Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alex Foster Construction

Founded 2003 • With Angi since June 2009

4.7

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

948 Torrey St

Golden, CO 80401

Description

Owner-operated. Uses subs for electrical, plumbing & AC. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. License: #CBC1251100. May contact through email.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/27/2015


Shannon K.

From the moment he walked in the door he seemed disinterested in our project. He barely talked or asked questions about the project. Then he asked me why we haven't gone with someone else wondering if they were too expensive. I explained we were getting several quotes but he made it seem like he was basing his quote on what others were giving us, not his standard pricing. When we got his quote he was $4000 more than anyone else. He also sent his quote in an email that was not itemized and very basic. Overall I felt like he was just going through the motions and never really intended to do the work or provide a compeative quote. The whole interaction was a waste of time.

Description of Work
nothing, we decided not to use him.

Category home remodeling, doors

5.0

04/01/2015


Jonathan H.

We love our new basement! Alex Foster did an amazing job! We got estimates from four contractors and all but one was higher than Alex. We went with Alex because he seemed trustworthy, punctual and responsive. He also helped us come up with different ideas for the basement because we were having a hard time deciding what changes would work the best. We were kind of in a hurry to get the job done because we have a baby on the way. He started the job within a week or two and we couldn’t believe how much progress him and his subcontractors would make every time they came. It was nice to only have to work with one person, rather than needing to contact separate contractors to do the drywall, plumbing and electrical work. Everyone he works with is very trustworthy, hard working and efficient. We both work during the week so it was important to find someone we could trust to leave our house with and they all delivered high quality workmanship. There were a couple snags because of us being indecisive and we were also waiting for a fireplace that wasn’t in stock. Alex was very patient with us and was always ready to get the next step done as we were ready. Our basement is so much more beautiful and high quality than we thought it would be. He definitely exceeded our expectations and we’re so happy to have this nice new space for our growing family.

Description of Work
Full basement remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

03/12/2014


Colleen K.

It went wonderful and I highly recommend him. He is thorough and complete. If there is anything you didn't like, there is no problem to change it. We had him for several different projects and we really like him. The only thing is the price is a little bit high but we always enjoyed the work he has done. He did really good work.

Description of Work
Alex Foster Construction put a roof on our patio and built a bench. It is a 20 foot patio and enclosed it in.

Category sunrooms

5.0

02/27/2014


KENNETH R.

Work was of hiqh quality and Alex made several good suggestions. His subcontractorwho laid the hardwood floor did an excellent job. The work was completed in a reasonablelength of time. I was highly satisfied with the results.

Description of Work
Remodel dining room into bedroom with walk in closet

Category remodeling

3.0

12/19/2013


Kirk S.

He came out and he did a pretty good job in checking everything out. We didn't use him but in his estimating he did a really great job with what exactly was going to be done but he was very nice and very friendly. He didn't really break down what needed to be done. Well she wanted to exactly how much was going to be spent on each part and it took him a long time to get anything back. So basically by the time we did get something back she had already decided to go with somebody else. He was very professional and very friendly but it just took him a while to get back. He was there on time.

Description of Work
Alex Foster Construction gave us an estimate for the basement that we are having remodeled.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/12/2013


FRANCINE H.

No problems. Excellent work in a timely manner. Communicated well with us r/t choices, styles and colors. Very professional and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Finished 400 Sq.Ft of our basement. There was only basic insullation and from that. Alex made 1 large bedroom, bathroom, and large dining and den area. All was finished to perfection. He is very meticulous about his work. He employed skilled workers and managed them well. Work was compleded in less time than quoted

Category handyman service, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

10/31/2013


David R.

Alex did an excellent job replacing two doors in our 1962 home. One door is an odd size, but that didn't slow Alex down. I would certainly rely on Alex again for such work.

Description of Work
Replaced two interior doors

Category doors

3.0

09/06/2013


Calvin G.

Overall, I'm satisfied with the project; however, communication isn't Alex's strong point and aspects of this project were hindered by this. Also, if you like your floors to be level, you might want to look elsewhere. We assumed that it was understood that a person spending a lot of money on major projects would want the floors of the finished product to be level, but apparently with Alex you have to specify this in advance, which not having occurred at the outset resulted in uneven floors.

Description of Work
He did a pergola on our back deck. He enclosed our front porch and remodeled our bathroom.

Category home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

06/17/2013


isabel M.

everything went great. the finished product is so pretty that i still can't get over the great job!

Description of Work
converted two small bedrooms into 1 master and made the bathroom larger

Category remodeling

5.0

05/12/2013


Colleen K.

It went great overall. We had no problems whatsoever and I would highly recommend Alex Foster Construction for any building job you need done.

Description of Work
We had the third stall garage turned into a shop with benches and added electrical outlets. Alex and his crew were very professional and completed the project in a very short time. We have hired Alex Foster for our next big project which is putting a roof over the existing patio. I look forward to dealing with him and his crew as they are very good workers. Alex has also did remodeling in our mothers bathroom with a new shower that is awesome. She is so happy with it.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

4.0

12/03/2012


Colleen S.

Alex was great and helped come up with ideas and solutions. His tiling subcontractor created scheduling problems so the project took a little longer than expected, but otherwise I was extremely pleased. A couple of small things came up after the project, but Alex handled them immediately. I was very impressed with his responsiveness, his straight- talking style and absolutely LOVE the end product.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel, including removing existing windows, installation of steam shower and walk-in tub, re-tiling shower, walls and floor, building storage cabinet, and painting.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, house painters

4.0

10/20/2012


Deborah M.

Alex came in and gave us an estimate for the entire job, hearth seat and bathroom, at $2200. We provided the tile and grout for both jobs and the vanity, toilet, accessories, and baseboard for the bathroom, and we said we would do the painting work in the bathroom and apply the finish to the maple front of the hearth seat. We also provided the maple boards and trim for the face of the hearth seat. Our original intent was for them to take it from there, otherwise. On the hearth seat, when I asked about the specifics of the design they planned to use, I wasn?t happy with their plan to let the edge of the tile form the corner of the hearth seat, so we started talking more about the design and came up with a plan for a wooden bullnose and front face. Communication about execution of this plan proved to be difficult, and since we wanted the work done according to our design, we decided (with Alex?s agreement) to fabricate the maple face and put it in place ourselves on the frame they had built. Alex?s crew took a break for a few days to give us time to do this, and once we were done, they came back and did the tile work. Communicating with the tile layer about the specifics Alex and I had decided on was difficult, and at first it looked like we?d hit an impasse, but I had the tile layer call Alex, they worked it out, and it was completed as planned with good quality. The bathroom work also had a break in the middle, after tear-out, during which we patched, textured, and painted the walls ourselves. From that point, the work proceeded with good quality. Communication of details was difficult (some baseboard painting and caulk lines had to be added at the end, which Alex did quickly and without complaint, but I had thought we?d already worked those parts out). Otherwise, my only complaint was that the tile layer used white masking tape rather than blue painter?s tape to block off the room when the thinset and grout were curing, and the tape took some paint off the doorframe. (We had painters coming afterward anyway, so they fixed it.) Long story short, Alex and his crew did good work, but communication was kind of frustrating. And in the end, even though we?d done more of the fabrication work than originally discussed, Alex charged us the same $2200 he?d originally estimated.

Description of Work
We hired Alex Foster to do a partial bathroom remodel (including tile, baseboard, installing new toilet and vanity), and also to build a hearth seat in front of an existing gas fireplace. We did some of the work ourselves: patching, texturing, and painting the bathroom walls; and building the wooden face for the hearth seat.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/16/2012


Colleen K.

started project when said he would. Worked at steady pace. Very professional and helpful with different ideas on how to do the job. Cleaned up after each project. Reasonable bids on job. Highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Alex and crew are outstanding. In fact we have used him a good portion of this summer for different jobs...ie finish/wire inside of garage and build a wall for a shop, put up section of privacy fence and redone the shower in master bathroom to make it easier access for my mother. I would highly recommend him on any job....Great business man......

Category remodeling

5.0

05/30/2012


FRANCINE H.

I received 3 bids on the project. We selected Alex based on a number of factors including his past projects, references and price (not the cheapest but not the highest either). Once the building permit was attained, he started right away and the whole process took less than 6 weeks. All his craftsmen were courteous and produced quality work. I highly recommend Alex.

Description of Work
Finished out basement to include a large rec room, bedroom and complete bath - about 950 SF.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/17/2012


Clare C.

I was impressed from start to finish. We didn't have a very detailed plan for what we wanted when we started the project, just a general idea. Many contractors don't want to take on projects like that OR they try to guide you to what THEY think is best. Alex was different, he was patient and worked with us each step of the way, making suggestions but allowing us to make changes and add-ons as we went. The subcontractors Alex used (electrical, plumbing, etc) were trustworthy and easy to work with. The end result exceeded my expectations, finished earlier than expected and was very reasonably priced. Alex was fantastic at communicating often so we knew what to expect. I will definitely use Alex Foster Construction again and I highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Alex was the General Contractor for our basement remodel. - removed a drop ceiling and replaced with drywall - enlarged bathroom and re-framed other interior walls - poured custom shower pan to meet with existing floor drain - tiled bathroom (shower and walls) - New lighting and cleanup of old electrical mess - replace, re-texture, paint drywall - install 3 new custom sized interior doors - added plumbing for laundry - added bathroom fan (including ducts to outside) - added heat vents

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

12/08/2011


Nathan R.

Job went very well. Alex was responsive, punctual and professional in terms of craftsmanship and cleanup. Project was completed in one day. Only minor critisism: Bid/billing process was a bit informal. Overall, a very nice job and will be using Alex for future remodel projects

Description of Work
Installation of over-range microwave oven. Job included the need to remove and cut-down existing cabinet/doors and modify sofit for proper fit and maximize usable space.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/07/2011


isabel M.

All went well and the finished product is absolutely gorgeous. I've had som much work done by handy men and contractors and was scared of what i would wind up with, but I love it and my husband is really pleased.

Description of Work
Remodel of bathroom and bedrooms/combined 2 into 1.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/06/2011


Colleen S.

The end product totally met my expectations. The room is fantastic and tasteful. There were a few bumps along the way, which I don't think should be unexpected. The project took a bit longer to complete than we had expected due to one of Alex's subcontractor's inconsistent schedule, but the plumbers and electrician that Alex used were awesome. Alex made suggestions and recommendations that added to the beauty of the finished product. I would recommend Alex without qualification.

Description of Work
Alex performed a total remodel of the master bathroom, including installation of a steam shower, walk-in tub, tiling shower, walls and floors, removal of two large windows and replacement with two smaller windows, installation of new granite top and sinks and faucets on vanity and construction of a linen closet.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/24/2011


Laurie F.

Alex was on time for the estimate and for all work done. He is very laid back and casual but was always responsive to my emails or concerns in a prompt manner. When there was a delay with the granite supplier that was going to extend the work time I was upset as it was going to run into my scheduled vacation. I expressed my concerns to Alex and he spent 13 hours on the last day getting everything done so it would be done on time. I really appreciated that! He had good suggestions throughout the process. I especially appreciated that he went with me to the granite/cabinet supplier so I could see my options to remain in budget. He only asked for money when cabinets and granite had to be ordered and then at the completion of the project so I had no concerns I was handing over money and not getting work done. The subcontractor was very professional and I felt comfortable having him at my house. This is the first time I have done any kind of remodel and it is true what a pain it is to have a part of your house torn up for an extended time, however, working with Alex helped alleviate some of that stress as he was reliable and professional. I may have some other remodel work in the future and I wouldn't hesitate to use him again.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen - replaced cabinets, put in granite countertops, installed over range microwave including venting through attic/roof, extended wall of laundry closet and installed new doors, installed tile backsplash

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/30/2011


Tim H.

Bottom line? Alex & crew were excellent start to finish. My experience was what you hope for/expect from contractors, but all too often don't get. I contacted Alex through Angie's List and he worked up a very reasonable estimate for the work I had initially planned. Not the cheapest, but that's rarely the best indicator, anyway. I'm looking for quality with the least hassle. Alex worked with me to arrange for a building engineer to review the project and draft designs for the steel support beam. This was an additional cost that I hadn't planned on, but I was appreciative that he was upfront about it being necessary rather than something "discovered" once the project was underway. The estimate he provided proved to be spot on as well--no cost overruns to speak of. The project took about 10 days total, which allowed for the additional work I added once they had started. Alex & crew were very careful to seal off the rest of the house from the construction area, and maintained a very clean, neat work site for the duration, including removal of all trash and demolition debris. You wouldn't have known they were there. Progress was clearly visible each day and it was obvious that each step was done carefully and professionally--no cut corners or shoddy work. Likewise, the final product was completed with the attention to detail that makes the new room blend seamlessly with the existing bedroom. I've already received several compliments on how it all looks. I wouldn't hesitate to use Alex again in the future. Given the list of other projects I have waiting in the wings, I might be calling sooner rather than later.

Description of Work
I have a small 1912 brick home in Denver, with bedrooms sized according to that era as well. My "master" bedroom allowed for a bed and dresser, and not much else. A 1960s-vintage frame addition off the back of the house added a small storage room but blocked the sunlight from the bedroom. Solution: knock down the brick wall and join the rooms together to make a larger, more open bedroom. Since the brick wall was load-bearing and old, this wasn't something I was willing to try on my own. The project involved demolishing the brick wall, installing a steel beam to support the roof, removing/replacing three large windows, reframing portions of the window boxes, replacing outdated insulation in the new room, removing/replacing all drywall, trim/finishing work, and painting.

Category remodeling, replacement windows

5.0

06/01/2011


elizabeth S.

Alex was great!! He and his guys were all very professional and polite. Everyone worked hard, we never even saw anyone take a lunch break. The bathrooms turned out great, better than expected, we are very pleased and hope to use him again on the many projects we have.

Description of Work
We had two bathrooms totally gutted and redone.

Category home remodeling

4.0

05/31/2011


Jennifer B.

We needed someone who could provide architectural advice on our remodel. Alex seemed capable of executing the work, but we needed to talk with someone else to get the plans drawn up first. We ended up going with a larger firm that had all these services in one, rather than piecing out the job.

Description of Work
Alex Foster Construction responded to a request for a bid for a kitchen remodel. He came to our house for an initial discussion but we weren't ready for him to submit a bid.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/18/2011


Lee D.

The job was more complicated than we initially thought, and took longer than any of us anticipated. Alex adjusted his schedule to ensure the job finished within a reasonable time frame. We absolutely LOVE the new office!

Description of Work
Alex Foster and his crew closed off an open room in our new town home to create a space for my husband's home office. We wanted to make the room comfortable and functional, but also interesting as he spends a great deal of time working. Initially we had planned to use glass brick on either side of the French doors installed. Shortly before the project was to begin I stumbled upon some exquisite handmade stained glass panels - Alex was willing to adjust his quote to accommodate this last minute change. The end result is stunning, with colorful stained glass allowing the light from the adjacent atrium to flow into an otherwise dark office space. Because of overlap between other work being done to our place simultaneously, some of the finished work required a bit of additional attention. Alex was back at the house immediately upon my request and spent a significant amount of time making certain that all of the smallest details were perfectly finished.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/10/2011


Donna H.

Alex and employees started work about a week after we solidified our requirements. He and his employees were prompt and polite. The end result was a beautiful upgrade/remodel that did not cost a fortune. The tile backsplash was gorgeous.

Description of Work
We needed a reasonably priced kitchen remodel in order to sell our house. Alex gave us an estimate on a tile floor, painting existing cabinets, moving the kitchen island, granite counter tops, new sink and faucet. He also suggested tiling the backsplash, which we had not considered.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/27/2011


Lynda C. G.

On the day of our appointment, Alex arrived a few minutes early and he inspected exterior areas of the house to be re-stained as well as our decks and fence. Afterwards, he decided to have a look around inside even though we don't plan to have any of the interior projects done until late fall. There are a lot of items on my list of projects, including replacing a stair railing, re-tiling tub and shower enclosures in two bathrooms, new countertops and floors in two bathrooms, re-tiling the floor our our entryway, stairs, half of our downstairs family room and a half bath, and replacing a window with a larger one, plus replacing about 8 interior doors and hardware. Alex was a very likable person. Low key, but easy to discuss things with and it was obvious that he understood the look that I was going for. He was entirely professional and knowledgeable and he had some very creative ideas on some of the interior projects. He did not seem at all averse to suggesting ways to save money or having his contractors work in conjunction with us doing some of the work ourselves. He doesn't plan to bid on the future projects until the time gets closer or until he has any spare time, so I can't say how those will come out, but he did quote on the exterior staining. Unfortunately, his bid was higher than we had hoped, especially since he was going to spray and back roll the stain and the other painters were going to roll and back brush. We had expected the spraying to be less labor intensive and therefore (maybe??) less expensive. We attempted to make all of the bids as "apples to apples" as possible and all of the painters had liability, workmen's comp and medical insurance, which was important to us. Alex's bid was the highest at around $6150. The other two bids were $5450 and $5100. Neither of the other two painters are on Angie's List, however both of them work almost exclusively in Evergreen. We decided on the middle bid, not only because his bid was $700 less than Alex's, but also because he has done the houses of several neighbors and they were very satisfied with his work. In the long run, the lowest bidder really wasn't considered as they were 5 hours late for the appointment and I had to make numerous phone calls to even get the painting estimate. To be honest, we expect to be satisfied with the painter we selected, but we were also disappointed, as It had been our hope that Alex's bid would be competitive and that we could establish a good working relationship on this job before beginning on our interior projects. I understand that travel time and transportation costs would be higher for Alex than for someone already in Evergreen, so even though we had a very good feeling about working with him, it is probably difficult for him to be competitive here. Had the bids been a little closer we would have definitely given him a try and we would encourage folks in his area to do the same.

Description of Work
Most of Alex's reports are for general contractor or remodeling jobs, however there were a few for painting and I have had a lot of difficulty finding many painters in my area with excellent recommendations. Since he is in Golden, I thought that it might be worthwhile to contact him regarding exterior painting as well as a few future renovation projects on the interior of our home. I'm not sure how much work Alex has done in Evergreen or how interested he really was in coming up here, but Alex was prompt in getting back to me and setting up the appointment. However we had to change the date and time as it snowed on the original date and he would have been unable to see the deck surface. It was a week before both of our schedules allowed for another appointment. This was not at all Alex's fault, but was still a little frustrating to me as we were anxious to get this settled and get on a schedule before our vacation in mid-May. We had contracted with a painter last year and were continually put off to the point that the weather became too bad to get it done before winter. We didn't want that to happen again and I explained this to all 3 of the painters estimating. We have not had good experiences with painters in the past and just the fact that Alex was punctual and stayed on top of our call was a refreshing change.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Iron Bison Construction

    Iron Bison is a 3rd generation construction company. As licensed contractors with hundreds of years of combined experience in all facets of construction, we are focused on providing impeccable service and attention to detail. With our staff of architects, designers, and skilled tradesmen. We serve our clients in the Denver area, as well as our Mountain communities. It's our unique, innovative designs, along with our craftsmanship and the attention to detail on every project we do, that sets us apart. Our work has been featured in multiple magazines and publications.  

    Stellar Painting & Remodeling

    Stellar is a consultative style, family owned, and award winning business! We have been in business for 16 years and our focus is you and your needs. We are currently offering Online Interior or Exterior Virtual Online Bids. Please call us for more Details. We will do "In person" Exterior Bids in City's or Counties allowing it. Our Goal is provide a Fair Price for Consistent Positive End Results and be More Right than Wrong Always with our Estimates. Cost is determined by the job, no travel charge, no service fee, and no extra charge for after-hours service. Estimates are Free no matter where you live. Our mission is to care the most and have Hardworking Passionate People doing great work and providing a high level of Customer Service to our Clients. Additional contacts: Owner Guy W. Miller, Kris Nolan, Ashley Turner, Stacy Field Supervisors Nick Lawrence & Armando Torres. MAIN LINE FOR BID REQUESTS: (720) 981-7827(STAR). Send Bid Requests for Residential or Commercial to sc.stellar@choosestellar.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Stellar Painting & Remodeling on Angi
    Painting Plus

    Painting Plus of Boulder has been in business for over 30 years. A deposit is never required on the work we do. We will not bill you until the work has been completed and you are completely satisfied. We can handle any size job with our crew of 30 to 35 painters. Many of our crew leaders have a minimum of 10 years of painting experience so you can rest assured that your job will be completed beautifully and professionally.  

    Offers by Painting Plus on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling. Room additions. Windows. Doors. Driveways. Sidewalk repair. Decks. Siding. Soffits. Painting. Carpentry. Tile work

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alex Foster Construction

    How is Alex Foster Construction overall rated?

    Alex Foster Construction is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alex Foster Construction open?

    Alex Foster Construction is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Alex Foster Construction provide

    Alex Foster Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Alex Foster Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alex Foster Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Alex Foster Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alex Foster Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alex Foster Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Alex Foster Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Alex Foster Construction?

    Yes, Alex Foster Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Alex Foster Construction offer?

    Alex Foster Construction offers the following services: Remodeling. Room additions. Windows. Doors. Driveways. Sidewalk repair. Decks. Siding. Soffits. Painting. Carpentry. Tile work