Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rock Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 2001 • With Angi since October 2005

4.8

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8599 Prairie Trail Dr Suite 400

Englewood, CO 80112

Description

If your air conditioning or heating system is failing, allow Rock Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning to help you bring comfort home. Since 2000, the family-owned company remains the top trusted HVAC service team in Castle Rock, Parker, Littleton, and the entire South Metro Denver area. From

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/08/2018


Jennifer R.

Furnace replaced last year. Very satisfied. AC broke. Would have replaced IT with them, had I not ultimately been treated incredibly poorly and disrespectfully by the owner! I had been communicating with his employee. He thought I’d requested to speak with him. I hadn’t. Based on that assumption he called me with a VERY negative attitude. He backpaddled when I explained I hadn’t phoned him, nor requested he call me. He then apologized when he realized his mistake. But, there was NO excuse for the way he’d treated me. He had raised his voice & made threats as to his unwillingness to continue helping us. ALSO, he had me on speaker phone (which I was unaware and not informed of) in his home with a family member(s), who was laughing at me in the background, as I was trying to clarify, ask questions & understand. It made me feel like dirt & bullied by the owner & whomever he decided to share my phone call with. Utterly inappropriate behavior & utterly disrespectful & lacking in professionalism. I did feel at times the employee of this company did misinform or under-inform me at times in my dealings with ROCK and this problem with my AC (thus the many questions on my part, which he evidently felt I was not entitled to ask) leaving me lacking the ability to make the best decision about my AC & the $5000+ they wanted for the replacement. Despite that, I had been working through things with the employee! -and even to a lesser extent the owner. We did have a positive experience with our furnace replacement & enjoyed a VERY respectful, kind relationship with the employee who helped us. ALL of that being said, the treatment of me by this owner was nothing less than inexcusable. If you expect to be able to attempt to understand the issues with your HVAC system or the repairs needed or made, and expect an owner to answer those in professional, manner, never mind being kind or respectful, please save yourself the time and disappointment & DO NOT hire ROCK. Despite being on the verge of tears throughout our conversation I maintained my sense of decency & decorum with him, when I NEVER asked to speak with him in the first place. He called ME on a Sunday morning during my family time & verbally accosted me. Very very sad. PLEASE PLEASE especially avoid this company/owner, if you’re a husband, whose wife might need to deal with this owner at any point, as I find it difficult to imagine he would have spoken to my husband in the same way. I guess one never knows, but I recommend erring on the side of caution. I give them an F overall because I believe that with courtesy & professionalism all other things can be remedied and dealt with. This is the spirit in which I had approached this company. BUT, there is absolutely no excuse & NO pass for this sort of treatment. Their loss entirely. To the point at which I received this call, I had planned to have them install our AC. Will NOT under ANY circumstances, do that now.

Description of Work
Furnace replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

This was an unfortunate situation. The customers accused us several times of purposely breaking their A/C which we would never do and have never done. We then went above and beyond for this customer did $1000 worth of work for the customer for free to try and limp their A/C till the end of the season so they could replace it on their schedule, unfortunately the A/C didn't make it. After all of this, the customer still accused us of not explaining the situation properly to them. We did our very best to try and explain what was going on multiple, multiple times and all was lost in translation some how. I did raise my voice to the customer in frustration but that was about it. We reserve the right to fire a customer and this was one of those situations. I wish them the best in the future. Chris Shonrock President Rock Plumbing. Heating and Air.
5.0

10/05/2017


Gary P.

Great. Chris and his helper were on time. Explained what they were going to do and replaced a part.

Description of Work
Fireplace inspection and replacement of thermopile.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], we look forward to serving you in the future.
5.0

07/24/2017


Michael H.

very well - prompt, professional, and price-competitive

Description of Work
replaced water heater with a powered vent

Category water heater repair

3.0

05/13/2017


Tyler H.

Estimate was for $1200+, friend who is also a tech ordered the replacement part for $160 and fixed.

Description of Work
Furnace needed to be repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for using our diagnostic service for your furnace. The actual quote give for the motor repair was $887. We would have liked to help you repair your furnace, but we can't compete with your friend who repairs your furnace for free + parts. Please let us know if you need anything else. Thanks
5.0

04/26/2017


Shon K.

Dependable. They send us a email to get approval for service. They are wonderful.

Description of Work
a/c and furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for being one of our valuable long term customers. Please let us know if you need anything else in the future. Tell you wife I said HI. Thanks Chris Shonrock
5.0

01/09/2017


JR N.

Rock H&A were the only ones willing to come on same day gas was turned off. Alex & Thomas were prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. They registered our 2 year old water heater with the maker and were able to get a control valve covered by the warranty. A little money saved. Came back two days later with all the parts, checked, cleaned and certified the furnace and fireplace. Unfortunately the part on the water heater was faulty and had to be reordered. Thomas actually came back on Sat., his day off, and completed the work. So 2 days without heat, 4 days without hot water. Dee in the office was able to save us a little money with their membership. She also gave us a heads up on our up coming move knowing to get things certified right away instead of making several trips. Very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
We had gas leaks in our fireplace, furnace and water heater. Cleaned and certified the furnace and fireplace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thanks for allowing us to serve you and your family. Please let us know if you have any future needs. Thanks
5.0

08/04/2016


Scott B.

To start, there are not many things more insufferable than a broken AC unit in the dead heat of summer. I contacted Rock Heating and Air on Tuesday of this week to see how soon a tech could be dispatched out to look into the problem. Earliest availability was on Thursday afternoon which was expected due to the busy time of year. To my surprise I was contacted the next morning letting me know of a cancellation asking if I would be available to meet the technician at noon on Wednesday. Upon arrival the technician Justin diagnosed and found that the fan (in the furnace piece) had been mangled after the wheel that held it in place had somehow fallen off its axis. Normal turnaround for ordering/installation of new fan was between 1 & 2 days which had me online looking for an available hotel room until resolved. Justin went out to his truck to research turnaround time on part, shipping, arrival, installation. Upon returning he said that he had been able to locate a part downtown about an hour drive away and that the owner was able to get coverage on other appointments so he could drive downtown to procure the hardware. He said they would attempt to come by that evening to install the new fan. About an hour later Justin called and said that they further rearranged his appointments and that he would be back at my house in 1/2 hour to install the new fan. One hour later I felt the amazing cool air start flowing through our vents and by last night's bedtime we were back to a comfortable 70 degrees. There are a myriad of companies in society that have or tout great customer service but none I have experienced in many years that took it to the level of Rock Heating and Air. To truly empathize with a customer and overcome any/every roadblock to ensure said customer's happiness has created a lifelong customer. Truly and greatly appreciated! Scott

Description of Work
Broken Air Conditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/02/2016


David R.

Chris arrived promptly during the scheduled timeframe. He was extremely thorough in diagnosing and correcting the issue and did all work performed at a fair price. We'll definitely be calling on Rock Heating and Air Conditioning again!!

Description of Work
Furnace Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. I'm glad we could help out. Looking forward to helping in the future. Thanks
1.0

08/02/2016


James S.

Another furnace installer was much cheaper, but when we had the furnace replaced by the other firm we discovered that the coils were beautifully clean and the furnace problem was due to a bad thermostat. We discovered that we had replaced a furnace that was perfectly good and that the coils were absolutely fine. Rock did refund the cost of their diagnosis call.

Description of Work
Assessed the furnace as definitely needing to be replaced and the AC coils as being very dirty and probably not salvageable.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Even the best companies can make a mistake. We have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We refunded the service fee that was charged. Thanks
5.0

06/30/2015


Jinnah P.

Everything went very smoothly and on schedule. Communication was excellent both before the appointment, and from the service technician as the work was being performed and issues were found. All work was completed the same day.

Description of Work
Air Conditioning & Furnace (2 of each) maintenance and repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/25/2015


Ronald C.

Very responsive. Professional.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/12/2015


Paul P.

My Air Conditioner needed replacing. I got a quote from a large HVAC company and it sounded very expensive to me. I spent a lot of time researching companies in the Denver Metro Area. I looked at ratings on a number of sites, the amount of time companies had been in business and if there had been any problems, how the companies responded to the customer. One of the things I was very concerned about was in my readings it seemed like the biggest criteria for success of a new AC system was the installation. After my research, I decided to get a quote from Rock Heating and Air Conditioning. Chris was prompt and very professional. He gave me a quote that was reasonable and significantly less than the large HVAC company. I decided to hire him and he did the install 10 days later. He pulled all the permits necessary. Everything was accomplished on time and in a professional manner. He cleaned up after the installation and the air conditioner worked perfectly. He explained things in a very clear manner and was very patient with the questions I asked. I am completely satisfied with my new system. Count me as one of his customers in the future and I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Installed a new Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/25/2015


Richard H.

Easy to work with and set up. Had a rental place with a gas fireplace that needed to be inspected and cleaned. Called them up, had a brief conversation about what I needed. They coordinated with my tenant, and went out in a timely fashion to complete the work. They called and let me know throughout the process. Good experience and very prompt with the response and service.

Description of Work
Inspected, cleaned, and performed minor repair for a gas fireplace.

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/05/2015


Rene L.

Great same day service. The technician Chris who was dispatched to our house was very courteous and knowledgeable. Chris had our furnace up and running in less than 45 minutes. I would highly recommend Rock Heating and Air.

Description of Work
Fix a broken furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/01/2015


Patricia M.

They did a good job, air conditioner worked like a champ after maintenance.

Description of Work
Air conditioner was blowing warm air, so they came out and performed preventative maintenance, cleaned the unit, changed filters.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/25/2014


Mike B.

The service technician arrived promptly and provided a thorough analysis of the system's condition. Determined the system was very low on refrigerant and charged the system while also adding stop leak to prevent a reoccurrence.

Description of Work
Serviced central air conditioner system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/15/2014


Teresa B.

I called there office on Thursday and they were able to fit us in on the next day, which was great for us. Than they called the next day and were able to come a couple hours earlier than what was scheduled, which again worked out good for us. Chris came with Justin, and they were very professional in all aspects. I did think I was getting a wireless thermostat with WiFi capability, but found out that that was not what they had for us. Anyway, they did what appears to be a good job, and we will be using Rock Heating and Air Conditioning when the need arises in the future.

Description of Work
Installed a new wireless home thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/02/2014


Darien W.

Went fine. My husband noticed that the fan was turning on and off all the time. We called Rock, and they were busy, so we did have to wait a few days, but thankfully it was not too hot yet. The day of, they called to let me know they were on the way, and they were punctual. Ernie had an assistant, and they quickly identified the problem as a faulty motor. They had the part and were able to fix it within a couple of hours. They were polite and professional. I was able to pay with a credit card. Everything was smooth and no problems or issues.

Description of Work
Replaced the motor in our condenser.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/14/2014


Lianne N.

They are really reliable and honest.

Description of Work
We use Rock Heating & Air Conditioning for regular maintenance. They put in our air conditioner and furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

05/05/2014


June S.

Friendly, efficient and courteous. definitely recommend

Description of Work
Check out furnace and fireplace. Cleaned and confirmed no problems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, fireplaces

1.0

03/17/2014


Jaclyn L.

They were great when they came out to give us an estimate on the air conditioning. The air conditioning wasn’t installed properly but it worked just fine until I went to turn the heat on and when I turned the heat on, the air conditioning wouldn’t turn off. I didn’t realize this unfortunately until Saturday and when I called them to come out, he came out very promptly but he tried to tell me that some switches needed to be fixed to a grand total of $400 and change. When I was thinking about it after the fact is that’s part of the air conditioning and part of his job and he had made sure that that works properly before he left when he installed the air conditioning. So I should have never paid that and in my gut feeling, he had to come on a Saturday and fix my thing. I was really upset regardless of what was wrong with it. That was something he should have checked that the air conditioning turned off properly when he installed the unit and the heat turned on. He was dishonest in my opinion. When I had somebody out here to service the furnace, I told them what had happened and he said that doesn’t right to him. So I talked to another professional and confirmed what I thought that it was shady.

Description of Work
I used Rock Heating & Air Conditioning to install our air conditioning. He came back to fix the unit as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

This review is completely unjustified. We installed the customers A/C in August of 2013 perfectly and without any operational problems. We tested the furnace at the time of the A/C installation to make sure it came on and it did. The customer contacted us on October 5th of 2013 and said the A/C was coming on with the heat. We set up a time and came over quickly. The component that was causing the problem was the thermostat that we didn't install. The heat-cool switch on the thermostat was positioned in between the heat and cool setting and the thermostat was causing the A/C to come on at the same time as the furnace. We turned the switch to the heat position all the way and the A/C stopped coming on. When we checked the furnace to see if it was coming on properly it wasn't. The pressure switch on the furnace was faulty and was preventing the furnace from coming on. We gave an estimate to replace the pressure switch on the furnace as well as the igniter because it was in bad shape. The customer approved the estimate and we made the repairs. At no point did the customer tell us she was unhappy or that she suspected the A/C was not installed properly. We did everything correct with the A/C installation and with the repair on the thermostat and the furnace. I wish this customer would have contacted us and we could have gone over what we did and the poor review wouldn't have been necessary.
2.0

02/28/2014


cindi L.

They sent two guys out who were here for a long time. They finally installed a new thermostat which I already did. They said that it fixed the problem and showed me which I thought was odd. Two hours later, I was having the same problem. I called them back and told them to bring another expert. They sent the owner who found the problem in ten minutes. He told me he would not charge me and we could call it even. I really thought that was unfair given it took him ten minutes and I paid for diagnostic labor already. I was very disappointed.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $30 for hvac service call plus diagnostic. My furnace would not turn off and would get up to 99 degrees. I installed a new thermostat but it did not work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

On our first visit to this customers home my technician did not diagnose the problem correctly. For that I am sorry and unfortunately that does happen once and a while. When the customer called and said it was doing the same thing I went to re-diagnose the problem. This was an intermittent problem and would not happen all the time. I luckily was able to reproduce the problem, a faulty relay. Yes, the diagnosis only took 10 minutes, however it took 45 minutes to go and get the part and another 25 minutes to install it and retest it. With what the repair I did costs and what the customer had already paid I told here we would call it even. The repair I did and the time it took, would have cost more than the price the customer had already paid. At the time the customer said she was fine with it. If the customer would have told me she was unhappy, I would have taken care of her.
5.0

02/18/2014


MARIA D S.

They are punctual and thorough. Their price is pretty good. They had a special for dollars off through Angie's List.

Description of Work
I used Rock Heating & Air Conditioning for routine service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/26/2014


Wayne R.

We called Rock Heating because they were a local company. The blower motor on our furnace had gone out. While inspecting the furnace they found that the heat exchanger was starting to separate. They could show me exactly what was happening. In the past I've had other companies try to scare us into replacing the furnace simply because of it's age (12 years). Rock was very specific and showed us what the problem was without being pushy. They were able to install a new furnace the next day. It did take awhile to get the final building permit but everything worked out in the end and they were always very helpful and friendly through the process.

Description of Work
New furnace install

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/31/2013


Frank E B.

Chris (owner) performed the work just as expected. He was on-time, as usual, and even had a humidifier filter on-hand to replace the one I had neglected. No surprises and everything went as planned.

Description of Work
Routine inspection and cleaning of heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    PureWater Plumbing and Water Purification

    PureWater Plumbing and water purification specializes in water treatment and water heaters. Rather you want a traditional tank water heater or a tankless water heater we do them all. We also offer state of the art water treatment systems with a lifetime warranty. Don't be had by unlicensed people doing work in your home. We are licensed and we pull permits on every job so you know the job is being done right. With over 50 years combined experience PureWater Plumbing and Water Purification is your one stop for all your plumbing needs. We are a locally owned and operated business and we spend little in marketing and advertising so we can pass those savings onto you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Elite Rooter

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    FairPoint Pipe and Mechanical

    We offer quality and affordable HVAC services.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & air conditioning, water heater repairs & replacements, gas fireplace repairs & replacements, indoor air quality services, furnace installations, standard cleaning services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rock Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is Rock Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Rock Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rock Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    Rock Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Rock Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    Rock Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Rock Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Rock Heating & Air Conditioning?

    Yes, Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

    What services does Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    Rock Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Heating & air conditioning, water heater repairs & replacements, gas fireplace repairs & replacements, indoor air quality services, furnace installations, standard cleaning services