good job.

Description of Work
We got our roof replaced by J & K Roofing last March.

Category roofing

5.0

09/30/2014


Judith M.

Jand K Roofing was recommended by a friend as a family owned business that has served our area for over 27 years. Their bid was competitive. They worked directly with our insurance company to make any adjustments that were necessary and kept us in the loop at all times. The large skilled crew arrived on time and completely stripped our fairly large roof and reroofed it in one day. Many of our neighbors had the same work done by other companies and it generally took much longer. This was a huge plus because believe me, you don't want to hear banging on your roof any longer than necessary! Randy, the owner, stopped by often to check on everything and even installed new light fixtures and did some other minor repairs himself. They cleaned up around the house each day and were careful not to harm garage doors, siding or plants. We love our new roof! I highly recommend this company and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Completely removed and replaced the roof, gutters, exterior lights and window screens due to hail damage.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/29/2014


Michael G.

Worked with Carlos, the whole process was very professional and went smoothly. All prices were presented up front and reasonable. Extremely happy with all the work performed.

Description of Work
Replaced roof and removed old swamp cooler

Category roofing

5.0

11/17/2013


Jo B.

The job was scheduled promptly, the work was completed as promised, cleanup was excellent, the roof is beautiful. Communication with J & K Roofing was great, everyone was very responsive and professional.

Description of Work
Highest recommendation for J & K Roofing. They provided all the information I needed to understand the claim process, the inspection process, the actual roof replacement and the payment process.

Category roofing

5.0

11/05/2013


Gary C.

Arrived as scheduled , worked consistently until job done, crew very professional and knowledgeable, overall completely satisfied with this company from the initial contact through the final billing.

Description of Work
Removed old shake roof and installed new stone coated steel roof on entire house

Category roofing

5.0

07/24/2013


Kathleen B.

This was a re-roof, and J & K Roofing was one of the bidders. I did not go with the lowest bid. Chuck Quante was the point man on the project. He did the initial visit and bid. He communicated well throughout the process before, during and after. Chuck also interacted and coordinated efforts with the other contractor who was doing the swamp cooler. The roofers who came were pleasant and courteous, and they did an outstanding job of cleaning up the yard afterwards. No plants were harmed. Chuck is a man of integrity and character with excellent attention to detail. He represents the company well. It was a pleasure to do business with J & K Roofing and Chuck Quante. I recommend them highly and plan to ask them to bid on my mom's house in Loveland.

Description of Work
They did a tear off and installed underlayment. There was a double starter course on all eaves and re-flashing for the chimney and skylight. The new valleys were closed with 90 lb. felt and new covers supplied for the fan outlets. Galvanized nails were used and the roof was hand nailed. Metal plumbing jacks were replaced and the roof stacks were painted. An ice and water shield were installed on the roof slope on the back of the house. There were vertical walls and a head wall that were re-flashed.

Category roofing

5.0

04/17/2013


Jeanne Ann or Mike W.

Their crew was very reliable. They showed up when they were supposed to. They have an English speaking guy with them all the time. They seem to put forth the effort to do a good job and we were pleased with the work. We don't know if it's leaking yet because it hasn't rained. They were with us the whole time. Their price was very fair. It was better than most.

Description of Work
I used the services of J & K Roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

12/19/2012


Michael M.

They did an excellent job and were very professional - I would definitely use them again

Description of Work
Full Roof & flashing replacement from hail damage

Category roofing

5.0

11/07/2012


Debbie R.

He was awesome. He replaced my mom's roof prior to this. He got the job done. He did what he said he was going to do. He actually gave us the estimate in Sept of 2011, and he honored it to the date of the work. He really worked within our time constraint as necessary. His name was Chris Huke. He really came through for us. I'd recommend him highly anywhere.

Description of Work
He replaced a lot of shingles, and added a silver coat to all valleys.

Category roofing

5.0

11/01/2012


Sandy C.

We went with J&K for two reasons - they got fairly good reviews on Angie's List, and their price was the best of all the five estimates we received. It turns out it was a good decision. Our roof looks fabulous now, and should last a long, long time. We just recently changed insurance companies and had the home inspection for our new insurance and the inspector got on the roof and he also said that it looked like a very good, high-quality job was done. We also liked that they came in the morning and were finished that afternoon, but we do have an extremely small house, so that might not always be the case for larger houses/roofs. They cleaned up pretty well too. While the roof was being done our yard looked like such a mess I thought they would never get it looking right again, but when they left it looked great - even better than it did before since they used a leaf-blower to clean up some of their mess, which took our leaves with it! :-) We've only found a few small pieces of shingles and one nail in our yard in the month+ since it's been done. The workers were also polite and friendly while they were here, both for the roof and for the gutters. We really have no complaints at all about the customer service we received or the work that was performed. It was the first time we'd ever had a roof replaced, so we've got nothing to compare it to, but I don't think we could have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
Old roof torn off, sheathing and flashing replaced, new roof put on, new gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

06/14/2012


Rolland P.

Our insurance company recommended them. It is family-owned business. We were very impressed with their service. They did a good job. They cleaned up everything. We are very happy with them.

Description of Work
J & K Roofing put a new roof on the house.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    All American Gutter Protection

    The best decision you'll ever make! All American Gutter Protection is an innovative gutter protection company that is established and manufactured in the USA, who prides themselves on the highest quality product, installation, customer service and satisfaction. Specializing in seamless aluminum gutters and a stainless steel micro filter gutter guard, All American Gutter Protection is the number one choice when it comes to all gutter needs. All American Gutter Protection uses only authorized, trained technicians and a lifetime performance warranty.  

    Ableman Gutters & Ice Dam Service

    Ableman Gutters & Ice Dam Service offers seamless gutter installation, gutter replacement, repair or cleaning and maintenance services in the metro Denver, CO area and foothills, as well as Summit & Grand counties. We also specialize in ice dam prevention and ice melt systems, emergency ice dam removal and snow and ice retention solutions. We offer no cost Lifetime Workmanship warranties and 10 plus year product warranties. Call 720-524-6273 now to get started on your gutters or ice dam service needs. We look forward to providing our professional experience and expertise and the reliable service you deserve.  

    Stellar Painting & Remodeling

    Stellar is a consultative style, family owned, and award winning business! We have been in business for 16 years and our focus is you and your needs. We are currently offering Online Interior or Exterior Virtual Online Bids. Please call us for more Details. We will do "In person" Exterior Bids in City's or Counties allowing it. Our Goal is provide a Fair Price for Consistent Positive End Results and be More Right than Wrong Always with our Estimates. Cost is determined by the job, no travel charge, no service fee, and no extra charge for after-hours service. Estimates are Free no matter where you live. Our mission is to care the most and have Hardworking Passionate People doing great work and providing a high level of Customer Service to our Clients. Additional contacts: Owner Guy W. Miller, Kris Nolan, Ashley Turner, Stacy Field Supervisors Nick Lawrence & Armando Torres. MAIN LINE FOR BID REQUESTS: (720) 981-7827(STAR). Send Bid Requests for Residential or Commercial to sc.stellar@choosestellar.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Stellar Painting & Remodeling on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and Commercial re-roofing. Free Inspections. No Obligations.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J&K Roofing

    How is J&K Roofing overall rated?

    J&K Roofing is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are J&K Roofing open?

    J&K Roofing is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does J&K Roofing provide

    J&K Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does J&K Roofing offer free estimates?

    No, J&K Roofing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does J&K Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J&K Roofing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J&K Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, J&K Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J&K Roofing?

    Yes, J&K Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does J&K Roofing offer?

    J&K Roofing offers the following services: Residential and Commercial re-roofing. Free Inspections. No Obligations.