Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Architectural Environments

Founded 2002 • With Angi since November 2009

5.0

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

41155 Cir D Crt

Temecula, CA 92592

Description

Outdoor living design. Specialized indesign for pools, patio covers, fire features, outdoor kitchens. Refers licensed contractors for landscaping work....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/02/2016


Jill P.

Kirk was prompt, very thorough and professional. He asked a lot of questions that helped me determine exactly the type of landscaping and lighting that I wanted and made suggestions that would make it possible to achieve the design within my budget. He was accessible throughout the design process and readily made changes we discussed when reviewing the plan drafts. He provided me with two copies of the completed plans. The contractor who will be doing the work was very impressed with the quality and detail of the plans. I could not have been happier with the experience or the results.

Description of Work
Designed landscape planting and lighting plans for my property and provided 2 copies for my use.

Category landscaping, lighting, outdoor lighting

5.0

01/22/2015


Karen S.

Kirk is an exceptional artist, visionary and professional. We were blown away by his attention to detail and knowledge and expertise in architectural design. He was very patient with us, as my family and I decided what we wanted in the vast desert that was our backyard. Some words my family used to describe him: insightful, creative, educated, and patient. He went above and beyond our expectations. He was always prompt at responding, went out of his way to help us adjust our plans, and sent us more copies of plans when needed. We would highly recommend him to anyone who needs landscaping, hardscape plans or gardens. His plans for us included specific plants, in exact quantities, locations, lighting, pool lights, garden area, fire pit, dog area, and patio with a cover. He thought of things that we never would have and did a phenomenal job! All of this, plus a humble and professional demeanor. Thank you Kirk!

Description of Work
Designed landscape and hardscape plans for a massive backyard, including a pool and gardens.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/08/2014


Eva R.

Kirk was professional and on time. I found Kirk through Angie's list and he drove out to our home to take a look at the property. He was always responsive. He quickly responded to e-mails, text messages and phone calls. Kirk delivered a professional design and plan for our project. We were very happy with his work and with our experience working with him. We will be hiring him to design our back yard.

Description of Work
We hired KIrk to design a front yard water wise landscape.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/10/2014


Marie D.

Provider was first contacted almost 2 years ago and promptly responded but due to a family emergency I was unable to follow-thru; he was contacted again and cordially and quickly responded to request for service.Appointment for initial meeting was on time and correspondence via email was answered satisfactorily; the response time was usually the next day but no more than 2-3 day wait. Provider made changes as requested in design and upon completion provided detailed explanation to meet desired results. At this point I am now looking for a provider to bring the plan to fruition

Description of Work
Landscape design for residential backyard space

Category landscaping

5.0

05/14/2014


Tracy W.

He did an excellent job interpreting our tastes and coming up with a beautiful plan for our outdoor area. We initially wanted a spa, but decided that we'd rather have a water feature instead, so Kirk came up with alternate plans. Each plan was well thought out and very attractive. He is also able to recommend contractors to do the job, so it's well worth having a good design plan from the start. We highly recommend Kirk Molday for residential landscape design.

Description of Work
Kirk worked up a detailed plan for our back yard, including spa, water features, patios, plantings, drainage and lighting.

Category landscaping, lighting, outdoor kitchens

5.0

05/07/2014


Quan N.

We hired Kirk based on positive reviews. We were not disappointed. He did an exceptional job. Thank you! I called Kirk several months ago to schedule an initial meeting. The initial meeting included the conceptual design for landscaping front and backyard project, expectations and fees. He arrived on-time for the meeting. He listened to our ideas and wish list. He also suggested a few ideas to make the landscape flow, proper scale, texture, atheistic, curb appeal, etc. Approximately one week later (as promised) Kirk returned with a conceptual design plan. At first glance, we were WOW! He went over the design with some details on material selection, color and placement. We were pleased with the design. He gave us an opportunity to review the proposed design and make any necessary changes. We were ready to moved forward to the detail phase. Kirk met with us several weeks later to discuss the plans in depth on the hardscape, softscape, lighting and other details. He also suggested proper drainage for the property and plants. We were pleased with the amount of details provided in the plans. The hardscape plan included the color, material, concrete finish and texture, size and location. The softscape plan included plant selections, location and quantity. He also provided pictures of the plants and trees by name. The lighting plan included type of transformer, lighting fixtures, wiring and locations to accent some key features on the property and walk paths. He suggested the drainage scheme on this property to prevent damages to the house foundation, structures and vegetation. He also provided a design for the pergola. This work was in addition to the original scope. I was thankful and pleased for the pergola design. It was beautiful and perfect based on our theme for the backyard. Kirk went out of his way to help me obtaining City permits on pergola, gas line for the fire pit and electrical for GFIs. He is very good for his design and vision. He is very professional, patient, and impressionable. He delivered on promises and prompt on scheduled meetings. He promptly returned all my calls and emails. Our overall experiences with Kirk exceeded our expectation. I provided his detailed plans to contractors for bidding purposes and received many great compliments on the design, detail and easy to interpret. We were glad to spend the money for the plans. We feel confident that our project will have a good start and go well. Suggestion on good experience with Kirk or any project. I did some research on landscaping ideas prior to hiring Kirk. It helped me and it helped Kirk of objectives.

Description of Work
Provided detailed planning for hardscape, softscape and lighting. Provided suggestion for wooden pergola structure and drainage.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, outdoor kitchens

5.0

02/24/2014


Steven K.

I hired Kirk to design a lap pool and surrounding patio for our home. On his first visit, we discussed the basic features that I wanted in the pool, such as the shape, size, and water features. We also discussed the size of a patio cover and the materials to build and a patio deck. During this first visit, we also discussed how to improve the view from the home, such as planting trees in key locations, and whether to include an infinity edge on the pool. I was very impressed by Kirks knowledge of landscaping, pools, and architectural design. Two weeks later, Kirk returned with the design of our pool and patio and reviewed each item on the drawing with my wife and I. We were very happy with his initial design and we are now in the process of getting bids from pool companies. Once the pool construction is underway, we will have Kirk return to help us with picking out plants for the surrounding garden. Overall, I was very impressed with Kirk's level of knowledge and ability to visualize a design that met our needs and sense of style. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing a landscape design.

Description of Work
Pool and deck design.

Category decks, landscaping, patios, swimming pools, outdoor kitchens

5.0

09/29/2013


Mildred C.

We are looking to replace our large front lawn with water-wise landscaping, with the objective of qualifying for the water district rebate which is available for replacing turf with low water use plants, and with the further objective of hoping to lessen our water usage. After reading reviews on Angie's List we called Kirk and set up an appointment for him to come to our home. He arrived at our home at the appointed time. We explained to him our objectives and he listened attentively to our needs and limitations. He thoroughly surveyed the area and took measurements before leaving. We gave him the guidelines and plant list from the water authority. He said that he would send us pictures of some of the plants he chose from the list so that we could indicate any that we did not like. The next week we received the labeled colored pictures of the plants and we indicated the ones we did not care for. He was very accommodating and willing to be sure we were completely satisfied with the plant selection. Yesterday he met with us with the completed design plan. He had done a very nice job and we were pleased. The plans (three copies) were complete with names of plants, number of plants, and pictures of each plant in color. He carefully explained to us his use of each plant and how it fits into the total design. Kirk prompted us to ask any questions we might have and was very open to any concerns we had. We are very happy that he has kept in mind the limited budget we have for installation and plants, and created a design not elaborate but attractive using plants of varying textures and sizes which complement each other. Kirk is very easy to work with and attentive to the desires and needs of the client.

Description of Work
Provided a water-wise landscape design for front yard

Category landscaping

5.0

07/09/2013


James G.

Kirk was exceptional to work with. He has exceptional vision and ability to listen to the client and return with a great creative idea. He is very organized, professional, and we highly recommend working with him.

Description of Work
Provided landscaping plans for a private residence.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/29/2013


patrick S.

Kirk came to my home 3-4 times, making sure that you loved the design. He was a very nice guy and professional , and recommended contractors to do the work for me. I ended using my own contractor. I would recommend him to anyone looking for blueprints and design!

Description of Work
He did all the blueprints for my backyard.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/23/2013


Linda G.

Kirk was easy to work with, and quickly grasped what I was looking for. His plans were detailed and clear, and included photos of all the plants.

Description of Work
Kirk provided a detailed plan for landscaping a planter area bordering my pool, and for landscaping a very large slope at the back of my property.

Category landscaping

5.0

02/18/2013


Albert T.

Kirk was a pleasure to work with. He listened carefully to our desires, presented several options, and delivered a wonderful plan for our frontyard, backyard and courtyard within the time specified. His plan was detailed, thorough and complementary to our home's architecture. Communication was prompt and very helpful. Follow-up advice was also timely and insightful. We're very happy with his services and would heartily recommend him!

Description of Work
Created landscape plan including hardscape.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/03/2012


Brett C.

Kirk was a pleasure to work with. He came to our home on several occasions to carefully work through the design process. He was very professional and patient with us as we asked various questions. He was able to produce plans that incorporated everything that we asked for and was able to guide us in areas where we needed expert advice. He was very responsive to phone calls, text messages and emails. I would not hesitate to use him again and would highly recommend him to anyone that is considering a landscaping or pool project.

Description of Work
Kirk provided detailed landscape design plans for our front and back yard.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/30/2012


steven D.

Kirk is wonderful at what he does! He came over and listened to our ideas. Within a week he came back with a design. We tweaked it a bit and then were ready to bid it out. The quality of his design is outstanding, and now that it has been implemented, I can appreciate his talent even more. On a side note... we actually went with a landscape company that he works for on the side (Dreamscapes). they were OUTSTANDING too! Can't go wrong with Kirk!!!

Description of Work
Created outdoor landscape design for front and back yards.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/07/2012


Jean W.

Kirk provides design only. We think that anyone would be satisfied with his designs. When we had a question, he responded quickly and addressed it to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
We knew that we needed a complete revamp of our front yard, side yards, patio and slope. We were also clueless as to where to begin. We discovered Architectural Environments on Angie's List and our inquiry was answered promptly. Kirk came to our house, took pictures and got a feel for what we wanted. We asked that he just "go for it" and come up with a design. He provided some wonderful, innovative ideas. .

Category landscaping

1.0

09/04/2012


Phillip H.

I called and met with a designer from Architectural Environments and I have unfortunately forgotten his name. He was very polite and was on time for the meeting. We walked him thru everything we wanted done and I encouraged him to give us ideas outside of what we thought might look good . At the time I thought it was strange that he took very few notes and no photos of items we wanted addressed. He said that he would prepare an proposal and get back to us early the following week. I never heard from him again. I called AE at the end of the week and left a message and it has never returned. The work they do is amazing, but after our experience I would not be able to recommend them to anyone. They clearly are very successful so it could be they did not want our project, but the least they could done was call us back and say they were not interested.

Description of Work
They did not provide any services except to meet with us and discuss the project. The gentlemen said they would provide a proposal to move forward with the project but never did, nor did they return my phone call when I asked if they were interested or not.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/13/2012


wayne E.

We worked with Kirk over a period of about a month. He was very patient as we worked through our decisions on each phase of the project and supplied a number of good ideas. He was also helpful in steering us away from ideas that we hadn't thought through thoroughly. He was also helpful with his knowledge of what would be expected by our HOA.

Description of Work
We engaged Kirk Molday to create a brand new landscaping design for our back yard and inner patio. This included hardscape and softscape layouts, outdoor fireplace, a patio cover, outdoor lighting, watering plant selection. In all cases Kirk was very helpful and knowledgeable and came up with many creative ideas. He met with us at least four times, including a visit to a nursery where we selected plants with his help and advise, and when completed we had a beautiful plan, well executed and detailed. In all, we were extremely pleased with the service that Kirk provided. As such we plan to engage him as a Consultant on the actual installation project.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/07/2012


David M.

Kirk was very professional and punctual. We provided an outline of the desired outcome and he made it come to life on paper, exceeding our expectations.

Description of Work
Landscape design of back and side yards including water feature, hardscape and plant materials

Category landscaping

5.0

05/07/2012


Bill B.

Kirk found the design direction almost immediately for us, followed through with blueprints, communicated via phone and email, and even came back to the site to help spot all of the plants / trees and supervise to make sure everything was exactly as he planned. Kirk was also flexible, professional and very easy to work with. We would certainly ask for his design help again! Make sure to ask about the installation of mature (field grown) trees vs. young trees coming from nurseries and find out which plants are available to you locally before your planting day! and enjoy!

Description of Work
We needed help with creating a new landscape (plants and trees) design for the back yard and after listening to what we wanted the space to feel like, Kirk quickly suggested the perfect direction (turned out to be Mediterranean elements he showed us that we loved). We hired him on the spot and he got us a beautifully executed blue print in just over a week. Very professional and detailed. He recommended all of the plants and trees specifically by name and photo, as well as lighting and irrigation ideas.. As we live in the San Fernando Valley, some of the more exotic / specific plants took longer to order, but are exactly what the space needs. His 'book' of projects is the most professional and beautiful we've seen from a landscape / hardscape designer.

Category landscaping, lighting

5.0

04/28/2012


Martin N.

Kirk is a real professional. He listened carefully to our interests, carefully considered our options, and consulted closely with us in designing a complete plan for our landscaping, front and back. His plans were artistically interesting and practical. He thought through all the details - plant selection, low voltage light fixtures, irrigation designs, pavers, concrete, a patio cover, and a fire feature. I know that when we implement his plans our home (and our neighborhood!) will be better for it. I'd recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Kirk developed a complete landscape plan for our home: hardscape, plants, lighting, irrigation, a fire feature.

Category landscaping

5.0

02/29/2012


Spencer D.

He was great and I would definitely use him. He was very quick. I've had other landscape architects and he had other pictures of his plans. It was nice to see what he was talking about. He was professional and had a nice, helpful demeanor on him. He offered to tweak the plants and help lay them out so whoever is planting them knows exactly where to put them. He sent me emails to let me know where to see and buy the plants. It was good. I knew the minimum price was $500 and I was fine with that. He told me that right up front when I signed up for it.

Description of Work
He gave me a consultation. He came out last week and he originally came two weeks prior to that. He's a designer, that's all he does, and he's an architect.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/16/2011


Mindy J.

We have a backyard that is pretty much bare and in need of privacy and much more. We were overwhelmed with where to start and didn't want to plant anything or install any hardscape that might interfere with our future plans for a pool. We called Kirk and he called back promptly and scheduled an appointment to come out. He got a feel for what we wanted and the style we were going for by asking questions, showing us pictures and even by observing the way we had remodeled/decorated the inside of our house. We had a couple other people come out and it seemed like they were used to one style and one way of doing things and didn't ask a lot about the look we wanted. After Kirk finished the hardscape plans we were so excited with the outcome we wanted to move right along with the lighting, drainage and plants. Kirk encouraged us to "sit with the hardscape plans" to make sure we were happy with everything. After a week we decided we wanted to switch the locations of the fireplace and bbq which was an option Kirk had mentioned when he presented us with the plans. Instead of rushing through the process to collect a paycheck and move on to the next job, Kirk was more concerned with us taking our time to be extra sure we were satisfied with the plans. After we approved the hardscape plans Kirk finished the plant, drainage and lighting plants a week later. We could not be happier with the finished plans and really enjoyed working with Kirk. He is a great listener, very knowledgeable and great at what he does. I would highly recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Kirk designed landscape concept plans for our front and back yard.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/26/2011


Stephen G.

The owner of a landscape construction firm referred me to Kirk to develop a comprehensive landscape design for the front and back yards of my house, which sits on a tract lot in a gated community. Kirk contacted me and visited my house for an initial consultation soon after the referral. On the initial consultation Kirk surveyed our yard and provided us with some high-level concepts for the new landscape. He also queried us about our "ballpark" range of desired cost for the landscape construction and agreed to develop a design that would fall within the ballpark. At the initial consultation we decided to ask Kirk to develop a conceputal design for a new landscape/hardscape. Kirk developed the concept design in about 10 days and met at our home to present the concept design, including providing a large-scale/plotter color print of the design. Kirk spent over an hour briefing us on the concept design, and accepted some minor changes to the design based on our feedback. At that time he collected 2/3 of his total fee. Based on our approval of the concept design, Kirk went on to develop the detailed hardscape design, and drainage and lighting plans for the property. Those documents are necessary for submittal to most HOAs and also to provide competing construction contractors with sufficient detail to formulate bids. Kirk provided us with the detailed designs about 10 days after we approved the concept design. He again met at our home and spent extensive time walking my wife and I through the detail designs, which included color photos of the proposed plants in the hardscape, as well as extensive details of water drainage and lighting on the property. Kirk delivered large-scale/plotter prints of the detailed designs and followed-up with .pdf softcopies of the documents after the meeting. At that time he collected the remaining 1/3 of his total fee. Overall, working with Kirk was a pleasant experience and he provided us with an excellent design for what will be our new yard. His fees are fair and he works with a couple of landscape construction firms who rebate a portion of the design fees if you choose them as the construction contractor. We strongly recommend Kirk to Angie's List members looking for a landscape designer.

Description of Work
Comprhensiave residential landscape design, including hardscape design, drainage plan, and lighting plan.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/25/2011


CAROLANNE F.

Kirk called us within a day of our Angie's list request for contact. As I spoke he truly "listened" to all of our objectives, later including them in the design that he would create for us. He was prompt and professional for our first meeting and inspired confidence with his knowledge and in the way that he was able to answer our questions and concerns. He was also wonderfully easy going and we knew that we would enjoy working with him. At the conclusion of that first meeting he quoted an estimate for his design (which we accepted it immediately) and he began taking photos of the site. Within a couple of days he sent images of the plants that he was considering for our design and solicited our input about them. He also offered several options for the plant material. After we called to discuss our plant preferences he drew up the design and we met on-site again to review his design and discuss details along along with suggested changes. Within a few days he sent over the final design and has forwarded our design to the landscape contractor who is to install the job. At this point we are looking forward to hearing from his suggested landscape contractor (who can also be found on Angie's list). In summary, he was responsive to our emails/phone calls, and was professional, extremely knowledgeable, patient, helpful, resourceful and most importantly, truly competent in this (landscaping) field. We are most pleased with his work and will recommend him highly to anyone who is looking for a landscaping consult/plan.

Description of Work
Kirk Molday has provided a wonderful landscape design for our property.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

10/29/2010


David K.

I haven?t executed the job. They do not do the installation of landscape material. They are a landscape designer. They did an absolutely excellent job and I wouldn?t hesitate recommending them to someone else. They were very professional. He develops a really nice rapport with the client.

Description of Work
They did a landscape plan for me. They also did some additional consultations.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Vision Turf & Pavers

    With long-time ties to the community, Vision Outdoor Living is committed to being here before, during and after you purchase a new product or service from us. As licensed, bonded, and insured contractors, you can rest easy when having us do work for you! We guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by Vision Turf & Pavers on Angi
    Go Future Greens

    We’ve got over 18 years of hands-on experience installing turf, putting greens, patios, walls, pavers, concrete (including stamping), firepits, walkways, irrigation systems, drains and landscape design for residential and commercial applications. We are licensed by the State of California (License # 960559 with C27-Landscaping and D61-Synthetic turf classifications). We are a family-owned business (Husband General contractor, Wife business manager, Son supervisor) and make it our mission provide Above and Beyond customer service and like we always say: “We are licensed, bonded, insured and can make anything happen – give us a chance to make you happy!”  

    Oasis Turf & Hardscape

    #1 Artificial Grass Company in Southern California We carefully and closely work with your vision to help you create an invigorating and functional space with artificial grass, putting greens, pavers and more... that not only looks great but is also one that can be enjoyed for many years with very little maintenance and a lifetime warranty!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscaping - hardscape, softscape, lighting

    Services Not Offered

    Installations.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Architectural Environments

    How is Architectural Environments overall rated?

    Architectural Environments is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Architectural Environments open?

    Architectural Environments is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    What payment options does Architectural Environments provide

    Architectural Environments accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Architectural Environments offer free estimates?

    Yes, Architectural Environments offers free project estimates.

    Does Architectural Environments offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Architectural Environments offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Architectural Environments?

    Yes, Architectural Environments offers warranties.

    What services does Architectural Environments offer?

    Architectural Environments offers the following services: Landscaping - hardscape, softscape, lighting

    Are there any services Architectural Environments does not offer?

    Installations.