Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales

Founded 2014 • With Angi since August 2016

2.2

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales was formed in August, 2014 by people with over 75+ years of landscape design & installation experience. Comprised of A.L.C.C. Grand award winning designers & installation crews, in-house graphic artists/illustrators, Colorado's highest quality staff stone masons, certified nursery men & arborists, Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales is your landscape source....

Other local Pros in your area

BigHorn Bros., LLC

We specialize in landscape, landscape design, Xeriscape, sprinklers, fencing, flagstone, pavers, water features, retaining walls, interior/exterior painting and staining, decks, deck repair, fire pits, topiary, tree pruning, outdoor living spaces, and more ! Our goal is to work with honor and integrity, to your complete satisfaction to create a custom, one-of-a-kind outdoor design that complements & accentuates your unique style. Our owner operated team has over 30 years experience and we strive for perfection in every job we take on!  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by BigHorn Bros., LLC on Angi
Concrete Customs LLC

Concrete Customs, LLC is a company of integrity. We are committed to our customers in every aspect and every situation, with a meticulous workmanship that results in repeat customer satisfaction. Our commitment to you comes from the heart of our company.  

Lansdcape Munoz

snow removal. landscaping services lawn clean ups7*2*0 8*4*2 2*8*1*7  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/11/2017


Michael B.

They took our money, started then abandoned the project and disappeared. BEWARE! Robert Law is not to be trusted!!

Description of Work
Complete new home landscape

Category landscaping

4.0

07/24/2017


Jennifer H.

Waited to write this review for almost a year. While we are thrilled with the results, it was a bumpy road getting here. House was purchased as a foreclosure and the yard had been neglected for years, so we needed to redesign both front and back yards - two large spaces (corner lot) that were completely overrun with weeds, infested with bindweed and buckthorn, crumbling retaining wall, etc. The good news was this was essentially a blank canvas where we could create anything we wanted - bad news was wife and I had zero background in landscape design and only a vague notion of what we wanted, so we were looking for guidance and vision, and preferably a one-stop shopping experience rather than juggling multiple contractors. Daniel's Landscaping was one of several contractors we consulted, and Rob's personal charm was key to our decision to hire them. Met with him several times in April/May 2016, worked out a design and a budget for everything but fencing (not in their scope of work.) Feeling good about the decision, we put down a deposit and got on their calendar for July. Had lots of communication in the beginning, with Rob directly as well as his design team who was very helpful, but then ... radio silence. When I reached out weeks later just to touch base and confirm we were still good to go, Rob said 'Oh, did nobody tell you?' (never a good sign) 'Daniel and I are no longer in business together.' (gulp) We were panicked for about 24 hours, as it became clear we had fallen through the cracks and neither Daniel nor Rob had realized it. After some sleepless nights and a lot of back and forth with Rob, we decided to go ahead with his new company rather than Daniel, and got rescheduled for August. Once work began, it went quite fast and without significant hangups. The guys on the ground were tremendous workers, both in skill and effort. Arturo in particular takes great pride in his stone work, and talked us into several upgrades (most at no charge), things like stone garden boxes instead of wooden rail ties, and covering the cement walkway in stone. It's clear he likes to show off his crew's skill, and we didn't mind. We had another contractor timed to arrive same week to replace large sections of fencing, and both crews coexisted without incident. The only problems in execution of design involved some miscommunication about the retaining wall, as I just happened to be home and noticed one worker had misunderstood the design (a 'thumbprint' we had suggested to give the mulch/stone area some character) and was off by a few feet in location. While they took down the stonework and rebuilt the wall, the impact was that there was not enough materials to finish the very end of the retaining wall, which sat almost-but-not-quite-completed for a few weeks as they waited for a shipment. In hindsight, if that's all that went wrong with the actual project, we can't really complain. There was some confusion with the billing, as Rob had somehow 'lost' all our plans, revisions, and estimates over the summer due to the breakup. To his credit, he was up front with the issues he was dealing with, and we were satisfied with how much we paid and what we got for our money. It was just unnecessarily stressful. Bottom line: our backyard used to be an embarrassing eyesore, and is now the best room in our home. Nearly all but one of the plants survived and are now thriving, the patio looks great, the sod is managing well enough (**** dog urine!) - we are very pleased with the results and the value we received. That said, communication with Rob is hit and miss at best (my wife found it more difficult to get straight info from him than I did) so you need to be vigilant and proactive, and keep all your paperwork.

Description of Work
Complete redesign and overhaul of front and back yards including sod and sprinkler installation, expansion of back patio and front landing, mulch and stone ground covering, tree removal, retaining wall, and various plantings.

Category landscaping

1.0

07/21/2017


Patrick C.

The initial conversations seemed to go well, but we were asked to pay the full price up front (~10k!!!). Nearly 6 weeks went by without a date scheduled for the work to begin and almost no communication. Turns out they ordered the wrong materials and had to start over again. We asked for a complete refund, which we have not yet received.

Description of Work
Hired Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales to redo our backyard and add a space for a hot tub.

Category landscaping

1.0

06/17/2017


Nicole M.

Initially, we were pleased with Rob's work and the final design of our project; however, after several months, we realized that the work was sub-par and our list of warranty repairs continued to grow. Unfortunately, we've had an extremely unsatisfactory experience with him in regards to the completion of this warranty work. We have two dead trees, three dead bushes, several broken path lights, problems with our sprinkler system (including three drip lines that are completely broken). Many of these issues were identified almost immediately after Rob completed the job, but we agreed to wait until spring to address them. Despite Rob's constant assurances that the work would be completed "this week" or "in the next several days", over two months have now passed and every appointment has been missed without even a phone call to notify us. Rob has now stopped returning phone calls or texts. On the rare chance we do hear from him, he blames his crews for "lying" to him about when he will get the work done- as if he is not the owner of this business and ultimately responsible for carrying out the contract with his customers. Bottom line, this has been one of the most unprofessional experiences with a contractor we have ever had. Lots of promises made; very, very few kept. I would advise anyone considering him to look elsewhere for their landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Landscape- front and back yard, including lightIng, sprinklers, and hardscape

Category landscaping,outdoor lighting

5.0

10/11/2016


Jing F.

After contacted with several companies, I selected Rob's Colorado Outdoor Living for the project. I was introduced to Rob via a friend who has his backyard landscape completed by Rob. After being in Daniels Landscape for decades, he recently split out to form his own company. Different from other landscaping guys I talked to, Rob really spent time with me to understand what I wanted, and gave his suggestions after listening to me. Also, his proposal and drawing are much more in detail. It took about 4 days for his workers to finish everything in my backyard. We are very happy with the result, and like to recommend him to our friends when they need to find a landscaping contractor.

Description of Work
The project is to finish a empty backyard with a flat-stone patio of 250 square feet, several trees and plenty of perennials.

Category landscaping,outdoor lighting

1.0

08/13/2016


Jacquelyn M.

It went terribly! We created a very specific plan of what was to take place, that they later modified on their own. They asked for half of the money down, which I agreed to. They were late or didn't show up at all on several occasions. They scraped the side of my house during the work, which they later denied. They broke a brick that they then lied about, saying they glued it back in. I have video showing how loose it still is. They installed a faulty sprinkler head that they replaced but they didn't program the sprinkler systems. I had to do research to learn how to program it myself. I have weeds growing already, the sod is not growing back in the time frame they gave me. My patio have several chipped pavers that aren't level. They didn't have the paver color I wanted, but said they had a close match that turned out to be completely different from what I had originally wanted! They have been consistently unresponsive and have even tried to blame me for the poor quality of their work. There are over 2 weeks past their projected finish date. They continually asked me for the remainder of my payment before the job was done even though our contract specifically stated I wasn't to pay the second half until the full job was completed. To top it all off they took the down payment and signed the contract informed me that they aren't even the company that they claim to be on Angie's List, which sounds very fraudulent! The project manager of Daniel's business, Arturo Gonzales, is the owner of Outdoor Design Colorado, which is company they later disclosed to be.

Description of Work
Install sprinkler system, install 2 paver patios, a flagstone pathway, 4 areas of river rock around patios, re sod the yard.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales prides itself on being a customer oriented, full service landscape solution provider. We are not a perfect company and we acknowledge that things can & do go wrong on projects; however, we do have a perfect record of addressing & correcting our errors where we can. We are fiercely protective of our reputation & appreciate feedback from our customers so that we can address critical needs & improve our service. Accordingly, any time that we have a dissatisfied customer it becomes our #1 priority to turn that around. Unfortunately, there are situations that emanate where we are simply unable to rise to a level sufficient to satisfy a client. It saddens me to admit that this seems to be one of those instances. Normally, we are involved in the design & selection of materials that we feel, based on our collective 75+ years in the industry, are best suited for each project. In this instance we were not consulted concerning the design or material selection. The homeowner had done her own due diligence & had made decisions & choices thereto making it impossible for me to comment on their genesis. As to the paver selected for the patios, the homeowner gave us a name, color & manufacturer. We were instructed to contact them & use their product. In doing so we learned that the color selected had been discontinued. The supplier offered an alternative color in the same type & pattern to which the homeowner replied "Just get what they have, I'm going in next week for my back surgery and I want this to be over with." We complied with her directive. The latest complaint that several appear to be broken is recent. When I first walked the completed project with the homeowner there were 3 items that she addressed. Paver color & appearance were not among them. In fact, she said that the paver patios had turned out awesome. My masons have informed me that in their opinion, all of the pavers appear to be broken. It is the tumbled style of the paver that she selected. It is unfortunate that homeowner, who was present during installation, waited a month to raise the paver patios objection rather than during their construction. It is now too late to return the pavers or exchange them for a credit toward a different type or color. To wait a month after installation and now demand new patios in the color that she had chosen or one that is reasonably close is disingenuous. Homeowner also now demands that her entire sod be replaced as it was not, "placed in harmony with her sense of symmetrical proportion." This too is a new demand. Again, at homeowner's completion walk through there were 3 issues at hand; a small area of sod (20-25 sq.ft.) that homeowner claimed was not getting sprinkler coverage, a broken brick through which we ran the sprinkler clock wire and the marring of three additional bricks on her garage's exterior wall. I agreed with homeowner that there was a small section of sod that looked pretty stressed out. It is not uncommon for a roll of sod to not take root when laid in 100+ temperatures. Homeowner and I turned on the sprinkler and focused on the sprinkler heads for this section. I observed that water was covering the area and it was wet to the touch. Having determined that the sprinkler was providing adequate coverage, I presumed that we had gotten a bad roll of sod and agreed to replace it. Homeowner did not express a "symmetrical issue" at that time. Prior to our agreement, weed eradication and prevention had not been contemplated nor was it part of the contract. Homeowner requested this service on the day that we started the project. We explained to homeowner that if we did not replace the existing river rock with new clean rock then it would render the new weed barrier ineffective. The homeowner said that she could not afford to replace the river rock and we needed to reuse it. We elected not to charge homeowner with a change order for a solution that was doomed to failure. It is our position that the weeds are not growing up through the barrier but are growing on top of the barrier. Homeowner has brought to our attention that we need to implement changes going forward especially as they relate to service calls. We recognize that we need to take further steps to document these events and communicate them with the homeowner more effectively. Our company will now use service call door hangers to announce and confirm to a homeowner that we have indeed been on site. We will also now adopt a policy of phoning the customer at least one day prior to the service call. We will identify a 2-hour window for the following day during which our technician will be at their property to address their issue(s). Homeowner further complains that nobody speaks English on the crew. Admittedly, some are more fluent in English than others but all should possess the requisite language & communication skills to understand our clients. Better preparation & planning can ensure that there is always someone on a job site who reads & speaks fluent English. In closing, we feel that 3 gouged bricks on the side of her alley garage in tandem with a brick that had broken when drilled does not rise to the level of an additional 20% discount. I had been told that homeowner was referred to us by another real estate agent in her office. Upon learning of Angie's List participation in this process I welcomed the involvement of a 3d party arbiter. Another 2 weeks had elapsed and having neither been contacted by an Angie's List representative or homeowner, I reached out to my Angie's List account rep and asked her to look into this complaint so that I could attempt to resolve it once and for all. We have already provided homeowner with abundant financial compensation but are happy to compensate her the going market rate for a roll of sod and for the replacement of the 4 damaged bricks.

    Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales

    Founded 2014 • With Angi since August 2016

    2.2

    (6) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    6285 Oxford Peak Pl

    Castle Pines, CO 80108

    Services Offered

    We are a full-service landscape design & build firm. From concept planning, development & consultation to hardscapes, irrigation, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces, fire pits, stamped & colored concrete, pavers and custom stone work to sod sprinkler & drip, plantings of all perennials, shrubs, trees, evergreens, and ground covers

    Services Not Offered

    Colorado Outdoor Living Design & Sales is not a lawn maintenance or snow removal service. However, we do have close relationships with other vendors and companies that offer those services, and will gladly refer you to a reputable company that offers these services.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes