Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

MightyBee Electric, LLC

4.7

(280) Verified Reviews

Founded 1998 • With Angi since January 2010

Signs
Licensed
Trade License Number
EC.0004709
Trade License Locale
Colorado
Trade License Authority
Colorado: General
Trade License Expiration
09/30/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

7570 Lafayette St

Denver, CO 80229

http://www.MightyBeeElectric.com

Description

MightyBee Electric is a family owned, GREEN local company with 34 years in the field. We do not charge a trip fee for Angie's List members within the direct Denver metro area ( except Boulder, Longmont, Castle Pines, Castlerock and Parker which will be charged a $39 trip fee) and give free estimates up front of the work always. We never assume authorization and customers can pay by cash, check or credit card at the time of repair. Formerly owned MD ELECTRIC. See website for additional services. 5% military, First Responders and elderly discount...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(280) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

224

4

20

3

12

2

6

1

17

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

electrician (274)lighting (40)ceiling fan installation (26)antenna repair (2)generator service (1)
Showing 1-25 of 280 reviews
5.0

12/03/2021


Neal J.

The whole experience was great. Don came and did a very professional estimate. He was exactly what one want an electrician to be, knowledgeable and able to ask good questions. On the day of the appointment he called ahead and let us know that they were on the way. He and Carlos arrived shortly afterward and verified the estimate and went to work. The were fast, efficient and professional. All of the jobs were done perfectly. They kept a clean work area and policed the area before they left. We could not be happier with the results.

Description of Work
We needed two electrical outs installed (both GFI), two hanging light fixtures replaced, an Ethernet cable snaked trough a finished basement and a repair of an existing GFI outlet.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2021

5.0

12/02/2021


Joe B.

Fantastic Electrician Don was most of all honest and professional. He quoted me $800 and $1800. less than the first and second electrical companies that came to my home. I will call Might Bee if I ever need help again

Description of Work
Install portable generator

Category electrician,generator service

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

5.0

12/29/2020


Ron N.

Wonderful. The problem was quickly diagnosed and repaired quickly as well.

Description of Work
Electrical wiring

Category electrician

Cost $217

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

4.0

12/29/2020


Patrick E.

Good price, knowledgeable technicians, friendly service

Description of Work
Electrical and lighting installation

Category electrician,lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2020

5.0

11/20/2020


Steve W.

We highly recommend Mighty Bee Electric. Their prices are reasonable, and their work is excellent. We have used them in the past and will continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Install electric heaters

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2020

5.0

06/01/2020


Steve W.

We are repeat customers and have recommended Mighty Bee to many friends. They make scheduling and planning easy. They arrive on time, explain the options and their recommendations clearly, and charge very fair prices. Their work is excellent – thorough and professional. On top of that, they are really nice people. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Multiple miscellaneous fixes on recently purchased older home

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

5.0

04/05/2020


David W.

New outlet install went very well!! Work was accomplished carefully and efficiently to reduce any wall patch work. Price and time was as quoted. Would hire again for any electrical job.

Description of Work
Install outlet in bathroom for bidet

Category electrician

Cost $185

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2020

Images

Review for MightyBee Electric, LLC - 7570 Lafayette St, Denver, CO - 38481336
3.0

12/03/2019


Heather D.

I am giving a C-rating, when an F is probably more appropriate, due to not great customer service and the fact that I ended up spending much more money than was necessary because of the rude woman who schedules appointments and answers the phone. They get a score of C because ultimately what I asked the electricians to do, they did. I am writing this to make sure anyone who considers this company is well aware of the issues. The electricians were good, but there were problems with the job that I have outlined below. The job: I had two ceiling fans I wanted replaced. I bought two new ones and the electricians did install them and haul out the old fans. The job was completed satisfactorily. History. About two or three weeks ago I started detecting a burning smell coming from one fan when the light was on. I searched Angie’s List for an electrician and chose MightyBee. The woman who answers the phone is rude. I told her the problem and she couldn’t get me off the phone fast enough. She said it was more expensive to find replacement parts than to just buy a new fan. It was clear she didn’t want the job. I am moving, I’m in a time crunch, and I finally decided it would be easier to just buy new fans than to try to find someone who could fix the one with the burning smell. I have a sort of master suite setup with two fans, so they have to match. Replacing just one fan was not an option. The fans I had are no longer produced. I did not intend to call MightyBee again, but I did accidentally. Same rude woman who answered the phone the first time I called. I have no idea what is up with this person. It’s like calling to schedule an appointment just ruins her day. Anyway, I went ahead and scheduled. Same reason as before. Time crunch. MightyBee has this A rating and I figured: how bad can it be? Day of appointment. This is a REALLY, really low-tech company. No appointment reminders, no text messages, no emails, no call ahead to let you know they’re coming. I got an appointment window and that was it. Next thing I know, the guys are at my door. It’s snowy, dirty and mucky outside from a recent heavy snowstorm. They came in, shoes CAKED with ice and dirt. They walked onto my clean hardwood floors without even enquiring if it was okay first. I asked if they had shoe covers. No. I have white carpet upstairs where the fans are, and the carpet had JUST been cleaned. They did remove their shoes, which is fine, but it was inconvenient for them since they had to keep going outside to the truck. Why would any company who does work in people’s homes not provide shoe covers? Unbelievable. As I said, this company is really low tech. While working on the ceiling fans, they spread the parts out on my clean white carpet, including the old dusty fans. No drop cloth. This really bugged me, but the carpet survived, so all’s well that ends well, I guess. Turns out, the burning smell wasn’t the fan at all. Wasn’t electrical. It was the transformer for the remote control for the fan I’d installed years ago, and the transformer had malfunctioned or burned out. This is an add-on part, not part of the fan. If they had come out in the first place to take a look, all they had to do was remove the remote-control transformer and install a new one. That was the only problem with the fan. Basically, the rude woman on the phone cost me $800. The cost of 2 new fans and the installation. If the two electricians had not been nice and done a good job installing the fans, I would have given the company an F because of the rude woman who answers the phone and the fact that she doesn’t give two hoots about helping you with your problem. The electricians are fine. Very nice. Good at what they do. Really accommodating guys. For them, the company gets a C.

Description of Work
Two existing ceiling fans replaced with new ones.

Category ceiling fans

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Honestly I am not sure how to answer but answer I must. This lady certainly had [Member Information Removed] rough experience which just simply isn't the norm with our company., evidenced by the many many great reviews on our profile. We actually wondered if this wasn't for someone else. I make it [Member Information Removed] strong point that we are courteous to our customers. We know many of them are NOT going to be to us, but we must be with them. I have many many times made the point to my people, including our CSR that we have got to be accommodating to our cxustomers. Yes , in the past we repaired ceiling fans as [Member Information Removed] State rep for Casablanca fans and were considered by them as their best in this state. But we are no longer because of operational changes that they made, not us. This lady was obviously unhappy with our CSR, and apparently over several conversations which again is totally not normal. She says that if we had come and looked we could have maybe changed out [Member Information Removed] "transformer" and saved her money but these fans don't have "transformers". Besides, our first trip is always about "looking" to see what we can do, even if the conversation may have seemed like no parts were available. Options are then presented. My trucks ALWAYS have shoe covers, so again I am just not sure what's up with that statement and we regularly as well put down drop clothes. Yes there are some situations where we don't but those don't normally include messy days after [Member Information Removed] storm on WHITE carpet! There are many many parts not easily obtained anymore for lots of Casablanca fans because they basically simply STOPPED supporting them so yes, it is true that in many cases it actually is more cost effective for [Member Information Removed] customer to just buy new fans because those parts that "are" available are just cost prohibitive in comparison. But we have always reviewed the job first with our customers. Apparently we failed here but it simply does not sound normal for our company and our record supports that statement.
2.0

08/13/2019


Andrew U.

We had a very poor overall experience with Mighty Bee and I would not be able to recommend them based on this experience. I want to be fair to Mighty Bee that most of our issues came with what ended up being horrible customer service and follow up and not all work related. I was treated with defensiveness and outright contempt by Martin across multiple emails and phone calls after the service. I'm not overly sensitive, but I can't think of another experience where I was treated as the enemy simply by questioning the finished product which I was not happy with and had multiple code violations. We purchased an electrical panel upgrade for an older home we bought in Arvada that had a 1960s junction box. Things were fine in terms of initial quote and appointment set up. I got back from travel and the panel was upgraded and as he left the house he mentioned to me in passing he could upgrade my kitchen to GFI (which will be required for a house this old). But that was the last I heard from Might Bee. They admitted later that they flat out forgot to follow up not only with me to confirm everything went well but with the city for the required inspection. But that was only because I followed up a few weeks later after my GC informed me that most of what Mighty Bee completed would have to be redone and also that much of it was not to current code. I raised this with Mighty Bee and this is when things went south. Again to be fair to Might Bee, a panel upgrade seems to be quite an arbitrary service based on what electrician you work with. I would highly recommend you do thorough research on not only what your home will need in total but what exactly is covered in the cost of a panel upgrade. Costs clearly vary based on inclusions. From my side of things and also 2 separate electricians (one who is simply my next door neighbor and had no financial skin in the game), Mighty Bee did the absolute minimum required in a box upgrade. The result was circuits were shared where they would normally (and now have been by another electrician) split so that half of the house didn't run on a double barred circuit. Things like running dryer lines separately are also required by current code, and by simply asking a few probing questions to the customer the electrician would should able to make recommendations about required upgrades, but genuinely upsell their own service. I got none of this from Might Bee. But when I questioned the work completed and cited advice from these other electricians, Martin at Mighty Bee reacted with anger and defensiveness, accusing the electricians of sabotaging his work, and calling them idiots and other accusations about trying to bad mouth him. Once again, one of the electricians was just a neighbor checking out our remodel. I didn't even ask him specifically, he took a look at the new box and brought up 5+ code violations and questions as to why Mighty Bee would have chosen to leave a new panel in that state given we were doing a full remodel and almost certainly would have a lot more electrical changes needed. As it turned out we did have to completely update the homes electrical set up. This meant that the work Mighty Bee completed has now been completely updated and we wasted $3,300 on the panel upgrade and had to deal with a complete jerk in Martin from Might Bee. To add insult to injury we told Mighty Bee we didn't want to have have them come back and requested a refund for the $370 to source a license (free and done online) and inspection, which he did over 3 weeks after the service, and only after I notified them. I requested a refund for that portion of the bill, to which he flatly refused with yet another contentious and rude email. Once again, I want to say that inherently Mighty Bee's panel upgrade wasn't "wrong." But again it was clearly the MINIMUM needed. Combine that with the responses we dealt with from Martin make it impossible for us to recommend Mighty bee.

Description of Work
Electrical panel / circuit breaker upgrade

Category electrician

Cost $3,370

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

Service Provider Response

We love our customers, but not when they are just simply unfair and un-workable. He hired us to do a service upgrade, nothing more. But then hired a GC with his own electricians who came in black marking our name over items they said were against code. None of those things had anything to do with our work and our inspector told him that. They were all things that "would" have to be done IF he started remodeling those areas, which he did AFTER our work. But then this customer came back to us asking for money back based on that same list of items. There was an issue of the height of the panel, because he had a deck that he removed. But he didn't tell us that until after it was done. We offered as part of our normal warranty to fix it but he wanted "his new electricians" to do it. We stand behind our guarantees, and reserve the right to repair our work if it is needed but he would NOT let us do it. Makes no sense because you know those other guys charged him for it!
5.0

07/02/2019


David M.

Did a great job with the work and stuck with the original quote even when the job got more complicated than anticipated. Was very professional and polite.

Description of Work
Electrical work in the kitchen

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2019

5.0

01/04/2019


Arlyn L.

They were polite and gave a useful analysis.

Description of Work
evaluate electrical system

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2018

5.0

06/22/2018


Gary F.

Don, and his assistant, Billy, showed up on time and as a matter of fact called ahead so we could get our dogs secured so they wouldn't try to help. The reason for replacement, it was the original dating back to 1978. After setting up the equipment, the power went out and that lasted approximately, three hours. All areas of the house at this time were fully functional. The next day they came back and did a complete marking, in the panel, of each breaker and what it was attached to in the house. There was permit pulled for this work and about 7-10 work days the city came out and certified the job well done.

Description of Work
Total service panel replacement

Category electrician

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2018

5.0

03/19/2018


Barbara M.

The representative did a good job of quickly checking all the outlets (with a tool) and letting me know where I needed smoke alarms. I had hoped to learn more about a bathroom switch that doesn't operate right. Overall, a good price for peace of mind.

Description of Work
This was preventative. They checked all my electrical outlets.

Category electrician

Cost $50

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2017

5.0

02/25/2018


Tom N.

Mighty Bee did a good job. Good communication, explaining options and work involved. There were two technicians who did the job. They cleaned up the area after work was done. The only thing they missed was cleaning up dirty fingerprints on painted areas but this is minor. I would hire again.

Description of Work
Prewire for ceiling fan in condo

Category electrician

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2018

5.0

02/15/2018


Steve W.

This is a terrific company. I dealt with three people: Martin Black, electrician and owner; Robert, electrician; and Tracy, who answers the phone. They were all knowledgeable, straightforward and very pleasant. The company took care of everything that needed attention, including the inspections, with reassuring professionalism. The quality of their work was superb. Their prices were reasonable, and their estimates were accurate. I was extremely pleased with their work. They have my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
The work the company did for us involved fixing some problems, so that we could close an already open permit.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your kind words! It's customer's like you folks that make our job more enjoyable for sure! Martin
5.0

01/17/2018


Dawn Z.

Very honest company! They came out did what I paid for and said “ everything looks good! Didn’t try to BS or sell anything!

Description of Work
Electric check up

Category electrician

Cost $40

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2018

5.0

01/12/2018


Nancy G.

The problem was that the dishwasher/garbage disposal outlet suddenly couldn't carry the load for both appliances, although there was no tripping on the circuit board (Continental Homes cut lots of corners on our development in SE Aurora). We thought that the Kenmore Elite dishwasher circuit board quit and needed to be replaced with a more reliable $1000 Bosch dishwasher. However, Robert came to our rescue. Although it was a perplexing electrical problem, he thoroughly performed a series of diagnostic tests, isolated the problem, and came up with a practical solution that was safe, practical and reassuring for $136.80. Robert knows his stuff, and I was impressed when he communicated his findings and solution. He left us with PEACE OF MIND and SAVINGS! This was a very professional encounter, such that I would definitely recommend Mightybee Electic with confidence. In addition, the appointment was scheduled 5 hours after I made the call. That's what I call service!

Description of Work
Faulty dishwasher/garbage disposal outlet configuration with main circuit board

Category electrician

Cost $138

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2018

5.0

01/10/2018


Jill S.

Don was excellent in every way. He was extremely professional, pleasant and knowledgeable. He went above and beyond helping me sort out an electric timer problem and did not charge me for his time even though I wanted to pay him as his input was invaluable. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
replace trim package in shower and replace smoke alarm

Category electrician

Cost $205

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2018

5.0

01/05/2018


Mark C.

They ran several tests and determined the problem was with the power coming into the house. They gave very clear explanations and very clear info to give to Xcel.

Description of Work
House lights were dimming.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2018

5.0

12/16/2017


Vicki W.

Went fine. Was reassured about some items I was worried about.

Description of Work
Inspection of electrical outlets, etc.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2017

5.0

12/14/2017


Gary F.

From start to finish, things could not have gone smoother. This includes the call for service to the repair. Don, owner, and his assistant, Billy, were very easy to talk to and very personable. Definitely found my electrician for all my needs.

Description of Work
We found out that there was a faulty wall socket. Nothing more nothing less. I t was fixed in less than 5 minutes. I also inquired about a total replacement of the service panel and was given a written estimate, at no charge. Plan to do this come spring time.

Category electrician

Cost $102

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2017

5.0

12/11/2017


Seamus R.

On every occasion that I've engaged Mighty Bee, the electrician they've sent has worked quickly, efficiently, and done a perfect job. I cannot recommend this company highly enough.

Description of Work
I've used Mighty Bee to install ceiling fans and a new overhead light fixture (where there was previously nothing), and also to repair a non-functioning outlet. All of their employees (especially Robert) have been professional, skilled, polite, and reliable. As a first-time homeowner in Denver, I've generally found contractors to be tremendously unreliable, and Mighty Bee is the clear exception to the rule. I will use Mighty Bee for all of my projects going forward.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2017

1.0

12/01/2017


Rondi B.

I paid through Angie’s List to have an additional outlet installed but this contractor never came out to do the work, and never refunded my money.

Description of Work
I paid through Angie’s List to have an additional outlet installed but this contractor never came out to do the work, and never refunded my money.

Category electrician