Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bill Syms Bath Maintenance

Founded 1989 • With Angi since May 2011

Looking to have the job done right the first time? Bill Syms and his (Licensed) sub contractors have been serving the Los Angeles community with expertise and professionalism for over 20 years. Bonded and Insured, Bill Syms will make sure that your project (big or small) is performed in the manner that you would expect from a licensed professional. Let's do it right the first time!

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(32) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 32 reviews
Mark S.
5.0
04/16/2017
Very well.
Description of Work
Toilet was stopped up.
Category
plumbing
arthur P.
5.0
04/12/2017
First rate job and a pleasure working with Bill.
Description of Work
reglazed bathtub
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing
DEBORAH E.
5.0
02/02/2017
They did a great job.
Description of Work
Tub surround was sanded and repainted.
Category
bathtub refinishing
Richard M.
5.0
08/15/2016
I recently hired Bill to bring our plumbing up to code and to repair and resurface two acrylic tub/shower surrounds. If you want your property to be as good as new, he is your man. He was professional, thorough, responsive, honest and fair. He is a licensed plumber so can do all of the stuff inside the walls and then is meticulous in repairing and reglazing the bathroom. One of our shower surrounds had started to crack and had been repaired in an amateurish way. I was worried that I'd have to pay for a whole new enclosure but Bill properly repaired the existing unit and it really does look brand new. Not only is Bill licensed, but he carries all of the appropriate insurance. He was a pleasure to work with, excellent at communicating, knows his stuff and did a great job - what more could you want?!
Description of Work
Repair and Reglaze 2 acrylic tub/shower surrounds, replace out of code plumbing hardware inside the walls, install new toilets, hoses, garbage disposal, faucets.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I really appreciate the kind words you left here and on Yelp. Thanks you very much for your business!
Bonnie W.
5.0
08/05/2016
I am absolutely amazed by how GREAT the bathrooms look!! I did not expect such a beautiful transformation. Bill is a true professional.
Description of Work
We are planning on selling our condo and needed to upgrade and improve the look of two bathrooms without spending an absolute fortune. We had Bill come out and reglaze our vanities, reglaze tub/shower, replace old frosted shower doors with glass doors, replace all fixtures and in addition did some plumbing.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you very much for the kind words. Glad I could be of service to you!
Dennis N.
5.0
06/28/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Install Shower plumbing and Shower door
Category
plumbing
David S.
3.0
03/10/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Bill told me he would do a tub refinish and a small tile job himself. He didn't, but sent a worker whose work was just average. Bill didn't come and inspect the job afterwards. He was very insistent on getting paid before performing the second part of the job, which I eventually decided to do myself because of a two week gap between Bill's availability. Even though originally he had said both jobs could be done in one day. I was disappointed in his service.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, plumbing
samuel W.
1.0
01/01/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Never returned call after sending pics
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Forgive me for (somehow) not getting back to you. There were 2 periods in December where all of my text messages were blanked out, maybe that was the issue here. Could have also been that working 12-14 hours, 7 days a week (to keep up with all the inquiries I receive on social media sites like Angie's List) that this may have been a job that I just couldn't get too. Either way, everyone here at Bill Syms Bath Maintenance thanks you for (instead of trying to call me) posting my first "F" review on this site. I hope you understand that posting adverse reviews (such as this) has drastic affects on a small business like mine. Keep this in mind the next time you cast judgement (so quickly) on someone who (for some reason) did not call you back.
Mara N.
5.0
09/28/2015
Billy and his team were great. Billy himself answered the phone when I called to get a quote and her immediately gave us a quote over the phone and sent us an email confirming the price. His employee showed up right on time on the scheduled date and was there all day. They did a beautiful job and our bathtub looks brand new.
Description of Work
Reglazed our old bathtub.
Category
bathtub refinishing
Darlene H.
5.0
06/29/2015
He's pretty good, he actually went and buy the special tool, because I had oil rubbed bronze finished closets that's scratched, to be able to put all my stuff in.
Description of Work
He came out replaced one of my sprinkler system a few months ago, he did my whole bathroom
Category
plumbing
SYD R.
5.0
12/08/2014
It went very well! He is a great worker.
Description of Work
Installation of tile and a bath tub.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
Darlene H.
5.0
11/19/2014
It was my first using the company and the service went great. He is very meticulous in his work. He even went out for a special tool so he would not scratch my fixtures. 3-4 guys helped him install our claw foot tub. He is pretty punctual and will show up when he says he will. It was very easy to schedule the service.
Description of Work
I hired the company for rough plumbing and finished plumbing for the bathroom. He installed the tub, toilet and did all of the shower stuff.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing
Susan T.
5.0
11/19/2014
The service went well. He did a very good job and his work was top notch. He was very informative and knowledgeable in his field. He was able to talk about his work and materials like no other company I had used for this service. He was great with the cleanup after the job and there were no drips or runs in the resurfacing. His work lasted and did not peel like another company I had used. He was happy to explain what he would be doing and to talk with us. He gave us instructions on how to maintain the tub. He was very thorough and meticulous. It was very easy to schedule the service and he showed up as scheduled. He was great at following up through email after the job. I would definitely use the company again.
Description of Work
I hired the company for some tub resurfacing in our apartment.
Category
bathtub refinishing
reyna N.
5.0
10/30/2014
Bill opened up my floor in the shower and moved the drain to center and installed a new drain. floor was patched up really nice. he installed the shower valve and added some studs he believed to be questionable. He installed a new valve for my soaking tub and hooked up my sink and faucet. Bill is a really honest guy. He tells you what you need and wont let you waist money. Bill was very neat and clean and showed up on time. I am very happy with his work. The way it looked when he was done was so neatly done, its a shame it had to be covered up. I could tell with out a doubt this wasn't his first or even thousandth job. Very professional workman ship and I will refer him with out a doubt to everyone I know.
Description of Work
Bill was referred to me by my tile contractor. I was told he's also on angies list. Bill came out to do my plumbing consisting of a shower valve, new shower drain that he moved to the center of the shower, tub valve and sink hook ups.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
Cheri S.
5.0
10/22/2014
He was a consummate professional and I'm so impressed I will be using him for projects around my house. He is also a licensed plumber!
Description of Work
Bill Syms did a beautiful job of reglazing my tub. He also replaced my old shower doors and the job is beautiful.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing

Service Provider Response

I strive to be the professional you expect when you hire a licensed professional to do work in your home. Thank you for your business!
John F.
5.0
09/29/2014
Bill has great talent at his skill. He is very thorough in every step he takes in the process. He is neat and clean and the finished product looks great! If you need re-glazing on any of your fixtures, Bill is the one for the job.
Description of Work
Bill re-glazed a bathtub and put in new drain and p-trap with overflow.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks (member name removed). You should expect this kind of service from a licensed contractor and I try to provide that with each job I do. Being on time, clean and caring about the finished product is me respecting your home and your decision to choose me to perform work in (and in your case under) your home. Thanks again for the kind review and your business!
Victoria C.
5.0
08/23/2014
Bill did an excellent job in our kids bathroom. Hi did the rough plumbing for our tub to shower conversion. He also installed the toilet and the new bathroom fixtures. He is very thorough and will not do a shortcut just to finish the job. He is honest and meticulous. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone.
Description of Work
- Rough Plumbing Shower Valve Remove existing shower valve, riser and 2"x 4" lumber supporting plumbing. Remove risers and vertical runs due to electrolysis damage and replace with new 1/2" L copper tubing. Set new Delta shower valve with riser using 1/2" L copper tubing. Brace and support with 2"x 4" lumber and copper straps. Re-install shielding to romex wiring running through this bay under vertical copper water supplies. Tape vertical runs with 2 layers of 20mil protective tape. - Convert bathtub drain to shower application. Remove existing PVC waste / overflow assembly, p-trap and section of 2" waste line. Fabricate new waste line, p-trap and tail piece using 2" ABS piping. Couple to existing PVC piping using ABS to PVC glue. Open up sub flooring and replace with 3/4" CDX plywood. Install new 2" cast iron "insta-set" shower drain. Install 2"x 4" lumber for shower dam and doorskin for shower pan.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Sara T.
5.0
08/16/2014
We were looking to give our bathroom an update but didn't have the budget or time to do a complete gut and remodel on the only bathroom in our house. We decided on a more budget friendly facelift which included reglazing the tub and all the tile on the shower and surrounding bathroom walls, replacing the bathroom floor, and replacing the toilet and vanity for new fixtures. Bill Syms is honest, hard working, punctual, and is excellent at what he does. He takes pride in his work and it shows - the bathroom looks amazing and completely brand new. Even when we discovered 3 layers of vinyl tile under the current floor which involved removal of all the tile and existing subfloor, installation of a new subfloor, and leveling our bathroom floor in our old and crooked house, the project was finished within the expected window and there were no added charges to his already fair pricing. As an added bonus, Bill is a licensed plumber. We were kept updated during the project with pictures and text messages. We are planning on hiring him again to retile our kitchen floor and add a backsplash down the line. Whether you want a small upgrade or a complete remodel, we highly recommend him!
Description of Work
Reglazed bathtub and 3 walls of tile. Replaced and retiled the bathroom floor. Installed new toilet and vanity
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
Dennis N.
5.0
07/21/2014
Bill does quality work. He was willing to provide the service on time in order to complete the job on time. Bill is able to determine what needs to be done and do it right. He was helpful with his suggestions on how to install the sink and grab bar as well as the type of shower door purchase. If you want quality work at a fair price you need Bill Syms.
Description of Work
Install new shower trap and rebuild joists and sub-floor. Install new shower valve, sink, sink drain, and sink valves. Obtain and install shower door.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Dennis N.
5.0
07/21/2014
Bill shows up on time, performs quality work, and cleans up when the job is completed. He is a pleasure to work with and freely gives helpful advice. If you want quality work you need to call Bill Syms. Thanks Bill
Description of Work
Install new shower trap, drain, cement floor Re-install vanity, vanity drain, vanity valves, shower valves and shower door.
Category
plumbing
Renay H.
5.0
07/19/2014
Bill was on time, professional and reasonably priced. We learned he does remodeling and will consider him for a kitchen remodel we want to do.
Description of Work
Fixed 3 leaking sinks
Category
plumbing
Stephanie K.
5.0
07/05/2014
The experience with Bill Syms Bath Maintenance was a positive one. Billy Syms is what you want in a contractor -- very knowledgeable/skilled, honest, budget-minded, reliable. He's totally accessible, and stays in communication. He is pleasant and friendly. Once schedule was set up, they kept exactly as planned. No delays. No surprises. Went as smooth as you could hope for. Outcome of the work was quality. Billy knows his business, thoroughly explains options, and seriously takes pride in his work.
Description of Work
Removed and gutted shower/bath surround. Installed surround tiling, new fixtures, new shower door, and new toilet. Reglazed tub.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
Carolyn M.
5.0
06/06/2014
We weren't moved into our new house yet, so Bill had time to reglaze our tub and showers and install new fixtures for us. we couldn't afford a full bathroom remodel, but thanks to Bill we got new looking showers and tub and new fixtures in two bathrooms for less than $2500. I particularly appreciated that he let us save money by selecting and purchasing our own fixtures.
Description of Work
Full reglazing of two shower and a bathtub. Installed new bathroom vanities and toilets.
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing
Courtney B.
5.0
01/29/2013
Bill Syms did an excellent job re-glazing our shower! I can't describe how gross our old shower was -- it had become so dirty with mold that it was impossible to clean. The sliding door and tracks were also in horrible shape. Bill came in and in less than 2 days we had a gorgeous white glazed shower and beautiful glass shower door. It totally opened up the bathroom and we love the quality of the work. Bill was on time, charged exactly what he quoted us, and did the work expertly and efficiently. He also replaced the shower head. Bill took the time to discuss future care of the shower and door to keep it looking great. Would love to work with him again.
Description of Work
Re-glazed shower and replaced shower door
Category
bathtub refinishing, plumbing
Jeany P.
5.0
05/03/2011
We had a couple of scheduling issues the first time around but once Billy arrived he quickly fixed the problem. He generously shared his expertise on a couple of issues I had and some thoughts on remodeling the bath. When he looked at an outside leak I was having, he had no problem saying that it was a bit more than he wanted to tackle and gave me a reference to another plumbing company better suited to a bigger job. I really appreciated his honesty and will definitely be using him again!
Description of Work
Removed and replaced tub valve stems. Looked at hot water tap and fixed kink.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

5412 Veloz Avenue

Tarzana, CA 91356

Other Information

Services offered

From detailing an existing bath to complete remodels, Bill Syms offers a wide range of services and holds licenses in Plumbing (C36), Tile (C54) and Synthetic Products (C61). He has spent over twenty years remodeling, many jobs all by himself. There is no better bathtub refinisher out there and is an expert in plumbing repairs and tile setting. For expedited responses, please call Billy Syms at (818) 515-3731. Talk to the owner!

Services not offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Bill Syms Bath Maintenance is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Bill Syms Bath Maintenance is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Bill Syms Bath Maintenance accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Bill Syms Bath Maintenance offers free project estimates.

Yes, Bill Syms Bath Maintenance offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bill Syms Bath Maintenance does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Bill Syms Bath Maintenance offers warranties.

Bill Syms Bath Maintenance offers the following services: From detailing an existing bath to complete remodels, Bill Syms offers a wide range of services and holds licenses in Plumbing (C36), Tile (C54) and Synthetic Products (C61). He has spent over twenty years remodeling, many jobs all by himself. There is no better bathtub refinisher out there and is an expert in plumbing repairs and tile setting. For expedited responses, please call Billy Syms at (818) 515-3731. Talk to the owner!

Other Local Pros In Your Area

The Plumbing Stars

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

The Plumbing Stars

Here to help you with all your plumbing needs  

The Water Heater Company

5.0

(27)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

The Water Heater Company

The Water Heater Company provides reliable and high-quality plumbing services to customers in Los Angeles, Ventura, and Santa Barbara Counties. Our team is proud of working for more than 20 years in the plumbing industry. We offer upfront pricing, transparent processes, and open communication so customers understand what is happening during every step of their plumbing job. We are known for providing excellent customer service to homeowners. The team at The Water Heater Company is experienced, trained, licensed, and are available to handle your plumbing emergencies 24/7. Our knowledgeable technicians provide customers with affordable water heater and plumbing solutions that are timely and high quality. Our specialists stand behind the work completed with a customer satisfaction guarantee. Call in the experts at The Water Heater Company today for help with your home water heater and plumbing problems.  

IND Construction, LLC.

5.0

(78)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

IND Construction, LLC.

At IND construction, we believe that the heart lives where the home is. We do more than construct homes; we commit to caring, design & beauty. Why IND? High-Quality Homes With High Standards Of Excellence! For over 14 years, IND Construction has offered Design & Build construction services throughout Los Angeles and the San Fernando Valley. We specialize in residential remodeling, including New Construction and Custom Home Building, Additions of All Types, Complete Home Renovations, Kitchens and Baths, Design, and Planning. We help take your blue-sky concepts and turn your dream remodel into a reality! Our commitment is to preserve the origins of the structure, integrated with our specialized interior designs. As a fully licensed (License #937833), bonded & insured remodeling company, we are reliable, trustworthy & reputable. From our family to yours, our #1 goal is your satisfaction! Services Provided Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs), Custom Home, Garage Building, Guesthouse Design & Construction, Home Additions, Home Remodeling, New Home Construction, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling Awards * NKBA - National Kitchen & Bath Association * NARI - National Association of the remodeling industry * Best of Houzz Service Award, 2014-2016 * 2012 Angie's List- Super Service Award