Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DesignYourBasement.com

Founded 2010 • With Angi since May 2013

4.9

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7636 Pennsylvania Ct

Denver, CO 80229

Description

***This is a Design Service only, utilizing online virtual platforms. We service the entire nation, but do not physically visit the property. We provide permit ready, 2D blueprints along with 3D renders. We are available to build in the Denver-Metro area. DesignYourBasement.com provides services for the design of basements, home remodels for any space, as well as new construction homes. Thanks to our online process the design happens right before your eyes while you are in the comfort of your own home while designing with one of our expert designers. Our very unique model allows you to be involved in the entire decision making process of how your dream space is created fueled by the ideas, guidance, and professional explanation of other variables or factors that must be accounted for. Our system is able to instantly render 3D representations for you to visualize the drawing as it is created to assist in the decision making process for creating your new space. Since our process implements a screen sharing platform, we are online we can design anywhere in the United States or Canada! Your final blueprint will be ready to submit to your local building department for approval. We add details and notes above and beyond requirements for any homeowner to easily interpret the drawing and great for the DIY builders. DesignYourBasement.com offers many consulting options including analyzing building estimates and contracts to ensure that each listed price includes what is required for the entire construction process as well as the details your plan calls for. Homeowners will have the knowledge to choose the best builder for their project. Peace of mind that the price you are given is all inclusive helps you avoid surprise fees after the contract has been signed.Please contact us for a complimentary online design consultation....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/20/2016


kevin S.

Description of Work
Money paid but he didn't want my basement because he thought if I hired him to do the drawings, I'd hire him to do the work. Not so. He did upper end houses and wasn't interested in my middle class project. but I paid for the "design" drawings, which were tape measurements of the rooms which I could have done myself. Very unhappy.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm not sure if you left this review in the wrong place? I do not have any blueprints in your name and do not show any record of receiving money from you?

5.0

07/19/2016


Carl F.

Description of Work
The firm made architectural designs for finishing a basement into a mother-in-law suite. They did an amazing job and were very responsive with all my inquiries. We didn't end up using the plans, but that's only because we changed our mind about utilizing the basement in this way. I would highly recommend them for the services they perform. Extremely professional.

Category architect

5.0

06/07/2016


Steven L.

Description of Work
All went very well

Category architect

5.0

02/11/2016


Patricia W.

.

Description of Work
.

Category architect

5.0

02/20/2015


Rakesh N.

Enjoyed working with the team. The process was easy and enjoyable, The completed plan for the basement was delivered on time. Money well spent.

Description of Work
Basement floor plan

Category architect

5.0

01/30/2015


Jamie K.

Working with Zack and Scott was great! Even thought this was all done online and over the phone they were accommodating time wise, and even when I asked to include my father on the conference call they were happy to allow him to chime in as well. We started out with a brief consultation describing what they would do, the cost and what we could expect. Then we did a call where we measured our basement, this was a little tricky as we needed 2 people to do this and we had to tell them our exact measurements, but they made sure we were measuring correctly and that everything added up the way it should, and they took into consideration every nook, cranny and pipe. Then we meet briefly with Scott to discuss a preliminary layout, how many bedrooms, closets, TV location, bar vs. buffet, couch size that sort of thing. Scott was very knowledgeable and even accounted for bed sizes to make sure there would be enough walking space around any furniture we would want to add. Then Scott presented us with a final design, this is when he gladly allowed my father to ask questions and get details about the project. He answered all of our questions about location or outlets, and lights, and even some more detailed questions. Overall we had a great experience and I really enjoyed working with them. They listened to us (definitely the most important thing) when we didn't want something they took it out or if we did want something they added it (if they could), they explained why they had made some design choices we weren't as sure about so we could understand why they were important or if we really wanted to do them.

Description of Work
created an architectural design for our unfinished basement, which can be used for permits and a contractor, as well as 3D renderings of the space finished

Category architect

5.0

12/31/2014


Mike S.

Our story is similar to other reviews here on Angie's List. We met the owner of Design Your Basement at a Home Show in Salt Lake City in January of 2014. We were immediately impressed with his knowledge of finishing basements. We had our home built in 2005, but the basement was unfinished. We planned to finish the basement ourselves and we had a basic outline of what we wanted to do. We were looking or an experienced designer to give us some ideas for changes we wanted to make. After meeting with the staff at designyourbasement.com, we realized that Scott and his staff had the experience we were looking for and could provide the design ideas we needed. They came out and measured the basement and took photographs of the unfinished space, we gave them some of our ideas and then we scheduled an appointment which was all done via the computer on-line. Together we consulted one another over the phone and on-line and the basement was designed using web-meetings. They listened to our ideas and incorporated them into the design. They also gave us some ideas that were simply amazing and spectacular and had we not used them, those ideas would never have crossed our minds. Their ideas alone were well worth the money we spent, because those ideas turned our basement into an amazing space. When we were done designing the basement, they emailed us the plans and designs which we had printed at Fed Ex / Kinko's. One of our main requirements was to have the basement match the existing finished space. They accommodated our every requirement and the new space flows seamlessly from the main house, We used their local contractor in Salt Lake City, Catalyst Custom Builders who handled all of the details and construction for us from obtaining the building permit, through the completion of the project. Using Design Your Basement was the best investment we made on our basement as the space turned out amazing and is an integral part of our home.

Description of Work
Provided architectural design and blue prints to finish our unfinished basement

Category architect

5.0

06/23/2014


Michael P.

Design Your Basement is an amazing service that's helping us finish our basement, so that our family can enjoy our entire house. The design process was fast and seamless. The team at Design Your Basement provides great customer service and helped us identify design opportunities that we never would have thought to include.Not long after contacting Design Your Basement, the professionals were there to measure our basement. In no time at all, they had design ready for our review, which was based on our feedback. We enjoyed our design presentation meeting and it was easy to make the changes we wanted from the initial draft design.In addition, the 3D walk-through made it easy to envision how the basement will look before anything was done. Contractors from Design Your Basement are now helping us with framing and consulting with us on DIY portions of the project. We strongly recommend Design Your Basement.

Description of Work
A blueprint basement design with 3D views and elevations. Included on site measures and personal one-on-one design sessions.

Category architect

5.0

05/22/2014


Gwynneth M.

I am so glad my husband talked me into using Design Your Basement. He saw the stellar reviews on Angie's List and thought they might point out things we didn't think of. We already knew what we wanted to do in the basement and as far as I was concerned, that was money we wouldn't be able to use in our basement. I admit my husband was right. Design Your basement came up with a gorgeous design. They not only came up with so many things that we never would have thought of--their plan was a much better use of space. Ironically, they pointed out some things that will probably save us more money than what we paid for their service! Scot, the designer, and the guys who did the measurement (Zach and Josh) were so pleasant to work with. Scot was very flexible and patient, and really took into account the things we wanted to see in the basement. We really enjoyed the pictures he showed us of some of their previous work. The before and after pictures were amazing. His work looked like a finished part of the home, not a and quot;finished basement.and quot; I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Measured our basement and provided a design for finishing out the basement. Supplied detailed plans for permitting and building, as well as computer pictures showing what it would look like from inside the basement.

Category architect

5.0

12/08/2013


Jeffrey S.

Recently, I purchased a home with a large, unfinished basement. My hope was to build it out over time, with the help of some friends. However, the more I thought about the prospect of doing so, the more daunting it seemed. So, I did an online search, and found this service. I'd never heard of them before, and did not know any members of the team, but thought that for $800, at least getting a design was a reasonable investment. Well, the provider has been fantastic! Everyone involved with the project has been extremely professional and courteous. Scott, the designer, has been very accommodating, and Zach, Lonnie, and Josh have all done exemplary work to provide a quality design for us. We could not be more pleased, and I cannot see how anyone could go wrong hiring this talented team. I recommend them with the utmost enthusiasm, and with no reservations whatsoever!

Description of Work
The provider sent out a team of two people to professionally measure and photograph our unfinished basement. They then offered an online consultation during which input was solicited from us regarding our specific needs and requirements. Our input, together with the digital model constructed from the measurements, led to production of a custom design which met our needs. The end result was a highly detailed blueprint, suitable for submission to a building department, which would allow any do-it-yourself-er or professional to build out his basement.

Category architect

5.0

11/11/2013


Robert I.

We met the owner of Design Your Basement at a Home Show in Denver, Colorado in February of 2013. We were immediately impressed with his knowledge of basement finishing and remodeling. We had our home built in 2007, but the basement was unfinished. We planned to finish the basement ourselves and we had a basic outline of what we wanted to do. But after meeting with the staff at designyourbasement.com, we realized it would be a wise investment to have a professional help design our basement and draw up plans that were drawn to scale. We told them upfront that we wanted to do the work ourselves and that I would act as our General Contractor and do some of the work myself. We had subcontractors that we wanted to use. That was not a problem with the staff. They said they would design the basement and we were charged $799.99. They said if we needed help with the building, we could also buy a consultation package, which we passed on, as I had been involved in several building projects in the past. They came out and measured the basement, we gave them some of our ideas and then we scheduled an appointment which was all done via the computer on-line. Together we consulted one another over the phone and on-line and the basement was designed right in front of our eyes. They listed to our ideas and incorporated them into the design. They also gave us some ideas that were simply amazing and spectacular and had we not used them, those ideas would never have crossed our minds. Their ideas alone were well worth the money we spent, because those ideas turned our basement into an amazing space. When we were done designing the basement, they emailed us the plans and designs which we had printed at Fed Ex Office at Kinko's. When we went to get our local building permit, the plans passed with flying colors and all of our sub-contractors used the plans and we were able to use those plans throughout the building process. We started with great plans, and had we not started with great plans and ideas, the finished project would not have come out as good as it did. We have told the staff at Design Your Basement that the investment of $799.99 was the best investment we made on our basement, because it turned out amazing and wonderful and is now one of the most used areas of our home. They also gave us a quote to build out our basement if we did not want to do it ourselves. We had received four other bids by other contractors who finished basements and Design Your Basement was the best quote we received, but we wanted to do it ourselves and they understood and did not pressure us in any way. Instead, they have kept in contact and have simply followed up to make sure we were doing Okay and if we needed any help, they were always ready and willing to step in. But, we did fine in the constructions as we hired some great sub-contractors. All of our sub-contractors also wanted to know who designed the basement because they were impressed with the plans and drawings - which were very detailed. I have referred Design Your Basement to our two brothers and their wives who also live in Colorado and when they start their basements, they said they will probably use this company - after seeing how our project went and how it turned out. The staff at Design Your Basement are great people who know what they are doing and it has been a pleasure to work with them and without hesitation, if we ever finished another basement, they would be the first people we would call. Robert & Susan Ihrig Parker, Colorado

Description of Work
Design Your Basement drew up professional architectural plans for the finishing and remodel of our basement.

Category architect

5.0

10/22/2013


Joseph M.

I am in St Louis and DesignYourBasement.com is in Denver. Using the telephone, email and "gotomeeting.com' they developed a design plan for my basement. I measured the perimeter of the basement and sent this information to them by email. We had our first on-line meeting via "gotomeeting.com". While on the phone, they asked me what type of rooms I wanted in the basement: ie: kitchen, bath, bedrooms, living rooms, etc. A few days later I received a complete basement design along with notes and a list of required materials. I reviewed this and noted changes. We then had another meeting where they made the changes during the meeting. I asked for changes several times until I felt it was "finalized". I then solicited proposal from the various trades. After receiving the proposals, I emailed these to DesignYourBasement.com. They evaluated these proposals and provided suggestions as to which one was the most cost effective for the various trades. When discussing the project with the various trade persons, the trade people would offer suggestions which I frequently incorporated into the project and twice made the changes on the original drawing. DesignYourBasement.com was helpful in evaluating the suggestions made by the trade people. I used this drawing to apply for a permit with the city. The kitchen cabinets is a separate design and went smoothly and in a similar manner to the overall design. I am currently about 60% thru the project and it is going smoothly. The city and the trades people have all commented that my plan greatly exceeded in quality any plan that they had seen from a home owner and was more like one that was professionally prepared by an architect. I very strongly recommend DesignYourBasement.com and would not even consided finishing a basement in the future without using this service. They were very helpful, offered numerous suggestions and were very easy to work with during this project. I'm 100% certain that the basement will be much better than any I would have gotten with any other method including using a general contractor.

Description of Work
Developed a complete design for finishing my basement complete with drawing, notes, and materials list. Cost $900 Provided a detailed project schedule, evaluated potential contractors for framing, electrical, drywall, etc., answered numerous questions and offered many suggestions. $900 Provided a detailed cabinet design for the kitchen $300 ($20 per cabinet)

Category architect

    Other local Pros in your area

    Motion Design llc

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Architect and Design services; We guarantee your satisfaction, we pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Ellen Lind, Architect, LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    RoadRunners Colorado Construction Llc

    Basements,Bathroom and kitchen remodeling specialist tile,plumbing,paint,cabinets,drywall,granite and stone .call us for a free stimate today !  

    General Remodeling
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Designs and blueprints drawn for basement finishing or remodeling projects.consulting, project planning, basement design, basement blueprints & architect. Design specializations in jurisdictions requiring energy codes above that which is specified in International Residential code as well as the creation of Detached or Accessory Dwelling Units.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DesignYourBasement.com

    How is DesignYourBasement.com overall rated?

    DesignYourBasement.com is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are DesignYourBasement.com open?

    DesignYourBasement.com is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does DesignYourBasement.com provide

    DesignYourBasement.com accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does DesignYourBasement.com offer free estimates?

    Yes, DesignYourBasement.com offers free project estimates.

    Does DesignYourBasement.com offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, DesignYourBasement.com offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by DesignYourBasement.com?

    No, DesignYourBasement.com does not offer warranties.

    What services does DesignYourBasement.com offer?

    DesignYourBasement.com offers the following services: Designs and blueprints drawn for basement finishing or remodeling projects.consulting, project planning, basement design, basement blueprints & architect. Design specializations in jurisdictions requiring energy codes above that which is specified in International Residential code as well as the creation of Detached or Accessory Dwelling Units.