Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Quality First Builders Inc

Founded 2005 • With Angi since February 2014

5.0

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Quality First Builders is a family-owned business specializing in the construction and remodeling of fine residential homes. Eli is the owner of quality first builders, and his wife Donna is the interior designer. Together they make a great team that an assist you with all your remodeling and construction needs! We can suggest design details and alternatives from our years of experience that will streamline the process and make it enjoyable, durable and functional. We put ourselves in the homeowner’s shoes. For every project we always ask ourselves "Knowing what I know, what would I do if I were spending my own money on this project?" “What is the most functional and efficient way to spend my money?” we think of everything when it comes to your project to really make each and every one of our customers happy. Quality First Builders works with owners, architects, and designers to ensure that each project is a success! We believe that a collaborative approach built on trust and open communication results in the greatest value outcome of all. Integrity is at the heart of the way we conduct business. Whether in the field or in the office, integrity is first and foremost when working with clients, subcontractors, and the entire project team ....

Other local Pros in your area

Martin's Carpentry

Martin's Carpentry is locally owned and operated out of Sylmar, CA. Please call us or click for an estimate today  

Quick Crew Builder

With over 20+ years of experience as a general contractor, we are here to help you with all your drywall, texturing, painting, framing, and hardwood flooring needs you may have. We also do electrical, light fixtures, changing receptacles, adding or replacing light fixtures, concrete work, demolition, job sight clean-ups, yard clean-ups, pressure washing exterior homes, garages, and driveways give me a call and we will be happy to give you an estimate 442-999-3588  

Five Star Painting of Woodland Hills

At Five Star Painting of Woodland Hills, our mission is simple – provide the ultimate customer experience. We understand how important choosing the right colors and design for your home or business is. Please call our Office at 310-339-0713 to schedule an appointment.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/11/2020

We had overall quite a positive experience with Eli and Donna doing an extensive remodel (starting with gutting): we redid the kitchen/dining room and a bathroom in a contemporary style, and created of a small laundry room, in our 60-year-old home. Quality First is far from the cheapest, so not for everyone, but the service level is high, and the quality seems to be as well. Anything that isn't quite right will be fixed. Donna has a great eye for design but she generally provides well-thought-out options and lets the customer specify, unless her preference is explicitly requested. Communication between designer and general contractor is good because they're a couple! Things were generally done right the first time, and on the rare occasions they weren't, it was fixed promptly. Eli has a forceful personality which one might have to resist occasionally, but always trustworthy and honest. We are very happy with our beautiful new kitchen, bath, and laundry!

Description of Work
Remodel kitchen, dining, and bathroom; create laundry room

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/05/2019

If everyone had the same experience with a remodel that we had working with Eli, Donna, and their crew, all bathrooms and kitchens would be renovated. We had a huge project and their team delivered with high quality work, on time, and without any pushback when we have questions or changes orders. Quality First’s sole goal was to update my mothers childhood family home to be a warm, friendly home for her future grandchildren. They more than delivered. Since the project was such a large scope, and the house had deep emotional attachment, we spent a lot of time researching, interviewing, and going to job sites seeing contractors work in person. Eli joked on our 5th date that maybe it was time to take the next step. The entire team is very transparent and no empty promises were made. If we had a question or an idea and it was possible, we very quickly received a detailed change order with additional cost and timeline info (granted even with the change ordered we stayed well within the initial quoted timeline). If it was not possible we received a thorough explanation if it was not up to code, or from experience Eli had a better idea. Designing with Donna was a breeze. She gave us homework assignments leading up to shopping day, and had pre-selected some materials based on preferences and budget. Our home is fully custom, with a warm, welcoming feeling. We had a closet design over and even without furniture, she commented how calming and serene she felt standing in our living room. We have already recommended Quality First to several of our friends and family, and we feel that is the best review anyone could give.

Description of Work
Home remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

06/06/2019

The only question you have to ask after working with a contractor is, "would you work with them again?" The answer for Eli and Donna is an unequivocal and enthusiastic yes! My wife and I recently did a complete remodel of our kitchen. Gutted it down to the studs, moved windows and doors, custom cabinets, new appliances—the whole deal. We had a good idea of what we wanted, but there were still things to be worked out. Eli and Donna helped us every step of the way. Eli is diligent about keeping projects on schedule. He wants to get your project completed as much as you do and is great about playing task master with his crew and subs. He even helped keep us on schedule with key decisions along the way. Eli will offer his perspective and experience on all aspects of the job. You might not always agree with him, but is opinion is valuable and allows you to make smart choices. And he always defers to the homeowner’s wishes in the end. No large contracting job is without hiccups and ours was no exception. This is where Eli really shined. When things don’t go as expected or if there is some miscommunication, Eli makes sure you are happy in the end. He works things out with his subs and suppliers to make things right, even redoing parts of a job if necessary. We’re thrilled with our kitchen. It’s our favorite room in the house and we’re ready to do a couple more projects with Quality First in the near future.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,flooring contractor,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

4.0

03/30/2019

Quality First Builders did a full remodel of our 2-bed, 2-bath condo in Santa Monica. The result is spectacular, and very well suited to our needs. Eli provided a detailed quote, with lots of specific information broken out. It was very clear what was included and what was not. Eli and Donna were both able to provide expert advice and guidance. During the quote process, Eli identified some problems that others did not, which is one of the reasons we chose to go with Quality First. There was an attention to detail that was reassuring. The project encountered some significant challenges, including the discovery of some questionable electrics and plumbing as a result of the previous owner. These added to the cost and the duration of the project, but I do not blame Quality First Builders for that -- I do not think these issues could have been foreseen until demolition was complete. Eli and his team took deadlines seriously, and although the original deadlines needed to be revised to account for these additional surprises, the work was completed ahead of the revised deadlines, which we really appreciated. The project included: - Full kitchen remodel - Extension of cabinets and counter tops through dining room - Full remodel of two bathrooms - Custom floating shelves and mantle - New doors throughout - Paint and flooring throughout - Installation of recess lights and light fixtures throughout - Tiling a large patio area, and replacing trellising So it was a large and complex project, and the result was of a high quality. Time and money both ran over, but seemed to be within reason, given the surprises left by the previous owner. There seemed to be a genuine sense of urgency and of efficiency throughout the process. The reason I cannot quite give a 5-star review is that the process was an extremely stressful one for us. To be fair to Eli and his team, the main points of stress were where third parties were involved. Anything that was completely within Eli's control was handled smoothly and well. His team does not do everything, however, and so we had to work with some other companies to fix the air-conditioning, replace the fireplace, hook up cable and internet, install closets, and replace the tile drop-ceiling in the hallway. We also had to interact with a very frustrating and unpredictable inspector. There were a lot of challenges where these different groups intersected, and where it wasn't clear who was responsible for what. We had to be more directly involved than I would have liked, and the communication was often stressful and at times became heated. My recommendation to others would be to handle as much of this sort of work as possible either before of after the main work is done. There is a clause in the contract about not working with third parties, for good reason, and in our case it turned out to be unavoidable (e.g. we discovered the AC work we had done prior was not properly permitted so the inspector would not sign off on anything else, the fireplace had to be installed before the tiling around it could be complete, etc). Eli was flexible in allowing this, and I appreciate that we got to a great result in the end, but the journey was bumpy at times. Both Eli and Donna injected creativity and problem solving. For example, the way the master bathroom was previously laid out was not up to code, and the inspector drastically limited our options, and caused Eli's team to have to do unnecessary re-work, which was frustrating. We were able to make the best of a bad situation, and the result is good looking and functional, even though our original plan was not allowed. The look and layout of our kitchen and dining area were more within our collective control, and together we achieved a really distinctive and appealing design, thanks to Eli and Donna's input. Thank you to Eli and Donna for working with us through all these challenges and getting to a great result.

Description of Work
- Full kitchen remodel - Extension of cabinets and counter tops through dining room - Full remodel of two bathrooms - Custom floating shelves and mantle - New doors throughout - Paint and flooring throughout - Installation of recess lights and light fixtures throughout - Tiling a large patio area, and replacing trellising

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,electrician,flooring contractor,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

5.0

03/26/2019

If you are in the middle of a search for a reliable contractor, you really can stop here. Eli is your guy. we have worked with a few different contractors over the years, and Eli easily ranks at the top of all those I have worked with. This specific project was a remodel of the upstairs of a 1920s Spanish colonial in Silver Lake. It involved knocking down some walls, and converting an old office space into a master suite to include a walk-in closet and a new bathroom. Also remodeling the existing bathrooms, bedrooms, and hallway. Also: all new plumbing, rewiring, install a large beam, lots of framing work, extensive new drywall, refinishing original wood floors, all new tile for walls and floors for bathrooms, original stair rail and refinish, new stair treads and landing, new exterior doors and windows, and large window in shower. It was actually a pretty big project despite the modest sqaure footage. Everything went really smoothly. All the workers were fantastic, very nice, and seemed genuinely interested in making sure we were happy. We had a few changes come up along the way, which is of course inevitable. With prior contractors, it always seemed like a fight to change anything. But with Eli, there were no problems. He just changed or fixed what was needed until we were happy. Some little examples that made me extra happy: 1) In the new bathroom, we installed a steam shower, and all the details were perfectly accounted for. The ceiling and all niche edges slope perfectly, the generator was installed well, and the glass seals everything in! It is fantastic. I wouldn't have known to account for these things without Eli, and he made it all happen. 2) The tile work was incredible. With help from Donna, we selected hand made tiles. She was always right on top of making sure the tiles were ready on time and made sure delivery went fine. Their tile workers did an absolutely fantastic job installing all the tile. It looks stunning. Without Eli and Donna, we wouldn't have had all these top quality materials and workers to make it all happen. 3) The window in the shower. It took some ingenuity to get the window to work within the plans and not require extensive structural work. But it is a glorious window. It spans nearly wall to wall and brings in a ton of light! They even framed it in so that it shows essentially no ugly vinyl frame from the inside, and it looks fantastic. 4) We installed two new wood picutre windows, and they match perfectly to the rest of the original windows we wanted to keep in the house. Eli even coordinated to have moudling custom cut to match the old out-of-production style, so all the new doors and windows match beautifully. Nice touch! 5) We had some original components we wanted to keep and incorporate, and Eli and his crew made them all work. We were able to keeping some original hardwood doors and update the mortise locksets. We were also able to keep the original wood rail - little things that really help the character of the whole house. 4) We had some plans drawn from a prior architect, and they needed some updated. Rather than us having to do it, Eli made sure to get them updated so everything was ready, and handled all the leg work with that. 5) We needed to live in the house while the upstairs was being done. The crew really went above and beyond to drape off everything so there wasn't such a huge mess, and made sure all the plumbing and electrical were always ready for us to use in the rest of the house by the time we got home. We didn't have to spend a single night in a hotel, and not a single problem! 6) Clean up was superb! Beyond expectation. In the past, my relationship with contractors has always been sort of "meh". But with Eli, I really am over-the-top happy with how everything turned out. Thanks Eli and Donna!

Description of Work
Add bathroom, remodel bathroom, extensive remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

01/03/2019

My wife and I finally decided to remodel our kitchen that had cabinets from 1955. We started by getting 4 bids. The first three came in.....looked around for 5 minutes and gave a random price. Then Eli and Donna came to our house. They asked great questions about what we wanted to do, took careful measurements, and most importantly gave great advice. There was no quote that day. We set an appointment to visit Eli and Donna at their office. We then went over a complete and detailed itemized bid. After that they already had digital renderings of how everything would look. Very professional. When I saw the bid for the job it was definitely not the cheapest or the quickest, but at that point my wife and I were sold on how competent and nice Eli and Donna were and felt like we were in good hands. Everything went as planned. Eli's team are very skilled professionals and were nice to be around. They're were no shortcuts. Permits were done and all items were brought up to code. All new plumbing and electrical. I would also like to point out that there were NO hidden costs or surprise bills out of the blue. All invoices were billed as described in the original bid. Here is the bottom line about Q1st....if you want shortcuts to save money or false promises about timing, Q1st is not for you. If you want a professional job with amazing design ideas with Donna...look no further. We could not have asked for a better job. All of our friends and family are simply amazed at the job that was done.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

11/23/2018

Eli and Donna and the whole team at Quality First Builders performed a wonderful transformation of our guest bathroom. They completely gutted our old bathroom and walked us through the many decisions one needs to make when building and designing a bathroom from the ground up. The quality of the work was great and the job was completed quickly. Construction can be messy, but this team kept the rest of our house relatively dust free and clean. Everyone from the team that we encountered was nice and seemed to take pride in their work. Donna helped narrow down our choices and took the time to understand our design aesthetic and brought us options that fit our budget and taste. Decisions about faucets, fixtures and tile can be overwhelming and Donna kept us focused. We had a couple communication hiccups, but overall I'd recommend this team for this type of project. We will likely hire them again when it comes time to redo our other bathroom.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category ceramic tile,remodeling,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed], it was a pleasure working for you and [Member Name Removed]. Thanks!
5.0

11/13/2018

I hired Quality First Builders after meeting with three different contractors and considering each extensively. Eli was competitive on price; was the only one who proposed a creative change to the kitchen remodel that I was considering; and listened to what I wanted in a big-picture sense and then made a proposal that took that feedback into account in the details. I also appreciated that Eli owned his company and necessarily was the primary contact on all issues and could make the call on issues as they (inevitably) arise, without having to clear it through anybody else. What started out as a kitchen remodel, new downstairs flooring and popcorn ceiling removal project quickly turned much larger, as is often the case. In the end, all three bathrooms were completely redone, doors and molding replaced, fireplace resurfaced, stair case redone, entire interior repainted--literally every surface of the interior of my house was touched by Eli and his crew. And I could not be happier with the result. I had a pretty strong vision of what I wanted for all the spaces, and Quality First Builders brought that vision to life. Donna's input on tile choices and fixtures and the like really helped to streamline that selection process, which can seem never-ending, and move things along. Eli's attention to detail and consistent oversight were exactly what I wanted and what big project like this needed. The quality of the crew's work at every turn was outstanding. With the expansion of the project, both the timeline and budget necessarily expanded, but once set, Eli worked hard to stay on track with both. We also had the less-than-ideal circumstance of needing to move into the house before all the remodeling work was complete--even before the kitchen was complete. This was challenging for everyone, but Eli and his crew were so great in making sure the spaces we needed ready by move-in were ready and also in making the situation of living through the ongoing remodel as painless as possible. I won't belabor things, but suffice it to say that in a world where it is hard to find a contractor who won't charge twice as much as they originally proposed and take three times as long, Quality First Builders is the one to hire. I will post pictures soon, but have no doubt that I'm extremely happy with their work and with the house I get to call home now.

Description of Work
Whole house remodel

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,electrician,flooring contractor,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

5.0

09/07/2018

They came in ahead of schedule on both projects and treated me fairly.

Description of Work
Renovated a bathroom and expanded a bedroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/10/2017

We have hired Eli to do 4 bathroom remodeling over the last 2 years. His teams were professional and did a great job. Donna’s design recommendations made it easy for us to quickly nail down the design. Eli was enthusiastic and trustworthy. I felt that he really wanted to deliver quality work. When issues came up in the project, he always tries to resolve them to make his clients happy.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation

Category remodeling

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Complete Home Remodeling Room Addition 3D Design for any project Roofing Painting Hardwood Flooring Tile Flooring Garage Conversion Counter Top Carpentry Plumbing Electrical Work

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes