Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GNA Construction

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2006

5.0

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

170 Santa Clara Dr

Vista, CA 92083

Description

Welcome to the GNA Construction. We are a family owned and operated Construction company. We specialize in Kitchen, Bathroom remodels, Room additions and home refurbishment. We take your ideas and dreams and turn them into reality. Get the service and quality you deserve. We treat your home as if where our own. We understand that your home is a big investment and upgrading it will increase its value. We take great pride and joy in helping you reach your goals. Please look through our site, we have lots of pictures and descriptions of projects....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/29/2017


Paul S.

This job could not have been done better. Our backyard looks much larger and is much more usable. The deck is gorgeous. Lorraine, project manager, gave us a quote that was less than 1/2 the price of the one other estimate we received. Ruben did an extraordinary job. He was always on time. It was easy to communicate our needs to him and Lorraine. GNA has done many jobs for us over the last several years. We were more than happy with the final product of every one of these jobs. We have hired many contractors and GNA clearly shines above them all.

Description of Work
We needed a propane barbecue and fire pit removed, cement poured into an open space, and a fence and small deck built in our backyard.

Category contractors, concrete repair, remodeling, woodworking, house painters, hardscaping

5.0

01/12/2016


Gilbert G.

Unbelievably wonderful company! Glenn and Lorraine came to my home to evaluate some repairs that I felt might be needed. After reviewing my exhaustive "Wish List" and the Home Inspection Report they advised on the issues they felt were immediately necessary and those that could wait until later. Frankly, I was amazed. How great to encounter a company that puts the customer first. They could have advised that their were repairs that required my immediate attention in order to fill their pockets, but instead Lorraine graciously offered her honest opinion based on their years of experience which meant that they would do no work in my home in the near future and thus, make no money. After this experience with GNA Construction, I am confident that they are trustworthy and when I am ready to remodel my home they will be the ONLY company that I call.

Description of Work
Consultation on various repairs.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/10/2015


Greg S.

It went great!! Nick and Lorraine were responsive, timely, and professional throughout. As I said, they've done two projects for me, totalling approx $60,000. Both were done on time and on budget. When they used subs, they oversaw the work and all parties were clean and courteous. I definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Over two years ago, GNA remodeled a couple of bathrooms and put in some flooring for me. One of the bathrooms included replacing a standard door, with a pocket door. This was the second of two major projects they did for me. Recently the pocket door, essentially came off the track. I emailed GNA, explained the situation to them. That afternoon, I received a call from Nick, asking when he could come down and evaluate the issue. Shortly thereafter, Nick found the door defective, took it back to his shop, and fixed it. We coordinated a date/time for reinstall. Nick showed up on time, reinstalled the door and trim. ALL THIS WORK WAS DONE AT NO CHARGE TO ME!!

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

05/21/2015


Kirsten E.

The new walls were done so well and re-textured to match the original walls, we could not tell that the room was a new add-on. Also had them make a secret room under the stairs for the kids to have as a hide-out. Made a custom door for them and did this all quickly and exactly as we wanted.

Description of Work
Enclosed an open loft, added door and light to the hallway. Added storage area under stairs.

Category drywall, home remodeling

5.0

09/06/2014


JOYCE R.

It took longer than we expected, and there was noise and dirt. They took care of any problem we brought up. Anyone wanting to use them should know that they are a small company, and they work with subs, rather than having their own plumber, and electrician, so there will be delays, but bear with them, they will get the job done, and they do a good job.

Description of Work
We used GNA Construction. They remodeled our kitchen and bathroom. She did the design and he did the work.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/19/2014


Paul S.

They said it was take 5-7 weeks and it took 6 weeks. They started the day before the day was going to start. The job went as planned and there was some complication and they took care of it. The house that we are in is about 40 years old and the lady who had lived here before redecorated her bathroom and she had not installed her shower or toilet correctly so each time we flush the toilet or use the sower it leaked underneath. They redid the floor and they dealt with everything. They were professional, very nice, easy to work with and I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They remodeled our master bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/25/2014


k K.

They were excellent. They were very workable.

Description of Work
They remodeled my 2.5 bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/12/2014


KATHY T.

We are still working with GNA. We had several meeting before the holidays and received cost estimates for our kitchen,bath and patio project. We have decided to move forward with GNA and will be signing a contract within the following weeks. We found Lorraine and Nick to be very professional and knowledgeable. We are excited and looking forward to working with them.

Description of Work
I use GNA Construction

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/03/2013


Sharon O.

They did a great job organizing the whole project and hiring the appropriate subcontractors. We felt like the results really exceeded our expectations. They're very reliable, they're easy to work with, and they're very flexible. It took me quite a while to find the tile that I wanted, and they were very flexible and patient, waiting for me to find one that I liked.

Description of Work
They helped us with an extensive remodel - we redid the bath, the kitchen, the floors, and all the paint.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/20/2013


Kumiko K.

My husband and I wanted to remodel the kitchen of our newly purchased (and our first) house to get more cabinet and countertop spaces and to feel that the house is truly our own. We met with several contractors/designers and decided to go with GNA since their estimate was lower than the others and they seemed very friendly. In addition, their place was within 10 minutes from our house, so we thought it would be better for us to have a local contractor. Nick and Lorraine came on time and we discussed the plan. Since we already had an idea of the layout, they suggested a minor change to that to use the space more efficiently. On the day of demolition they came on time and completely gutted out the existing kitchen and appliances. They and their subcontractors came on time everyday (called when they would be late) and cleaned up after finishing their job. Lorraine helped me select backsplash tiles by visiting a stone yard with me to check the colors against our granite slabs. Nick made us beautiful cabinets!! Both he and Lorraine were detail-oriented and did wonderful jobs. Everybody worked on this job was friendly and easy to talk to yet very professional and did great work. Technically our kitchen remodel has not been finished since our pendant lights are in the process of being custom made. After the lights are installed, we can say the remodel work is done. However, we are very pleased with their work and have decided to hire them again for our bathroom remodel.

Description of Work
Demolition and complete remodeling of the kitchen with custom made cabinets and installation of new appliances.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

5.0

03/18/2013


Robert J B.

Went great on balcony repair and having them work in my kitchen now.

Description of Work
They have done various jobs, but last was repairing a balcony that had rotted out and did a good job. Now they are starting a minor kitchen remodelling for me.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/31/2012


James R.

They did a fantastic job on a tight schedule, and corrected things where we made changes. You will not have a more reliable contractor with such integrity. Give them consideration before you hire anyone else. We almost went a different direction and would have regretted. Choosing them was the best contractor decision we ever made.

Description of Work
Very major remodel of whole downstairs of a 2000 Sq.ft. home. Complete tear down of kitchen to do a major remodel and enlargement of kitchen. Also did family room, dining room living room and fireplace, and powder room. Included all new appliances, light fixtures and electrical. They did granite counters, and all ceramic stone floors and ceilings.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, fireplaces, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

10/30/2012


Greg S.

GNA's pretty busy, and generally works in North San Diego couny, so squeezing my small job in their schedule was a challenge. Once a sked was set, Nick and his crew were right on time and completed thr job quickly and professionally. Great work!

Description of Work
Nick installed a bathroom vent/fan/light in a challenging bathroom. He and his electrician did an excellent job of onstalling the fan, associated duct woork and exterior exhaust, with great finish work and no damage to the exterior stucco. He also trimmed an exterior door as a last minit addition to the workload.

Category electrician, home remodeling

5.0

08/28/2012


Walter L.

They did a tremendous job. They made sure the shelves fit and ensured that I was satisfied. They followed up after a few times to make sure I was happy.

Description of Work
They repaired my kitchen cabinets.

Category cabinet refacing

5.0

07/11/2012


Jason S.

It was a great experience. I would highly recommend them and definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I used GNA construction for cabinet services.

Category custom cabinets, cabinet refacing

5.0

05/14/2012


Joni B.

See above comments - the project was done on time, and on budget. The quality of workmanship and materials are excellent.

Description of Work
We had an old patio covering with old fiberglass panels. The front panels were attached to an extremely large, heavy beam that had significant termite damage. The entire structure needed to be removed, including the support posts. Nick's crew, including R4K construction, did an amazing job at replacing the huge beam as well as all of the wooden supports, and the fiberglass panels. What a difference! They also added a fence on a brick patio that we requested during work on the original project. Nick and Lorraine are always flexible, responsive, and stand by their work. The quality of their work is first-rate! They've also done an extensive kitchen remodel including re-roofing our entire house, as well as a bathroom remodel. We've done Angieslist reviews for those projects, as well.

Category fencing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

05/08/2012


sheryl B.

This was my frist time working with a contractor. Nick and his staff made this a great experience. He was always on time and very accommodating to my ever changing need. Nick and Lorraine are extremely professional. The job was done on time and on budget. I can not say enough about this team of amazing team.

Description of Work
We had a whole bathroom remodeled. New cabinet ( not finished) , shower, spa tub , floor, and granite vanity etc.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/28/2011


Joni B.

We had used Nick for our extensive kitchen remodel, and have been thrilled with the results, so we knew this job would be done right, and it was. Excellent workmanship, a terrific job. It's always great working with Nick. He's a perfectionist!

Description of Work
This was a remodel of a small bathroom with a stall shower. It required moving a wall to enlarge the shower stall, installation of the stall and door, drywall repair and refinish on the whole room, interior painting, floor installation, plumbing which included moving the shower drain.

Category contractors, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/07/2011


DONALD M.

Excellent service as in the past,. This was the second time and the only problem was time.

Description of Work
Repair garage with new cabinets and fencing for the back yard

Category custom cabinets, drywall, fencing, woodworking

5.0

09/25/2011


Joni B.

It went very well - from the very beginning, Nick and Lorraine were responsive and helpful. They understood what we needed, and went right to work. Lorraine's design was better than anything we could have dreamed, and Nick's woodwork is amazing. There was a lot of very challenging framework involved in this job, and it went beautifully. The ceiling and roof work was complicated and difficult, and went without a hitch.

Description of Work
This was a major remodel of a very old, space-constrained galley kitchen. We wanted a vaulted ceiling, a wall removed, an island added, and all new cabinets. The removed wall had a lot of original knotty pine that Lorraine and Nick were able to salvage and work into the new construction. Lorraine's design is perfect, and makes great use of the space. Nick is a master craftsman and cabinetmaker, and his woodwork is outstanding. They use professional subcontractors who are reliable, trustworthy, and who clean up the work site every day. We also had all of our original hardwood floors restored, and the entire house re-roofed. Nick, Lorraine, and their crew were a pleasure to work with, and their results are wonderful. We found them through Angie's List, and consider ourselves very fortunate to have found them! We highly recommend GNA for any remodeling work or new construction, and will not hesitate to hire them again.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

06/03/2011


Lauryn F.

The experience with GNA Construction was amazing. Lorraine and Nick are true professionals. They completed the project on time/on budget and the work output was outstanding. Lorraine had some great design ideas on how to configure the bathroom and great suggestions on vanity's and products. It's rare to have such a positive experience with Contractors. We're planning on remodeling our other bathrooms and will definitely utilize them again. Overall, the experience was nothing short of amazing. I highly recommend them to others. You're crazy if you don't use this company for your remodel needs.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of master bathroom. New travertine floors and retile of shower. New vanity and bathtub. New base boards. New light fixtures, new windows. New closet slider doors.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/05/2011


Drue S.

They are just wonderful. They are really personable, really business like and on top of things. Lorraine designs and over sees the subcontractor's and she's always right on top of it. She's a great designer with great ideas. Nick is a cabinet maker and he makes beautiful cabinets. I interviewed other people and they didn't come close. They were fabulous. There was a problem with the door to the water heater and they replaced it at their expense. They are just great. I spent a lot of money but I got a lot done for it. I had a very positive experience with them, I am very very pleased.

Description of Work
GNA Construction did a complete house remodel.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling

5.0

04/30/2011


Frederick S.

Around 3/28/11 GNA and I entered into a contract to replace countertop and sink in kitchen. Lorraine Adkins came to my home, she took the measurements and offered to go with me to select the granite. In the meantime nick came and demoed the existing countertop and removed the old sink. Sunterra Tile and Stone came and made a template. This was on a Tuesday, I think,. Lorraine stated that they might not be back untill a week from Wed. I was pleasantly surprised when I got a call that Sunterra would be back the following Mon. to complete the work. I don't talk much but I sure do write long letters so real quick, I asked Nick for estemate on a new fence. The price was right and he and his helper wre finished i two days. On a 1 to 10 scale 10 being the best I would give all involved in these two projecxts a 10 plus. Thanks alot GNA and Sunterra tile. Fred

Description of Work
Contrated Gna to remove and install countertop and sink in kitchen and remove and install a new fence between me and my neighbor.

Category countertops, fencing

5.0

03/19/2011


Elaine B.

We had put off our bath remodel and new windows for quite awhile because we didn't know what we wanted to do. Finally we decided to talk to Lorraine and she was very helpful. She met us at various places so we could pick our our tile, granite and fixtures plus she was full of good ideas. She proved to be very knowledgeable about all matters in construction such as what is up to code and how things should be done. When work began it moved along smoothly because Lorraine was so organized. She was around and available almost every day and when problems arose she took care of them promptly and the project moved right along. The subcontractors were friendly and competent and they cleaned up daily. Lorraine's husband Nick was also around and he built the windowsills for the new windows. We really enjoyed working with Nick and Lorraine and we were very pleased with the work that was done. The bathroom is beautiful and the picture window is outstanding.

Description of Work
A bathroom was completely remodeled,new windows were put in the dining room and a staircase was built in the garage for attic access. In addition,more electrical work was done around the house and another bathroom and bedroom were painted. The bathroom was gutted and stripped down to the studs and then a new Travertine shower stall was put in to replace a bathtub-shower combination. The floor was retiled in Travertine, the cabinets were refinished and a new granite countertop was installed. We kept the sink and toilet. When water damage was discovered, the window was removed and put back in and the roof was repaired. in addition we got all new fixtures and a fan. In the dining room, five windows were replaced by a large picture window with a casement window on each side. Two large transom windows above these windows had been leaking and they were repaired. The lower windows that were replaced had been leaking also and the wall was damaged. The wall under these windows was removed inside and out and replaced.Stucco work was done around all the windows to blend into the rest of the house. In the garage a staircase was built to the attic and some work was done to make the attic more accessible. Also some drywall was replaced in the garage ceiling.

Category replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

08/27/2010


Greg S.

Overall, it was phenominal!! I started the process in the middle of May by receeiving 4 bids and chose GNA Construction because, primarily, of the needs for some design help (Lorraine is great) and the need to have the project completed by August 1st. Committed to GNA in early June. 3 of the 4 bids were all within $1000 of each other, and GNA was not the cheapest, but the completeness of their bid, custom cabinetry by Nick (the other bidders would buy 'em from other cabinet builders and/or 'big box' stores). They allowed me to do the 'demolition', which saved a significant amount. As with many projects of this magnitude, they ran into a few unanticipated challenges and kept me in the loop throughout, providing me options to minimize cost and maximize the 'theme' I was trying to achieve. I was impressed with the quality of work of all their subs. They were very responsive to the additional items I wished to add to the contract and there were no hidden costs or questionable issues when dealing with them. I would definitely recommend them to anyone, particularly if one is in need of some design assistance.

Description of Work
Provided aid in the design and rebuild of 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and flooring in the main living area in a Mission Beach single family, 3 story house. GNA is a family business with wife Lorraine Adkins providing design and purchasing assistance and husband Nick designing, building and installing cabinetry. I am a single guy, out of town land-lord and was extremely grateful for the service Lorraine provided in driving me around to find satifying tile and flooring products. GNA personally designs, creates, builds and installs the cabinetry and subs out much of the drywall, tile, plumbing and electrical work. They did a fantastic job of scheduling and managing the subs and seem to have a great relationship with those they use.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Backyard Builders SD

    Backyard Builders SD is a locally owned company started by a group of contractors that really care about a whole home improvement. We have narrowed ourselves down to being the best in the business at Turf and pavers. We have the visions to bring back yards and front yards to life. We have putting green experts, we have paver experts, we have sports turf, pet approved turf, and over all best looking turf on the market.. No job is too little or to big for us as we have team that extends up and down the coast of California. Overall our specialist will bring your dream yard to life and that is what we’re here for! We are the Turf Squad!  

    HomeTurf

    HomeTurf is an artificial turf installation company with over 13 years experience in the trade. We pride ourselves on our impeccable lawns and our dedication to a positive customer experience throughout our sales and construction process. We are licensed, bonded and insured. Our sales representatives and support personnel are extremely courteous and professional. We want to work to earn your confidence and exceed your expectations.  

    Offers by HomeTurf	 on Angi
    Sonny Builders

    Sonny Builders is a fully licensed, bonded, and insured general contracting company that offers a full range of services but not limited to; kitchen remodel, bathroom remodeling, roofing, room additions, accessory dwelling units, complete home remodel, and any structural changes. In addition to our services, we also offer design services to help you envision your new space with the help of D designs, renderings, and blueprints curated by our designers.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Remodel or refurbish kitchens, bathrooms or whole house, design and fabricate custom kitchens and bathrooms, replacement windows or doors, new flooring, drywall repair & electrical upgrade.

    Services Not Offered

    Cabinet refacing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GNA Construction

    How is GNA Construction overall rated?

    GNA Construction is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are GNA Construction open?

    GNA Construction is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does GNA Construction provide

    GNA Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does GNA Construction offer free estimates?

    Ask GNA Construction for details on free project estimates.

    Does GNA Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, GNA Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GNA Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, GNA Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by GNA Construction?

    No, GNA Construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does GNA Construction offer?

    GNA Construction offers the following services: Remodel or refurbish kitchens, bathrooms or whole house, design and fabricate custom kitchens and bathrooms, replacement windows or doors, new flooring, drywall repair & electrical upgrade.

    Are there any services GNA Construction does not offer?

    Cabinet refacing