Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Western Exterminator

Founded 1921 • With Angi since June 2005

Since 1921, Western Exterminator has been providing homeowners and business owners with customer service excellence and trusted pest control solutions.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(53) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 53 reviews
Marilyn G.
5.0
03/11/2018
Superior as always!! My Technician Chad McChesney, as always was Prompt, Professional, Extremely Knowledgeable, Polite, Nice, Friendly. Though we have a "standing" appointment each month, he lets me know that he will be there on that day and what time!! He is Exceptional and deserves a BIG RAISE!! Thank you Chad!!
Description of Work
I have a Monthly Contract, minus December and January
Category
pest control
Elizabeth S.
4.0
08/10/2017
The work was done on time and done well. Since them I have not had any roaches in the apartment sprayed.
Description of Work
Exterminator work for roaches in apartment.
Category
pest control
Greg C.
1.0
07/11/2017
Initially, great. But then the contracted service visits stopped because the technician couldn't find our address (even after being able to find it just fine the first visit and the first few months after that). When I called to find out if we could get an additional service visit because we were seeing more ants than usual, I uncovered an absolute mess of cancelled visits, missed calls, and a lackluster customer service response. Despite there being two phone numbers on the account, the technician kept calling only one of them for a while and then just stopped when he never got an answer. I guess it was just too hard to look at and call the second number to find out what to do. Turns our we'd not been receiving any service visits for four months and they simply canceled our account (with no phone call or email notice). When I called and found this out, I requested a follow-up call and reactivated the account. Not only did Western cancel and change the date of this newly reactivated account, they neglected to tell us about the rescheduling. I only found out about that because I called to complain about even more ants on the property. Suffice it to say, I'm not recommending this company at all. I'm sure they've been great at others' service (how else can they stay in business for 90+ years), but they completely failed me.
Description of Work
Needed general ant control.
Category
pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are sorry you did not have a positive experience. So that we can report your experience back to the appropriate parties within our company, can you please send us your account holder's name and the address that was serviced via private message on Angie's List?
Martin K.
2.0
06/30/2016
Not well. I submitted the following online to Western: .................... I am writing to complain. I made an appointment with you today. I need help removing bats that are making entry into our house. Your staff told me Thursday between 9:00am and 3:00pm were available. I accepted, but requested that we meet before noon because I had an important meeting in the afternoon. I was told they would make a note of it and your technician, Jesse, would contact me to let me know when he would be arriving 30 minutes ahead. This morning, no calls from Jesse, so I contacted you and was told he would arrive between 11:00am and 2:00pm. Not what I had hoped for but I waited anyway. At 2:00pm there was no contact from you at all, and had to leave for work. At 2:25pm Jesse called to let me know he was running late but would arrive sometime today. I told Jesse (and am telling you) that we were done. I will find someone else to perform these services. Everyone is busy, and schedules are difficult to keep, but there is no excuse for not communicating with the customer and assuming they will sit around all day waiting, no matter when the appointment is scheduled. Now, on to Angie's list ...
Description of Work
Removal of a bat infestation in my house.
Category
pest control
Deborah A.
4.0
02/15/2016
He calls me the night before service to tell me he is coming. If I am not home and don't get the call then he just comes. He is calling from a cell phone so I am just not sure what would happen if I don't get the call. The last time he wanted to come I had a doctors appointment so I couldn't be home so luckily I was there to take the call so I could tell him I could not do it on that day. Normally I don't know what would have worked had I not been there. The problem is he has to come in the house and check the attic as well as check our basement, which is locked so he needs to get the key from me. Does he just show up if he does not reach me? I like another company I use that schedules in advance. Apparently rats can get into spaces that are really small and this company does not look for openings. They just come in and remove what is there and then re-bait the traps. There are companies that say they try to prevent invasions so I am kind of tempted to look into those, but Western was recommended by another company I use. I am reasonably satisfied it is just something that is never going to stop. we have a long history of rat problems in the house. I would like it if they would get rid of my rats so I would not continue to have the problem.
Description of Work
I use Western Exterminator to do a monthly rat check and removal.
Category
animal removal
Jim M.
5.0
06/21/2014
They always called the day prior to performing service. If I was low on cash they could always wait to do the service later. They were very flexible and we never had any pests while we were using them. They told me they would stay away from my organic garden and they did a great job of that. They are very professional and I would recommend them.
Description of Work
They did pest control at my home and immediately got rid of our tick problem.
Category
pest control
Peter G.
4.0
05/14/2014
They were much cheaper than other service providers and provided the same service.
Description of Work
We used Western Exterminator Company for pest control services.
Category
pest control
WILLIS H.
5.0
02/12/2014
After I hired them, they returned and treated the subterranean termites by drilling several small holes in the foundation slab, injected insecticide, and plugged the holes. They also treated two above-gtound infestations. Very neatly and quickly done.
Description of Work
The estimator found three areas of infestation.
Category
pest control
Jonathan V.
2.0
09/06/2013
I was going to wait to write the review until we began service, but I've had such difficult time becoming a new customer, I felt it necessary to post a review. I submitted 3 online requests for the "Ultimate Pest Control Coupon" to save $50; however, I never received an email reply or telephone call back. I then called the Van Nuys office and was told that they were having email problems but would have someone call me back. I waited 2 weeks and called again. After explaining my frustration, they put me through to someone who scheduled an inspection and asked our square footage, if we had an attic, crawlspace, etc.. I took off work for the inspector's visit and he arrived saying that everything looks good but because some people in the company have moved to other areas he would have to return and couldn't finish the inspection. When I explained that I had taken off work to meet him and asked if he could come during the weekend, he said that he could not. I'll revise this post if service changes, but currently I'm looking to find service with another company that has better customer service.
Description of Work
Inspection for ongoing service
Category
pest control
Joshua C.
5.0
08/17/2013
The technician arrived on time and immediately went to work. He started treating the exterior of my unit first. He got rid of the wasps and spider webs around the area. Afterwards, he started treating the interior of the house and recommended we leave the premises for about 2 hours.
Description of Work
Treated the interior and exterior of my rental unit
Category
pest control
Myrna R.
5.0
08/12/2013
They are fine. They come out once a month. I haven't had many problems indoors because they take care of the outdoors and that is good when we live in the desserts. We were using a company that left the area and so started using them.
Description of Work
We use Western Exterminator Company to do a preventative spray on the outside area of the house. We've been using them for about three years.
Category
pest control
Arthur R.
3.0
04/15/2013
This is a large company that fired one of its best services workers and hired a young worker who was nowhere near as good.
Description of Work
Pest and Bug control
Category
pest control
Curt S.
5.0
04/01/2013
I have had them out for service twice and both times they have arrived at the appointed time. I had expected that they would call me to schedule the next service appointment after 2 months, but I ended up calling them.
Description of Work
I use Western Exterminator for pest control in my Palm Springs condo. I signed up for every other month service and have had them out 2 times now. I am very happy with the quality of their service, I very rarely see a bug in my condo.
Category
pest control
Barbara H.
5.0
01/16/2013
I was happy with their responsiveness, punctuality, professionalism, and how thorough they were.
Description of Work
They came to treat a rat problem.
Category
pest control
Sandra K.
5.0
07/13/2012
They are really good and it is a big company. When we first moved into this house we had a really bad problem with ants and they came out until the ants were gone. I like my technician, Richard, personally; he is a great guy. I also like it that when he says is going to be here he is here. They are thorough and have given us lots of good advice about how to avoid having critters other than insects invade our territory; they have been really good. When Richard had some down time because of illness the replacement guy was just as good as Richard. Their pricing is competitive.
Description of Work
I use Western Exterminator for pest control.
Category
pest control
Sherry S.
5.0
06/13/2012
They come every two months. They are quick and efficient, and the use biodegradable, environmentally friendly ingredients in their pest control. It doesn't hurt the good bugs; it hurts the bad bugs. It doesn't hurt the birds or my cat. It's not toxic. I have been with them for four years, since we bought the house.
Description of Work
We use Western Exterminating for pest control services around the perimeter, pool, house, and garage.
Category
pest control
JD S.
5.0
06/11/2012
I used them several times. They were competent and they did a good job. I did go back to them. Their prices were competitive. The quality was fine. They were fine and I would go back to them.
Description of Work
I used Western Pest Control for pest control.
Category
pest control
ELDON G.
5.0
05/23/2012
I have been using them for at least ten years. Their service has always been good. If we have something that comes up, he comes and takes care of it. They are very responsive to our needs. Their price is reasonable.
Description of Work
They provided monthly pest control services.
Category
pest control
Margaret B.
5.0
05/02/2012
They are wonderful, prompt and efficient. They get the work done and are on time. They are responsible and if there is a problem they haven’t fixed they will come right away. They know what they are doing. Their pricing is very fair. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I use Western Exterminator for pest control around five wooden traps in my property. They come once a month to spray and also for bat control.
Category
pest control
Ethel K.
5.0
04/25/2012
I haven't seen any bugs since they have sprayed. They are the best. I couldn't tell you one bad thing about them.
Description of Work
I had a terrible cricket infestation and had Western Exterminating come out and spray.
Category
pest control
LA Rita B.
5.0
04/24/2012
They are excellent. They call the night before which is a good reminder for me. They are on time. I will continue to use them in the future. They are scheduled with me to spray my home on a routine basis.
Description of Work
They provide us with pest control on a bi monthly basis.
Category
pest control
robert C.
5.0
04/16/2012
The overall experience was excellent. They were responsive, punctual, and professional. I will continue to use this provider in the future.
Description of Work
They provide quarterly pest control services.
Category
pest control
Lloyd V.
5.0
04/09/2012
They are always prompt and here. They are right on time. They do a good job.
Description of Work
I use them for pest control services.
Category
pest control
STEPHAN Z.
5.0
03/31/2012
They come every two weeks, and their service is great and they are always on time and courteous. We will continue to use their services in the future for pest control.
Description of Work
They came to our home to spray for bugs and pests.
Category
pest control
Nadine O.
5.0
03/23/2012
They come out monthly to inspect and spray. I have been using them for years and highly recommend them. If I need traps, they will put them up.
Description of Work
Monthly inspection and control.
Category
pest control

Phone

Address

72096 Adelaid St

Thousand Palms, CA 92276

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Pest Control, Termite Control, Rodent Control, Bird and Bat Control, Integrated Pest Management, Green Pest Control, Deer Repellent, Vegetation Management Services, Bioremediation Services, Wild Animal Trapping, Ant Control, Bed Bug Entotherm

FAQ

Western Exterminator is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Western Exterminator is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

No, Western Exterminator does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Western Exterminator offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Western Exterminator offers emergency services.

No, Western Exterminator does not offer warranties.

Western Exterminator offers the following services: Pest Control, Termite Control, Rodent Control, Bird and Bat Control, Integrated Pest Management, Green Pest Control, Deer Repellent, Vegetation Management Services, Bioremediation Services, Wild Animal Trapping, Ant Control, Bed Bug Entotherm

Other Local Pros In Your Area

CALL NOW FOR A FREE LIVE QUOTE!!! OFFERING 10% OFF IN SUMMER 2019! Termite professionals at A1 Termite and Pest Control will take care of all your termite and pest control problems. Located in Los Angeles, CA we offer extremely effective termite services for both residential homes and commercial businesses at an affordable price. We will perform a free termite inspection of your premise to determine what type of termite infestation you have, how bad it is, and if they caused any structural damage. Our experienced pest exterminators can even provide repairs for damage caused by dry rot, termites, and fungus. We also perform pre-purchase termite inspection for homebuyers and pre-selling termite inspection for sellers. Just let us know how we can help! Professional Termite Treatments from Experienced Exterminators. We are serving Los Angeles, Orange, portions of San Fernando, Riverside and San Bernardino counties since 2005.  

Pacific Coast Termite was formed in 2007 by Co-Owners Dennis Wilson and James Grande. The Company was started in Tustin California, and has expanded to cover the entire state. During this time the company has grown each and every year, propelling Pacific Coast Termite to one of the top termite and pest control Company's in the Nation. We built this company with the goal of helping Californians eliminate termite problems without going through the inconveniences of tent fumigation. Pacific Coast Termite has successfully treated over 20,000 homes, businesses, and commercial properties throughout California. By using Orange Oil and other similar products while our customers stayed home.  

Payne Pest Management

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Payne Pest Management

Payne Pest Management is a full service termite and pest control company that services everything from general pests, termites, rodents, birds, bees to gophers, damaged wood repair, ground squirrels, skunks, raccoons and opossums. We service both residential and commercial properties.