Just Hardwood Floors

About

Founded 1976 • With Angi since January 2014

Just Hardwood Floors is a father/son team with excellent work ethic that has been in the business for over 42 years! Comparing to our competitors, our quality of equipment and our attention to detail is truly what separates us from our competition. Our billing process: For ALL Installations:

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

5.0

(52) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

50

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

hardwood floors (46)flooring (17)
Showing 1-25 of 52 reviews
5.0

11/30/2022


Lisa B.

John was amazing to work with. He was able to come out and quote our refinishing project as well as set up a plan to get the work done. He always arrived exactly when he said he would, and he and his employees were very professional in the work they provided. Our floors turned out beautiful, just like new with very little inconvenience to us. I would highly recommend him and would use him again without question.

Description of Work
The hardwood floors in our kitchen and entry are 21 years old and were showing some major wear. He was able to sand them down and refinish them. They look beautiful.

Category hardwood floor

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for Just Hardwood Floors - 3729 Chelsea Rd, SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA - 39959528

+3 More

5.0

10/24/2022


Chris T.

The service was very professional and fast. The floors were very damaged and stained by previous tenants at the location but the resurfacing, stain and seal really brought the floors back to life. The end result far exceeded my expectations. I plan on calling them again for another project in the near future.

Description of Work
Resurface Damaged Hardwood Floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2022

Images

Review for Just Hardwood Floors - 3729 Chelsea Rd, SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA - 39920856

+1 More

4.0

10/19/2022


B M.

fairly good. had to request that some additional digits be refilled after sanding, but the speed and price were right on, as expected.

Description of Work
refinish hall and bedrooms 1960 hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2022

5.0

10/09/2022


Ashleigh W.

We recently purchased a home that had real hardwood floors but I was unsatisfied with the color of the finish and wanted a more rich darker brown. We found John and he sure did deliver. He showed me samples in the tones I was looking for and ended up going with a dark walnut that he diluted by %25. It was perfect and exactly what we were looking for. His professionalism and attention to detail is amazing. He’s a real pleasure to work with and we would recommend him to any of our family and friends. Thank you John for your service and our new beautiful floors!

Description of Work
Refinished our existing hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

Cost $6,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2022

Images

Review for Just Hardwood Floors - 3729 Chelsea Rd, SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA - 39902734

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thankyou Asheligh so much.You both were great to work with,I wish you both the best moving forward.Im happy knowing that your Dad will always have family around him for the rest of his life. Take good care,many thanks for the work
5.0

08/02/2022


Cirre E.

John Sturgeon is great! He is professional and prompt and clear and gets the work done quickly and beautifully. I couldn't be more pleased and I am hard to please. He matched new oak to old oak very well as you can see.

Description of Work
I have an older home with hardwood floors in most of the rooms but the kitchen was an ugly linoleum. John replaced the linoleum with oak to match the rest of the house and sanded and finished all of it.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2022

Images

Review for Just Hardwood Floors - 3729 Chelsea Rd, SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA - 39820040

+1 More

5.0

07/09/2022


Carol O.

John did a great job installing engineered wood flooring in my livingroom, dining area, and hallway. He removed all the old, cheap laminate flooring first. I hired him after receiving a couple of other quotes because he referred me to a wood floor distributor that had better looking wood than what I was finding elsewhere, and he also had a very good installation price. I also liked that he broke down all the costs for demo, install, and all materials. He's very honest, and also very pleasant to work with. He was punctual, and he keeps you updated. He also installed the baseboards. He's a hard worker, and worked a couple of long days to get it done within the time he said he would. The floors are gorgeous, and he did a beautiful job that really upgraded the quality and feel of this 1950s home.

Description of Work
Installing Engineered Wood floors

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2022

Service Provider Response

Thankyou [Member Name Removed].I will let you know when I drop off the 2 poeces of base
5.0

06/08/2022


Andrew B.

John did a great job refinishing our floors. We were on a tight schedule to get it done before we moved into our new home, and he was able to make it happen. He also did a great job setting expectations regarding what could be refinished, and what would need to be fully replaced if we wanted to get an optimal result. We may need to add some hardwood to replace old linoleum in a couple closets... we know John will be our guy when we do!!

Description of Work
Refinishing of 3 bedroom floors (about 450 sf)

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2022

5.0

05/04/2022


Andrew K.

It went great. John dedicated time and attention to our old hardwood floors and we couldn't be happier with the results!

Description of Work
Refinish hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2022

5.0

04/07/2022


Julia B.

Excellent! John arrived on time as scheduled, completed the work as scheduled, and the floors look FANTASTIC!

Description of Work
Hardwood Floors restored

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2022

5.0

03/06/2022


Marvin B.

Excellent, On Time, Professional, Fairly Priced with “Little to No Dust!” Our hardwood floors were very badly cupped. We searched for 2 years for someone to just answer their phone let alone return a message. A couple of months ago we came across “Just Hardwood Floors” on Angi. I was pleasantly surprised when John (Owner) returned my call within an hour, set a time for that day to come out, and was on time. John measured the floor, explained the scope of work in detail and why it would take 3 to 4 days. He also answered our questions and concerns without being condescending or judgmental. Later that evening we had a bid. The next day we accepted and set a date for the work to begin in about 3 to 4 weeks. John called a couple of days before to confirm everything was ready to go and was looking forward to doing the job. He showed up on time every day, had all the equipment and supplies needed, and never had an excuse or complaint. My wife and I are ecstatic with the results. We highly recommend John from “Just Hardwood Floors”.

Description of Work
Refinish badly cupped hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2022

5.0

02/26/2021


Brian K.

We were very pleased with the work, the new flooring looks great. Excellent communication along the way, and they were willing to take calls/texts throughout. Our project was not a full renovation so the JHF team had to work around the existing unit, tackling a room at a time while clearing space for the next one. Fast and easy quoting as well as good advice on materials and finishes. Very easy to work with, especially if you know what you want.

Description of Work
demo and new installation

Category flooring contractor

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] so much for the kind words. We had a great time working with you and your wife on your flooring project. We look forward to the possibility of working with you again in the future. Best Jason and John
5.0

12/12/2020


Matthew P.

It was a pleasure working with Jason and I can’t recommend him and his team highly enough. We recently purchased a small home, and we had a very short timeline to get the floors refinished before we moved in--6 days to be precise. The floors were stained and yellowed and desperately needed help. We spoke to 4 companies, and not only was Jason the only one willing to refinish our floors in that amount of time (and confident that he could do it!), his quote came in under all the others. Hiring him seemed like a no-brainer, but his work spoke for itself. We weren’t able to be present to meet him at the house or pick out stains for the floor, but Jason communicated with us clearly and consistently to update us on the project and give us advice and feedback. He discovered several places where the floor needed to be repaired, gave us a quick quote, and completed the repairs without taking any extra time to finish the job. The floors are beautiful and have breathed new life into our new old house. Jason and his team at Just Hardwood Floors are fantastic and come highly recommended from us.

Description of Work
Restoring wooden floors

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and the review. It was a pleasure working with you guys. We look forward to the possibility of working with you again in the future. Enjoy your beautiful home. Take care and stay safe. Best, Jason and John
5.0

11/12/2020


Jeff G.

Jason and his dad John did a fantastic job. Prompt, courteous, and careful. We needed a repair in addition to refinishing and they did a beautiful job that does not look patched. Would definitely bring them back for more work.

Description of Work
Refinished exisiting floors

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2020

1.0

10/11/2020


margo S.

They made a appointment to measure and give me a quote. Never showed up, never called.

Description of Work
Refinisher for hardwood

Category flooring contractor

Work Completed On 10/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed]. There must be some misunderstanding, I never received a project request or phone call from you. When did you call? I will look back and check to see if I had missed something. Can you please provide a date and time you called or emailed? We are usually very good at getting back to clients. Thank you Jason
5.0

06/30/2020


hollis P.

Excellent - John and Jason were great. They explained the difficulty of matching old floors with new and explained what would work best. They kept to the schedule and the final product was beautiful. There was seemingly no dust in the house even though the floors were being sanded.

Description of Work
repaired water damaged wood and refinshed bedroom

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2020

5.0

06/26/2020


Suzanne L.

I can’t say enough about these guys… They turned my very dull and damaged floor into a work of art. John and Jason are artists with wood floors. They have exceeded any expectation I had, about what my floors would look like. These floors are exceedingly beautiful, and they were very professional and talented artists! They also protected my stuff and put up plastic so dust didn’t go into the other parts of the house. I would highly recommend them to anyone who needs their floors refinished! I am exceedingly happy with their work!

Description of Work
Hardwood Floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. You have been an absolute pleasure working with. Seeing how happy you are with our work is one of the reasons we love doing what we do. We look forward to the possibility of working with you again in the future. Thank you again. Best, Jason and John
5.0

06/02/2020


Emilie S.

Jason, his dad, John & the “tear-out” crew were fabulous! All polite & personable. Everyone came on time, when they said they would, completed the job as agreed- including matching the stain to fit the rest of the rooms. BEST hardwood floor installation I’ve ever had!

Description of Work
Hardwood Flooring Sales and Installation

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed]. Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedules to write us a review. It was an absolute pleasure working with the both of you. We look forward to the possibility of working with you again in the future. Take care and stay safe. Best Jason and [Member Name Removed]
5.0

02/24/2020


Melinda R.

Great. Jason and his team did a fabulous job. Not only did the floor turn out beautiful but the level of attention and care paid to the entire job was stellar. We already booked him for our next project.!

Description of Work
Refinished existing hardwood gloor

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2020

5.0

02/13/2020


Gordon P.

Absolutely terrific! Jason and his team are truly outstanding craftsmen both with respect to design and execution. The precision of their work was amazing. They installed new hardwood flooring on the stairs that fit so precisely that our painter barely needed to caulk. Aside from the quality of the work, Jason and his Dad are a real pleasure to work with. They kept us fully informed of plans and the status of the project at each stage, kept the work space extremely clean, and finished the project ahead of schedule. Finally, their terms were very reasonable. We are incredibly pleased with our petty big project!! Gordon and Renate

Description of Work
New hardwood floors and refinishing old ones

Category hardwood floor

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2020

5.0

01/21/2020


Katie K.

John and his team did an amazing job refinishing the floors! John was a true professional to work with - responded quickly to all correspondence and delivered exactly what he promised. I definitely would recommend him to friends and family.

Description of Work
Refinish floors

Category hardwood floor

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2020

5.0

11/19/2019


Lynn H.

Working with Just Hardwood Floors was a very positive experience. The hardwood flooring in this vintage two bedroom one bath house in Hayward, CA had been covered with carpeting for over 30 years. The care and workmanship done to restore these floors to their original glory was gratifying. The replacement flooring in one bedroom fits in with the original flooring. The tile in the entry way was removed and the pinstripe style flooring that exists in the main room was copied successfully for the entryway. This is my uncle’s home. I am his Successor Trustee and while this house is in an obsolete area due to its proximity to aerial BART tracks, it retains its charm. Jason and John treated this job with respect and I appreciate that they did. There are many who will not do their best work because a house is not in an upscale neighborhood. That is not the case with Just Hardwood Floors. Their decency, professionalism and high quality work is commendable and rare to find. I highly recommend Just Hardwood Floors because of their work ethic and the results they achieve. When I have another project I am engaging Just Hardwood Floors for the project.

Description of Work
Refinishing, Repair and Replacement

Category hardwood floor

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so Much for the review, we really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. It was great working with you as well, best of luck with the selling of your home. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Best Jason and John
5.0

09/13/2019


Jim F.

We are extremely satisfied with the work performed by Jason and his dad, John. They were prompt, professional and thoughtful. At their suggestion we changed the finish of our bedroom flooring and what a wonderful difference it made. We are very happy that we listened to the pros. We will definitely hire them again to refinish the rest of the flooring in our home.

Description of Work
Partial flooring replacement and refinishing our bedroom and landing floor.

Category hardwood floor