Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J&R Steel Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since January 2012

We are a family owned business with over 40 years of experience. Fully Licensed, bonded and insured. LA City Certified Welder, LA City Steel Fabricator. We take great pride in the quality of our work and expertise. Contact us for a free estimate.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
5%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(22) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-22 of 22 reviews
Michaely M.
5.0
05/27/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
Uncategorized
Patricia S.
5.0
05/20/2015
We came up with a similar triangle design and they were made out of 1/4 inch steel but only on two sides of the triangle, with braces across the third side for stability. Used a natural steel (essentially black) finish with a matte clear coat. They are fantastic, love the look, and was pleasantly surprised how quickly they got the job completed. I now have my dining table back after using it for many years as a coffee table.
Description of Work
I contacted them to make two steel pedestals similar to granite ones I had for a granite table.
Category
welding
Aimee C.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
I got an estimate and am not doing the work right now, but Coby was great.
Category
welding, wrought iron
Dana L.
5.0
10/22/2014
I needed a quote and information regarding repair and replacement of a rusted out stair on an outside spiral staircase and adjacent railings. After forwarding some photos of the damaged areas, Coby was incredibly thorough explaining the process to me and why it was best to replace the staircase to ensure safety and mitigate liability. I was truly impressed with his honest approach and willingness to assist me even though my initial contact was for a repair only. I highly recommend Coby and J & R Steel for ironwork replacement or repair, and would not hesitate to use J & R Steel in the future.
Description of Work
Excellent Customer Service and Attention to Detail
Category
welding
Cheryl S.
1.0
10/13/2014
The provider did not return my call for a quote. I ended up using someone else.
Description of Work
The provider did not call me back to provide a quote.
Category
welding
Miljenko P.
5.0
09/23/2014
Timely, professional, and the work was well done.
Description of Work
Constructed a structure for gardening purposes.
Category
wrought iron
Geoffrey G.
5.0
06/11/2014
Very happy with the end result. I did quite a bit of research on different companies to fabricate and install railings for the inside of my condo. Ultimately decided to go with J&R because of the reviews found on Angie's List. I liked the fact that it was a family operation and they were very responsive from the start. I met with Coby and he provided me a with a couple options - he was courteous and responsive to all my questions and phone calls. He provided samples of some of the different options we were considering so I could have a better idea of what the finished product would look like and he was willing to work with me on making sure the design was exactly what I was looking for. Fabrication was done in a timely manner and I was provided with periodic updates along the way. On the day of install, Coby came out with his dad and brother to complete the install. They were all very friendly and respectful and got the installation done within the allotted time and made sure to minimize any mess as I have a young baby at home - even went so far as to purchase a new welding machine that did not spark so they could make final welds at my house without needing to lay down blankets to make sure there were no small fibers left on the floor that the baby might find. At the end of the installation, there were a couple items that needed to be touched up. Coby was excellent about following up to schedule the touch up work and make sure the job was completed to our satisfaction. He didn't have to follow up as they had already received full payment for the job. This was a true testament to they type of people they are and I would happily do business with J&R Steel again.
Description of Work
Fabricate and install stainless steel railings
Category
fencing, welding
James B.
5.0
05/21/2014
J & R Steel "saved the day" in a truly remarkable way. The City of Los Angeles required a certified welder and field deputy inspector to do supplemental welding on a roof rail that had been engineered. The stainless steel rail installer I'd hired, had no certified welders and was at a loss how to finish up the job. Not knowing where to turn and not thinking I'd find a welder on Angie's List, to my great surprise, I found J & R Steel. J & R Steel had a certified welder who could work on stainless steel and was able to arrange for a City-required field inspector, too. J & R was extremely helpful, courteous, knowledgeable, prompt, fair, cleaned up work areas when done, respectful, punctual and did an outstanding job that passed City of LA inspections the next day after they finished. They even arranged for the field deputy inspector, but, by law, I had to pay the deputy inspector separately as they are an independent observer. All in all, would would not hesitate one second to recommend this company to anyone. Coby Cohen was my contact and they takegreat pride in their work.
Description of Work
Certified welder did welding on roof railing made of stainless steel.
Category
welding
Maria C.
5.0
05/07/2014
unknown
Category
welding, wrought iron

Service Provider Response

we are very glad that we were able to help [Member Name] preserve the sentimental value of her outdoor steel furniture.
Laura M.
5.0
02/21/2014
I found J&R through Angie's List. Someone stole me Tankless Water Heater, so he came out and gave me a quote to put a security cage up. Since I did not want to replace the WH until the tank was in place, Coby worked hard to get it to me ASAP. I also had him do some other work to make my house a bit more secure. He is a great guy - very easy to work with. He and his dad know what they are doing. Thanks!
Description of Work
He built a cage for my tankless water heater, put a gate up in my yard and put steel covers on my crawl space.
Category
fencing, welding

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] is an absolute pleasure to work with. we are very glad that we were able to help [member name removed] and her husband with the security issues they were having at their home.
DEREK L.
5.0
01/26/2014
Coby was very responsive from first contact and worked with us on various options to meet our budget. He showed up on time and delivered on what was promised. We were very impressed and will not hesitate to work with J&R Steel again!
Description of Work
Fabrication and installation of two steel stair handrails in a modern residence in Santa Monica.
Category
welding

Service Provider Response

[removed member name], thanks for the great review. fabricating and installing those hand railings along the stairs in their home by the beach was a great experience. [removed member name] made us feel very comfortable and was very helpful in preparing the work area for us.
Mark P.
5.0
01/02/2014
Very easy to deal with, professional and done quickly
Description of Work
Welded post caps on steel fence posts
Category
fencing, welding

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] was very prompt in scheduling and payment. very glad to work with him on this project.
Jerry N.
5.0
06/13/2013
J&R Steel, Inc. came out right away and looked at my project and gave a quote. I had a pretty good experience in dealing with them. I didn't pursue on using their service because I needed the work to be done fast and their estimated time is a little longer than expected.
Description of Work
I contacted J&R Steel, Inc. to estimate costs for a project.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], a complete professional, thanks for the great review! sorry we were not able to work together on this particular project. but we are looking forward to seeing future projects that might be in store.
Linda M.
5.0
04/29/2013
Great
Description of Work
J&R Steel helped me with my steel and welding needs. I was going in the wrong direction and they staightened me out. Didn't charge me a cent. Nice to have people like this willing to help.
Category
welding

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], always a pleasure to help someone with a bit of the right information, even if we cannot do the actual work for you.
Miljenko P.
5.0
04/13/2013
unknown
Description of Work
Excellent service, very friendly, on time,reasonably priced. Will definitely use again.
Category
welding
Annette S.
5.0
02/14/2013
Coby arranged the initial appointment in response to my e-mail describing the job. His partner Joe visited the next afternoon to review the job. I received an estimate the next day. I collected 3 other estimates. The ironwork was the same price over the 4 estimates but only two contractors were able to include the painting and general construction work needed for the dog doorway to complete my project. The other fence contractor who would sub out the paintwork did not have licensing or bonding which tipped the scales to J&R for me. J&R negotiated a price with me that helped me make the decision on a Thursday and Coby picked up a deposit on Friday. On the following Monday morning Joe showed up with a helper to do the install and make the gate repair. And the helper started the prepping for the paintwork. Everything was done by Wednesday morning. Painting the existing iron fencing was a tedious job for just one person, and the fence needed a lot of pre-sanding. The single coat primer+paint job isn't exactly even or smooth, and it wasn't possible to reach the badly rusted bottom edge in many places, but I'm satisfied. My only criticism is that no one phoned ahead to make the appointment for the Monday install. Fortunately someone was working from home that day but the intrusion was unexpected and a bit of an annoyance. Coby and Joe were eager to please, seemed very knowledgable and have sufficient experience and resources to provide some services in addition to just welding and ironwork which saved me having to work with several contractors or handymen at the same time.
Description of Work
13' ft of custom 3' fencing w/gate (dog run), repair of current gate, dog "doorway", and repainting of existing 200' of iron fencing.
Category
fencing, welding
Sarah F.
5.0
01/30/2013
It was the best experience I have had with construction vendors, dealing with many people over 3 years of various reconstruction home home projects. Exemplary customer service -- timely, communicative, and good quality work. I added a second story to a small space but it was important to me to have stairs rather than a ladder. The only way to decrease the pitch of the stairs for my modern but very limited space was for an architect to draw up plans for "alternating stairs". I went to 4 different welders who refused the work because it was too complicated. Coby and his father understood the modern aesthetics and helped make some alterations to complete the project quickly and with less customization, bring the overall cost down significantly.
Description of Work
Can't say enough good things
Category
welding

Service Provider Response

We here at J&R STEEL INC. Pride ourselves in being able to take on projects others couldn't or wouldn't being able to help the customer with her loft project was an absolute pleasure. Together we came up with the right adjustments to make these stairs look just right, considering the height and spacing of the renovated room. We hope that you are very happy with the work and service we provided, and hope to hear from you again on your next project.
Carsten B.
5.0
01/05/2013
I needed a metal base frame build according to my specifications. Working with J&R Steel was a great experience. I faxed them my drawings over night and asked for a call and quote. The next day I got a call, answered the questions to get clarification, took their suggestions to improve it, agreed on a price and in less then 24h it was done. Very professional and easy to do business with. Great shop, great people and great results. That's the way I like it. I wish there would be more shops like J&R.
Description of Work
J&R Steel fabricated a metal base frame according to my specifications. It involved metal fabrication, welding and some finishing. They even spray painted it, which was a nice and welcome surprise.
Category
welding, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for choosing J&R STEEL INC. We were very happy to be able to fabricate what Member requested within his budget and time frame. Very Professional. we hope to see you again soon.
peter K.
5.0
12/21/2012
He did the R&D, built it and it's just great. Quick turnaround, great quality work, reasonable price, very accommodating (worked with me on a Sunday morning) and friendly service. So good to work with this shop, and good to know I've got a quality metal fabricator when I need one. It's a no brainer, use this guy!
Description of Work
Hired Coby Cohen of J &R to do some fabrication for a gaming cockpit (used for driving games).
Category
welding, wrought iron, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

We cannot say how much of a pleasure it was to be able to work on Member's gaming cockpit.
Hassan E.
4.0
09/12/2012
Coby came and gave an estimate for about a thirty foot section of steel fence in the rear of my yard. He was prompt, courteous and his communication before and after the visit was impeccable. The price was fair and around in the middle of other estimates. We didn't go through with the job when some unforseen expenses came up and forced us to put things on hold. Otherwise I'd recommend giving them a call.
Description of Work
.Estimate for steel fence.
Category
fencing
Danielle W.
5.0
07/24/2012
I couldn't have asked for a better experience. My dog broke my wood gate and Coby from J&R came out to my home to measure right away and make me a new gate. It was done and installed very quickly! They were also able to take away the old gate and discard of it. I plan on using them again to do the rest of my gates!
Description of Work
measure and replace side yard gate and discard of old wood gate
Category
fencing, welding, wrought iron
M C.
5.0
07/21/2012
I had a fence put up around my rental properties front yard last summer from someone on craigslist. Everything looked great until after this winter, the bottom of the fence was already rusted and some of the in the middle bars became loose. I found J&R Steel through a local online search, I wasn't using Angie's List at the time. I called and spoke with Coby, who I believe is one of the owners, he came out and gave me a quote for $3,000 to redo the whole fence new. I thought it was a fair price but I was able to negotiate a little and bring it down to $2,750. I gave them a deposit to start the job, and I must say I was very impressed when they showed up 2 days later with the fence mostly completed on a trailer. It took them about 5 hours to install everything. Wow, was I impressed with the work, it was only $1,000 more than what I paid last year, but even from my untrained eye, you can see a huge difference in the thickness of the metal and the quality of the workmanship. Everything was as straight as an arrow (couldn't say the same about the "other" guy that built the first fence last year). They told me they have been in business for 20 or 30 years and that they guarantee their material and work on my fence for 5 years. I was happy with hearing that and in the end I was overall very satisfied. Thank you Coby and J&R Steel, you guys were great.
Description of Work
Perimeter fence for front yard of a regular residential home (one of my rental properties). Removed the old fence that rotted from rust and weather, and install new fence. Fence was mostly built at their shop and final installation was done at the house.
Category
fencing

Phone

Address

18356 Oxnard St #10

Tarzana, CA 91356

Other Information

Services offered

Wrought iron. Stairs. Railings. Security & privacy fencing. Driveway gates. Pedestrian gates. Security gates. Metal decks & patios. Ornamental doors. Structural steel. Stainless steel. Aluminum. On site repair service. Custom fabrication & Installation.

Services not offered

Rain gutters. Plastic welding.

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

J&R Steel Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

J&R Steel Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

J&R Steel Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, J&R Steel Inc offers free project estimates.

No, J&R Steel Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, J&R Steel Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, J&R Steel Inc offers warranties.

J&R Steel Inc offers the following services: Wrought iron. Stairs. Railings. Security & privacy fencing. Driveway gates. Pedestrian gates. Security gates. Metal decks & patios. Ornamental doors. Structural steel. Stainless steel. Aluminum. On site repair service. Custom fabrication & Installation.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

We specialize in garage motor repair, installing garage motor, gate intercom, gate repair/welding, intercom service, intercom installation, access control and much more.  

Mulholland Brand

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Mulholland Brand

**WE OFFER THE LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEED** Mulholland Brand is a high-end direct manufacturer of low maintenance aluminum gates, fences, railings, and pergolas. For direct to consumer installations, we only offer the best quality to customers. With over 25 years of experience and a 4.9/5 star average user rating on Google and Yelp, you can count on us to do an amazing job. If you are looking for the highest quality manufacturing and installations, call us today at 818-639-3820 or check us out at http://www.mulhollandbrand.com for great service, great passion, and the best security gates in Los Angeles!