Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bernard King Construction

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2009

3.5

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3941 El Canto Dr

Spring Valley, CA 91977

Description

Bernard King Construction is a general contractor and a Service-Disabled Veteran-owned Small Business. We specialize in home repairs and remodeling. We have been in business approximately 15 years and have experienced a large growth in our clientele base over the last two years. We currently have 2 employees and use subcontractors in some cases during large scale remodels only. East County Handyman has California State License # 839233 B, C61/D41, C61/D49. Initial service call is $150.00, this can and typically is waved based on work performed and/or scheduled. We offer Military and Senior Discounts, we also offer 10% discount on service calls to Angie's List members....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/27/2017


Stephen C.

Not only were his skills deficient, he and his team are dishonest and have no integrity.

Description of Work
General Remodel of older home that he totally botched.

Category drywall, electrician, glass repair, handyman service, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, stucco, house painters, interior painters

1.0

03/07/2016


Stephen C.

Our home remodel project with Bernard King went terrible. Bernard King is the most unprofessional and incompetent home remodel contractor. He made a bunch of promises but he failed to live up to his promises. He did not properly supervise his employees, let our home unsupervised and his work was defective. He failed to take responsibility for his work and refuses to warranty and/or correct his defective workmanship. While he was the general contractor on our project we had personal property stolen from our home. we have had multiple areas of his work that failed and we had to report him to the Contractors State License Board (CSLB). Their industry expert found multiple areas of his work as defective and found that Bernard King did not follow industry standards and practice. Bernard King also refused to repair the defective work of his company and also refuses to reimburse us for the repairs we made to his poor workmanship A list of defective work by Bernard King at our home includes: Cracking and discoloration to exterior stucco Numerous cracks to interior texture Improper installation of medallions to concrete and then poorly performed attempts to correct resulting in damages Leaking patio cover Construction of patio cover and pergola not to "industry standards" Roof leak in 2 places Improper installation of concrete driveway leading to rain water running into and flooding garage Improper assessment of shower leak, resulting in Bernard King convincing us to install new shower glass when leak was coming from failed shower pan Bernard King did not return our design plans Bernard King violated CSLB code by charging an excessive deposit Bernard King also used devious business practices in trying to trick us into signing a full release to his work. Bernard King also changed the name of his business (from East County Handyman), perhaps to deceive people looking into his prior work under his company's name. Bernard King also raised his voice at my wife while trying to bully us into accepting a check from him and sign a release of liability. The CSLB has ordered Bernard King to arbitration and found that his work did not meet "industry standards".

Description of Work
Wide variety of home remodel construction, such as new window, stucco, interior texture and paint, electrical, patio cover, baseboards, etc.

Category electrician, glass repair, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

07/24/2015


Mary Alice P.

We never got a response from him after the initial contact.

Description of Work
He called to schedule our appointment for an estimate on a patio cover, but never showed up. I called him 30 minutes after he was supposed to arrive and he never called me back.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/16/2015


Charlotte M.

We called BKC on Thursday 6/11/15. Mr King came out that day and gave us a price. Said he could do the work on Tuesday the 16th. He came and he did a fantastic job considering the plumbing was the original (house built in "71). He was very outgoing, and very professional. I cannot say enough good things about him and the work he did.

Description of Work
Installed a new bathroom vanity with the plumbing

Category drywall, plumbing

1.0

12/10/2014


Paul S.

no details never called

Description of Work
never returned my e-mail

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], i do realize that it took some time for my to respond to your initial request and for that i do truly apologize. It has been my goal to do my best to get back to customers within 48 hours and i have a pretty good track record in do that, i fell way too short in your case. I wanted to make sure that you did eventually get my response to you that explained that i am not a roofing contractor but that i could recommend one and that i can help with wood repair and window installation. if you are still in need of any help please feel free to contact me and i will do my best to help. thanks, Bernard King

5.0

10/28/2014


James M.

Description of Work
Covered a hole in the wall

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

02/21/2014


Delta M.

Workmanship was done in an orderly manner. The crew was very professional.

Description of Work
We had a 60" HDTV and a gas fireplace installed in a custom-designed cabinet in our kitchen/family room . East County Handyman was the general contractor to complete a complex installation, involving electrical, plumbing, structural and carpentry work. Bernard King and his crew demolished and took away old cabinetry, installed new custom cabinets and TV mount, obtained permit and ran gas line and vent to new fireplace. They oversaw fireplace installation, wood floor repair, and they rerouted electrical, modified stucco, and repaired wall and drywall.

Category custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, stucco, home remodeling

5.0

08/11/2009


Ingrid S.

He's a super sized handy man so he does jobs in between what a handyman does and what a general contractor does. When it comes to painting, his men aren't as good as other painting specialists I've worked with. However, all their woodwork and carpentry is just rock solid.

Description of Work
East County Handyman replaced the siding on my home, repaired some wooden steps, and painted a few of my doors. They even cleaned up the painting work that was messed up by another company prior to their arrival.

Category handyman service, siding, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rubios Painting Services

    Here in Rubios Paintig Services provide great paintig quality, we do interior, exterior and commercial painting  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    The Painting Company, LLC

    We are experienced residential and commercial painters, and we are proud to be in San Diego! We are experts in interior and exterior painting, and our team will provide top-notch customer service throughout the entire process. Visit our site, learn more about our painting process, and call us with any questions. We can't wait to meet you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by The Painting Company, LLC on Angi
    Energy Builders

    Home Remodeling Company. With over 25 years of superior craftsmanship, we offer the trendiest design, best installations, and exceptional service. Together we will design and build your Dream Home. We provide Energy Efficient products and services for Windows, Solar, Roofing and Exterior Paint.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Remodeling - general, kitchen & bathroom, lighting, faucets, garbage disposals. Termite & dry rot repair. Decks. Tree service. Siding, painting, drywall repair, stucco repair, windows & doors, baseboards, cabinets.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bernard King Construction

    How is Bernard King Construction overall rated?

    Bernard King Construction is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bernard King Construction open?

    Bernard King Construction is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Bernard King Construction provide

    Bernard King Construction accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Bernard King Construction offer free estimates?

    Ask Bernard King Construction for details on free project estimates.

    Does Bernard King Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bernard King Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bernard King Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Bernard King Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bernard King Construction?

    No, Bernard King Construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bernard King Construction offer?

    Bernard King Construction offers the following services: Remodeling - general, kitchen & bathroom, lighting, faucets, garbage disposals. Termite & dry rot repair. Decks. Tree service. Siding, painting, drywall repair, stucco repair, windows & doors, baseboards, cabinets.