Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Alpha Structural, Inc.

4.8

(226) Verified Reviews

Founded 1992 • With Angi since June 2006

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
663409
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
01/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

8334 Foothill Blvd

Sunland, CA 91040

http://www.alphastructural.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Alpha Structural, Inc. has over 400 years of combined technical experience in Foundation and Hillside Repair. All of our experience is hard-core and down-in-the-trenches – not managed from behind a computer. Our in-house engineers and technicians are among the most experienced in all of Southern California. Alpha Structural, Inc. is the ONLY company in the Los Angeles area licensed to ENGINEER and BUILD any type of repair project. That means that you'll work with us through the whole project, not unknown sub-contractors that you didn't hire and cannot control or predict. Alpha Structural, Inc. a licensed, bonded and insured contractor (license # 663409). We are licensed with the following classifications: A (General Engineering Contractor). B (General Building Contractor). C-8 (Concrete). HIC (Home Improvement Contractor). CALL US NOW FOR AN INSPECTION OR ESTIMATE! (323)258-5482....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(226) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

197

4

8

3

8

2

4

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (181)structural engineering (98)earthquake retrofitting (47)concrete repair (37)basement waterproofing (7)mudjacking (6)decks & porches (4)basement remodeling (3)home inspection (32)drain pipe installation (17)excavating (13)hardscaping (3)
Showing 1-10 of 226 reviews
5.0

07/06/2021


Irene O.

They were great, timely . They did what they said that needs to done. They have permits. Quality job. Evan did a great work.

Description of Work
Porches

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2021

4.0

08/22/2020


Clementina P.

They came out on time, Kept the appointment, but when they saw the location they said that they can't do it. But they gave suggestion of who can do it.

Description of Work
Retaining wall on a hill side with a slope.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2019

5.0

06/29/2020


Oded K.

Excellent experience again with Alpha Structural. Charlie Rosenkranz came to see the 3-story apartment building in West Hollywood. We discussed what the soft story retrofit plans will likely include. He's knowledgeable and experienced. We appreciated his professional no-pressure approach and answering our questions. Alpha performed an exploratory investigation of the support structure, as architectural plans were not available. They engineered the plans with city approval. They then consulted with us and provided the approved THP (Tenant Habitability Plan) paperwork. Production Manager Dave Schlaich and Job Supervisor Seth Price met me before construction. Dave went over the approved plans and explained the work that would be performed, and the purpose. They both answered all my questions. Lawrence and Antonio were the main work team. They were very pleasant and answered all our questions. Both had great explanations with Lawrence being very detailed. Seth provided timely progress reports by phone and text. He answered all questions, and provided contacts for automatic shut-off gas valves and stucco work. Despite Covid-19, they scheduled and passed inspections, and completed the work in under a month. We've seen projects by other companies stuck in limbo for months with no progress, so we chose Alpha to avoid complications. They removed all debris, and left the property clean. The tenants and neighbors had no complaints. Daniel Aparicio also explained various issues. Communication with everyone, including the office staff, was excellent. We're very pleased with this experience.

Description of Work
Soft Story Seismic Retrofit of a 3-story apartment building: install a concrete grade beam in the parking area with a double cantilevered column moment structure and shear transfer, and also “crawl space” retrofit including bolting, and installing shear wall plywood and floor system tie downs on the perimeter walls.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $69,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

Images

Review for Alpha Structural, Inc. - 8334 Foothill Blvd, Sunland, CA - 38679469

+7 More

5.0

01/29/2020


James M.

This is THE company to use. I had an old 1907 wooden house sitting on a decaying brick foundation and needing a sister foundation installed and a complete seismic retrofit. Even during the bidding process, Brad from Alpha was extremely attentive without being assertive. I contacted four other companies although one I eliminated since they charged a fee for inspecting. Alpha was very timely with their bid and flexible when I needed help with the budget. All the way through the process, every single person at Alpha was extraordinarily good at customer relations, returned emails immediately, and stayed in constant contact throughout the entire process. Whenever there was a slight change to the original plan due to permitting or a plumbing adjustment, Alpha was very proactive and made sure everything was communicated clearly and promptly. I have really NEVER worked with a company that had such excellent communication skills. This is really one reason I selected them to do the work and, even though they may not have been the least expensive, it is worth the extra price for this reason alone. And Alpha Structural's work speaks for itself as well. Everything was done precisely and well beyond code, an unbid section of foundation was provided under the front porch without increase to the budget, and all materials used were of the highest quality. The project went on somewhat longer than estimated due to permit changes and a short weather delay but was still finished in a timely way. My home is our family's largest asset and it is a great relief to now know it is sitting on a solid foundation. The entire process from first to last was excellent and I cannot say enough good things about the way Alpha Structural handled the project. From the front office to the boots on the ground: A++

Description of Work
Sister foundation, concrete piers and complete seismic retrofit

Category concrete repair,excavators,home inspection,structural engineer,mudjacking,foundation repair,earthquake retrofitting

Cost $58,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2020

5.0

08/28/2019


Jay E.

The process was smooth and professionally done.

Description of Work
Structural Engineering

Category structural engineer,earthquake retrofitting

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2019

3.0

08/19/2019


Tony V.

Wanted a bid to have my 1600 square foot single family home In West Adams earthquake retrofitted. A woman from Alpha Structural called me to set up an appointment. I told her I had no idea how much this would cost and said I heard it was around $5000. She told me yes that's about right but that they are more expensive, in the $7000-$10,000 range. I asked why they were more expensive and she didn't have an answer. I expected to hear some specific industry reason but she literally had no answer other than they "just charge more for this." Why would I bother scheduling a bid when they can't even explain why they charge a premium over other companies? Maybe this woman needs better training but they lost a potential customer along the way.

Description of Work
House retrofitting

Category foundation repair

Work Completed On 08/19/2019

5.0

02/06/2019


JENNIFER A.

They were the best of the best. We interviewed other companies and they have everything in house to make a large project like this be very smooth. From pulling permits to engineers to explain the job they do everything in house which no other company could offer. From start to finish so professional and answered every question or concern along the project. Incredible crew and upon finishing the project they left it cleaned up and you wouldn't know they were there. I cant' say enough positive things about this company they are amazing.

Description of Work
replace slab foundation and under pinning

Category concrete repair,excavators,structural engineer,mudjacking,foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2019

5.0

01/28/2019


Jon P.

Inspection was quick and easy. needed information was easily received.

Description of Work
potential under house structural support addition

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/28/2019

5.0

12/04/2018


Oded K.

We had excellent experience with Alpha Structural. Charlie Rosenkranz came to see the property and advice. He checked the structures all around and looked in the basement as far as possible beyond the ducts that were filling up the space and would require tunneling to get to some areas under the building. Communication was excellent. He's knowledgeable and experienced. We appreciated his professional no pressure approach and answering our questions. The front main duplex needed Seismic Retrofit; it wasn't bolted and had cripple walls. There were suspect areas in the foundations that would have to be tested when bolting, to see if the concrete is in good shape. After we agreed to their proposal have the work done we scheduled a range date. They had to submit to the city plans for a permit to do the work and wait for the permit to be issued. While doing the retrofit we found out that the foundation in the front corner was damaged and that the building has sunken and was not level at that corner. Charlie worked out the details and bid for the additional work of Partial Foundation Replacement, Posts/piers, and Jack Lift the corner to level it. He explained the details and what's involved to my satisfaction. Alpha obtained the permit for the work and proceeded. The work crew did excellent work. Jose Morales was the Project Supervisor. They completed the work at a good pace, including the delay for the additional work permit, without complications or complaints from the neighbors. The place was left clean. The work was approved in the inspection which they requested and scheduled with the city. The communication with everyone at the office was also very good. We're very pleased with the experience.

Description of Work
Seismic Retrofit: Bolting to the foundation, bracing of cripple walls, floor system tie downs. Partial Foundation Replacement, Posts/piers, New foundation to be rebar-reinforced, Jack Lift Excavate to replace a few posts and piers with pier footings at front corner of house where there were sunken existing piers and piers that had insufficiently deep footings. Haul away all the debris.

Category concrete repair,excavators,foundation repair,earthquake retrofitting

Cost $20,408

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2018

Images

Review for Alpha Structural, Inc. - 8334 Foothill Blvd, Sunland, CA - 37587454

+1 More

5.0

10/24/2018


Stephen H.

Alpha was professional and efficient in getting our earthquake retrofit done and they knew how to work with the earthquake brace+bolt program smoothly. We were very pleased with their work and would recommend them.

Description of Work
Earthquake Retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2018

Services Offered

FOUNDATION REPAIRS & REPLACEMENT, SOFT STORY RETROFIT, HILLSIDE REPAIR, SEISMIC RETROFIT/BOLTING, FLOOR LEVELING, UNDERPINNING, SLAB REPAIR/REPLACEMENT, NEW RETAINING WALL CONSTRUCTION, CAISSONS, GRADE BEAMS, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS & LANDSLIDE REPAIRS, HILLSIDE DECKS, STRUCTURAL REPAIRS/UPGRADES, etc...

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alpha Structural, Inc.

How is Alpha Structural, Inc. overall rated?

Alpha Structural, Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Alpha Structural, Inc. open?

Alpha Structural, Inc. is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

What payment options does Alpha Structural, Inc. provide

Alpha Structural, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does Alpha Structural, Inc. offer free estimates?

Yes, Alpha Structural, Inc. offers free project estimates.

Does Alpha Structural, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Alpha Structural, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Alpha Structural, Inc. offer a senior discount?

No, Alpha Structural, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

Does Alpha Structural, Inc. offer emergency services?

Yes, Alpha Structural, Inc. offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Alpha Structural, Inc.?

Yes, Alpha Structural, Inc. offers warranties.

What services does Alpha Structural, Inc. offer?

Alpha Structural, Inc. offers the following services: FOUNDATION REPAIRS & REPLACEMENT, SOFT STORY RETROFIT, HILLSIDE REPAIR, SEISMIC RETROFIT/BOLTING, FLOOR LEVELING, UNDERPINNING, SLAB REPAIR/REPLACEMENT, NEW RETAINING WALL CONSTRUCTION, CAISSONS, GRADE BEAMS, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS & LANDSLIDE REPAIRS, HILLSIDE DECKS, STRUCTURAL REPAIRS/UPGRADES, etc...

Are there any services Alpha Structural, Inc. does not offer?

Ask for details