G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc

About

Founded 2007 • With Angi since March 2010

G&L Design Building and Landscape Inc is a licensed general contractor builder who specializes in the outdoors construction, pool and spa construction , deck, retaining wall, gate and fence ,hardscape, landscape, design & build company that has been servicing residential and commercial clients in the Los Angeles and Ventura counties. Although unique and functional design is our passion, outstanding customer service is our number one priority. Our talented landscape designers will listen to your needs and then use their expertise to develop an architectural quality landscape design that fits your personality and lifestyle. Members with the CLCA and Angelus pavers....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+58 more images

Verified Reviews

4.5

(155) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

107

4

11

3

17

2

13

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (96)hardscaping (52)mulch delivering (25)Patios (16)tree service (11)excavating (3)home builder (2)irrigation system (118)stone & gravel (24)lawn care (22)landscape lighting (21)concrete repair (20)
Showing 1-25 of 155 reviews
1.0

06/28/2022


Morgan L S.

Well asked for a quote , they came 3 times . Never gave a quote after saying each time they would have it ready by the end of day , now are asking 1500 for a digital render . Literally couldn’t give us actual numbers and cost for anything . Honestly just a very annoying guys … why make the trip 3 times when each time you couldn’t give what we asked for . No numbers , no answers just 3 painfully long hour meetings of asking for a quote and never ever getting it .

Description of Work
retaining wall and backyard remodel

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, remodeling, pavers, gravel, home builders

Work Completed On 04/21/2022

Service Provider Response

Hello. We never had any contact with you. This review is meant for a different company, not us. None of us at G & L had any contact, email, phone conversation with you. This is a mistake. We wish you good luck with your project. Sincerely, G & L team
5.0

01/07/2022


Hal H.

Beautiful work on our property! G&L did it from start to finish: design, demo, and ultimately, the creation of a gorgeous yard (front and back) that we love!

Description of Work
Full Landscaping

Category concrete repair, excavators, fencing, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $120,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2022

Images

Review for G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc - 23508 Strathern St, West Hills, CA - 39590688

+1 More

5.0

05/01/2020


Timothy E.

Dee, Sharon and their team were a pleasure. We will definitely use them again. From the design of our front and back yards to the project's realization, everyone was thoroughly professional, friendly and met all of our concerns with a prompt, considered and fair response. Also everyone strictly followed quarantine protective protocols, which meant so much to our family! We are really looking forward to spending time in our new outdoor space!!

Description of Work
Landscape, Hardscape ,

Category decks, landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $44,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2020

Images

Review for G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc - 23508 Strathern St, West Hills, CA - 38535402

+9 More

5.0

09/11/2019


Keith M.

In a world where people just don't care about service G&L is different. They actually did everything they said they were going to do and even a little more. They showed up EVERY day on time and made sure my home was clean when they left for the day. The work was exceptional and came in within our budget. It's been a few months and I couldn't be happier. I give G&L my highest praise and would use them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Complete backyard landscaping.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

07/12/2019


MELISSA L.

We contacted G&L design for a professional design of our back yard space in Santa Clarita about 2 years ago. Mike worked with us to determine our preferences, gave us two suggested directions, and when we chose one, presented us with a beautiful landscape design that checked every box. Fast forward two years, we were ready to execute on the design and decided to hire G&L to carry out the work. The work was done carefully and well, not a rush job. The workmen were consistently courteous and kept a clean worksite. Now we are looking at our very beautiful new backyard, with spaces for entertaining, gardening, and everything else we wanted. They did not cut corners with the quality of the work. I highly recommend this company! I think they may be a bit pricier than other choices, but you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
Complete backyard remodel and deck expansion

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, remodeling, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $95,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2019

5.0

02/22/2018


Danielle A.

G&L had quite a job in front of them when looking at our backyard renovation. It was old, taken over by trees, full of weeds almost 5 feet tall, and terrible old concrete! They completely TRANSFORMED this into a beautiful, modern, and economic space. They deserve credit for TWO projects because our dismantling the first was difficult. We had three major trees stumps which were very hard to remove, and required all knew drainage and plumbing. They were able to make the trees look as if they never existed, and implemented a draining system that channeled out into our front lawn. Our front lawn looks as if they were never there. The attention to concrete, planter walls, surrounding walls, and the additional fence was very detailed, and they did a fantastic job creating a two level planting structure where one did not exist. The design process was fun and easy with Mike and Dee, and we really appreciate the automatic watering/ lighting system they put into place (which we didn't even ask for!). We relied on their expertise, and they created a wonderful open and sophisticated space where we love to host friends and family!

Description of Work
Backyard Renovation

Category concrete repair, fencing, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, stucco, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, stamped concrete, patios

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2017

5.0

01/31/2018


R R.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with the planning and execution. Mike had excellent ideas for the design, and we were very happy with how the plans turned out and how easy he was to communicate with. We made a couple small changes once the project got going, and Dee had some great ideas to ensure that everything would produce the best end result. The crews were very hard working and did a wonderful job with execution of the plan. Our only minor complaints are that the cleanliness throughout could have been better (yes, it's a dirty job, but a bit more care in that area would have been nice), and the painting of our pergola was done pretty well, but there was some room for improvement there given the cost of that part. We are definitely very happy overall with our yard, and we will be using G&L again for our front yard. We now have a back yard that we really want to spend time in!

Description of Work
We worked with Mike on a design to make our back yard more usable, drought tolerant, and better looking! Our project started with removing all the grass, some trees/shrubs, and an old built-in bench. We then had concrete poured to extend our existing patio (more than doubled in size). Synthetic lawn was added on one side of the yard. New irrigation was installed, and LOTS of beautiful new shrubs/plants/ground cover was planted. Bark mulch finished off the planting areas. We also had our existing pergola repainted to improve its appearance.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2018

4.0

07/27/2017


Robert K.

The guy was very nice. He was on time. I just chose not to use them based mostly on price. I thought everythimg about him was an A, but his price was a little too high. I would call again if I needed more estimates.

Description of Work
Came out an gave a quote for hardscaping and landscaping on June 23, 2027.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2017

5.0

06/30/2017


Lisbet Y.

The Design & Execution/Physical Landscaping was performed to the agreed expectation = GREAT. The team managed our expectations from the start and thus no confusion, all expectations were met. Our questions were always answered promptly both phone or email. A 90 day warranty for the plants exists which is important. Further, upon completion Dee offered to provide advice to ensure we know how to properly care and maintain the landscape moving forward. We would happily/willingly offer to stand as a reference for the G&L team; Dee, Mike & Sharon.

Description of Work
Conversion of front yard from lawn/hedge to an attractive drought-resistant landscape. This involved an initial design process where we worked with Mike, who was pleasant, professional, attentive to our input and willingly accommodated our schedules. We were therefore happy to continue with G&L to execute the physical landscaping works which included demo, spraying & removals, ground prep, planting, irrigation and accent lighting, as well as final mulch + gravel.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, lighting, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2017

5.0

02/03/2017


Cheri H.

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this company and every single person who works for them. It all began with the designer, Liz. She came out talked to me about my ideas, drew some plans and then provided me with a detailed, to scale drawing. We fine tuned things together and then she did the renderings. OMG, my dreams for my yard in pictures! A month later we were getting started! From the beginning with removal of existing landscaping to now I am beyond pleased. The crew is awesome, Dee the owner is here on a daily basis to check on progress and answer my questions. If it's not raining they are here at 7:00 am and work tirelessly all day. They are friendly and professional. I will post pics when the job is completed but for now you can see some of the renderings. Do not hesitate to hire this company. You will not be disappointed. As a note best way to communicate is with email as they are out working 99% of the time. Response to email is very fast! I just posted two pics of job in progress. I will post more when everything is completed.

Description of Work
Complete landscaping.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, pavers, gravel, outdoor lighting

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2017

Images

Review for G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc - 23508 Strathern St, West Hills, CA - 34406135

+1 More

5.0

01/11/2017


Daniela S.

From the very beginning they were the best in terms of the attention given to my needs, professionalism and knowledge. I worked with Liz, their designer who was the only person from all the companies I got a bid from, to actually do the design with me, on our first meeting. She was able to make extremely appropriate recommendations regarding the design and the types of plants to use, based on my preferences and my budget. She had pictures of plants with her, to make it easy for me to envision how the landscape would look. She was able to provide a rough estimate right then, based on what I wanted. She then did the rendering of the project to give me an even better visual of how my front yard and parkway would look when the project was completed. This was extremely helpful. The crew that did the work was very good at what they were doing. They killed the old lawn, dug it out, planted drought resistant plants, did the drip irrigation, installed the lights and covered the dirt with mulch. They even installed more lights than we originally planned to, in order to make the end result more impressive. My front yard and parkway look beautiful now, and I am very happy with the work done by G&L. They are great and easy to work with, punctual and professional. I consider myself very fortunate to have worked with such reliable and accommodating people!

Description of Work
I have contracted G&L Design to landscape my front yard and parkway and install drip irrigation and lights.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Dear client, Thank you very much for a rave review, we appreciate it very much and we had a great pleasure to be working with you, Enjoy the outdoors , Thanks, G & L team!!
5.0

11/30/2016

The project went beautifully from design to the finished landscape. Everyone at G & L were terrific to work with. We really appreciated the attention to detail.

Description of Work
We had our entire yard re-landscaped. The old landscaping was just about dead. We wanted drought resistant landscape . We love it!

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2016

5.0

11/04/2016


Dan B.

We found G & L through Angie's List. We called and set up an appointment with their designer Mike. We had some ideas of what we were looking for in transforming our front and rear lawns to a drought tolerant concept. We also wanted to change our existing slate patio into a tiered wooden deck and install new fencing. Mike was very responsive and had great ideas and came back to us quickly with an amazing plan. After finalizing the design plan, we met with Mike and Dee, the contractor, and the work began. The crews that have shown up for each phase of the project have been very friendly, are very neat and clean up at the end of each day. Dee and Sharon have had excellent communication with us as to what to expect each day and been very patient with us with all our questions and decisions. We are nearing the completion of our project and couldn't be happier with the results. Their attention to detail, high quality materials and amazing design have impressed us, our neighbors and friends.

Description of Work
Relandscape with drought tolerant plantings, remove existing ficus hedge and install new fence, remove existing patio and build new wood deck. Also install drip irrigation system and accent lighting.

Category decks, fencing, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

09/28/2016


Ryan L.

It went very well, even with some unforeseen issues with the property, they acted quickly and professionally to adjust and answered all of our questions and needs.

Description of Work
They demoed our old back yard and installed a beautiful hardscape.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

09/26/2016


David S.

excellent rep came to go over options. we chose not to do the work at this time; but not because of the vendor, for other reasons.

Description of Work
job started with a need for concrete demo and a new pour, then became new sod in back yard, possible design of new awning or pergola and new plants.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2016

5.0

05/11/2016


JENNIFER F.

Overall, the process went well. Designer Liz’s knowledge of plants is astounding. The crew was competent and accommodating and cleaned up well after each day. Landscape installer Dee was great to work with: congenial, patient, and very fair in his work and his pricing. He went above and beyond in many instances, including staying involved even after the installation was complete. My only wish is that it would be easier and quicker to be in touch and get responses from Dee, as communications go through email or answering service, which causes delays in the responses. We are still dealing with a few items. We need to keep spraying the nut grass and the seasonal grasses the rain is bringing up; we need to consider additional ground cover, because at present the plants are quite widely placed; we still have to make some adjustments and additions to the irrigation system; and we’ll need to monitor some plants that aren’t doing too well and may need replacement (which is normal). So my final review will come after the 3 month guarantee period, when these things will have been resolved. But so far I am very pleased both with the amazing job the designer Liz did (including coming back to go over plant care after the installation) and with Dee's competence, fairness, and good-heartedness in caring for all my concerns. I would definitely recommend the Liz / Dee team that is G & L. Besides the quality of their work, they are also lovely individuals to work with.

Description of Work
G & L converted our 3800 sq ft of front and back lawn into ground cover and drought tolerant planting to qualify for the DWP Rebate. They installed a new watering system with 5 stations and a new pressure regulator. They also made 3 DG walkways, one with limestone pavers inserted.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

03/07/2016


Curtis M.

G&L left the work site clean everyday. They also are providing continued support in making sure everything works correctly. No question that they are top-notch!

Description of Work
We had a very difficult sloped backyard. G&L's designer came up with a great plan that made our backyard functional. One area of synthetic turf; two retaining walls and a large patio with steps in between. Couldn't be more happy with the design and the execution of the design.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

02/22/2016


Donna B.

From first contact to the final day, this team proved to be professional, responsive and flexible. We are long distant landlords and all the contacts were by phone or email. They were good enough to discuss the concerns our tenant had and to make sure that we were all on the same page. Our tenant is very happy as his water bill will go down drastically and we are happy as we have added value to the home while helping the environment. I had checked with several other companies, but for the same price, they would only give a few plants and LOTS of rocks. This company was understanding of what I wanted and what I didn't want. I would gladly recommend them to anyone in the area that is wanting to eliminate their lawn or do any kind of improvement in their front or rear yards! Thanks for all the hard work and the beautiful new curb appeal!

Description of Work
Removed existing lawn and installed drought tolerant plants and drip system

Category landscaping, mulch

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

01/21/2016


Olga F.

I consulted with G & L Design with the design and installation of a pavers, patio, BBQ aria, landscape lightning and the selection and placement of flowers, trees, shrubs, and grasses. I could not be happier with the result. Dror had so many interesting and effective ideas, especially given the space constrains of my West Hills yard. She was able to execute my objective, giving me a usable space to entertain while maximizing vegetation. I highly recommend G & L Design!! Our house needed this change, Badly. And we are so happy we found them. Dror helped us transform the front and the back of our house to something we always dreamed about! She was so easy to work with, so knowledgeable and had amazing ideas for how to make the project really sing. Before we did this project, the front of our house looked like a dump. Now, my neighbor says it looks like the garden at the Museum. We are thrilled. It's been about 2 months since she installed all the new plants and everything is thriving and growing beautifully. This was some of the best money we have ever spent. We recommend Dror without reservation. Landscape Landscape hardscape Patio Outdoor living

Description of Work
Redo the whole back and front yard

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service, greenhouses, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

12/08/2015


Diane F.

G&L was very professional and a joy to work with. Liz, the landscape designer, worked with us to develop a beautiful design that would be easy to maintain with drought resistant plants. Dee, the contractor, was at the worksite often to see that the project was on track and to resolve any problems. Juan, the foreman, was an excellent craftsman and took great care in building the hardscape. The work crew showed up on time every day, worked hard, and cleaned up the yard at the end of every shift. G&L worked with us as changes were requested and accommodated our every desire. We had a little trouble with the lighting due to a faulty timer, but Dee made sure the problem was resolved promptly. Overall, the project came out beautifully and on budget (increased by us as we added more hardscape than originally planned.) We recommend G&L highly and couldn't have asked for a better contractor.

Description of Work
G&L provided new landscape and hardscape plans for front and back yards, removed grass and installed new plants and tree. New flagstone patios with a short wall and pilasters were installed, and irrigation system was modified for new plantings. New lighting was installed for both yards.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2015

Images

Review for G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc - 23508 Strathern St, West Hills, CA - 27876153

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great feedback, please let us know if we can assist you with anything in the future, its been a pleasure working together! G & L team!
5.0

10/22/2015


Steve C.

The job started with several conversations about what I was looking for and a few versions of computer renderings of different options. I was also given a list of plant materials and several options for substitution. Once we agreed on a design, an contract was written up with several key categories making up the total cost. We scheduled times and only had delays due to weather (extreme heat). During the job, I changed my mind about a few details and also asked for some adds. We worked those into the job without a problem. The result was exactly what I was looking for.

Description of Work
Re-shaped a hill and added steps to the top from both sides and a sitting area. Installed irrigation, plants, and lighting.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2015

5.0

07/08/2015


christopher C.

We first met with Liz, the landscape designer, and contracted her to do a design plan. She listened well to our needs and came back with a plan that we really liked, particularly the design of the lawn terrace. She provided helpful options for our design dilemmas, such as replacements for our gravel patio. She offered options at various price points to give a sense of the range of options. In the end, she came up with ideas that we would never have thought of on our own. The crew did great work. I feel very comfortable with the quality of the work, particularly the retaining walls (including french drains, waterproofing). Dee, the owner and contractor lead, made some good changes as the plan was implemented, such as incorporating a bench along the lawn terrace and removing unnecessary stairs. They gladly accommodated two changes we made along the way (changed retaining wall materials from timber to cinder blocks, enlarged size of paver patio area). We had a few issues getting the new irrigation system working 100%, but Dee was on top of the issues and fixed the items promptly. He was committed to making sure we were 100% satisfied with the final results. He said they will come back after 90 days to replace any dead plants and fix any issues, if any. Overall, I would gladly work with G & L Design again and recommend them to others with their landscaping projects. We couldn't be happier with the end product.

Description of Work
Terraced backyard hillside with three cinder block retaining walls and added artificial turf lawn terrace. Stuccoed retaining walls. Replace gravel patio area with 2x2 pavers with artificial turf in between. Redid landscaping of entire backyard with drought tolerant plants and replaced irrigation.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, stucco, hardscaping, patios

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2015

Images

Review for G&L Design Building & Landscape Inc - 23508 Strathern St, West Hills, CA - 27876137

+1 More