Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since May 2005

4.9

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14715 Aetna St

Van Nuys, CA 91411

Description

We manufacture removable mesh pool fencing in our 14,000 square foot factory in Van Nuys. We ship our systems all over the world to authorized trained distributors. We have between 25 and 35 employees. We also have FOUR UNITED STATES PATENTS involving child safety around swimming pools. All of our

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/29/2018


Nicholas T.

Jim, who came out and gave us a quote was excellent; very professional and knowledgeable. Same for Jesus, who did the installation. It looks better than we thought it would - we're very pleased.

Description of Work
4-ft tall removable mesh fence installed around pool

Category fencing, childproofing

5.0

09/17/2018


Pouyan A.

Very good service, on time, and very professional. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Install pool fence

Category fencing, childproofing

5.0

09/27/2017


Shayna S.

very pleased with our gate and the service

Description of Work
pool gate installation

Category fencing

5.0

06/27/2017


STEPHANE C.

I don't remember when they did the job perhaps 8mo ago and same for price, I would need to go to my receipts. Except minor glitches I still have to give 5stars to these guys ; and that speaks volume because I would easily take a point down for issues but these guys are so good that I cannot. Thats a 5 stars family company. I am a Real Estate Agent and I will refer them if any of my clients need this type of service. Dad & son thanks for the job! Stéphane -

Description of Work
Fencing large pool for babyproofing

Category childproofing

5.0

06/21/2017


Linda E.

The salesman was knowledgeable and punctual, and installation was made in a timely manner. I definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
My first grandchild is now walking, so I wanted a pool fence that was sturdy but could be removed easily, and would not be an "eyesore". I was concerned about the drilling of holes in my deck as well, but the size of the holes are the size of a dime and I was provided with "caps" for when the fence is removed. The fence that was installed is perfect and I feel that I don't have to follow my granddaughter around now when she's in my backyard.

Category fencing

5.0

01/09/2017


Karyn S.

Went very smoothly. Rep was there on time both for consultation/estimate and for installation.

Description of Work
Pool fence needed to be put up.

Category fencing, childproofing

5.0

07/18/2016


Marysol V.

They were efficient and did a great job.

Description of Work
They put a fence around my pool

Category fencing

5.0

02/05/2016


Christina V.

I have a small dog, age 15, now blind and deaf, who fell into the deep end of the pool at dusk a few months ago-- luckily, I was close by and scooped her out, but realized that she was at risk as much as any child. I subsequently went outside with her EVERY SINGLE time she had to go out, be it the middle of the night, early morning hours, wind, rain, etc. After a couple months of this routine, I knew I had to fix this situation.I had installed a mesh fence 25 years ago when the grandkids came back home to live, but we subsequently removed it after they grew up and moved away....being in retirement years, it didn't seem necessary to have it fenced off until this recent fateful night that my little poodle fell in. Blind animals are horribly at risk, and since our dogs ARE our children nowadays, we decided to protect them as such. I called Guardian's office, and a quick appointment was scheduled. Jim came out and measured, brought me several samples, and explained the pros and cons of the different color of mesh, canvas color choices, size of poles, whether to make it free-standing or drill holes, etc. He measured, then gave me a written estimate. I told him I would mull it over and then call them to let them know if I was going to go ahead with it. He went to leave, and I had this sudden "come-to-Jesus" moment and realized that he was a straight-shooter and that this company, and the way he represented it and himself, was as good as it gets. I ran out after him, caught him getting ready to pull out of my driveway, and told him to schedule it -- I didn't bother to get other estimates...I remember we had paid a few hundred dollars less back in early 1990 or thereabouts, and Guardian's price wasn't at all out of line, considering the # of years since I first contracted for a fence. He scheduled me for installation one week later -- the installer was so neat, precise -- everything was done with care, and absolutely nothing was left behind or out of place. We talked about where to install the gate that I ordered with the fence, and other than that, it was installed perfectly and without any issues. Bottom line? Absolutely A++ in my book!!! I hope that I can personally refer some business towards them -- they really made this an easy homeowner upgrade.

Description of Work
Installed 48" high mesh fencing around my swimming pool, attaching it on each end-- one where it dead-ended into a fence post, and the other end attached to a block wall.

Category fencing, pool cleaners, driveway gates

5.0

11/19/2015


Bill J.

It didn't.... You need to pay attention to your question that says..... Were services performed by the provider? You are making me fill out this form complete when I did not use the provider. I called about 6 months ago and asked you remove this provider from popping up all the time and you said you would. Now will you please remove it.

Description of Work
Nothing...... I did not use the provider and I believe it was because they did not work in this area.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Ear [removed member name]: I don't know why you were contacted by from our office. No one that I can find in our office has made contact with you. If you are contacted by our office again, please find out who it was and I will stop it once and for all. I apologise for these interuptions in your day. I wish I knew who was mnaking this contact with you so I could stop it permanently. Sincerely, Steve Sadinsky, President
5.0

04/03/2015


Christopher R.

Everything went smooth. They had good suggestions about how to run the fence. along the pool. Extremely friendly and were able to give good insight to the new area I just moved to. I would use them again. :)

Description of Work
Installed a pool fence

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your positive review on Angie's List. Our company works very hard to make your total experience with our company a positive one. All of our employees that install our pool fence systems are trained in our installation procedures to help insure a safe fence for your children. We are a family owned business and it's nice to hear from our customers that we have done our job right. Thanks again for your kind review. We appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Best Regards, Steve Sadinsky, CEO
5.0

02/18/2015


Katy S.

I can't say enough good things about Guardian Pool Fence Systems. They have a high quality product. I saw their factory in person and it is all made in USA. I signed the service order on Friday and they sent the installer on Saturday. Everyone I talked to at the company is extremely professional. I highly recommend Guardian for pool fence. Their pricing is a little more than their competitors but all their products are made locally and their warrantee is lifetime.

Description of Work
Pool fence

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], Thank you very much for the review you gave us on Angie's List and for your time in writing your review on our company. We are all very happy that your experience with our company and the installation of our pool fence is what you expected. Everyone at our company tries very hard to make your experience in doing business with our company a positive experience. Thank you again for the wonderful review. Sincerely, Steve Sadinsky, CEO
5.0

01/08/2015


Ashton P.

They were very punctual and came on time. A very good, easy experience. Could also tell that they truly care if we were satisfied. They followed up several times to ensure all is going well.

Description of Work
They installed pool fencing around our freeform pool. Pool size is about 27 feet by 18 feet. They also installed two self closing gates

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name): Thank you very much for the wonderful review and your kind words describing our company product and employees. It was very nice of you to take the time to write the review and we want you to know that we appreciate it very much. We all want to wish you a very Happy New Year. Steven Sadinsky, CEO
5.0

06/18/2014


Jack R.

I spent about $1200. The're very professional, very prompt and very efficient. From the time we started discussing to the time they installed it, they took less than a week to get going. The actual installation took a few hours and the guy who did is was extremely professional and I think he did a great job.

Description of Work
I used Guardian Pool Fence Systems in January to put in a new fence.

Category fencing

1.0

05/19/2014


Joshua G.

Run far away from these guys. They came out and did a perfectly fine job installing the fence. I called back and said, "You did a nice job but the handle was installed too low and the kids can already reach it and in a few months they will be able to pull it up. Could you come out and raise it 6 inches?" I spoke to Steve, who said they'd charge me $100. I said I'd be happy to pay, but $100 was really excessive for what would be a 10 minute job, and wouldn't it be better if he just charged me a fair price rather than me giving him a bad review on the internet. He then said, "If I find one bad thing about my company on the internet, you'll be sorry" (this is verbatim, I'm not making this up). I asked if he was threatening to hurt me and he then called me stupid and hung up on me. So, if you want a company that threatens you personally and calls you stupid, then these are your guys! OMG.

Description of Work
installed a pool fence for children

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

When [member name removed] called our offices, he spoke to our office manager. She listened to his “problem” (it was not a complaint about our pool safety fence). She then told [member name removed] that all he had to do was use the key he had received and lock the gate. [member name removed] said that using the key to lock the gate would be too "inconvenient" for him. (The key locking latch is installed on the gate to prevent access to the pool for persons old enough to reach the latch.) Our manager then said the normal service charge for a standard service call was $100.00. [member name removed] said he didn't want to pay for the service call and asked to speak with the owner of the company. Steve Sadinsky, the President of the company spoke with [member name removed]. Mr. Sadinsky said that Guardian Pool Fence Systems could send the instructions for moving his gate latch himself, although we recommend against doing that if [member name removed] was dead set against paying the $100.00 service charge. ( The gate latch is installed the same way on each gate we have built since 1996.) [member name removed] told Mr. Sadinsky that if we did not move his latch and waive the service charge, he would post bad reviews about our company on the Internet. Threatening our company with a bad review unless we capitulated to his demands because he wanted something for free is extortion. We did a good job with his pool fence installation and he admitted as much in his post. During the discussion, [member name removed] claimed he is a lawyer and did so to try and get us to do for free a service that costs us money to perform (and therefore we charge our customers). His argument that it was only going to take 10 minutes to adjust his latch isn't true either. We estimate that it would take at least 45 minutes to travel to his home, about 20 to 30 minutes to reinstall his gate latch and at least another 45 minutes to return to our offices. That is a legitimate 2+ hours with a trained service tech using a company vehicle. Why [member name removed] thinks he is entitled to free services from our company is mind boggling. Our company has done nothing wrong. His comments are unfounded and unfair, and his verbal threats were at minimum a disgraceful attempt at extortion from a lawyer who should know better.
5.0

03/30/2014


Cynthia M.

This is the second time we have used Guardian Pool Fence Systems. We first used them back in 1989, at another house, after we had our first child. Our children are grown now.When I called them they sent someone out right away to measure but told me they were booking a couple of weeks out for installation. When the measurer came out, he was very professional, on time, and brought samples of different types of mesh, colors available and poles available. We also discussed my needs and the fact that this is not to keep out children but rather two rowdy dogs (I have a very rowdy retriever as well). The company has a heavy duty mesh designed for pets. I was grateful he brought different colors of mesh and different colors of poles because they DO look quite different. When I explained the urgency of the situation and my Husky's medical condition, he stated he would speak to the office about trying to get my install done much more quickly than a couple of weeks. In fact, they did complete the job less than one week later. A wonderful feature of their system is that the gate is self-closing, it literally swings closed behind you. And to open it, you have to pull it out toward you and it is a two step process so that a young child could not do it. I have two young grandchildren, so this is an added bonus! Of course, the whole fence is removable so if you are having a party it can be rolled up in its small sections and put away. The holes drilled into the concrete are very small. We are thrilled with the work, the dogs have not put even one snag in the mesh, and I no longer have to worry about my Husky drowning. My retriever is rather annoyed that he can no longer go swimming whenever he wants, but such is life! I highly recommend Guardian Pool Fence, their product is definitely high quality.

Description of Work
We needed to fence our pool at this current home because our Siberian Husky was recently diagnosed with epilepsy and can drown if she falls into the pool.

Category fencing

5.0

12/13/2013


Don T.

Called Guardian and was able to schedule an estimate easily. Jim came out and gave a thorough description of the products available and how they worked. We selected height and style and he wrote out an estimate, also gave us insight into what items the competition might discuss. We found Jim very knowledgeable and personable. We received an estimate as well from Allsafe which was for a little more. We chose Guardian because their product seemed higher quality for roughly the same price, and because of our interaction with Jim. The install went very smoothly and looks fantastic. Very happy with their work.

Description of Work
Installed a pool fence.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], Thank you very much for your review of our company and our sales rep, Jim. Jim has been with our company for over 10 years. We all work very hard trying to take care of each and every customer. From our receptionist to our service and installation department, knowing that we made another happy customer after 25 years in this business is very gratifying. Sincerely, Steve Sadinsky, President
5.0

11/01/2013


MICHAEL C.

Prompt response and easy to schedule the estimate. They walked the site and we went over options that balanced look, cost and safety needs. Of course the typical discount if you contract today. Scheduling an installation date was easy. The installer showed up on time. Professional with little noisy or disruption. Cleaned up the site when finished. Walked the fence with me for inspection and showed me how to work the gates with locks and how to remove and store the fence. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Installed a safety fence around our pool and the patio off the spa deck

Category fencing, pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Dear [removed mbr name]: Thank you very much for the kind review you gave our company. It is nice to hear that our employees have done the job we trained them to do. I know that we all work very hard to make sure that our customers are happy with our products and satisfied with the installation we provide them. Best Regards, Steve Sadinsky, President
5.0

07/01/2013


Louis L.

I researched 2 companies on Angies's list to have a security fence installed around my pool. My 14 month old grandaughter will be walking soon and we wanted to secure the pool area. I selected Guardian to perform the work. The estimate was done by Jim who was prompt and brought several samples of the material. Since I did not have any ideas on what I wanted, I left it up tp Jim to make suggestions. After a few minutes Jim suggested a design that would secure the pool area, while leaving plenty of room in my patio area for my grandaughter to play. Rather, than surronding the pool, Jim suggested they anchor the fence using a block wall on one end and the house on the other. This would use much less material and still be astetically pleasing. He suggested a black mesh with brown border and brown poles. This would blend in nicely with my back yard and provide the most "transparent" view. He provided me with a written estimate and gave me the current installation dates. On June 28th, Jesus from Guardian arrived promptly at 8:30 am as planned and started laying out the design. After a few minutes, Jesus suggested a few changes from the original design. He suggested a slightly different anchor point on the block wall. Whle this change was relartively minor, I was pleased with how it ended up. The next change he recommended was to allow a 40" inch space between the pool and the fence, rather than the original 36". This provided for a wider walking space on the pool side, while not losing any appreciable space on the patio side. Both of these changes improved the astetics of the fencing, while maximizing the space. Jesus was courteous, prompt and very professional. He was very knowledgable of the product and the installation was beautiful. He cleaned up after himself and left my yard immaculate. It is obvious to me that he enjoys what he does. Upon completion, he demonstrated how to adjust the self closing gate, if necessary and explained how to remove the fencing, should I ever need to. He even suggested numbering the sections before removing, thereby making it easier to put back up. I strongly recommend Guardian if you want to have peace of mind! Louis Lopez

Description of Work
Installed removable pool security fencing

Category fencing, childproofing

5.0

05/20/2013


Richard R.

The person who provided the quote showed up on time and came equipped with a number of samples to look at. He offered suggestions regarding height and color of fence and then surveyed the pool and yard to provide the best suggestion for pool fence placement. He addressed all questions and thoroughly explained the process of drilling holes and installing the fence. He was considerate and took into account my suggestions meaning he was not pushy. He stressed no obligation to go with his company and the only reason I didn't was because of a paint texture they no longer offered.

Description of Work
A quote was provided for a fence around the perimeter of the pool.

Category fencing

5.0

03/06/2013


Muhammad B.

Guardian Pool Fence Systems performed very good, very well. Everything. They were here on time and they did everything right. They came on time. I asked them to match a price and they did. Very satisfied. This was done around the end of July, beginning of August.

Description of Work
Pool fencing. They put the pool fencing in.

Category fencing

5.0

12/21/2012


Jimmy T.

Guardian Pools was professional, prompt, and efficient throughout the entire process of coming to our house, giving us various options on how to fence the pool area, providing pricing quotes for each option, and then installing once we chose which option we wanted to go with. They brought out samples to show us the materials (mesh, rods, gate) for the pool fence and explained the differences in material and their associated costs. We chose Guardian versus the other pool companies because of their professional and their special gate (which they have a patent on). And during installation, the team that came did a quick, clean and professional job. Very satisfied customer here.

Description of Work
Installed new fence and gate around pool and spa for child safety.

Category fencing

5.0

10/01/2012


James M.

We found Guardian in a local ad. We called them and scheduled a time for someone to come out and give us an estimate. Jim came out. He was very professional and helpful. He gave us a quote on the spot. He had samples of many different colors of the fence that he left with me so that my wife could see the colors as well. They had good pricing and they had a proprietary pole that was stronger than the typical poles used for flexible fences. We scheduled them to come out and do the installation. The installer was nice and installed our fence in just a couple hours. We love the fence. It is very strong and we are happy we have something to keep our kids away from the pool. If we have a party, the fence it easily removable. We are very happy with our purchase and we would recommend Guardian to anyone.

Description of Work
They installed a flexible fence to split our backyard in half to secure our pool.

Category fencing

5.0

06/07/2012


SUSAN C.

From the time the estimater, Adam, came out to the time it was installed, there wasn't one hitch.

Description of Work
Need to fence pool area for toddler. They were great in all of their suggestions, sent me an extraordinary installer--who then refined the design--who understood exactly what the needs of the yard were.They were great!

Category fencing

5.0

04/13/2012


Ruth W.

I wasn't sure how I was going to protect my new puppy from drowning until I remembered a toddler fence I had seen several years ago around a friends pool. I went on Angies's List to see if I could find a contractor and came upon Guardian, who not only had the kind of fence I was looking for but who have a special version for pets. They sent someone out to talk to me the next day, Jim was pleasant to work with designing a solution for my home and my dog; he even gave me suggestions on how to handle the space where the dog might dig a hole and get under the fence. Guardian's fence is easy to take down if you want to open up the yard but it also has an optional gate that makes it easy to access the pool. I had several other bids but none had the same type of gate. I didn't need the fence right away so arranged the installation 5 weeks out.The fence was installed today. David arrived promptly at 8:30 as promised, in the pouring rain!. He was polite and professional and did an excellent job. He told me what he was going to do, moved furniture, umbrellas etc., trimmed one of my plants so the fence fit, and did it all in less then 2 hours. When he was done the yard was as he found it, no mess and the fence looked great. He showed me how to use the gate, how to adjust the latch and take the fence down if needed, he gave me keys for the gate and was on his way. The fence looks great, the gate works as designed and my puppy is safe, all in all a very positive experience with a high quality contractor and product.I would recommend Guardian Pool Fence to anyone.

Description of Work
Guardian installed a pet fence for me around my pool.

Category fencing, pool cleaners

5.0

04/02/2012


Scott R.

Called, they showed up gave estimate, and did work on time.

Description of Work
Best Pools Safety Fence in the business. I refer them to all my clients.

Category fencing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mulholland Brand

    **WE OFFER THE LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEED** Mulholland Brand is a high-end direct manufacturer of low maintenance aluminum gates, fences, railings, and pergolas. For direct to consumer installations, we only offer the best quality to customers. With over 25 years of experience and a 4.9/5 star average user rating on Google and Yelp, you can count on us to do an amazing job. If you are looking for the highest quality manufacturing and installations, call us today at 818-639-3820 or check us out at http://www.mulhollandbrand.com for great service, great passion, and the best security gates in Los Angeles!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Adar Garage Doors and Gates

    We specialize in garage motor repair, installing garage motor, gate intercom, gate repair/welding, intercom service, intercom installation, access control and much more.  

    Angi Certified

    Pacific Garage Doors & Gates, Inc.

    "Contractors State License Board License Number: 886942 for Door Contractors and Installation Services".  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    917771
    Trade License Locale
    CALIFORNIA
    Trade License Authority
    California contractors state license board
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Manufacture and installation of removable mesh pool fencing.Our pool fences are approved by the State of California and most municipalities in California. We are approved to meet the City of Los Angeles building code and the County of Los Angeles building code. No other pool fence company has been approved to meet this requirement.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc

    How is Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc overall rated?

    Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc open?

    Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc provide

    Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal

    Does Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc?

    Yes, Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offer?

    Guardian Pool Fence Systems Inc offers the following services: Manufacture and installation of removable mesh pool fencing.Our pool fences are approved by the State of California and most municipalities in California. We are approved to meet the City of Los Angeles building code and the County of Los Angeles building code. No other pool fence company has been approved to meet this requirement.