Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Top Remodeling

Founded 1989 • With Angi since November 2010

2.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

20335 Ventura Blvd Ste 422

Woodland Hills, CA 91364

Description

American Top Remodeling is a Licensed, Bonded, and Insured General Contractor based in the San Fernando Valley. We are a member of the Better Business Bureau and have been serving homeowners in Los Angeles, Orange, and Ventura County for over 20 years. We provide Free Estimates for all of your home improvement needs from A to Z. Our goal is to provide quality workmanship and excellent customer service. We make sure that all of our projects are up to code and completed in a timely manner. By making sure that our work is done right, our customers keep coming back and hire our services for more projects. We make sure that all of our jobsites are carefully supervised to ensure quality work and according to customer satisfaction. We offer great customer service even years after we have completed the project. Additional DBA: Finest Home Remodeling Inc...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/29/2012


Deborah C.

We were out of town for some of the work, and the project manager oversaw the project for us and did an awesome job. He called us frequently and sent pictures along the way and was at our home frequently. The workers were all honest, hard working and cleaned up the area as best could be done before leaving for the day. As in any project, there were glitches and minor irritants along the way; however, the company was incredibly responsive, even when some of the changes were simply because I didn't like some of the items I had chosen and wanted replaced. We will be using them again for our next project and I would highly recommend this company to anyone with a small to large project. I wanted to include this review for the company, because being a business owner myself, I find that only the few people with negative reviews generally seem to post, so I wanted my positive review added to this. By the way, we have used this same company for a previous home remodel, and were obviously so pleased with them we used them again.

Description of Work
Master Bedroom: Custom fireplace surround was added, balcony with custom wrought iron railing was added off bedroom and wood floors installed; Master Bath: Completely gutted, enlarged and remodeled with jacuzzi tub, double sinks, windows added; Second Bath: Completely gutted, enlarged and remodeled; Hallway: Wood floors installed; Stairway: Wood floors installed and custom wrought iron railing installed. Laundry Room with pantry added with tile floors; Office: Old fake wood taken off wall and replastered, ceiling replastered, can lights added; Family Rolom: Ceiling replastered and can lights added; All hallways: Can lights added Exterior: Repainted/stuccoed Various minor other items along the way

Category flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

08/06/2012


May I.

They did not install our shower properly. The work was so bad that we had to hire someone else to fix everything. The mold became so bad because they install the tile directly on wood with no moisture barrier. They even came at night to install the window, so we had to replace that as well. They did not stand behind their work and they were rude and were also very untrustworthy. I would never use them again.

Description of Work
They completely redid our bathroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

11/03/2011


Samir P.

Obviously, I didn't select them.

Description of Work
Visited my home, not creative in offering solution, too focused on getting the contract signed! Price was negotiable. Will only give written estimate if signed with them! He said he would send me written copy of all we discussed for 3 hours with details and pricing, never received any thing.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

There are always 2 sides of the story. Potential customers always have the right to say what they feel and experienced how they see fit but we've always taken pride in the service we give our customers from the moment we step inside their home to give them an estimate. The mere fact that we spent 3 hours at his home already says a lot about the service we give.
3.0

09/17/2011


David F.

They act like they are your best friend when they are selling the product, but when something goes wrong they will not return phone calls.

Description of Work
We hired them for carpet, base boards, and match and sand the original wood floors in our home.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

We American Top Remodeling take pride in our customer service. When a customer contacts us with questions or concerns we return their call. We do our very best to assist them in the most convenient way for them. Our company has a lot of clientele and we try to return calls as timely as possible, a first call not returned is no indication in any way that we do not want to address the concerns of our customers and give them the best customer experience with our company. We called the member back and took care of his concern immediately. Our field supervisor even went to the job site to assure the customer that we will take care of his concern and fix the problem right away. We are still in contact with the customer up to present time and no issues has no longer been reported to us.
3.0

09/08/2011


Salim P.

I hired American Top Remodel for a 2 bathroom remodel project. The small bath remodel went OK, except that I had to make a lot of noise to get it finished before the master bath was demolished. The master bath was a different story - every step was painful. The sales person promised the world and conveniently disappeared when the project started. Overall, they were a month over schedule. There was no overall supervision and the project manager rarely showed up. I found them unreliable and I had to spend endless amount of time chasing after them. Luckily I work from home and was able to personally manage the entire project, I also caught many mistakes before it became major issues. One of the plumbing crew was not very professional and they almost ruined my expensive Hand Grohe shower set. The tub was included in the price and they did not get the tub I chose, instead an inferior tub was provided. I also made the rookie mistake of letting them purchase the travertine tiles, their price was at least 50% more than my estimate. The only reason I am not grading them F's across the board is because I am happy with the final product and the project managers were professional in their interactions. If you chose them for your project my advice would be to - Itemize everything on the specification sheet, no matter how minor it may seem. Do not take the sales person at face value, he would say anything to make the sale. - Clearly spell out milestones/time-lines and if possible include a penalty clause. - Do not include any finish material in the price.

Description of Work
Complete master and guest bathroom remodel.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

American Top Remodeling doesn’t want to discredit any customer we had for the past 22 years of our business. We simply state that we certainly do care and most of you who have been with us realize that. Construction is different from any other industry. It certainly takes time and requires a lot of patience. There are certain factors that may arise that both parties are not aware of when signing a contract or starting the job. For every project manager that we send out in the field, we always emphasize to them to inform customer (potential or current) that there is a big company that will support them during the whole process of the remodeling. Even after work has been completed, our company is still there to offer services related to our contract should any problem arise. Specifically addressing the member's concern that we almost ruined his shower set, should this actually take place in any work we are doing, ATR does not have a problem shouldering this unforeseen cost. We always try to make our customers happy, and we issue refunds as we see fit. Lastly, the contract that was signed with us is for 19,232 (17,000 original contract + materials/tiles). It is unfortunate that the customer thinks this isn’t a fair price because the total cost of the job is 21,416.26. Had he decided to sign with a different company, he would have probably gotten a higher price. But we do not want to dwell on this issue anymore, we just want to also inform that before closing this file, we did release a waiver and release to the customer and also got a signed completion certificate from him.
1.0

08/17/2011


Eliza (Lee) R.

They did portions of th job sloppily and things are not done right. I worked with Tom for the business portion of this project, and Frank was the guy who actually did the work. I asked Tom for a release for the work that was done and I paid him in 3 installments. I still have $500 left to pay him, but he will not come and pick it up. He was supposed to pay Frank, which he said he had. However, he could not get me the release until Frank signed it. I found out from Frank that Tom had not paid him for the work yet, and that's why Frank has not signed the release. I have tried to get Tom to come pick up his last payment, but everytime he says he will come he never shows up.

Description of Work
They did cement patio, redid the driveway, and did concrete stamping.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

(Member Name) should receive refund from other party or resolution from that person Tom Effarriti. I have offered to re-do the job at my cost after (Member Name) receives a refund or assist (Member Name) by making sure another contractor does the job right.
5.0

02/21/2011


Brian T.

I WILL USE THEM FOR FUTURE JOBS CAUSE THEY CARED ABOUT MY FAMILY AND MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS. IT WAS DEFINITELY A GOOD CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE, I'M VERY HAPPY WITH MY BATHROOM AND THE WORKING RELATIONSHIP I HAD WITH MY PROJECT MANAGER.

Description of Work
I HAD A BATHROOM REMODEL DONE BACK IN DECEMBER 2010 BY AMERICAN TOP REMODELING THEY DONE A GREAT JOB CAME ON TIME FINISH WHEN THE SAID THEY WOULD, ALSO TAKEN AWAY ALL DEBRIS AND TRASH AFTER THEY FINISH. IF THEY WAS NOT GOING TO MAKE IT OUT THEY CALLED THE NIGHT BEFORE INFORMED ME AND EXPLAINED WHY. THAT WAS VERY IMPORTANT TO ME.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

01/11/2011


Kent C.

Terrible experience. Salesman (Victor) acted like he knew everything and would be very helpful. In the end I had to buy all of the items myself. The workers were not from American Home Improvement. Lowlights: Lack of knowledge, bad techniques, bad attention to details, bad communication, late, lies, they damaged my house due to their mistakes, the work does not look good. I'd recommend recording all conversations if you use them. But better yet, stay away.

Description of Work
Two bathroom remodels. Replaced tub, toilets, cabinets, sinks, flooring, lighting, paint, fans.

Category home remodeling

2.0

08/02/2008


brenda R.

In our opinion, Not good. Again, too much here to go into.

Description of Work
Remodel kitchen. In our opinion, Too many problems here to explain. Note: Homeowners should be cautious in that the company representatives (salespeople) tell you that everyone works for them, that will be working on and in your house, is an employee working under their contractor license. The workers (floor installer, electrician/plumber,etc) I talked to approximately 6-8 that were sub-contractors that had no license and no insurance or bonding. Some were even subs of subs. In other words, subcontractors contracting out to another non-licensed worker. The problem here is that if a non-license, non insured worker gets hurt on your property, you, the homeowner, are potentially liable (per State Contractor board).

Category home remodeling

4.0

08/01/2005

THE WORK THEY DID ON MY HOME WAS EXCEPTIONAL AND EXCEEDED ALL OF MY EXPECTATIONS. THE WORKER, HOWEVER, WAS REALLY RUDE.

Description of Work
INSTALLED DRIVEWAY. NOW IT IS BLACK AND MUCH BETTER THAN OUR OLD ONE.

Category driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    KL Painting

    KL Painting is a small company with 10 years of experience, our focus in providing the best quality in service of painting in interior exterior cabinets finished  

    Reynaldo Perez Painting

    Paying close attention to detail and using quality products allows us to complete interior or exterior painting project for your home that you’ll be proud show off. We treat your home with respect and take all of the steps needed to do the best possible job! Happy customers is how we have had such a successful business for so many years!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Manny's Detail Painting and Construction

    Manny's Detail Painting and Construction - interior and exterior painting services  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Concrete and Masonry, Decks and Balconies Driveways and Walkways, Exterior and Interior Painting, Flooring, Patio Covers and Enclosures, Plumbing and Electrical, Roofing Room Addition, Windows and Doors

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Top Remodeling

    How is American Top Remodeling overall rated?

    American Top Remodeling is currently rated 2.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Top Remodeling open?

    American Top Remodeling is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    What payment options does American Top Remodeling provide

    American Top Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does American Top Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Top Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does American Top Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, American Top Remodeling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Top Remodeling offer a senior discount?

    No, American Top Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Top Remodeling?

    Yes, American Top Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does American Top Remodeling offer?

    American Top Remodeling offers the following services: Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Concrete and Masonry, Decks and Balconies Driveways and Walkways, Exterior and Interior Painting, Flooring, Patio Covers and Enclosures, Plumbing and Electrical, Roofing Room Addition, Windows and Doors