Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aaark Total Home Services

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2010

4.6

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5962 Sheridan Blvd

Arvada, CO 80003

Description

Family owned. Additional DBA - Aaark Heating & Air Conditioning Inc....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/14/2017


Dimitry S.

No issues. They took care of all permitting and inspection work.

Description of Work
Electrical panel upgrade (100 to 150A) and moving electrical panel from interior to exterior wall.

Category electrician

1.0

02/01/2017


Michael H.

I have used Aaark for over a decade and up until this past week I would have given them 5 stars. Prices had always seemed competitive and work was excellent, employees were friendly and knowledgeable. This last week I needed a zone valve head replaced and I needed some flue piping replaced. Aaark was at the house for maybe 2.5 hours and maybe there was $150 in parts involved. Total bill was over $1300. The owner, Titus, said that if I thought his prices were extreme (and I do) then I should check with Applewood Plumbing and Brothers Plumbing. Funny thing is that neither of those companies will give you any kind of estimate over the phone nor will they come out and give free estimates. So to get estimates from these two other companies I would probably be out another $200 on top of my already extreme bill of $1300. I placed two calls to two other long time plumbing companies in the area and both were willing to give phone estimates, hourly labor rates and cost of parts estimates. Both companies would have been well below a total of $600 for the zone valve head replacement and the flue pipe replacement. I think the bottom line for me going forward is to stick with : 1) Companies that are willing to provide a free estimate for parts and labor over the phone or in person. 2) Companies that don't charge a flat rate, unless that flat rate can compared favorably to other "parts and labor" estimates. 3) Companies that don't mark up the price of parts exorbitantly. It is very easy to get pricing for parts on the internet these days so should be easy to verify their prices. Titus, the owner, will likely reply that I have gotten my facts wrong, or that I don't understand the business. I'll be happy to argue any of his points with him.

Description of Work
Replaced honeywell zone valve and flue pipe for boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/06/2017


Helen C.

I awoke Sunday, Jan. 1, 2017, to a dead hot water furnace and a cold house. I called two plumbers I had used before, but no answer because of the holiday. After referring to Angie’s List, I started calling to try to find a plumber who would come out on a holiday. It didn’t take too long to find AAArk, and was told that someone would come, but had a couple of calls ahead of me. After two hours or so, Brian Adams came, studied the problem, made some small adjustment and the burner came on. He continued checking and said that the furnace was old and need several repairs. I decided that it would be better to replace it than to keep patching it. Brian said he would email a proposal on Tuesday (Monday was a holiday). After reviewing it, I called and told him to go ahead with a new furnace. That afternoon the old furnace quit again. Chris came about five and worked for more than an hour and got it working. Thursday was set as the day for the new installation. The weather forecast was for heavy snow on Thursday, starting Wednesday evening. Wednesday morning Brian called and asked if they could come then and do it, to get ahead of the storm. I agreed, and soon a crew and three trucks arrived. They worked all day, but were unable to finish. They loaned me a space heater and said they would be back the next day. Thursday morning we had six-eight inches of snow and it was still falling. Fortunately I found someone to clear the driveway and the trucks were able to get in. Two men and two trucks spent the day finishing up and I had heat. All of the workers were courteous and considerate. They put down tarps to protect the floor and carpet from tracked-in snow and dirt. They hauled away all the discards and cleaned up afterwards. The new furnace looks neat and well organized, and a lot of old piping, etc. was taken away. They spent a good bit of time testing and venting the radiators. All in all, I am very pleased with their work.

Description of Work
Install new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/06/2017


Helen C.

They did a professional job of replacing my hot water furnace. Since it was January, it was urgent that it be done quickly, and it was.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/06/2017


Helen C.

I awoke Sunday, Jan. 1, 2017, to a dead hot water furnace and a cold house. I called two plumbers I had used before, but no answer because of the holiday. After referring to Angie’s List, I started calling to try to find a plumber who would come out on a holiday. It didn’t take too long to find AAArk, and was told that someone would come, but had a couple of calls ahead of me. After two hours or so, Brian Adams came, studied the problem, made some small adjustment and the burner came on. He continued checking and said that the furnace was old and need several repairs. I decided that it would be better to replace it than to keep patching it. Brian said he would email a proposal on Tuesday (Monday was a holiday). After reviewing it, I called and told him to go ahead with a new furnace. That afternoon the old furnace quit again. Chris came about five and worked for more than an hour and got it working. Thursday was set as the day for the new installation. The weather forecast was for heavy snow on Thursday, starting Wednesday evening. Wednesday morning Brian called and asked if they could come then and do it, to get ahead of the storm. I agreed, and soon a crew and three trucks arrived. They worked all day, but were unable to finish. They loaned me a space heater and said they would be back the next day. Thursday morning we had six-eight inches of snow and it was still falling. Fortunately I found someone to clear the driveway and the trucks were able to get in. Two men and two trucks spent the day finishing up and I had heat. All of the workers were courteous and considerate. They put down tarps to protect the floor and carpet from tracked-in snow and dirt. They hauled away all the discards and cleaned up afterwards. The new furnace looks neat and well organized, and a lot of old piping, etc. was taken away. They spent a good bit of time testing and venting the radiators. All in all, I am very pleased with their work.

Description of Work
Install new furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/05/2017


Kristopher N.

Titus is super-quick to respond to a call for help, and his prices are always the best. He gives me the lowest price option, and then some other options and explains the difference, so I can compare exactly what it is I'm getting quotes on. He is always the best deal in terms of pricing for quality and has the best lead times. Dramatic example: During the flood of 2013 in Boulder, I called him for the first time on a Sunday, asking if he could help us- our crawl space was flooded, the emergency flood mitigation company said they couldn't help me for 10 days, and we had soggy ducts running through the crawlspace mud. He came out THAT DAY, ON HIS DAY OFF, with his muck-suit and booties, and crawled into our mess to check it out. He stayed and personally removed the soggy ductwork and dragged other debris out for us. He came back with his crew to replace the ductwork as soon as the water was low enough to do it, and they repaired everything Iisted above in a timely fashion, which says alot when you think about the regional demand for contractors to help repair structures after that flood. They also repainted the exterior, and did a fantastic job of it, including all the detail trim- and I'm pretty detail oriented! I cannot recommend them enough, and whenever anything goes wrong, I call them and see if that is something that they do before I go elsewhere. As always, their quotes are spot on and their timing is the fastest.

Description of Work
Duct repair after flooding, debris removal, siding and soffit repair, gutters added to house, exterior painting in 2013; Furnace upkeep 2015

Category contractors, gutter repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, house painters

5.0

09/13/2016


Pat S.

The price was $5,000-plus. They are a little bit higher pricewise, but they warranty their work and they are local. The owner is on the city council so he is in city government. His family is also in the company.

Description of Work
I had Aaark Total Home Services put in my boiler, hot water heater and swamp cooler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

02/03/2016


Darryl A.

I called Aaark at 8:05 am after my furnace stopped working the night before. By 9:30 the repairman (Levi) had arrived, found the problem, called local suppliers to find the part, and explained everything including the cost. By 11:30 he had picked up the part, returned and had it installed. He even got the humidifier working again (it had conked out a month earlier). The repairman (HVAC specialist), was friendly and professional and gave accurate estimates of how long things would take. Before he left, he checked that everything was working properly, answered all our questions, and explained everything he had done. Aaark will be my first call the next time I have the kind of problem they fix.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace blower motor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/04/2015


nicole H.

The project took two days, three guys. All of them were super friendly, nice and I have zero complaints. They were nice to my dogs, even though one of my dogs snapped several times at one of the guys. They were clean and picked up after themselves. They had good manners and worked quickly. It was a LOT of money, and money that I didn't plan or want to spend. With that said, I definitely feel like we picked the right company. I got on here to leave this review and was pretty shocked that they only have B average and there are a lot of complaints. I did not experience any of the negatives, and the owner even gave us a pretty nice discount.

Description of Work
One day the brand new A/C and the certified furnace in our new home we had just moved into wouldn't operate. We called AAARK; they had been a recommendation on my Nextdoor.com website for our neighborhood. They came out, performed a job for $1,300 (I think they replaced the coil in the furnace) but there were still issues and we couldn't use the A/C. They provided us a quote to fix everything they felt like needed replaced, which was a shocking $11,000!!!! We decided to just get the new coils and have them replace our electrical box (there were tons of lines piggy-backed and hooked up in an unsafe manner and we knew going into the new home that we'd eventually have to have the box rewired/redone).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/04/2015


nicole H.

One day the brand new A/C and the certified furnace in our new home we had just moved into wouldn't operate. We called AAARK; they had been a recommendation on my Nextdoor.com website for our neighborhood. They came out, performed a job for $1,300 (I think they replaced the coil in the furnace) but there were still issues and we couldn't use the A/C.? They provided us a quote to fix everything they felt like needed replaced, which was a shocking $11,000!!!! We decided to just get the new coils and have them replace our electrical box (there were tons of lines piggy-backed and hooked up in an unsafe manner and we knew going into the new home that we'd eventually have to have the box rewired/redone).

Description of Work
The project took two days, three guys. All of them were super friendly, nice and I have zero complaints. They were nice to my dogs, even though one of my dogs snapped several times at one of the guys. They were clean and picked up after themselves.? They had good manners and worked quickly. It was a LOT of money, and money that I didn't plan or want to spend. With that said, I definitely feel like we picked the right company.? I got on here to leave this review and was pretty shocked that they only have? B average and there are a lot of complaints. I did not experience any of the negatives, and the owner even gave us a pretty nice discount.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/20/2014


Kristopher N.

He was determined to do whatever jobs we needed. His prices were better than anyone else's. They got out here right away and were determined to help any way they could. His guys all stayed here until the job was done and it took a long time. He is who I will be working with for all future needs around the home. They were incredibly principled about it and hard-working. They'll keep coming back until they get it right. If there's something that's not quite working right, no matter how small it is, the owner comes right back out and fixes it. They got the work done quickly and cleanly. They're one stop stopping and will coordinate all of your needs.

Description of Work
They repaired our home after we had a major flood in this area. Aaark Total Home Services came out on a Sunday to crawl into under our crawlspace and tear out some fiberglass ducting that was soaking up the flood waters, along with helping us in other ways. They tore out all the furnace debris in the crawlspace. They did a bunch of clean-up work before they could even start that. Then they replaced some ductwork and and repaired and cleaned other parts of our ductwork. They cleaned our two furnaces -- our house has two. Since then, they put gutters on our house. They've repainted, caulked and peeled everything on the exterior of our house. They pressure washed the whole house. They replaced the siding that was ruined by the flood with new siding. They pulled out all the rotting wood and replaced it. They repaired soffits and leaky spots. They thoroughly cleaned up and repaired everything from the flood on the exterior of our home.

Category gutter repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, siding, water damage restoration, air duct cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

11/04/2013


Penny R R.

The first thing I want to say is how punctual everyone has been. I've never been left wondering if anyone is going to show up. The one time someone was going to be late, I was called and informed. This is priceless. They have also worked very hard to clean up after themselves. I don't have to follow them with a broom and dustpan. They've laid down plastic as needed and taken it up after the job. I have asthma and really appreciate this. There are three phases to this job, all intertwined: 1) Install washer and dryer in the mudroom - this has been completed. This phase included punching a doorway through the back of a former coat closet and building a pedestal for the washer and dryer. I am very happy with the work that was done. They even took a piece of drywall in to have the paint matched. The mudroom is completed, works like a charm, and looks great. 2) Remove part of the ceiling in the basement family room, install plumbing and electricity to mud room above, remove popcorn texturing and refinish the ceiling - ongoing. This is the really messy part of the job. The ceiling has been repaired and the popcorn texturing is gone. Today, the crew will apply the final coat of zero-VOX paint. 3) Install a shower in the Master bath - ongoing. Now that the washer and dryer have been removed from the Master bath, I want a shower reinstalled. This part of the project has yet to be truly started but AAArk did clean up after removing the machines.

Description of Work
AAArk Home Improvements contracted to move the washing machine and dryer from the Master bath to a former bedroom, now mudroom. While doing this, they had to remove part of the ceiling of the downstairs family room (for plumbing purposes) including popcorn texturing, repair the hole then texture and paint the ceiling. They also built a washer and dryer pedestal in the new mudroom as well as installing plumbing and electricity for the machines. The next step is to replace the shower in the Master bath which was the area the washer and dryer had been living.

Category drywall, electrician, plumbing, home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

10/08/2013


Russ S.

They were prompt and courteous. They provided a fair estimate. Even though I didn't use them they did a good job.

Description of Work
I received an estimate to upgrade the main panel.

Category electrician

5.0

06/22/2013


Penny R R.

I had already had this service done and the person plainly did not know what he was doing. Mason finished the job and has ordered me a new summer screen. He was fast and then very thorough in explaining the operating to me.

Description of Work
Got the evaporative cooler ready for summer.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/25/2013


Marie H.

They are wonderful. They are very efficient and do good work. I bought the furnace from them about 22 years ago and it is still working well. I have been very happy with their service.

Description of Work
They installed my swamp cooler and maintain it. They also installed the furnace and maintain that as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

04/11/2013


James V.

I cannot tell you how unpleasant and unprofessional my interaction with this company was. In addition to being GROSSLY overcharged for repair jobs that should have taken less than four hours, I met with rude plumbers, incompetent schedulers and lousy workmanship. Specific example: Our domestic hot water system has a recirculating loop that ensures hot water is readily available throughout the system. The pump on this loop is a small, fractional horsepower centrifigual pump that costs in the neighborhood of $1,100 based on the charge we paid for the initial installation and at that time was installed with a design that allows for easy replacement in the event of failure. The pump is secured in place by four, readily accessible bolts and is connected to a small, flexible three-wire harness for power. The charge to replace this pump with an exact replacement as invoiced by Aaark (this is from memory but is reasonably accurate) was some $1,500 for the pump (ok, inflation) but the toal price for the pump repair was nearly $3,000!!! So, $1,500 for the pump and $1,500 for labor that amounts to four bolts and a wiring harness? Really? $1,500 for less than 8 hours' work on a fractional horsepower pump? STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

Description of Work
Aaark was retained to provide services for the HOA of which I am president. We retaine them, at the advice of our Property Management company to service our domestic hot water system, steam boiler, laundry room plumbing and some interior carpentry (door) repair and replacement, and drain cleaning.

Category contractors, drywall, plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

5.0

01/18/2013


Paul O.

They were very good and very professional. They showed up when they said they would. They charged us a lot of money though. Overall I would give them an A except for their pricing.

Description of Work
They probably came in about 3 weeks to a month ago. We had backed up toilet and then we had to have both our shower switch fixed.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/11/2013


Barbara P.

City of Golden failed the installation on the first inspection, partly due to the inspector's ignorance. Minor corrections were promptly taken care of. For a slight additional charge (I cannot recall amount) the plumber rerouted some pipes and installed my water filter. He did an exceptional job in very tight quarters.

Description of Work
Installed new high effeciency gas furnace, which required new venting and adapting ductwork, and new 50 gallon gas hot water heater. Disposed of all old material. All workers were very professional and courteous.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, air duct cleaning

5.0

06/14/2012


Susan C.

They were recommended by our neighbor; they had done work for her. They’ve been around a long time, since the early 1980’s. I don’t know about the price because they were the only people we called; it was kind of an emergency. He didn’t charge us for fixing the air conditioner, probably because the air conditioner was so expensive. They talked to us for a long time about the water heater. I definitely would use them again.

Description of Work
We used Aaark Total Home Services for heating and air conditioning. They replaced our water heater. There was a noise in our air conditioning and he came out to look at that. While he was here he looked at our water heater and there was some sort of weird foam coming out the top. He said the insulation had gotten wet from leakage from the water heater. The water heater is 75 gallons and it is part of our heating system. He just tightened some screws and bolts on the air conditioner and he took out the older water heater and put in a new water heater and replaced several of the pipes and valves that had gotten corroded by the leakage.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

06/04/2012


Kirk J.

It was just a minor job but I was pleased with it.

Description of Work
We used them for furnace servicing.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

03/25/2012


Laura K.

Aaark was punctual throughout the job but the quality of the work was mediocre. It seems as though there is a lack of communication between the owner, who quoted the job, and his employees. There were numerous problems throughout the project which included the work performed by Aaark failing the final inspection by the city of Arvada three times. It was only after the 3 inspection failure did the owners truly take notice as to the lousy work their employees did. In the end, the owner's son who is a master electrician, plumber and HVAC fixed the problems and tried to smooth the situation over with me but by this time I was out of patiences and just wanted them to leave.

Description of Work
I contracted with Aaark Total Home services to install a gas heater in my shop. This work included them trenching and laying approximately 150' of gas line from my gas main to the shop and hang a 75K BTU Modine Hot Dawg heater.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

01/16/2012


Ian C.

After a few hours of examining the boiler, technicians turned it off and told me it was unsafe to operate, but they could get me a new one with a great price and extended warranty TODAY ONLY. As soon as they left I turned the boiler back on and called a different boiler tech. He came the next day and said not only did my boiler NOT need to be replaced, but it would probably last another 30-40 years as long as I had it cleaned occasionally. Extremely disappointed in the ineptness of the AAARK boiler techs, as we'd used AAARK in the past to do pure plumbing work and it was fine. Clearly these boiler tech guys are in over their heads.

Description of Work
Paid for estimate to repair boiler and broken zone valves.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/04/2011


Mary G.

My experience was excellent. My initial contact with the office to verify pricing and arrange for the service appointment was very pleasant. The office followed up by mailing me written confirmation as well as additional information about the company and its services. ( Impressive) On the day of service, the technician (Matt) called to say he was running a bit ahead of schedule and asked if he could come a few minutes earlier than the window period. No problem. When he arrived, he parked in front of my house -- NOT in my driveway like other contractors had done. (Even more impressive) When I looked out the front window, I saw that not only did his truck carry the company's name & identification information, but Matt's name was also painted on the driver's/passenger's doors. To me, this was the home run of impressive as it showed a commitment by the company to Matt, and a likewise commitment from Matt to the company. Matt was very nice, polite & professional. He noticed that the boiler should have had an extra strap supporting the side-arm and installed it on his own and at no cost. He pointed out an area of slight concern, but assured me that it was not a problem & could easily be adjusted should my boiler require any work in that area down the road. I very much appreciated the attention he gave to my boiler and the fact that he did not attempt to coerce or intimidate a female homeowner with scary "what if" problem scenarios in an attempt to drum up additional business like other contractors have done. I had been with my previous heating contractor for over 5 years. They had served me well (installing the boiler, replacing the sump pump, etc.) except when I needed an emergency service. (And I do mean EMERGENCY! ) They were unable to find the tech on-call and basically told me that they would not be able to help until the next day. I terminated my relationship with them and have since been searching for a company that I would feel confident & comfortable with, and one that I could form a long-term relationship. I feel like I have found that company with Aaark.

Description of Work
The annual cleaning/tune-up of my boiler in preparation of the winter season.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/20/2010


ADAM B.

They were good, timely and they performed the work at the agreed price.

Description of Work
They added a new water line and they did some electrical work.

Category electrician, plumbing

3.0

10/31/2008


Kathy A.

Terrible. It took them about 10 visits to our home to get the thing right. First, they could not install the electrical hook up correctly, it blew HOT air and would not turn off (this was summer), took 3 days to fix and 6 visits. When the primary installer of the honeywell thermostat showed up to set things correctly, he completey re-installed the system because the other guys had done it all wrong. This "expert" how ever, was VERY codesending.. he was a real jerk. The next major problem came in the first freeze of winter, the condensation tube set up would NEVER work .... it froze and broke and required an emergency fix and replumbing. Each problem we brought to Aark was always pushed back to us as if we did something wrong or could not figure something out and EACH time it turned out to be something they screwed up.

Description of Work
This company was sub'd by another company to install a new A/C and Furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    My Electrician of Denver

    Hello from My Electrician! We are looking forward to assisting you in whatever manner we can! We strive to give you the best possible service and craftsmanship while maintaining a fair and reasonable price. Not only are we knowledgeable in multiple facets of residential construction, we have 18 years of combined experience in the electrical industry. We look forward to helping you solve your problems and becoming your go-to professionals.  

    Air Bender

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Heating and Air Conditioning services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your estimate today!  

    Fresh Air First

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating, air conditioning, electrical, plumbing, general contracting, roofing, siding, gutters, decks, concrete, windows, insulating, fences, drain cleaning, duct cleaning, water heaters, evaporative coolers, humidifiers & installations.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aaark Total Home Services

    How is Aaark Total Home Services overall rated?

    Aaark Total Home Services is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aaark Total Home Services open?

    Aaark Total Home Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Aaark Total Home Services provide

    Aaark Total Home Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Aaark Total Home Services offer free estimates?

    No, Aaark Total Home Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Aaark Total Home Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Aaark Total Home Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aaark Total Home Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Aaark Total Home Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Aaark Total Home Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Aaark Total Home Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Aaark Total Home Services?

    Yes, Aaark Total Home Services offers warranties.

    What services does Aaark Total Home Services offer?

    Aaark Total Home Services offers the following services: Heating, air conditioning, electrical, plumbing, general contracting, roofing, siding, gutters, decks, concrete, windows, insulating, fences, drain cleaning, duct cleaning, water heaters, evaporative coolers, humidifiers & installations.