Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Alpha Structural, Inc.

About

Founded 1992 • With Angi since June 2006

Alpha Structural, Inc. has over 400 years of combined technical experience in Foundation and Hillside Repair. All of our experience is hard-core and down-in-the-trenches – not managed from behind a computer. Our in-house engineers and technicians are among the most experienced in all of Southern California. Alpha Structural, Inc. is the ONLY company in the Los Angeles area licensed to ENGINEER and BUILD any type of repair project. That means that you'll work with us through the whole project, not unknown sub-contractors that you didn't hire and cannot control or predict. Alpha Structural, Inc. a licensed, bonded and insured contractor (license # 663409). We are licensed with the following classifications: A (General Engineering Contractor). B (General Building Contractor). C-8 (Concrete). HIC (Home Improvement Contractor). CALL US NOW FOR AN INSPECTION OR ESTIMATE! (323)258-5482....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+32 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(227) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

197

4

8

3

8

2

5

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (182)structural engineering (98)earthquake retrofitting (47)concrete repair (37)mudjacking (7)basement waterproofing (7)decks & porches (4)basement remodeling (3)home inspection (32)drain pipe installation (17)excavating (14)hardscaping (3)
Showing 1-25 of 227 reviews
2.0

07/20/2022


Robert N.

I contracted Alpha Structural to do a partial foundation replacement of my hillside property in LA. They were very responsive at the beginning in making me feel that they were the right company for the job. Their work reputation seemed good and I felt comfortable with the lead contact, Aaron, when he explained the care and detail the company applied to their work. They pointed out that plumbing had to be moved and recommended a company, Hector Gomez Construction, with whom they would coordinate to do that work. During the first part of the job, they would notify me only the day before or sometimes the morning of that they would shut off the water and/or electricity to the property in order to do their work. This proved a severe inconvenience that could have been handled much more responsibly with better planning and communication on their part. When the excavation phase began, they ripped the sewer line, causing damage and cleanup fees to be added to the budget. LA Housing then shut down the project for a few weeks because no permits had been pulled for the plumbing work, causing me to have to be in touch with the city weekly in order to coordinate inspectors' visits and paperwork. Halfway through the work, the doors in the house became inoperable. Interior doors would not close and exterior doors were hard to budge or stuck shut altogether. I notified them of this safety issue, to which they said they would respond to, but took weeks of reminding before they did anything about it. Towards the end of the work, their foundation adjustments caused over $10k damage to the interior of the building including a tile floor replacement, cracking grout in the shower, and large gaps between the windows and the walls. I told them my concerns and they said they would "work with me" to find a solution. They sent a contractor to fix these issues. When I asked repeatedly about how we could agree on payment, they told me they were not responsible for damage to the property. This was an element in the contract that when I asked about at the beginning was downplayed. If I had any idea they would cause such extensive structural damage and not pay for it, I would never have hired them. They will fix your foundation, but at great cost and inconvenience.

Description of Work
Partial foundation replacement and basement expansion

Category contractors, excavators, picture framing, mudjacking, foundation repair

Cost $200,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

5.0

07/06/2021


Irene O.

They were great, timely . They did what they said that needs to done. They have permits. Quality job. Evan did a great work.

Description of Work
Porches

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2021

4.0

08/22/2020


Clementina P.

They came out on time, Kept the appointment, but when they saw the location they said that they can't do it. But they gave suggestion of who can do it.

Description of Work
Retaining wall on a hill side with a slope.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2019

5.0

06/29/2020


Oded K.

Excellent experience again with Alpha Structural. Charlie Rosenkranz came to see the 3-story apartment building in West Hollywood. We discussed what the soft story retrofit plans will likely include. He's knowledgeable and experienced. We appreciated his professional no-pressure approach and answering our questions. Alpha performed an exploratory investigation of the support structure, as architectural plans were not available. They engineered the plans with city approval. They then consulted with us and provided the approved THP (Tenant Habitability Plan) paperwork. Production Manager Dave Schlaich and Job Supervisor Seth Price met me before construction. Dave went over the approved plans and explained the work that would be performed, and the purpose. They both answered all my questions. Lawrence and Antonio were the main work team. They were very pleasant and answered all our questions. Both had great explanations with Lawrence being very detailed. Seth provided timely progress reports by phone and text. He answered all questions, and provided contacts for automatic shut-off gas valves and stucco work. Despite Covid-19, they scheduled and passed inspections, and completed the work in under a month. We've seen projects by other companies stuck in limbo for months with no progress, so we chose Alpha to avoid complications. They removed all debris, and left the property clean. The tenants and neighbors had no complaints. Daniel Aparicio also explained various issues. Communication with everyone, including the office staff, was excellent. We're very pleased with this experience.

Description of Work
Soft Story Seismic Retrofit of a 3-story apartment building: install a concrete grade beam in the parking area with a double cantilevered column moment structure and shear transfer, and also “crawl space” retrofit including bolting, and installing shear wall plywood and floor system tie downs on the perimeter walls.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $69,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

Images

Review for Alpha Structural, Inc. - 8334 Foothill Blvd, Sunland, CA - 38679469

+7 More

5.0

01/29/2020


James M.

This is THE company to use. I had an old 1907 wooden house sitting on a decaying brick foundation and needing a sister foundation installed and a complete seismic retrofit. Even during the bidding process, Brad from Alpha was extremely attentive without being assertive. I contacted four other companies although one I eliminated since they charged a fee for inspecting. Alpha was very timely with their bid and flexible when I needed help with the budget. All the way through the process, every single person at Alpha was extraordinarily good at customer relations, returned emails immediately, and stayed in constant contact throughout the entire process. Whenever there was a slight change to the original plan due to permitting or a plumbing adjustment, Alpha was very proactive and made sure everything was communicated clearly and promptly. I have really NEVER worked with a company that had such excellent communication skills. This is really one reason I selected them to do the work and, even though they may not have been the least expensive, it is worth the extra price for this reason alone. And Alpha Structural's work speaks for itself as well. Everything was done precisely and well beyond code, an unbid section of foundation was provided under the front porch without increase to the budget, and all materials used were of the highest quality. The project went on somewhat longer than estimated due to permit changes and a short weather delay but was still finished in a timely way. My home is our family's largest asset and it is a great relief to now know it is sitting on a solid foundation. The entire process from first to last was excellent and I cannot say enough good things about the way Alpha Structural handled the project. From the front office to the boots on the ground: A++

Description of Work
Sister foundation, concrete piers and complete seismic retrofit

Category concrete repair, excavators, home inspection, structural engineer, mudjacking, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $58,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2020

5.0

08/28/2019


Jay E.

The process was smooth and professionally done.

Description of Work
Structural Engineering

Category structural engineer, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2019

3.0

08/19/2019


Tony V.

Wanted a bid to have my 1600 square foot single family home In West Adams earthquake retrofitted. A woman from Alpha Structural called me to set up an appointment. I told her I had no idea how much this would cost and said I heard it was around $5000. She told me yes that's about right but that they are more expensive, in the $7000-$10,000 range. I asked why they were more expensive and she didn't have an answer. I expected to hear some specific industry reason but she literally had no answer other than they "just charge more for this." Why would I bother scheduling a bid when they can't even explain why they charge a premium over other companies? Maybe this woman needs better training but they lost a potential customer along the way.

Description of Work
House retrofitting

Category foundation repair

Work Completed On 08/19/2019

5.0

02/06/2019


JENNIFER A.

They were the best of the best. We interviewed other companies and they have everything in house to make a large project like this be very smooth. From pulling permits to engineers to explain the job they do everything in house which no other company could offer. From start to finish so professional and answered every question or concern along the project. Incredible crew and upon finishing the project they left it cleaned up and you wouldn't know they were there. I cant' say enough positive things about this company they are amazing.

Description of Work
replace slab foundation and under pinning

Category concrete repair, excavators, structural engineer, mudjacking, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2019

5.0

01/28/2019


Jon P.

Inspection was quick and easy. needed information was easily received.

Description of Work
potential under house structural support addition

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/28/2019

5.0

12/04/2018


Oded K.

We had excellent experience with Alpha Structural. Charlie Rosenkranz came to see the property and advice. He checked the structures all around and looked in the basement as far as possible beyond the ducts that were filling up the space and would require tunneling to get to some areas under the building. Communication was excellent. He's knowledgeable and experienced. We appreciated his professional no pressure approach and answering our questions. The front main duplex needed Seismic Retrofit; it wasn't bolted and had cripple walls. There were suspect areas in the foundations that would have to be tested when bolting, to see if the concrete is in good shape. After we agreed to their proposal have the work done we scheduled a range date. They had to submit to the city plans for a permit to do the work and wait for the permit to be issued. While doing the retrofit we found out that the foundation in the front corner was damaged and that the building has sunken and was not level at that corner. Charlie worked out the details and bid for the additional work of Partial Foundation Replacement, Posts/piers, and Jack Lift the corner to level it. He explained the details and what's involved to my satisfaction. Alpha obtained the permit for the work and proceeded. The work crew did excellent work. Jose Morales was the Project Supervisor. They completed the work at a good pace, including the delay for the additional work permit, without complications or complaints from the neighbors. The place was left clean. The work was approved in the inspection which they requested and scheduled with the city. The communication with everyone at the office was also very good. We're very pleased with the experience.

Description of Work
Seismic Retrofit: Bolting to the foundation, bracing of cripple walls, floor system tie downs. Partial Foundation Replacement, Posts/piers, New foundation to be rebar-reinforced, Jack Lift Excavate to replace a few posts and piers with pier footings at front corner of house where there were sunken existing piers and piers that had insufficiently deep footings. Haul away all the debris.

Category concrete repair, excavators, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $20,408

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2018

Images

Review for Alpha Structural, Inc. - 8334 Foothill Blvd, Sunland, CA - 37587454

+1 More

5.0

10/24/2018


Stephen H.

Alpha was professional and efficient in getting our earthquake retrofit done and they knew how to work with the earthquake brace+bolt program smoothly. We were very pleased with their work and would recommend them.

Description of Work
Earthquake Retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2018

5.0

09/21/2018


John D.

This is our second time using this company, both times the appraiser was fantastic, but in this instance Lisa, their Director of Customer Service seriously bent over backward to help us out with the home one of our clients is purchasing. She was amazing and pulled off the impossible, getting an appraiser out to inspect the home the following day and making certain that everything was covered. Amazing customer service, very thorough and helpful technical staff, quick turnaround on the report and just plain a great company all around. We could not have been more pleased with all that they did for us and our client.

Description of Work
Foundation inspection - concrete slab

Category home inspection, foundation repair

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2018

5.0

07/29/2018


Pixie P.

Incredibly knowledgeable and trustworthy. Errin gave us a clear understanding concerning our foundation, deck and balcony needs. He was friendly and professional and easy to work with. Great experienced staff!

Description of Work
Inspection and estimate

Category contractors, structural engineer, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2018

5.0

06/04/2018


Claudia T.

He gave us an easy solution to the HOA problem, which requires a different contracting skills than their Excellent company. Hopefully, the HOA will find a Specialized cement repair company for the driveway.

Description of Work
A consultant drove all the way from Sunland, Calif to El Segundo and he gaves us a objective review of our HOA underground parking slippage problems.

Category concrete repair, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2018

5.0

05/31/2018


R W.

Manuel and Orlando were excellent. Proud of their abilities

Description of Work
retrofitting

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2018

5.0

05/27/2018


Amanda W.

We have a strange leak in our basement that recurs every time it rains. To figure out the potential source, we called Alpha Structural, and the entire team was outstanding from the get-go. Lisa Hunter first took a detailed account of and keen interest in our situation, and then Gary Coffing came to inspect our house. Gary possesses an incredible wealth of knowledge about foundation and structural integrity, and gave us a very fair assessment of what might be happening, and what we could and should try first. Rather than make a hard sell to engage Alpha in a major investigation, he suggested we first try a few simpler solutions, including fixing the grading of our soil leading to the basement as well as our gutters. Perhaps this won't work and perhaps it will, but the point is he gave us a full account of what may be happening and a number of specific things to try before pulling the trigger on a major structural ordeal. A HUGE thank you to Gary and the whole team. We hope it doesn't come to it, but if we do need to go down the route of major structural work, we will absolutely call you again.

Description of Work
Foundational Investigation & Repair

Category water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2018

5.0

03/05/2018


Peter R.

The mark of a good company is not how they handle things when everything goes right, but how they handle things when things go wrong. I live in a 100 year old house, and old houses have surprises. On two occasions, my house gave Alpha a little more than they were expecting, and both times, they stepped up and proved why they have the reputation they do. The first time, the footing under my kitchen was undermined, and they intended to put two concrete pads in to fix it. When they realized their initial plans to fix it weren't quite sufficient, they brought out one of their in house engineers, and they built Fort Knox (in a good way) under the kitchen. The kitchen of my house is probably the most secure part of my house now. It will survive the Apocalypse. Then, they were contracted to fix the the stairs in the back of my property. The side of the stairs was separating from the stairs themselves, and Alpha was contracted to replace the wall. But when they removed it, they found the the old stairs there were just a thin layer of concrete over loose rock, which spilled out undermining them. It's something they never could have seen or known from the outside. Mark, one of the bosses of the company came out and looked at it, and had them replace the entire stairs, which now look amazing and are very safe for my children. I also can't say enough how on top of it the people were. Dieter, their supervisor, was amazing. He stopped by frequently to make sure everything was on track and up to standards. You'd hear him pulling up on his motorcycle, and if you had questions, he'd talk through everything that was going on with you. (And be very patient with you about the questions.) When there were job hiccups, he just let me know that they had it under control and was unflappable. He always told me things were going to be fine, and then took care of it. His crews were professional, considerate, hard working, and polite. If you get any of the guys I had, you're in good hands: -Oscar and Marlon did an amazing job on the kitchen underpinning, bolting, and sheerwalling my basement. -Gregorio, Jonathan, and Henry were excellent, and replaced my stairs. (And Gregorio, in particular, is an artist with cement.) Both crews made me realize how consistently good the quality of the work done by this company is. I highly recommend Alpha, especially if you work with any of these crews.

Description of Work
Underpinning repair, bolting, sheerwalling, and staircase repair

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, structural engineer, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2018

5.0

01/01/2018


Carlyn L.

I couldn't be happier. The inspectors, Brad and Matt, were very professional. They did a drawing of the perimeter of my home. They spent a good deal of time under my house. They told me that my house is actually bolted. Some of the bolting is up to code and some is old, but bolted. I was so relieved since I got a quote from another contractor for thousands of dollars to bolt. I am so grateful to find an honest company. Thank you Alpha Structural, Inc..

Description of Work
Seismic inspection of my home.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2017

5.0

11/28/2017


Tricia M.

I called several other companies who could not see us soon enough. Then, I spoke with Lisa at Alpha Structural. She said her contractor would be in our area, but that he was fully booked. However, just about an hour later, Lisa called me back -- She'd done some magic, moved some things around and was able to fit us in. Yippee! What great customer service. Lisa was terrific. She went the extra mile for us. I so appreciate that. In this day and age when it's hard to even get a live person on the line instead of a machine, Alpha Structural shines brightly.

Description of Work
I needed a foundation expert to evaluate a property in escrow in San Pedro.

Category concrete repair, home inspection, structural engineer, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2017

5.0

11/20/2017


Gary K.

Alpha Structural's inspector met me at the precise date/time as scheduled to assess my mother's residence. Important because I reside on the east coast and only come to California on business every other month. Rejean inspected all aspects of my mother's home in addition to looking in the crawlspace. He explained what would be indicative of major foundation issues none of which we were experiencing. It was a major relief to know my mother's home was structurally sound and not at risk.

Description of Work
Inspect mother's single family dwelling in Torrance -- concerns with settling foundation and potential for unsafe conditions

Category structural engineer, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2017

5.0

11/15/2017


Emily J.

Alpha Structural are class acts 100%. Dick came to my house, gave us an honest estimate under what we had expected and got us on the books promptly to begin work. The foreman, Jose, was attentive and polite throughout the work. The stars of the show, Lawrence and Antonio, blew us away with their work. They gave me regular updates and got the job done, start to finish, with utmost professionalism. Little things, like pulling in my garbage cans after collection, just really made their work ethic and politeness stand out. With their stellar reputation and amazing performance, I trust this company with any foundation work I'll hopefully not need in the future! I just wish they provided more services so that I can work with them more.

Description of Work
Our foundation needed a complete overhaul.

Category foundation repair

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2017

5.0

09/26/2017


Markus A.

Mr. Guy was on time for our Saturday appointment and exceeded my expectations with his thoroughness. He went under the house and reviewed my foundation, took pictures and showed them to me. I was very knowledgeable and friendly. He seemed honest when he told me my foundation did not have an cracks, but the current brackets, although stable are not up to today's code. I have an old house. When I'm ready to get the work done, I will consider them for sure. He did not charge me for the visit, which was substantial.

Description of Work
I got an estimate on evaluating and reinforcing my foundation.

Category foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2017