Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL

Founded 2006 • With Angi since August 2006

5.0

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12400 Ventura Boulevard SUITE 1322

Studio City, CA 91604

Description

Competitive Prices!! Licensed and Insured. All Work & Products Guaranteed. Specializing in Plumbing, Gas Lines & Boilers Lic #928375

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/30/2016


Ian V.

Dennis was great. He not only addressed the issue, but he figured out the source of another problem we were having. He took the time to make sure all parts - not just the one ordered - were working properly and if not, adjusted it so it did. He's very thorough, extremely knowledgeable, and will let you know when you need stuff done (read: doesn't talk you into doing unnecessary fixes/repairs). Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Our toilet was leaking and flushing improperly.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/20/2016


kendra F.

Dennis is fantastic. He puts great care into his work, always prompt and I feel confident having him fix my home.

Description of Work
Fixed gas line for range, moved gas line, moved water hookup for fridge.

Category plumbing, gas leak repair

5.0

12/18/2014


SUSAN T.

Description of Work
We split our water supply to 2 feeds & meters. One for the house, the other for agriculture. This way, only the house water gets sewer charges on the water volume used while the agri-water does not. They pulled the permit, bought the meter, coordinated with LADWP. The conversion has already "paid for itself" in less than 2 years. We've used Dennis & Brittania for our bathroom & laundry room renovations and new water heater installation as well. We couldn't be happier with their work and their pricing is more than fair. We'll continue to use their services without hesitation.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/17/2013


miss M.

Dennis came to my house as agreed to install/upgrade to a 40-gal water heater. I wanted to use Bradford White, but he recommended American based on their superior customer service. He had to make some adjustments to the vent pipe and the water lines. He adjusted the outside metal housing so that the door would fit better, at no extra cost. Then he spent the rest of the day moving the gas shut-off valve from inside the firebox, placing a key valve next to the fireplace. Things didn't go smoothly, as one might expect on a Friday, but Dennis stayed professional and patient and made it all work. He even honored his Angie's List discount. He does great work and clearly has a terrific reputation. This review only confirms what others have already said about him, but he still deserves the praise.

Description of Work
Installed a water heater and corrected a gas line to the fireplace.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

09/11/2013


Diego Q.

Fantastic as usual. I use Britannia every time I need a plumber and Dennis never fails to do a great job with very reasonable prices. Always on time, clean and honest. Plumbing is one thing I do not need Angie for...

Description of Work
Snaked a drain and fixed a leak in the bathtub and a leak in the shower.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

08/29/2013


Karen S.

I don't like that he don't work weekends. He is very good. He is very reasonably priced and he won't overcharge you. He can fix other things. The other company was going to charge me for $4,500 for something and he did mine for $20. He came out and he just said it was just a loose screw. I always call him for things. He is like the neighborhood guy which makes you feel good.

Description of Work
I used Britannia Plumbing & Mechanical to fix gas leaks and plumbing. He fixed a clog in my washer line.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

08/08/2013


SUSAN T.

It was a tad more expensive than it might be for others as a large trench had to be dug first. This isn't always necessary. His price included doing the leg work with the City for the needed permit, buying the box to protect the 2nd meter we now have, and scheduling the inspector visit and coming back for that. The work was done professionally, beautifully and in less time than had originally been predicted. The inspector was duly impressed. We've used Dennis before for major work and didn't hesitate to call upon him again and will continue to do so in the future.

Description of Work
Dennis and crew split off our agricultural water from the house water. The savings in our DWP water bill should pay for this install in 2 years or less.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/05/2013


lee B.

,dug the trench and installed the pipe and was finished in about 5 hours.I was happy with the job they did and the price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
I had Britainnia plumbing lay about 40 feet of sewer line for an RV dump pipe.Dennis and another fellow came about 2 days before with an electronic gadget to find where my present sewer line was so they could hook into it.Dennis and a couple of other fellows came on friday,

Category plumbing

5.0

10/16/2012


Janine J.

Overall it was an easy service call. Dennis was personable and very knowledgeable. He fixed the problem quickly and I felt that he price was very fair. It was nice to feel like I wasn't being taken advantage of a service person...often I feel that a worker shows up...sees a single female...and starts thinking about how to inflate the price of the job. Definitely someone to be trusted. The only negative was that they were a bit late...but since Dennis called to let me know how his schedule was running and he was sincerely apologetic when he arrived ...it was no big deal.

Description of Work
Repaired leak on gas fireplace valve. Also replaced valve handle.

Category plumbing, gas leak repair

5.0

09/20/2012


George M.

We found Brittania Plumbing through Angie's List and invited the owner, Dennis, to give us an assessment and quote for the work described above. He came over within a day, quoted a price, and we agreed to start a couple of days later at a convenient time for us. We had recently purchased the replacement toilets (Toto if you have to know) and had them on hand. We were hoping to save the third toilet since it's color (Yellow) would be hard to duplicate. This project is part of an ongoing upgrade to a mid-century home with several features we would like to save. It all went very well but two aspects require special commendation. The aforementioned Yellow toilet was seated crooked on the floor and felt very loose. Dennis removed it and quickly determined that a.) one of the hold-down bolts was gone and b.) the iron flange had been installed crooked over 50 years ago. (Crooked flange = crooked toilet.) To fix the problem he had to remove the cast iron flange that had long ago imbedded itself into the surrounding concrete. Not an easy task but one that was done without any showmanship or complaint. Yellow toilet was saved and is working better than ever. The other commendation relates to what he didn't do. After removing part of a wall and performing a variety of tests he determined that our shower problem wasn't a plumbing problem but was a tile problem. He could have told us that we had a plumbing problem and a tile problem and we would have never known. He didn't. What he actually told us was that the plumbing system was in good shape and we should contact a tile tradesman instead. Honesty is a very valuable trait. Dennis is a professional plumber. By that I mean he is not in the business to and quot;upselland quot; you or find ways to scare you into needless upgrades. He takes real pride in his work and it shows.

Description of Work
The tasks involved removing and disposing of two old toilets, fixing a third, upgrading intake pipes, installing two new toilets, assessment of two major shower leaks, and several small maintenance items.

Category plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

07/02/2012


Karen S.

Dennis got it done as quickly as he could. He was very honest with me about what I would have to do if I needed it to work smoothly. He is very nice and I will definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We had a sink issue. He ended up fixing what I thought was a gas leak through our fireplace. A different company was going to charge me near 5,000.00 to do it. Britannia plumbing found out what the real problem was and fixed it. He looked at the gas line and realized it just wasn't shut off all the way. He tightened it which resolved the problem. He put in a new dishwasher line for me, it was the air release for the dishwasher.

Category plumbing, gas leak repair

5.0

04/26/2012


Eric Y.

Dennis was fantastic. Despite being in the South Bay, he was willing to travel and take care of our projects. He came, took care of our issues, we paid him the amount we expected (which we thought was very reasonable), and we were very happy with his work. He's very knowledgeable and we look forward to working with him again.

Description of Work
Dennis installed two faucets, cleared a drain, installed a new pipe for my fireplace and removed a garbage disposal.

Category plumbing, fireplaces, drain cleaning

5.0

03/21/2012


Elizabeth P.

He's willing to work with his people and he is patient. Although he couldn't do any work, he assured me that the work could be done and the problem could be fixed.

Description of Work
The manager of my apartment would try to fix a flooding issue in my bathroom but he couldn't. Dennis from Britannia came right over when I told him my bathroom was flooding, no problem. Dennis instructed the manager and the owner on the problem and they got the problem fixed. Dennis simply saw the situation and said that the pipes needed to be investigated but since he wasn't a contractor with the complex, he couldn't do the work.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/14/2012


Richard L.

The sprayer hoses on my two kitchen skinks were worn out, and could not be extended from the faucet spout. I’ve been a pretty successful “do it yourselfer,” so I tried removing one of the hoses myself, to take to a hardware store to find a match. However, the shutoff vales under the sink were frozen open, and the hole though which the hose passed was so crowded, that I could not get the coupling on the end of the hose to pass through. I've used Dennis before, for clearing a clogged drain line. He is very personable, and I was very satisfied with his price and professionalism, so I called him again to replace the hoses. Unfortunately, the faucets were a and quot;designer brand,and quot; with parts being expensive and hard to find. Dennis removed one of the hoses, and drove around town to find a match. He phoned me to keep me apprised of his efforts. The hoses would have to be specially ordered, and were so expensive as to make me consider replacing the two faucets entirely (which were old, with chipping finish). Dennis came back to reinstall the hose he had removed. He charged me NOTHING, even though he made two service calls, and spent several hours looking for a replacement hose. I asked Dennis for a quote to replace the faucets and associated parts. He estimated between $300 and $400. As a and quot;do it yourselfer,and quot; I though this was high, but he had my trust. He suggested I supply the faucets myself, since I told him I do a lot of internet shopping. This impressed me, since he could have made money by supplying the faucets. Several months later, I decided to replace both faucets, and purchased them on the internet. I also bought a matching air gap cover, soap dispenser, and cold water dispenser to match. I called Dennis. I was in no rush, and arranged for him to come out the following week, right after lunch. Dennis called on the day of the appointment, saying he had run into some difficulty on another job. He showed up about 4, saying he might have to work on the faucets until 7. He was tired, so me being in no rush (and being retired, I am usually home), I told him it was ok to reschedule. We made another appointment for the following week, for 8:30 am. Dennis did NOT show up at the scheduled time, and called several hours later to tell me he was again having problems with a job. He said he would get to my house as soon as he could. He came in the early afternoon, with an assistant. In addition to installing the items I had purchased, Dennis also replaced the four stuck shut-off valves, and the air gap tube. He scraped off the g*** that had accumulated on the sink, around the old hardware, which I thought was a nice professional touch. He cleaned up nicely. The bill came to $350, right in the middle of his estimate. But then he knocked off $20 (don’t know why), charging me $330. His being late two times was of little inconvenience to me, but I’m still giving him less than a perfect mark on punctuality. I’m very satisfied, and will use him again.

Description of Work
Replacement of two kitchen faucets, soap dispenser, cold water dispenser, air gap.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

02/06/2012


Giselle D.

They are knowledgable and professional. You feel confident in working with them. They are wonderful. They are very neat workers. They repaired a major plumbing leak by installing this copper line outside. I feel confident that I will have no more leaks in my main line. I would say they reasonably priced.

Description of Work
They installed a new copper mainline in our backyard and pressure regulator valve.

Category plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

01/17/2012


Richard P.

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. Dennis was always available and even moved some things around to accommodate us. He also prices fairly.

Description of Work
Amiable Brit Dennis Clark helped alter the plumbing and install new sinks/vanities in two bathrooms. That involved adapting European style fixtures to U.S. plumbing, not always easy. Dennis also bought and installed a replacement gas water heater for us, has snaked drains and installed new faucets. He's our go-to guy.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

5.0

12/19/2011


Priscilla M.

I would recommend to any single female that feels the same way I do having to call repair companies.

Description of Work
Dennis was very honest and professional. As a single woman, I am always afraid to have to deal with plumbers, mechanics, etc. He made me feel at ease and was sincere with his estimate. The owner of my building paid but I was responsible for getting him here. He was awesome!!!

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/12/2011


Shayna S.

Dennis initially conducted an estimate. He told me about a couple of different options, but based on what he said plus what another plumber had said who responded to our emergency leak, the best option was to lower the drain. On the day of the scheduled work he arrived on time, worked quickly with his assistant, and was finished in about an hour.

Description of Work
The plumbing under our kitchen sink was not designed and installed properly. Dennis fixed the problem by lowering the drain. He had to put a whole through the wall and redesign the pipework.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

11/05/2010


Julie P.

Amazing. Dennis installed our washer and drier, revented the drier that the previous guys screwed up, and worked on our kitchen sink.

Description of Work
Dennis was amazing, he is the best plumber we have ever found or used and we have recommended him to several friends. Everyone who uses him is always super pleased. Honest, I would trust him with my kid, if I had a kid. I can always count on Dennis to give me a fair estimate and tell me what is really going on as opposed to jacking up the problem or the price.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/07/2010


Richard P.

Best plumber experience ever. This was the first time we used Dennis, who is an ambiable Brit as should be obvious from the name of his company. He worked fast and easy, didn't charge for checking things out, and didn't say something needed doing when it didn't. He also had to come back with an odd drain cover, which he did in a timely manner and without having to be reminded. We'll be using him again.

Description of Work
Dennis cleaned out three drains, checked under the house for possible drain/sewer leaks, and checked out some other stuff that he said he wouldn't worry about.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/03/2010


Richard L.

Even though the problem was quickly resolved, I still can't believe how inexpensive this was. The quote on the phone sounded almost too good to be true, but it was. Dennis and a helper arrived right on time, about 1 1/2 hours after I first contacted them. Rather than use the cleanout plug that was under one of the sinks, Denis knew to search for a plug elsewhere, and found one in the garage. This totally avoided making a mess in the kitchen. He even used a plastic drop cloth in the garage. Also included a three month warrantee. Very professional and friendly. Would use again and recommend to anyone needing a plumber.

Description of Work
Two sinks in kitchen, both were backed up.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

11/18/2009


Deborah R.

Dennis is incredible. He came over on time to give me an estimate. His estimate was very reasonable considering all the different things he needed to do. We set a time for him to do the work a few days later. He came prepared with all the parts, and fixed everything. We had one setback in that my old kitchen faucet could not be repaired. He went straight out, bought a new one, came back and installed it. Everything went super smooth. He cleaned up everything well. He is clean, nice, very concerned about doing a quality job. His work is excellent. He will try to find a way to do what you need done as inexpensively as possible.

Description of Work
Fix gas leaks at gas meter; changed shower head and knobs, including replacing stems and seats; changed stem in second bathroom knob, replaced valves for washing machine, changed kitchen faucet, supply lines, and cleaned drain

Category plumbing, gas leak repair, drain cleaning

5.0

03/23/2009


ANGELA N.

After my usual plumber left town to take a contract in Iraq (seriously), I called Britannia Plumbing and well, I'm very glad I did. He didn't mind when I put my father on the phone to second guess all of his decisions (I'm a young single woman homeowner and a bit suspicious of contractors). He explained that I had to get a permit to install the water heater (I didn't know this). He even showed me little tips to keep my drains clear and what corners had been cut by plumbers who did the work before. I wish he did more than plumbing (I actually asked him to fix my gate!)

Description of Work
Installed new water heater, Fixed blocked air gap in dishwasher line, replaced toilet and sink in downstairs bathroom.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/10/2008


Julie P.

I had hired "plumber" to relocate gas, water and sewer from my kitchen laundry, to a closet. When I couldn't get ahold of them to do some other work, I hired Britannia. Dennis came in, saw the other "plumbers" work, and pointed out all the things he had done wrong. It was not vented correctly, the drain pipe was of insufficient size, and the hose bibs were poorly mounted. Dennis fixed all the problems professionally and timely. I've recommended him to numerous friends.

Description of Work
Ran new vent pipe, new waste pipe, installed sink and faucet, new gas line for both stove and laundry.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/29/2007


Johnny P.

Dennis arrived on time and was EXTREMELY friendly and well equipped. He's a jolly British chap with a positive sensibility. His workmanship was excellent, he completed the job quickly and even gave me a free estimate on some other work I might want to get done in the future. He says that he specializes in replacing tank water heaters with the newer tank less variety, and I might just have to take him up on that sooner than later.

Description of Work
Dennis replaced the faucet in my kitchen sink. The job would have been simple, except my house had an existing commercial faucet and piping that needed professional expertise.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dalinghaus Construction, Inc

    Our foundation repair, concrete lifting, and support or anchoring products are manufactured to the highest standards, comply with the industry’s strictest guidelines and have been tested by over 100 major structural repair contractors throughout North America. Installation of any product comes with a manufacturer’s warranty along with our own in-house written, transferable warranty! We continuously deliver on a promise to offer great quality and service to our customers. We are consistently implementing the ever-changing methods and technology that present themselves in the construction industry. With our customer’s goals and expectations as our primary company focus, we will continuously strive to better ourselves and our company. We truly respect and appreciate each customer’s project like it is our very own. Our promise to you: We “NEVER SETTLE” for anything but the BEST! For more information or to schedule your inspection, call today!  

    Angi Certified

    Design Everest

    Design Everest is a leading supplier of engineering and design services for residential and commercial construction in California. We are dedicated to providing high-quality with project delivery on schedule and within budget. Established in 2005, we have expanded throughout the state of California and developed into a one-stop shop for residential and commercial projects. Our list of services includes structural engineering, civil engineering, architectural drafting, mechanical, electrical, plumbing engineering (MEP), title 24 energy calculations, as-built, building scanning, structural evaluation, permitting, construction support and more. We help our customers throughout the whole life-cycle of the project. We also have a dedicated Construction Support team to address all your construction related queries for a quick turn around on your project. Design Everest can help you manage every step of your project with timely delivery while staying in your budget.  

    Angi Certified

    A List Development Inc.

    At A List Development Inc. we realize that understanding your priorities is the most essential thing we do. Your satisfaction and our reputation depend on it. We have found that team work is the best approach. By working closely with you , we put you in control. We support you in the decision making process by providing options and accurate cost scenarios. We want to make sure you get exactly what you want at a fair price.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    NEW CONSTRUCTION & REMODELS, COPPER RE-PIPING, DRAINS & SEWER LINES, FIXTURE INSTALLATIONS (SINKS, SHOWERS, TOILETS), APPLIANCE INSTALLATIONS, WATER HEATER INSTALLATION (INCLUDING TANKLESS), WATER AND GAS LEAK REPAIRS, GAS LINE INSTALLATIONS (FIREPLACES, BBQS), EARTHQUAKE VALVE INSTALLATION, SEISMIC BRACING, WATER HEATER STRAPPING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL

    How is BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL overall rated?

    BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL open?

    BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    What payment options does BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL provide

    BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offer free estimates?

    No, BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL does not offer free project estimates.

    Does BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offer a senior discount?

    No, BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL?

    Yes, BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offers warranties.

    What services does BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offer?

    BRITANNIA PLUMBING & MECHANICAL offers the following services: NEW CONSTRUCTION & REMODELS, COPPER RE-PIPING, DRAINS & SEWER LINES, FIXTURE INSTALLATIONS (SINKS, SHOWERS, TOILETS), APPLIANCE INSTALLATIONS, WATER HEATER INSTALLATION (INCLUDING TANKLESS), WATER AND GAS LEAK REPAIRS, GAS LINE INSTALLATIONS (FIREPLACES, BBQS), EARTHQUAKE VALVE INSTALLATION, SEISMIC BRACING, WATER HEATER STRAPPING.