Northern California Roofing Co

About

Founded 1990 • With Angi since April 2006

Thank you for considering Northern California Roofing Co for all your roofing needs. Northern California Roofing Co, a division of NIR West Coast, Inc., has been serving our neighbors throughout the Northern California area for over 25 years. We specialize in all phases of the roofing process; from

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Before PhotoAfter PhotoOur Work

Verified Reviews

4.6

(61) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

44

4

4

3

6

2

3

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

roofing (59)skylight installation (5)gutter repair (12)gutter cleaning (5)roof cleaning (4)insulation (2)
Showing 1-25 of 61 reviews
5.0

10/25/2022


Olga L.

They were fabulous. The workers seemed to know what they were doing. They were on time. They called back right away. Charlie Porter was knowledgeable, professional, and straight forward. They were great company to work with. They cleaned up real good. It was pleasure working with the company. They knew what they were talking about, timely, and all professional.

Description of Work
They cleaned my roof valley. They replaced dry rot, broken tiles, and plumbing vent. They installed chimney concrete tile and under layment.

Category roofing, roof cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2022

1.0

08/04/2022


Rose Mary F.

They did NOTHING! SEE PREVIOUS COMMENTS.

Description of Work
Roof by this company had a 50 year guarantee. Started leaking at 26 years. Never did they tell me the warranty was for the PRODUCT. NEITHER DID THEY GIVE ME A NUMBER TO CALL REGARDING THE PRODUCT. The warranty was on THE COMPANY LETTERHEAD. IT DID NOT MENTION THE PRODUCT MANUFACTURER. THE OWNER NEVER RETURNED MY CALLS. He sent a salesman who acted as if it had not leaked over the garage (which I had to have another company fix). I would not let him walk on the concrete tile roof! The leak was right in front of him and his ladder! This company is not reliable. They never referred me to the product manufacturer. I was ignored totally. The salesman who came out never told me to contact the manufacturer!!! Totally useless warranty and useless company.

Category gutter cleaning

Work Completed On 08/04/2022

5.0

05/20/2021


Anthony K.

Excellent job and professionally services

Description of Work
roof tile repair / maintenance

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2021

5.0

04/22/2020


George G.

The project went even better than I thought it would. We had a hard time finding someone who would work on fixes to existing roof. Most wanted to do full replace. Northern California roofing came very quickly to do estimate and was able to start work on roof within a week. Great turn around. The work was very well done and makes us feel like we have a new roof. Can’t wait for next rain!

Description of Work
Several leaks on roof and spots with broken tiles

Category gutter cleaning, roofing, roof cleaning

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2020

Service Provider Response

We are so pleased that you chose Northern California Roofing Co to assist you with your Roofing needs. We strive to improve our services always with our valued customers in mind. Thank you for your feedback. Please don't hesitate to give us a call if there's anything else we may assist you with.
5.0

04/13/2020


Walt G.

Ultimately we didn't need to do anything now. Mr. Adams said he thought our roof wouldn't require anything further for a long time.

Description of Work
Andy Adams counseled us on what we needed to do to keep our tile roof in good repair. He was very knowledgeable and straight forward. I'd hire them in a minute for a roofing job.

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review Mr. Grittith. We value your opinion. Keep us in mind for your future needs!
5.0

01/12/2018


DAVID S.

Initially were very responsive and did tempoary fix until they could return with needed equipment. That took several weeks. But final work was great and very fair price. NorCal replaced our roof several years ago. They’re our go to for any roofing needs.

Description of Work
Repair chimney flashing.

Category roofing

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017

5.0

11/01/2017


Brian D.

The work was accomplished well and completed on schedule, and the workers were very polite and professional.

Description of Work
Roof replacement.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017

2.0

08/04/2017


Bruce B.

I was given an date for an estimate about 3 weeks out. I called back a few times to confirm this date and finally got through to a lady who offered me a date and time in two weeks. I agreed to the date in two weeks and no one ever showed up or called or emailed. When I called the office, they had no record of my appointment. They offered to reschedule but after 4 phone calls and the missed appt. I'll take my chances elsewhere.

Description of Work
I called to get an estimate for re-roofing my home from Nor Cal.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Work Completed On 07/18/2017

5.0

07/31/2017


Debbie R.

Our salesman John was easy to work with. Very knowledgeable and patient. The crew worked over about 7 days in very hot weather to get the job done. We had a couple of delays in getting the last of the chimney finished, but Joe responded quickly and explained the snafu. We are happy with the roof, gutters, and down spouts, and I am thrilled to have natural light in my laundry room!

Description of Work
Complete tear off and new roof installed, including gutters, down spouts, and a Sun Tunnel.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2017

5.0

05/18/2017


Steve A.

We found Northern California Roofing at the Sacramento Home Show. After having 5 estimates done, they came in with the low bid. I had to work during the construction, but my neighbor said they were kicking *** up there, and I believe it because the job was done on time and on budget. The roof looks great. The gutters look great. The price was great. The crew was great. The only problem was that one of the guys left his sunglasses on my driveway. But we kept them until his co-worker showed up for the final inspection.

Description of Work
Roof and gutter replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2017

5.0

03/30/2017


Ellen F.

The first time the leak was worked on, there was never a good test of the repair because the rain stopped. When it resumed raining hard, in December 2016 and January 2017, the roof started to leak again in the same location. I called the same person I had dealt with for the prior work, and received promises but no action. Everyone who looked at the roof said they saw no problem, but it continued to leak. After 6-8 weeks of inspections, delays, changed appointments, and ongoing leaking, I contacted the office manager and got fast response and good service. Ramon spent time in the attic even though the leaky area was a long way from the attic access entry point, and difficult to get to. He followed the stains from the water from its outside entry point to where it was entering our living space, and determined what needed to be done to really fix the leak. Once he did that (which they had not done during the prior work), the repair itself was quick and easy, and it has rained hard since the repair with no ongoing leakage into our living space. I don't know if we paid for work that wasn't really needed in the first attempt to fix this leak, but I was happy that the warranty on the original work covered this work, and satisfied overall. Lesson to self: call the office first!

Description of Work
A repeat leak in our roof needed to be fixed after having been worked on before by the same company.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2017

1.0

07/28/2015


Craig S.

Strange firm. We learned about the firm at the Auburn Home Show - good experience. We decided to proceed with obtaining an estimate and gave them our contact information. Good response after the show was over. We moved on setting up an appointment and the fellow came to our house. Discussions covered skylight replacement, gutter repair and installation of ridge risers. Very positive. Then...nothing. After about a week we inquired about the estimate and they said we would be contacted. After another two weeks we contacted them and they said we would be contacted and then nothing. We sent an email saying I guess you do not want our business. Fast response via email and then fast response via phone. Then...nothing. With so many attempts on our part to move forward we must conclude the problems obtaining a simple estimate will translate into problems performing the work.

Description of Work
Visited the house to discuss three roofing projects.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Work Completed On 07/01/2015

3.0

06/08/2015


Gale S.

Am very angry with them. They did do a good job and I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
They did roofing service.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2014

Service Provider Response

(Removed members personal information), I am very sorry to hear that you are very angry with our company. I pulled your file to look further into exactly what service we did for you. In December of 2014 we completed: · Remove all roof vents and flashings. · Install one layer of GAF FR-10 underlayment mechanically fastened over existing roofing. · Install all new TPO roof jaacks and plumbing flashings. · Install all new perimeter edge metal. · Install GAF TPO 60 mil synthetic membrane roofing heat welded roof system color to be White. · Properly seal around all skylights. · Paint all roof vents and flashings to match TPO color to be White. · Clean up and haul away all debris caused by our work. · Includes 20 year NDL warranty. This was all completed and paid for without any set backs or issues. We here at Northern California Roofing Co. care greatly about our customers and take pride in efficiently completing the project and hold ourselves up to the highest standards of quality workmanship. With that being said I would love the opportunity to further discuss what made you angry so that we may resolve this. We value our connections in the community and strive for a mutually beneficial relationship. Please feel free to call the office at any time. We appreciate your business and look forward to hearing from you soon.
5.0

06/08/2015


Shawnine E.

It went excellent. The gentleman who came out was professional. He explained everything with the materials. He gave me an opportunity to review the materials so I can make an educated decision of what I want for my roof. The service was great and very professional. They're very easy to talk to. They didn't talk ovver you or anything like that with the terminology. They came in and they did exactly what they said they were going to do and I've been pleased. The pricing was better than comparable.

Description of Work
They did the roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2014

5.0

06/03/2015


Gregory L.

They did fine. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
It was a minor repair. I had them probably 3 or 4 months ago.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2015

5.0

02/10/2015


Richard F.

Northern California Roofing Co. came out, fully explained the new energy efficiency standards for roofs (which can be confusing), and gave us a reasonable bid all within 24 hours. Charlie Porter was our primary contact. He communicated regularly with us by phone, by email, and by text - whichever manner that I used to reach out to him. He was invariably pleasant, prompt and cooperative. The work crew, led by Hugo, was equally professional and accommodating. They did the entire job in just over two days and thoroughly cleaned up at the end of each day. They were pleasant and patient as Hugo answered every question I asked. I really can't speak to price other than to say that No Cal Roofing's bid was within the range of the others I received. But I'm very happy to give a positive recommendation because I can't imagine a better, more professional job being done than I received from these guys.

Description of Work
A complete re-roof of our house which met the new energy efficiency standards.

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2015

5.0

01/05/2015


Brent M.

Of all the companies I called Northern California Roofing was the one with the best follow-up. My job was more then the average roofing job as you can see what they needed to complete. I would say that the cost would be less for a regular job. That being said, I am really appreciative of their communications and follow through. From the initial call and estimate with Ray to the payment with their office. I can say without hesitation that I was super impressed with this company. The first day the crew came out on time in force. They had a six person crew and went right to work. In the first day they did a complete tear-off and added the rafter tails and a few other items. They worked hard and at the end of the day Jose the crew chief went over what they had completed taking me on a tour showing me the difference in what was there and what was completed. On the second the crew came on time and completed the roofing job. Again Jose walked me through everything at the end of the day. I really appreciated the one worker who had the big magnet sweeping for nails and what-not not only in the walkways, but the brushes. On the third day the gutter guys came out and installed the new seamless gutters. They paid close attention to areas that might see more water then others and placed the downspouts accordingly.

Description of Work
Remove two layers of composition and haul away all debris. Install 7/16' OSB over existing skip sheeting. Install starter shingles on all eave and rake perimeter edges. Instll ASTM 30# felt unerlayment over the existing roof deck. Instal 24" painted valley metal in all valleys. Install Class A fire rated roofing product. IKO Cambridge composition shingles. Roofing shingles to be installed with 1 1/4" coil nails with a minimum of six nails. Install 2' by 2" edge metal on all rake perimeter edges. Install 5 O'hagin low profile vents. Install 8" ridge caps on all hips and ridges. Install new custom sheet metal chimney sadle and skylight flashings. Install 6 eave intake screens. Replace roof vents and plumbing jacks and paint to match roof color Install blown in insulation Gutter Installation Install 1300 ft of 5" steel seamless gutters Install 20 2x6 rafter tails and new blocking 40 ft of gutter screen on rear upper section 6 pieces of 1/2' CDX plywood 100 ft of 2x6 barge rafters

Category gutter repair, insulation, roofing, skylights

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2014

5.0

12/12/2014


Linda H.

It went very well and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They replaced the entire roof and gutters.

Category roofing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2014

3.0

06/10/2014


Lisa L.

Andy, the representative from Northern CA Roofing, was very prompt for our appointment. His was the third estimate I received. Two other licensed roofing contractors had been to my home and told me that the 20 year old 40 year rated roof was in good shape, and I just needed to replace the deteriorating ridge line material and get the gutter repositioned. Andy, on the other hand, told me that his company could repair the roof for over $4000, but he really suggested that I get a new roof for approximately $10,000. Needless to say, I used one of the other roofing contractors I contacted for less than $1,000.

Description of Work
I was concerned that my roof needed repairs as I noticed leaks where the gutter meets the garage. Also, I had found roofing material on the ground after high winds. I wanted to find out the condition of the roof and get an estimate for possible repairs.

Category roofing

Work Completed On 04/09/2014

4.0

05/15/2014


Priscilla R.

They did the job well. They were polite and right on schedule. I don't have any complaints.

Description of Work
We called them out to inspect and repair our roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2013

3.0

01/16/2014


Stephen W.

I had some referrals from some friends to use them. They repaired a tile roof that had a leak. They cleaned the gutters and fixed some wood rot too. I like that the representative had 40+ years of experience. There were some issues with them not showing up when they said they would though.

Description of Work
They replaced a tile roof. They cleaned the gutters and fixed some rot wood too.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2013

5.0

12/07/2013


Greg R.

It went very well. We have a very large roof (single story home with 3-car garage and covered patio stretching across entire rear of home, so roof is 4,600 square feet). They delayed start of work one day because of rain prediction, but then deployed a large crew that quickly removed the old cement tile roof and finished one day earlier than expected. They did a very effective job of applying a lot of new flashing. The contractor that built our custom home built it in such a way that rats were able to access the attic (lots of gaps and vents that provided access points). Norcal roofing used flashing and other shingle application methods to seal up all of the defects left by the original builder and roofer, so the rat problem is now solved. A few other problems were encountered duing the job, again created by the original home construction methods, and the roofers quickly developed solutions. Our only problem was the dump truck they used for hauling away the old roofing. It had an engine oil leak, but I noticed it in time to put cardboard below the truck. The company rep, John Galiotto, has been in the business over 30 years and provides a lot of information and education to the homeowner. Other contractors we used during our home remodel were all very complimentary of the job, and most of them had worked with John on other jobs.

Description of Work
Removed original cement tile roof and replaced it with a new, triple-layer, 50-year shingle roof with a color that matches the new color scheme of our home. It includes ridge vents to release hot air from the attic, which will keep our home cooler in the summer. The company rep, John Galiotto, really knows the business and is very courteous. He advised against solar reflective shingles, noting that it would not be worth the cost because of the new R38 attic insulation we had installed.

Category roofing