Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance

Founded 2006 • With Angi since May 2011

Based out of Encino, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance is an owner-operated landscaping company that offers 15 years of experience and provides services such as lawn maintenance, hardscaping, hedge trimming, weed control, lawn irrigation installation and other services.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(80) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

64

4

2

3

1

2

3

1

10

Rating Details

Price
4.6
Professionalism
4.8
Punctuality
4.8
Quality
4.8
Responsiveness
4.7

Read reviews by category

lawn care (73)lawn & landscaping (31)irrigation system (21)tree service (20)leaf removal (11)lawn treatment (9)hauling (2)hardscaping (1)
Showing 1-25 of 80 reviews
Zeena I.
5.0
05/02/2021
Rigo provided a very reasonable estimate. They did a tremendous amount of work. The end result was GREAT. He communicates well. Tells us clearly, what he can and cannot do. Gives us good reasons. His team is polite and gets the job done. (Rigo also does our monthly yard work, and the same excellent service comes through there as well.)
Description of Work
Tree cutting
Category
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, tree service
Cost
$2,500
Hire Again?
Yes
Peter E.
5.0
01/07/2019
Very satisfied with Rigo and team. We’ve been using Purple Trees for over a year and they do a great job every week. The guys are always on time and Rigo is very responsive when we have any questions or additional needs. Our property has a broad mix of hedges, plants and lawn along with several oak trees and they are able to handle it all. Would definitely recommend.
Description of Work
Residential landscape maintenance on ongoing basis.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Hire Again?
Yes
Roxanne S.
5.0
10/12/2018
Rigo and his team are AMAZING. I initially hired him for our construction company - he has been maintaining 3 luxury homes in Calabasas as well as our office and all of our vacant lots and slopes throughout the community we are building, but he does such great work that basically our entire office hired him for our personal homes as well! Rigo's team sticks to their schedule weekly and is always on time. He's also done any additional work we've asked - trimming trees, fertilizing the grass when needed, replacing sprinkler heads, you name it! He's also full of suggestions that pertain to your personal yard - what would work for your climate, plants that work with your budget, upkeep level, etc. We are extremely happy with Purple Trees and can't recommend them enough. (My approx. cost is for my personal yard.)
Description of Work
Residential AND Commercial Landscape Maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, leaf removal, tree service
Cost
$130
Hire Again?
Yes
Michele S.
5.0
10/05/2016
Everything looks great. Rigo is totally responsive to any requests. His prices are more than reasonable for his crew's high quality work. We had quotes for over twice what he charges us for weekly service by people who can't hold a candle to him in terms of quality.
Description of Work
Weekly maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment
Hire Again?
Yes
SUSY H.
1.0
02/25/2016
I requested that Rigo come to give me a bid on weekly maintenance. From the time we met, he had an bad attitude about all the landscaping because it is very old and overgrown. He did walk around with me and basically told me that nothing could be done to make it look better, but only to maintain. When I told him that we were renting and he would be dealing with the landlord, he didn't like that. Then when I mentioned that the landlord was Persian, he really didn't like that. He did agree to give me a bid if I would send him my email, which I did. Never heard another word from him. It was obvious that he didn't want to be bothered with the job, so instead of wasting both of our time, he should have just come out and said so. I was very disappointed.
Description of Work
n/a
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Amanda R.
1.0
02/24/2016
Rigo came to scope out what our yard needed. He seemed knowledgeable and we talked about everything we hoped to do. Our yard was freshly landscaped, but the landscaper hadn't set up the sprinklers properly, and with the heat, all the new plants were in distress. Rigo seemed very skilled based on his recommendations and his questions. We hired him on the spot. He said that he wouldn't be coming regularly, but that his crew was great and he'd relay everything to them. The crew came once or twice, skipped the whole week of thanksgiving without notice, and never got the sprinklers turned on. I tried talking with them, showing that the plants were dry and showing them the sprinkler controls. They didn't know what they were doing, and said they'd talk to boss about it. Twice. They didn't even water anything with a hose since they weren't tweaking the sprinklers like Rigo had agreed to. Rigo's voicemail was full. After about 3 weeks, I had to fire them because my yard was suffering.
Description of Work
He was supposed to get my sprinklers up and running and my yard back in shape with weekly maintenance.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
Cost
$185
Hire Again?
Yes
Laura L.
5.0
02/11/2016
his company has been so great and i've never had an issue. Rigo;'s work is amazing. I have a bunch of indoor and outdoor plants, and terrariums. Whenever a plant needs to be replaced he lets me know and picks a new one up for me. We have receievd so many compliments thanks to him!!
Description of Work
Care and maintenance of all plants at my business.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$300
Hire Again?
Yes
Peter L.
5.0
11/20/2015
These guys were good they just mowed our lawn and trimmed some bushes for us but did a good job. They also cleaned up after themselves so the service provided was excellent.
Description of Work
Did a fine job mowing and trimming our yard
Category
lawn service
Cost
$135
Hire Again?
Yes
Michael R.
5.0
10/25/2015
Rigo Perez was a wonderful partner in our front yard landscaping project. Throughout the entire process, his responsiveness and follow-through was impeccable. We had a very clear idea of what we wanted the end result to look like and he was always ready with appropriate suggestions - plants, irrigation, hardscape ideas - that we might not have considered before. He was always gracious and professional whenever my wife and I would make layout or planting changes. He and his crew worked tirelessly to complete the project and eventhough they finished ahead of schedule, we feel that none of the workmanship was sacrificed. The end result is something everyone can take pride in and we get regular compliments on how great the yard looks from passers-by. We've used Rigo and Purple Trees for over a year now as our weekly maintenance crew. Best decision we've made as homeowners.

Images

Review for Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance - PO Box 922922, Sylmar, CA - 29746053Review for Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance - PO Box 922922, Sylmar, CA - 29746053Review for Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance - PO Box 922922, Sylmar, CA - 29746053
Description of Work
Removal and hauling of approximately 1000 sqft of turf; grading & amending soil; converting 3 existing sprinkler zones to 3 dedicated drip zones and 1 sprinkler zone; covering all removal areas with weedblock material; laying out a decomposed granite pathway and seating area; planting of drought-tolerant plants, mulching all newly planted beds
Category
hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service
Cost
$10,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Carina L.
2.0
08/10/2015
Rigo came out and investigated the plan. First, he was an hour late for the appointment. After he was finished investigating my yard, he asked me for my email so he could send an estimate. Never heard back from him!
Description of Work
Site investigation
Category
landscaping
Chelsie S.
5.0
08/06/2015
The job was done right guys were really nice they really looked as if they what they were doing. They left our yard looking clean thanks a lot to these guys for the job well done.
Description of Work
They came and did some lawn work for us like cutting our grass and some plant trimming. They even fixed one of our sprinkler heads.
Category
lawn service, irrigation systems
Cost
$140
Hire Again?
Yes
James B.
2.0
07/21/2015
Estimate for bi-weekly backyard work was way too high compared to others. More than double the price
Description of Work
Got estimate for backyard maintenance.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$150
Randy T.
5.0
07/15/2015
They were really great they worked hard and got our lawn looking real nice. My wife as a small garden that she usually takes care of and she had been planing to add a couple of plants to the in there so she decided to have these guys do it for her so they did at a minimal charge. We want to thank this company for working h****** making our lawn look nice and cleaning up for themselves maybe we'll start using you guys more.
Description of Work
They trimmed our bushes, mowed our lawn, and even planted a couple of plants my wife ask if they could.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$160
Hire Again?
Yes
Nancy G.
1.0
06/18/2015
Rigo came to see the garden/patio area that needed a complete re-do. The very tall magnolia tree needed to be removed, I needed an irrigation system put in along with ground cover, stepping stones for a path and several other plants. He met me on Friday, said he would try to get me the estimate over the weekend, I thought at least by Monday I would have an estimate. To date, a week later, no estimate has been sent to me. I have hired another landscape company to do all the work tomorrow. I am really surprised that Rigo did not get back to me. I see on this site that he does jobs that are significantly smaller than what I need so I would think he would welcome the business. It's a mystery to me why someone would take time out of their Friday evening to view a job site and then never contact the potential customer again.
Description of Work
Rigo came to see the garden/patio area that needed a complete re-do. The very tall magnolia tree needed to be removed, I needed an irrigation system put in along with ground cover, stepping stones for a path and several other plants. He met me on Friday, said he would try to get me the estimate over the weekend, I thought at least by Monday I would have an estimate. To date, a week later, no estimate has been sent to me. I have hired another landscape company to do all the work tomorrow. I am really surprised that Rigo did not get back to me. I see on this site that he does jobs that are significantly smaller than what I need so I would think he would welcome the business. It's a mystery to me why someone would take time out of their Friday evening to view a job site and then never contact the potential customer again.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Lauren H.
2.0
03/16/2015
I contacted Rigo to do 2 projects in my yard. He said that he would be interested in the projects, coming by, and giving me a quote. He was prompt in stopping by... but never delivered on the quote. If he wasn't interested in the job.. why didn't he let me know in the first place rather than wasting my time. Im a busy mom of 2 and I don't have time for unresponsive companies like this. Not impressed.
Description of Work
Nothing. he never got back to me after an initial meeting.
Category
lawn service
Paul O.
1.0
11/09/2014
His people left a big hole in the middle of my garden and left for the weekend without telling me. They also uprooted and discarded my daisy flowers from the backyard without consulting with me. My lawn has become pretty dry and there was fungus after Rigo and his team took over. I called more than a dozen time to ask him to give me a call. He never bothered to call me even once. To be frank, he is the worst gardener that I have ever had. Also, the contract was weekly and they did not do the work the whole Labor Day week. When I asked him, he did not bother to make it up the missing service and simply said this is the way it is. I think Purpletrees is riding on their fame... Since then, I have changed another one (not from the Angie's List) and I am pretty happy with this person.
Description of Work
His people left a big hole in the middle of my garden and left for the weekend without telling me They also unplugged my daisy flowers from the backyard without consulting with me My lawn has become pretty dry and there was fungus after Rigo and his team took over I called more than a dozen time to ask him to give me a call. He never bothered to call me even once. To be frank, he is the worst gardener that I have ever had. I think he is riding on his fame...
Category
lawn service, tree service, drain cleaning
Cost
$140
Charlene G.
5.0
10/23/2014
I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They do my gardening and any extra special projects that I need, once a month. They take care of my plants as well.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$125
Hire Again?
Yes
Michael R.
5.0
08/16/2014
Rigo set us up with a crew of two. They put us in a time frame that was on the day we wanted and within a few hours of when we hoped for. They arrive in a van with every trick in the trade at their fingertips. On the first day, we were sure to introduce ourselves and the lead service guy spoke very clearly and understood what we wanted. Their attention to detail blew our minds. They shaped smaller trees with creativity (not just a hack job), cleared leaves and rubbish out of our rock garden, put rocks back into place, hand removed leaves out of the mulch (it was like new mulch after they left!) and even watered the plants in pots! This is not "special" service but all included in the regular weekly service price. It's been three months of service for us now and we've asked for advice on numerous occasions about what to do with certain plants or how to stake plants or to get fertilizer done - we always get an answer from our team that works. Fertilizer is extra, but a fair price through Purple Trees considering how tedious it can be to do yourself. Bottom line, each week when they are here, it's as if we spent a few hours ourselves tending to our gardens with love and care that you would never expect from a hired service. These guys are the real deal!!! Thank you Rigo and team for renewing our belief in yard service!
Description of Work
Rigo came quickly and gave us an estimate for weekly yard maintanance - at first we were a little hesitant because it was more than we were used to paying for weekly service. He then took the time to explain what his team does during their visits. My husband and I looked at each other to check in to see if we were hearing him right because his description was no "mow and blow" operation that we had become accustomed to with other companies. Purple Trees has proven to be long term care to make sure your landscaping stays healthy and strong!
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, tree service
Cost
$150
Hire Again?
Yes
Michael D.
1.0
08/12/2014
Provider did not ever respond to my contact via Angie's List.
Description of Work
Provider did not ever respond to my contact via Angie's List.
Category
lawn service
Georgene B.
5.0
07/10/2014
Better than ever anticipated!

Images

Review for Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance - PO Box 922922, Sylmar, CA - 8859483
Description of Work
I have been hiring and firing gardeners since my long-time gardener had to close his business. Not one of them knew what they were doing. I hired Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance one month ago to do weekly service on my property. I anticipated the worst but got the BEST! Without asking, my lawn is green, hedges are trimmed, planters are turned and sprinklers/valves are checked, among many other things. My yard is finally beginning to look the way a well-maintained yard should look, thanks to the work of Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance!
Category
lawn service, irrigation systems
Cost
$200
Hire Again?
Yes
Richard O.
5.0
06/06/2014
The service is excellent. Purple Trees may be more expensive than others. But, I learned the hard way that you get what you pay for. The company is very responsive to any inquiry. I commonly contact the owner by email. The monthly service is the best I have had, I have a large property and Purple Trees maintains it very well.
Description of Work
Purple Trees does my monthly maintenance. It has also updated my landscaping.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$400
Hire Again?
Yes
Michelle D.
5.0
06/03/2014
I chose Rigo and his team from the reviews here on Angies list, and they were not wrong. He's very responsive, his team and always friendly and professional. They do a great job maintaining my yard and have done excellent work with special projects I have hired them for. They're always willing to help me out with small maintenance jobs. I recommend Rigo and his team highly to anyone looking for landscaping and yard maintenance.
Description of Work
Weekly yard maintenance and other landscaping tasks as needed.
Category
lawn service
Cost
$175
Hire Again?
Yes
Elizabeth P.
5.0
05/22/2014
It went very well. I was impressed with the owner's knowledge of plants, knowing would work for my property and also his understanding of the challenges. He was very personable and professional, and also very responsive when I had a question or concern when his workers were here but he was offsite. I was pleased in every way with the work and only stopped as I don't have a lawn and don't really need services all winter. He will be my first choice in the future.
Description of Work
Initial clearance of weeds, tree removal and clean up, then monthly maintenance for about six months.
Category
lawn service, tree service
Cost
$900
Hire Again?
Yes
Sergey B.
5.0
05/16/2014
Rigo Perez, the owner of the company and main manage, is a very nice person, who really knows his job. I use his service for the weekly yard cleaning. Also, he and his guys did a very good job on yard remodeling and trimming the trees. They come always on time. Rigo controls everything. Strongly recommended!
Description of Work
1. Trimming of the trees 2. Installation of wooden boxes around the fruit trees 3. Installation of the irrigation system
Category
lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service
Cost
$3,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Loren N K.
5.0
04/24/2014
As usual, Purple Trees did EXCELLENT work. I e-mailed Rigo Perez (the owner of the company) about what I needed done. He quickly returned my e-mail and gave me a time and date that he could send his crew to do the work. The crew arrived on time and with all of the materials they needed to get the job done. The guys on the crew were very professional and easy to communicate with. Within just a few hours the job was done (including adding and adjusting a couple of sprinklers) and looked great! I have been using Purple Trees for my weekly garden maintenance for several years now and have been very satisfied with the quality of the the work on a weekly basis as well. Rigo Perez and his crew are extremely knowledgeable and efficient. I have lived in the Los Angeles area for about 40 years and can easily say that Purple Trees is the best landscaping/gardening company I have ever employed. I highly recommend Purple Trees for landscape design/installation as well as weekly maintenance!
Description of Work
Planted plants that I chose and purchased to enhance the looks of a small area of the property.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service
Cost
$100
Hire Again?
Yes

Phone

Address

PO Box 922922

Sylmar, CA 913420

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Check
American Express
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

FAQ

Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express

Yes, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance offers free project estimates.

No, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance offers emergency services.

Yes, Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance offers warranties.

Purple Trees Landscape Maintenance offers the following services: Lawn care & maintenance, mowing, outdoor drain work, sod, sprinkler systems, reseeding, mulch, tree trimming, removal & lawn fertilization