Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sculptured Gardens Alive

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2009

4.8

(77) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

643 LANGUID LN

Simi Valley, CA 93065

Description

In business since 1986 we have been creating custom landscapes tailored to each customer's needs and lifestyle. With special emphasis on climate appropriate gardens we have made vibrant plantings the focal point of our work. As a family owned and driven landscape company we keep our standards high in everything we do . We especially take pride in the close communication we maintain with our clients during the work and long after completion. A personally operated, tightly coordinated landscape company with four employees. We are licensed California contractors: C27-868753....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/04/2021


Michael N.

Perfect...I've used Dan before and I wouldn't use anyone else..Best in the business.

Description of Work
backyard hillside needed re-landscaped due to fire damage

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, tree service, outdoor lighting

5.0

02/19/2021


Amy M.

Dan's team did a wonderful job with our landscaping. He continues to check in with us to ensure we are happy and the plants are thriving. He was always on time and his crew did an amazing job. Everything was done exactly to budget and the time frame he set. Thanks Dan!!

Description of Work
Planting / Design

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, mulch, tree service

5.0

01/01/2021


William S.

We recently decided to redo the landscaping surrounding our front courtyard. After checking out a number of companies we decided on Sculptured Gardens Alive. Dan and Francisco responded quickly to our request with a visit and subsequent formal proposal which we accepted. The work was done in a day the results of which were excellent. A one year warranty as to the life of the plants was given and when one died off it was quickly replaced. Not being familiar with one of the plants led to advice readily given as to its care, We are quite satisfied with the work and service offered by Sculptured Gardens Alive and would not hesitate to recommend them.

Description of Work
Re landscape area surrounding front courtyard

Category landscaping

5.0

10/27/2020


brian Y.

Dan and Cesar's team were amazing to work with. They were very communicative and kept me informed/educated throughout the process. They gave advice I appreciated when I added changes and scope of work to the project. Cannot say enough good things about Dan and Cesar's team and would absolutely love to work with Dan and Cesar in the future again.

Description of Work
Retaining wall needed to be replaced, Trees trimmed/removed, new irrigation, old palnts/weeds removed and replaced with new plants

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, masonry, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping

5.0

07/11/2020


Joe R.

Dan and his crew were awesome. The design is great, it literally stops cars in our neighborhood (people asking who did the work). What's more is that the work was done quickly and efficiently. I highly recommend Dan and his crew. One side note, we have dogs and Dan and his crew were very conscientious about keeping them in the yard. That means a ton to me.

Description of Work
Design and Landscape Front Yard

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel

5.0

01/04/2020


Raul M.

Responded extremely quickly and was professional throughout. The follow through and communication was excellent. the project was handled within days of the request which was awesome as they were considerate of our time constraints.

Description of Work
clean up the back and level the dirt, about 900sq feet or more total

Category landscaping

5.0

10/16/2019


Maria C.

The crew did an excellent job. They were professional and left my yard in excellent condition. They are not necessarily the cheapest crew, but I have had those over the years. You get what you pay for, I would hire them again in an instant.

Description of Work
Extensive clearing of grounds plus trimming of bushes and greens

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

09/28/2019


Mark H.

Over probably a couple of months Dan, the owner, and his crew took our front & back yards back to bare dirt and then forward to beautiful, drought-tolerant areas. At all times Dan was responsive and helpful and that is continuing even now, nearly a year on. I thoroughly recommend Sculptured Gardens.

Description of Work
Complete rework of front & back yards

Category landscaping

5.0

04/19/2018


Douglas E.

First review I ever have written but Dan and his crew deserve the praise. He turned out garden into a mini Garden of Eden. We have color year round and our water bill has been decimated. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend him!

Description of Work
replaced grass with drought tolerant landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

01/14/2018


barbara C.

From the start to the finish Dan was always available or on site to be sure everything was done to our satisfaction. We got a beautiful backyard and new decking around our pool. He had wonderful ideas that were well within our budget and we didn't have to lose all of our existing plants. He worked around everything that he could to create a new and beautiful backyard for us.I would recommend Day Tyson to anyone looking for quality work and an affordable price. The subcontractors that work with him are amazing as well.

Description of Work
Full remodel of backyard and new patio around our pool

Category decks, electrician, landscaping, mulch, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

12/07/2017


Ulysses L.

Dan promptly called me back and assured me that he does this kind of work all the time. He told me that wouldn’t personally be available for my job as he was on another site. He told me that one of his guys Francisco would be there to take care of it. He showed up on time and did a wonderful job👍👍👍

Description of Work
Our dog chewed up the valves that controlled the sprinklers which caused a leak.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

11/22/2017


ROBIN R.

We are very happy and pleased with the job that Dan and his crew did. The crew was very clean, right on time and did a wonderful job. We had a problem in the area of the backyard with the dirt flowing into the pool. Thinking that is was from the work that was done we called Dan. We were out of town but he came right over to see what the problem was..it turned out it was a broken sprinkler not part of the initial project. Once they fixed that problem they discovered another area in the yard under our patio where a pipe had sprung a leak. 2 of the guys came out the next Saturday to fix that problem. Great job done all around! We are extremely pleased with all the work that was done and highly recommend Sculptured Gardens Alive.

Description of Work
I called Dan and he came out within a day to give me an estimate on re-doing my side yard area from a vegetable area to something that was water tolerant. We also had a problem area in the backyard which needed to be graded and brick work..

Category concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

03/27/2017


Deborah P.

We are so happy with the results!! His ideas for trees and plants were great, and everything was done on-time in a very professional manner. Mr. Tyson followed-up and made sure that things were done correctly. We would definitely hire him again!

Description of Work
Re-do entire front yard landscaping at our home, including new trees and plants.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/20/2015


Michael N.

Dan and his crew were a pleasure. He is an honestly nice guy, who did not oversell himself or his work. They provided a reasonable estimate, pretty much in the middle of other estimates, but had a better focus and knowledge of the plant materials to be used. They were always on time, and cleaned up reasonably well after their work was done each day. They actually finished a day earlier than estimated and came under the cost estimate as well! The work that was done was on the front yard. My wife an I are extremely pleased with the new look of the yard and find that it is much more interesting and pleasing than lawn. As pretty as it is during the day, the lighting makes it that much more gorgeous at night. Sculptured gardens...they live up to the name! Great work, highly recommended!

Description of Work
Removal of existing grass and landscaping. Installed new drought tolerant plants, drip irrigation, accent lighting and crushed gravel pathways.

Category electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, plumbing, pavers, gravel

5.0

09/02/2015


Dana P.

Dan is an artist and I enjoyed watching him plan and implement his design. He did not produce detailed drawings on paper. He took notes, visiting multiple times to get a feel for the sun angle and shadows at different times during the day. He developed detailed bills of material. The day materials were delivered and the installers arrived he used spray cans of marking paint to lay out the planting areas and pathways on the ground. Dan then placed plants in exactly the right locations and the installers did their work. The final touch was the boulders, which were not only placed in the right locations, but were also oriented to present the best profile for that location - some artfully overlapping planting area and pathway. I'll say it again, Dan is an artist and he's very pleasant to work with.

Description of Work
We own a modest home but we were willing to pay for low water landscaping that would be attractive and soothing to be around. Our old water consuming boring landscaping and lawn were stripped out. Dan Tyson then designed and directed installation of new landscaping in front and back of our home. He created an extraordinary low water design using plants with unusual and delightful combinations of shapes and colors that are an attraction all year long. We have more birds, butterflies, and especially humming birds than we've ever seen in our gardens before. We also regularly get neighbors and passer-byes stopping to ask "who did your landscaping". We've handed out 4 stacks of Dan's business cards and have enjoyed showing our gardens to many people.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the very kind review. We certainly worked hard to make your landscape something special. Your trust and confidence in us allowed our entire crew to work more freely and accomplish a stand-out job. Dan
5.0

07/24/2015


Donald B.

Dan Tyson of Sculptured Gardens Alive created and implemented such a beautiful drought-resistant front yard for us that we wanted to share our great experience with others. We were happily surprised by our interactions with Dan and his crew. Dan was trustworthy and above-board with our agreements. His team of workers was very pleasant and hardworking. We are grateful for Dan's work and the very fair price he charged for the project. We felt we got more than our money?s worth. He drew a beautifully detailed plan for our Homeowners Association. He was very creative in his design and cooperative in meeting our design thoughts and amendments. When we had to be delayed to receive a grant to cover some of the cost, Dan was extremely patient waiting for the grant to be approved. Once the grant came through, he was prompt in starting work the next day. Our neighbors have been enthusiastic and complimentary about the results. THANK YOU, DAN!

Description of Work
Re-landscaped our front yard, including writing up a plan for submission to the Homeowners' Association, acquiring plants and hardscape, installation of drip systems, some lighting, supervising workers.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/23/2015


Ron L.

We hired Dan because he was very thorough with his first two complimentary visits to listen and gather information about our needs. While Dan did not actually work the site, he supervised its creation. We gave him an idea of what we wanted in layout and plants, and he used his own expertise to gather a nice variety of attractive drought-resistant plants. The idea to create a strolling garden, with a pebble walkway, was his idea. His crew was always professional and courteous. The down side was that they could only work on weekends, so it took a very long time to complete the project. There were times when we waited for a while for work to resume or to have plants delivered. Dan and the crew provided me with invoices for the plants and materials that they used to show that they were not gouging their prices. While most of his plant choices were right on, I did end up replacing some of the grasses with some blooming plants to add more color to the garden. In addition, he replaced a faulty drainage system to one that actually works. We are very pleased with our back yard now. I would recommend Dan to anyone who would like to create a similar garden on their property.

Description of Work
Removed grass sod from back lawn. Replaced a drainage system. Created a beautiful drought-resistant strolling garden.

Category landscaping, plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

03/24/2015


Joan H.

We are very happy with the work done by Dan and his crew. Dan really listened to our likes and dislikes, and made suggestions accordingly. It was very helpful to accompany him to the nursery in order to look at actual plants we liked and get his guidance as we made our selections. We also liked that Dan walked the property with us, laying out the design plan directly?this was much more helpful than looking at a plan on paper, as it was a participatory process and was easier to visualize than a paper layout. We are very pleased with the final design, plant selection and overall effect. The crew was very professional, kept to the schedule and appeared to take a lot of care in everything they did. Dan and the crew worked with us on additional tasks and changes in plans that we requested as we went along. Dan was on site a portion of every workday and was involved in all aspects of the work, answering our questions as they arose. The finished planted areas front and back are now fully covered by a professional quality drip watering system that Sculptured Gardens designed and installed. The pathways among the planted areas give the yard a park-like feel. Dan was helpful, cooperative, trustworthy, approachable and professional throughout this major makeover. We would highly recommend Sculptured Gardens.

Description of Work
In order to reduce our water usage and take advantage of the water company’s rebate program for turf removal, we searched for a landscaper with experience in planting drought-tolerant plants and designing a yard without grass. We decided to hire Dan Tyson of Sculptured Gardens Alive to re-landscape both our front and back yards. This was a big job, as we had over 1,500 square feet of lawn and several beds that contained old, overgrown plants.

Category landscaping, plumbing

5.0

02/04/2015


Harry S.

End result was great! Job well done.

Description of Work
Provided drainage service on the side of my house. The guys did a great job, worked very hard. I found them all to be honest and great to work with. I would recommend them to my family and friends. It was a job I was dreading and nervous about and they knew what to do. They came in and got the job done. When the rain falls I smile and breath a sigh of relief!

Category landscaping

1.0

01/24/2015


Susan W.

Scheduled a meeting with the vendor on 1/22/15. Tried to contact them via email and phone on 1/21/15 to confirm. No communication from them and no show. Rescheduled meeting for 1/24/15. Again NO SHOW and NO CALL from them letting me know that they were unavailable. I have a 50G budget to terrace and landscape my yard and will hire someone else. Have been interviewing landscape designers. These people completely wasted my time. I would NEVER hire a company that cannot even communicate to me their inability to attend a meeting. Don't waste your time with this company. There are a lot of good designers out there

Description of Work
Wasted my time.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

This member is perfectly right to have been upset about the missed appointment. We have been overwhelmed with requests for estimates for drought-resistant landscapes and there are "dropped balls" that occur. We are a small family-run company and our consistently high Angie's List reports illustrate the quality of work we do and the level of commitment we make to our customers. Are we perfect -- no. But we certainly strive to do our level best. And if we make errors we own to to them and make every attempt to make up for them if possible. Actually a message was sent just a few minutes ago to this member apologizing for missing the appointment -- prior to reading the review written. I
5.0

01/20/2015


Graeme C.

The initial estimate that Dan (the company owner) provided was higher than I wanted to pay, but he was able to come up with a work plan that brought the cost within my budget. The work was started and Dan and his crew executed the plan with no issues or problems. They achieved excellent results. Dan provided the design that included planting beds and a gravel pathway. He selected all of the plants following a trip with my wife and I to a local nursery so she could preview his selections. He coordinated all the the tasks performed by his crew. The crew were very professional, showed up on time every day they were scheduled to work, and were willing to take on additional tasks that needed to be done. They did an outstanding job. The finished job met all of the requirements of the rebate program. There are other areas of my yard that will require some landscaping work in the future, and I anticipate going back to Sculptured Gardens

Description of Work
I used Sculptured Gardens Alive to replace the lawns in the front,side and back yards with drought tolerant landscaping. My goal was to lower water bills and qualify for the local water district's turf removal rebates.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/27/2014


Janet R.

The confidence that I had in Dan Tyson/Sculptured Gardens Alive from our very first contact was right on target! I wanted "an inviting back yard" with 1) expansion of some of the existing patio areas to include room for ping pong table; 2) use of existing flower beds; 3) a raised garden; 4) grass area decreased by half and replaced with hardy ground cover; 5) drought tolerant plants; and "something" done to improve our front patio. Prior to Dan, yard was a hodge-podge of improvements : out-dated pavers; short block wall with gobs of cement showing and random bricks painted white; patios extended with different types of brick here and there; poor grass and plantings, etc. After make over: t he change is more than we thought possible in back and front!!! The changes made our outside inviting, cozy and purposeful!!! WE LOVE IT!!!!! In addition to the "A's" above, these points certainly added to making this an excellent experience: (1) DAN'S RESPECT FOR OUR BUDGET AND GOALS/ QUESTIONS/SUGGESTIONS; DAN'S COORDINATION OF THE WORK; DAN'S RESPECT FOR MY HUSBAND'S DISABILITY AND SAFETY ISSUES (I think he and Cesar/Vance/crews were as excited when the raised garden was finished as we were!); (3) It was SUCH A PLEASURE HAVING DAN'S CREWS (LED BY CESAR AND VANCE) AT OUR HOME...welcoming all the questions I came up with....well, except for the dust !! (4) the FOLLOW-UP SINCE PROJECT COMPLETION (by phone and visits) ;and (5) I can still CALL DAN WITH ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS (and I have) as has been the case all along.

Description of Work
Back yard: attached lattice to top of 4' block wall; doubled 2 patio areas (requiring removal of unexpected concrete below the pavers ); replaced inadequate walkway (joining front and back yards) with wide concrete walkway; built waist high brick planter (4ft x5.5ft x37in high) as part of one patio: removed white paint and "gobs" of cement as needed from block wall. Front patio area: replaced block wall with curved rod iron fence/gate and 4 brick columns; rod iron hand rail for front steps; 2nd rod iron (side) gate with improvement of existing column; concrete landing at front steps. Front and back: replaced sprinklers (included leak repairs); wonderful variety of drought tolerant plantings; garden lighting.

Category electrician, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

09/22/2014


Diane B.

They were absolutely wonderful. The owner of the company (Dan Tyson) was just terrific to do business with. I thought the pricing was fair and the work was wonderful. His crew cleaned up before they left every day. It was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Re-landscaped our entire back yard and put in a patio.

Category landscaping, lawn service, patios

5.0

08/18/2014


John G.

Dan Tysan came out to our home and spent over an hour assessing what needed to be done and listened carefully to our needs and wants. He provided us with a quote, which wasn't the lowest we received, but felt it was the most comprehensive, plus Dan instilled a sense of trust without any aggressive sales/closing techniques. With these kinds of quotes and services your comparing apples and oranges as every suppliers assessment of your desires is different, so you have to decide who is providing the most VALUE, not the lowest price. The following week Dan and his crew were on site and completed the job in 2 days. After the job was complete and Sculptured Gardens fully paid we did have a couple of minor issues that needed to be addressed. Dan was easily reached and took care of all our needs. If you're looking for quality work at a fair price you can't beat Scultured Gardens Live!

Description of Work
Provided softscape/landscaping and irrigation following a complete yard redo.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

06/16/2014


Linda F.

Dan and crew arrived on time and did an excellent job and cleanup of a very messy job. I want more work done on my property by Dan. and will use his services in the future.

Description of Work
Dan Tyson dismantled a damaged arbor and installed a new one. In addition, he planted a new jasmine vine.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Foundation Repair LA Inc

    Foundation and Structural Repair Contractors. Family owned and operated, based in Los Angeles, and serving the Greater Los Angeles area, Foundation Repair LA Inc. represents over 55 years of combined experience in structural repair, providing an unparalleled level of workmanship and customer service.  

    Legacy Home Builders Inc

    A Family Tradition since 1934. Here at Legacy Home Builders, we truly are a family business. As a third generation contractor, we pride ourselves on quality work at a fair price. We specialize in additions, kitchen and bath remodeling, roofing and siding, pavers and concrete, as well as custom home building. Call us today for your free consultation.  

    Elite Rooter

    Elite Rooter is a local licensed plumbing services company offering professional, reliable and friendly plumbers. We never charge trip fees, estimates are always free and we have special offers on drain cleaning.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    868753
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    California: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, water thrifty gardens, stone, rock & decorative pebble dry gardens, renovations & upgrades to sprinkler systems, Courtyards, patios, entries, atriums, balconies & potted plantings, landscape lighting, seasonal garden cutbacks, landscape tune-ups, fertilizing routines, color plantings

    Services Not Offered

    Weekly Lawn service.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sculptured Gardens Alive

    How is Sculptured Gardens Alive overall rated?

    Sculptured Gardens Alive is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sculptured Gardens Alive open?

    Sculptured Gardens Alive is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Sculptured Gardens Alive provide

    Sculptured Gardens Alive accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Sculptured Gardens Alive offer free estimates?

    Yes, Sculptured Gardens Alive offers free project estimates.

    Does Sculptured Gardens Alive offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Sculptured Gardens Alive offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Sculptured Gardens Alive offer a senior discount?

    No, Sculptured Gardens Alive does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Sculptured Gardens Alive?

    Yes, Sculptured Gardens Alive offers warranties.

    What services does Sculptured Gardens Alive offer?

    Sculptured Gardens Alive offers the following services: Landscape design, water thrifty gardens, stone, rock & decorative pebble dry gardens, renovations & upgrades to sprinkler systems, Courtyards, patios, entries, atriums, balconies & potted plantings, landscape lighting, seasonal garden cutbacks, landscape tune-ups, fertilizing routines, color plantings

    Are there any services Sculptured Gardens Alive does not offer?

    Weekly Lawn service.