Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Decks by Schmillen

Founded 2000 • With Angi since April 2007

4.9

(113) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4010 S Peyton Hwy

Colorado Springs, CO 80930

Description

Welcome to Decks by Schmillen, a family owned and operated company that creates your outdoor living space. We invite you to enjoy time with family and friends, barbecue on the grill, watch another beautiful sunset, or just relax after a workday. With spectacular views and a state that boasts more

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/13/2021


Jenn S.

AWESOME! Doug and his family were a pleasure to work with from the start! They were professional and took time to find out what our design priorities were, and offered ideas and material selections to meet our preferences and budget. He worked with us on all aspects of design, materials, and color options. He even added a locking gate at the top of the stairs for the safety of our fur babies. We now have a beautiful, one-of-a-kind, safe, and inviting outdoor space. We cannot wait for warmer weather so we can get out and enjoy it more!

Description of Work
Repaired and replaced part of existing deck and added 14-foot extension with a pergola. Replaced dog containment fence downstairs to match the deck rail upstairs.

Category decks

5.0

09/28/2020


Thomas B.

Doug and his crew were exceptional. The bid process was flawless and they were in constant communication throughout the process. The crew showed up every morning at 7:30 and worked until 5:00 or 5:30. Only took them three days to complete the repairs which included replacing 37 joists and installing an under deck drainage system. The crew was very knowledgeable and their attention to detail was extraordinary. Would not hesitate to hire them again.

Description of Work
Replace deck joists, install underdeck drainage system, minor repairs to deck stairs

Category deck cleaning

5.0

04/08/2020


Doug A.

Doug was awesome as was his crew! He took our thoughts, provided us great guidance about our options and helped us turn our vision into our new deck. He was very knowledgeable about all the materials out there identifying the pros and cons of each. His website was also extremely helpful. He did not look to upsell us on anything. Just gave us the options/costs, pros/cons of each and let us decide. He wanted to make sure their product achieved our vision and they did that in spades. Once the project got started he was in constant contact with us about what they were doing and when they were going to do it especially with all the weather we had over the last month which impacted construction. The crew was quiet, respectful to a fault and great to interact with. Definitely would work with them again!

Description of Work
Tear down old deck and build a new one

Category decks

5.0

10/08/2019


John N.

A fantastic company with extremely skilled team members! Mr. Schmillen came out for a site visit and explained the trade offs with different building materials, his experience with living in the climate, and then priced out different options. Took less than a week to completely demolish the old deck and construct the new one, and the deck surpasses all expectations! They even repaired some siding from when the deck was moved up in elevation, and helped route the posts around the existing sprinkler system--both things that were out of their way! They called me daily to give me updates, and offered recommendations along the way as construction options came up. I'd recommend this company to anyone looking to have a deck repaired or built. The price is unbeatable, and the quality the best I've seen!

Description of Work
Deck Rebuild

Category decks

5.0

11/29/2018


Debra & JIM W.

Great, we used Decks by Schmillen ten years ago and they were just as good today. Doug and his fine crew will be called on again by us I'm certain.

Description of Work
Replace deck materials

Category deck cleaning

5.0

10/02/2018


Gayla C.

GREAT JOB/GREAT Company!! Doug and is crew did a Great/Professional tear down and rebuild. Showed up on time, answered any and all questions, thoroughly cleaned up the work site, and give us a beautiful deck and pergola. We got what we paid for and highly recommend Doug's company.

Description of Work
Replaced existing deck and built approximate 12 ft by 22 ft deck with stairs and a pergola; white railings and redwood floor

Category decks

5.0

06/27/2018


Barry J.

Doug Schmillen gave us an estimate after visiting our home and giving us lots of information about options for materials and design. The estimate was fairly high, but several thousand dollars less than another estimate we obtained. After we chose to go with Schmillen, Doug followed up conscientiously to walk us through final decisions. We were put on their work schedule and the work began almost exactly when Doug had predicted. The crew headed by Keith Schmillen and foreman Casey were prompt, efficient, and very professional. We are very pleased with the deck, which we are already enjoying.

Description of Work
Decks by Schmillen took out an old, rotting deck and replaced it with a beautiful new one.

Category decks

5.0

04/13/2018


Marvin S.

Doug the owner and his son Keith came to my house and discussed potential plans of a new Deck 10ft by 20ft with Gable Roof Deck Cover. I had received and reviewed three other bids for a new deck and cover. The other companies wanted to build a deck cover, not a Gable Roof for more money. I chose Decks by Schmillen as they had the most comprehensive plans, and a detailed process of payments with inspections. Initial payment and the 2nd and 3rd payments after inspections by PPRBD and the last payment (3rd) payment due after final inspection and homeowner inspection. Minor changes were made as the project was built and completed. Keith (the foreman) and his crew arrived promptly each day, and at the end of each day cleaned up the work site. Any weather concerns or delays related to the weather were always communicated by the owner or Keith. As I watched the building process, all questions asked by myself to Keith or crew members were always answered in a professionally manner. Keith and his crew worked very well as a coordinated team. The job was completed in a timely manner and at the end of the job the work site was completely clean and all trash removed. I would recommend Decks By Schmillen for any homeowner who needs a new deck or a Gable Roof to cover their deck. Again a very professional job done by a professional team/company.

Description of Work
New Deck 10ft by 20ft with Gable Roof Deck Cover

Category decks

5.0

01/24/2018


sean H.

The day finally came by and his crew tore down the old deck and put up the new. Several unfortunate issues came up, such as the inability to use the old pilings (too small for the building codes 30 years after the original) and the backing behind the old ledger board not meeting code. I knew the ground was only a few inches to bedrock, and sadly this had to be bored thru for the new pilings to be put in. Through it all, the Schmillen Crew were prompt, professional, hard working, fast and highly skilled. They completed the deck on time even with these few obstacles that occurred. The deck is super strong, looks awesome, and I can't praise the Schmillen crew enough. He even provided for free some extra trim wood and stain after the job was done and I was doing some cosmetic work nearby. Highly recommended. Attached is a photo before the metal support post was removed.

Description of Work
My old deck was failing, so it was time to replace. I did a lot of research for the best deck contractors in Colorado Springs, and Schmillen's kept coming up. I contacted him and several other contractors to come out and give me estimates. His was slightly higher than all the others, but I had done my research, and I also got the best vibe from him. I agreed to the rebuild and got put onto his waiting list. He is so popular, you will need to plan to have his crew come out several months after you agree.

Category decks

5.0

01/12/2018


Michael H.

DecksBySchmillen, they were top-ranked on Angie’s List and had only positive and extremely thankful reviews. I couldn’t agree more as Doug Schmillen and his son-lead team were top-notch from start to finish and we are totally pleased. We compared several contractors and it always came back to Doug Schmillen, who provided the best information, examples, details of the project and their attention to detail and workmanship was as important to them as it was to us. What a great experience and we love our new decks.

Description of Work
Restained two small decks and removed two existing decks and rebuilt both with galvanized steel frame, composite decking, stucco columns and decorative Vienna custom railings.

Category decks, deck cleaning

5.0

04/30/2017


Colleen S.

I selected Decks by Schmillen because they received so many high reviews on Angie's List. I'm happy to add mine to the rest. Doug and his team were professional and personable throughout the entire process and the communication was outstanding. The finished product is a work of beauty and craftsmanship. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
A 31' x 8' deck was added to the second story of my home

Category decks

5.0

02/23/2017


Lindsay D.

Doug and his team did a great job. They redesigned our deck, tore down the old deck, and rebuilt the new one. The new decks look amazing and we couldn't be happier. The crew actually even did a minor repair on a fence gate that broke during extremely high winds that occurred during the project. This was completely free and without being asked to do so. We really appreciate their work and thoughtfulness.

Description of Work
Complete deck redesign and build.

Category decks

5.0

01/21/2017


Steven and Carrie E.

Decks by Schmillen did a great job! This is the second deck they have built for us and we are return customers because of the high quality, professionalism and responsiveness. Doug's team were sensitive to us as far as where they stored their equipment, truck and other items necessary for the job; they were on time, on budget, cleaned up the property during and after the deck build, also checking in regularly to let us know the status of the project. Our deck is simple but beautiful and high quality. We are very pleased with the company and the end result. We highly recommend Decks by Schmillen!

Description of Work
Decks by Schmillen replaced a deck at our home. Doug Schmillen (owner) also helped us navigate local government permissions and permits to expand the size of the deck. Doug also took care of the inspections and building permits. This made is easy for us as home owners.

Category decks

5.0

10/25/2016


Fred D.

It went great! Initially we had hired another deck company to do our project and they got the framework under the decking completed and started to lay the deck boards and the entire job just didn't look "right" to me, the boards were sawed jagged and crooked on the ends and just rather shoddy work and it just looked bad overall, so we asked them to pull off the job. This is when I put a call into Doug. We knew Doug from working with him on a job together - we have a concrete business and worked together on a job, we did the concrete patio while Doug was doing the deck. Anyway, Doug had to take our partially constructed deck and all of our purchased materials and start all over again. After Doug did a complete examination of the deck (even after Regional Building inspected and passed it thus far from the work done by the first company) Doug saw that the framework under the deck was not done to code, even though it had passed in the inspection. So Doug met with the inspector and got it all figured out thankfully. The entire deck had to be removed and rebuilt by Doug, which was not an easy task. To save us money from having to go out and buy all new materials again, they tried their best to utilize all of the treated lumber, composite deck boards and composite handrail that they could. They did a great job and in the end we could be happier with our small, but beautiful deck - we love it! Thanks to Doug and his crew for having the patience, skill and expertise to make something beautiful out of the mess we had and the pile of materials they had to work with!

Description of Work
We needed a small deck re-built

Category decks

5.0

10/12/2016


KEVIN R.

The beams installed for our deck look excellent--their work was superb as was their cleanup. We started with one project and were so pleased that we added another project and couldn't be more satisfied! Dynamite service and quality work.

Description of Work
support beams replaced

Category decks

5.0

10/10/2016


ARTHUR V.

It took about 3 weeks. I called them with a few things I needed fixed and they came back out to fix them. We thought the pricing was good especially since the materials were man made, he also didn't want any money until the first inspection, the second payment was after the second inspection, and 3rd payment was after they came back to fix the areas I wanted fixed. I thought this was good since the other companies I spoke to wanted 50% up front and didn't have metal frames, one of the companies didn't even know what I was talking about when I asked for a metal frame. Decks by Schmillen was company 5 out of 7 that I contacted.

Description of Work
Replaced and enlarged my deck with a steel frame and man made composite decking, iron railing, wooden post, and sealed the deck.

Category decks

5.0

09/07/2016


Dale T.

Doug and the rest of the Schmillen team have been a joy to work with. I can't believe the miracle they worked on my deck saving me thousands of dollars and extending the life of the deck by many years. Another quote for bringing the deck to a safe level was quoted at 4 times the cost as delivered by the Schmillen team. Decks by Schmillen will always be my number one choice for the services that they deliver. My family and friends will definitely know their name. Thank you very much Doug!

Description of Work
Replaced approximately 75% of the floor joists and realigned the rim joist.

Category decks, deck cleaning

5.0

07/10/2016


Elaine T.

Unbelievable! This was a total deck rebuild - the finished product was wonderful! With a project of this scope, you have to expect a few "glitches" - what is really impressive is the speed with which they were identified and addressed! These people are the best of the best!!!

Description of Work
Deck total rebuild

Category decks

1.0

07/03/2016


diana T.

The contractor wanted to come at a time he selected for the bid and wanted to be paid for the time most convenient for him. The cost to come and measure/estimate the job was $20. The contractor stated he doesn't travel to the homes to do an estimate for free. I said I don't pay for estimates and if $20 makes or breaks the bank then I don't want that contractor that lives on a shoe string budget. His response was in quotes per text "It is the homeowner that makes or breaks the bank. If $20 separates the difference between my proposal and another contractor that is a tight fit. The idea is to stop homeowner using me to see if the bid they have received from a contractor they want to use is a fairly priced at my expense." So my thoughts are he doesn't have confidence in his ability to get jobs if he must round up cash by charging for estimates. He wasn't hired.

Description of Work
Enclosing existing deck for a sunroom including walls, electrical, and windows. Adding to the existing deck in square footage.

Category decks

5.0

04/17/2016


Sheryll E.

The owner came out to talk with us, listened to what we wanted. He arranged for an engineer to come out to make sure the roof would work and if the beams would support the roof and deck. He measured, and gave us an estimate. He called us, made many appointments with us. Always kept us informed of every detail that went into the install of roof and deck. He met with us when it was time to pick out the deck materials. All contractors he used was very professional. We really love our new deck. Our neighbors were impressed with the promptness of the workers. They always cleaned up the area daily before going home. The owner was always available for phone calls or email, he responded in a timely manner. We would use this company again and definitely would recommend it to everyone. Thanks

Description of Work
Had a roof built and a new deck .

Category decks

5.0

03/31/2016


Deborah M.

Terrific. We needed to have the work done early in the year because we were putting the house on the market and Doug worked with us to find a time when the weather would cooperate. The technician who did the work was skilled and courteous and did not make a mess. Doug know's more about decks and stains than I thought possible - he's a professional and knows his craft. I highly recommend Decks by Schmillen

Description of Work
Replaced rotting deck joists, cleaned and stained decks and stairs, stained natural wood entry door, varnished cedar garage doors and shutters

Category deck cleaning

5.0

03/12/2016


Dave L.

We’d like to highly recommend Doug and his crew to do your deck. He came highly recommended from a friend of ours and it was right on! Early in the process Doug came out to talk to us about what we wanted. Then he went and drew up several plans that we really liked. He included some small details that we had not thought about and made great suggestions that drew upon his decades of deck building experience. Once we had settled on a design he cleared it through the city – I really appreciated that we did not have to do that. So with a permit and a plan he took us shopping to the supplier. I think his advice and his being there when we picked out our material made a huge difference in our satisfaction with the finished product. Doug was always communicating very well with us, telling us how the schedule looked and the status of materials and city permit. Once the work began his crew was timely, neat and courteous. They were on time in the morning and cleaned up every day. They took care of all of the inspections from the city and would ask us what we wanted when a decision had to be made. We are extremely satisfied with the finished product

Description of Work
Replaced very steep stairs, entrance to home. They had to do some excavating which was more involved due to age of house and deterioration of original stairs.

Category decks

5.0

02/24/2016


william W.

Our deck was in terrible condition. I contacted the owner of Decks by Schmillen (Doug Schmillen) as he had a great rating with Angie's List. Doug responded quickly. As this was primarily my wife's project, she showed Doug some designs she was interested in. Doug shared with her some ideas that were in line with hers. Together they were able to come up with a project design that we loved and was within our budget. Doug worked with us to get the needed permits and to provide our HOA with the required information and drawings. Once the work started it went very quickly and we were thrilled with work. We asked if it was possible to add gates at the top and bottom of the stairs (which was not in the original work plan). No problem - they are great. Doug contacted us each day to make sure we were satisfied with the work and progress and if we had any questions or concerns. Doug and his crew were extremely friendly and very professional. If you need a deck - this is the company to go with!!!

Description of Work
Replace deck.

Category decks

5.0

09/03/2015


Gary R.

We had a very good experience with Decks by Schmillen. Appropriate consultation, engineering, planning and inspections were done. We found the crew and sub-contractors to be very skilled, courteous, and enjoyable. They were very flexible and worked with us to get what we wanted. We are very happy with the result and would recommend them without reservation. We have a high quality product which should last for a very long time.

Description of Work
Built covered deck using galvanized steel frame, composite decking, metal railing, pine tongue and grove ceiling, overhead lighting, asphalt shingles, gutters and down spouts and stucco support columns.

Category decks

5.0

08/07/2015


Mark B.

One word: Professional. I interviewed a lot of deck builders in the Springs and never got that "warm fuzzy" from any of them when considering the entire package (price, competency/track record, ability to complete in timely fashion, responsiveness, etc.). Decks By Schmillen was at the top of nearly all categories. The process was great from the start, with Doug coming out and listening intently to my ideas and interjecting advice, but not dominating the conversation like I experienced with a few other popular companies in the Springs. Doug took the time to meet at a local builder's supply shop in town and patiently helped select the specific brands/colors/styles of the deck materials. The build team, led by Keith, was spectacular. The team has the process down to a tee. Very efficient, hardworking and tidy. You can tell very quickly these guys know what their doing. Awesome all around. I will go with this company on all future projects and you'd be foolish to not do the same.

Description of Work
Demolished the existing, old redwood deck and built a new deck, using galvanized steel framing and composite decking materials.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Borders Deck Care Inc.

    Established in 1999, Rusty Brischle and his wife Debbie built this company from the ground up. They larned all the ins and outs of deck construction and the special qualities building a deck in Colorado require versus other states. Now, it's their grandsons turn. Working for Borders since he was 13, Shaulin Rinaldis now leads the company forward and strives to continue delivering the best decks to the Front Range of Colorado.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Genesis Group LLC

    At Genesis Group, our passion is creating the perfect outdoor living environment. Whether it's adding a spectacular deck or creating a landscape that is visually stunning, we're here to help. Our experienced team will work within your budget to design a solution that is sure to please. We encourage you to explore our website, view our portfolio and imagine the possibilities.  

    Angi Certified

    Rocky Mountain Custom Decks

    Rocky Mountain Custom Decks is a local, family-owned company. We love to take small, unusable areas and turn them into an inviting space for grilling, dining, entertaining, or simply enjoying beautiful Colorado weather. That old weathering box out back becomes your favorite place to be. In the last 16 years we have become the leader in the deck building industry in the Colorado Springs area. Building quality custom decks at affordable prices has become our mainstay. Rocky Mountain Custom Decks maintains a General Contractor’s license in El Paso and Teller Counties, is a member of the Better Business Bureau, and possesses general liability insurance. A 5 year warranty on workmanship is standard.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $ 25.00
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Custom decks ,Deck covers, Outdoor kitchens/ Fireplaces ,Glass Wind Walls, Trellis , Pergolas, Varity of railing styles (Metal, Stucco, Glass, Composite , Wood,and Cable), Deck lighting, Stucco or Rock colums, Restoration & Maintenance.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Decks by Schmillen

    How is Decks by Schmillen overall rated?

    Decks by Schmillen is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Decks by Schmillen open?

    Decks by Schmillen is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Decks by Schmillen provide

    Decks by Schmillen accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Decks by Schmillen offer free estimates?

    Yes, Decks by Schmillen offers free project estimates.

    Does Decks by Schmillen offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Decks by Schmillen offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Decks by Schmillen offer a senior discount?

    No, Decks by Schmillen does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Decks by Schmillen?

    Yes, Decks by Schmillen offers warranties.

    What services does Decks by Schmillen offer?

    Decks by Schmillen offers the following services: Custom decks ,Deck covers, Outdoor kitchens/ Fireplaces ,Glass Wind Walls, Trellis , Pergolas, Varity of railing styles (Metal, Stucco, Glass, Composite , Wood,and Cable), Deck lighting, Stucco or Rock colums, Restoration & Maintenance.

    Are there any services Decks by Schmillen does not offer?

    Ask for details.