Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Founded 1952 • With Angi since October 2005

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

20940 Normandie Avenue

Torrance, CA 90502

Description

LICENSE #321076. Servicing: Entire South Bay area including, El Segundo, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Torrance, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Lomita, etc.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/15/2020


mark T.

I would definitely recommend L&R to anyone having heating/air issues! My heater suddenly stopped working and I was lucky enough to get their head HVAC service manager, Ralph out to my house. He immediately located the problem while inspecting the furnace; the thermocouple was loose so it wasn't making a great connection to my heater. I was very impressed with how knowledgeable he was and could tell he knows exactly what he's doing. I mentioned that I was also having some electrical difficulties and it turns out he's a licensed electrician and ended up fixing the issue in my breaker box. In the midst of COVID, he recommended an iWave air purifier while he was changing my filter and I will definitely be calling the office and requesting Ralph back to install that for me. Overall great experience with their office and in-person service, I can see why they've been in business so long!

Description of Work
Heating Repair/ Filter Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/30/2017


Kenneth G.

Very good job done

Description of Work
Annual maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/14/2015


Lorri S.

Description of Work
6 years ago we replaced our old furnace with a new unit and a Honeywell wireless thermostat. We called the company who originally installed the equipment; however we were told they are only doing new construction now and referred us to L&R Heating & Air Conditioning. L&R was very prompt at getting someone out and diagnosing the problem. Randy from L&R was very professional and explained the problem - the Equipment Interface Module was not communicating with the thermostat. Randy had to order the part from his supplier at $536, the installation was $150. After Randy left, we did some research and found the unit on the internet for a lower price; however, we were still more comfortable letting L&R order the equipment in case something goes wrong in the future; that's the only reason we gave a B on price. The unit came in approx. 5 days later; Randy was very prompt at getting the new part in and although he was unfamiliar with the set-up he figured it out very quickly and got everything working. We would not hesitate to call L&R if we have any problems in the future. If we have any complaints, it's with the Honeywell unit; 6 years seems rather quick for the equipment to stop functioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/04/2015


Ellen W.

Description of Work
The parents' heater stopped working and I called them based on a friend's recommendation. The parents were used to calling the gas company but I decided to call a heating specialist who would be able to diagnose if it's the heater or the gas line. Turned out to be neither but it was reassuring to know that there were no leaks, etc. I took the opportunity to ask for an estimate for a new heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/30/2012


Doris W.

They were prompt, professional, and solved the problem. It didn't take but a week-I was very pleased!

Description of Work
I had a fan on my roof repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

08/05/2008


Michael G.

Did not hire based on price.

Description of Work
Requested a bid on retrofitting my 1937 home with central heat an air. I had to convince them to come out on my schedule (instead of their "anytime on a particular day"). The person that came out was friendly, helpful and professional but the (handwritten) $16,200 bid was more than 2x higher than the company I eventually went with for the same equipment / services.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/28/2007


Edward AND Mary H.

When the man from the gas company checked our furnace, he said it was on a recall list & turned off the gas to the furnace. The next day I signed up for Angie's List and called L&R because it was recommended. When I told the representative answering the phone that I wanted an estimate for a new furnace, she said she would send Randy without charge. Randy was complimented in the report I read on Angie's List. He checked the furnace and re-checked the recall list and told me my furnace was not on the recall list & I had no problem. The charge was a reasonable (for LA standards) $54.00. While here, he answered another unrelated question about my air conditioning and went out of his way to show me the primary drain. I got my money's worth, and he didn't sell me an unnecessary furnace.

Description of Work
Estimate only.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/27/2007


PAM F.

The furnace stopped working and Randy from L&R came out on a holiday and diagnosed the problem, which turned out to be only a loose wire on the thermostat. He found the problem quickly and fixed it immediately, for far less money than other companies wanted just to drive to the house.

Description of Work
Find out why the furnace had stopped working and repair it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/18/2007


JULIAN A.

I decided not to go with this company even though their price was lower. The representative didn't seem meticulous with the details as far as time involved in the removal, installation or the work involved. They also did not present me with a whole lot of choices of units. It just didn't seem they were going to be a good choice.

Description of Work
I received an estimate for replacing my old air conditioning unit with new 3.5 ton Carrier unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, appliance sales

5.0

04/26/2007


TOD G.

There was a problem with the thermostat when they installed the system. They switched it out twice trying to fix the problem. They're kind, courteous, and they really bent over backwards to meet our needs and get it done quickly. They were just great!

Description of Work
Put in a new thermostat an a new heating and A/C system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/08/2007


PATRICIA G.

They showed up as requested, analyzed the problem, did good work, left the place clean. Trustworthy. Since I wasn't home I just left a key for them. No problems. Just a little pricey for such a 20 minute job.

Description of Work
Replaced a faulty pilot light fixture and an old thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/07/2006


THOMAS V.

The representative and the company were very professional and helpful. Not only did they fix the problem but explained to me exactly what was wrong. I would definitely do business with them again.

Description of Work
Checked issue with Central Air Conditioning concerning heat coming out of air duct when the cooling is turned on.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

10/13/2005

THEY WERE GOOD BECAUSE I DON'T REALLY HAVE ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THEM. I USE THEM EVERY YEAR, AND THEY DO THIS SERVICE. DURING THE WINTER I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS BECAUSE THE MACHINE PERFORMANCE IS VERY GOOD. THERE ARE NO BREAKDOWNS SO I AM VERY SATISFIED.

Description of Work
IT WAS CLEANING AND SERVICING FOR WINTERIZING THE AIR CONDITIONER.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/12/2005


Linda L.

I THINK THEY DID A GOOD JOB, AND I WAS HAPPY WITH THEIR WORK. THE HEATER WAS INSTALLED IN THE HALLWAY. THEY WERE NEAT, AND THEY CLEANED UP. THEY SEEMED KNOWLEDGEABLE AND ANSWERED ALL MY QUESTIONS.

Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED A HEATER.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Samonet general construction

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Shenon Construction

    A COMPLETE EXPERIENCE- The Shenon Construction Team acknowledges that the path of remodeling is as important as the final product. Therefore, we strive to give our clients the most pleasant experience no matter how extensive the project may be. The team is present every step of the way, and is determined to help guide you with decision making, so that the final project meets and exceeds every expectation. A spectacular home and an ecstatic client are our two main priorities! COMMITMENT TO QUALITY- We proudly hold ourselves accountable to achieving the highest quality construction, utilizing durable materials and collaborating with highly skilled professionals. A SENSE FOR DESIGN- We communicate with our clients and have the ability to clearly understand the critical design elements. Prior to construction, we employ a 3D design to visualize your ideas and concepts. This way, we assure that the final execution is flawless. ATTENTION TO DETAIL- We realize that transforming a house into a home, and truly personalizing the project requires immaculate attention to detail. We embrace the uniqueness of each development and we call our projects complete when each of your needs and wants are fulfilled.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    So Cal Builders & Design Inc

    SoCal Builders and Design have been helping the homes of Southern California look perfect one nail and brick at a time! With the best prices and highest standard of service, we can deliver the kitchen or bathroom of your dreams on time and on budget! Voice Star: (888) 284-9122.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask For Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc provides design, installation, repair and service to all makes and models of HVAC equipment. We offer our services to all residential and commercial customers. L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. also inspects, installs or repairs all duct work for HVAC systems.

    Services Not Offered

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is not an asbestos removal company.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

    How is L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc overall rated?

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc open?

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc provide

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer free estimates?

    No, L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

    No, L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer?

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers the following services: L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc provides design, installation, repair and service to all makes and models of HVAC equipment. We offer our services to all residential and commercial customers. L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. also inspects, installs or repairs all duct work for HVAC systems.

    Are there any services L & R Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer?

    L & R Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is not an asbestos removal company.