Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Do It Right Construction

4.9

(85) Verified Reviews

Founded 2001 • With Angi since February 2011

Licensed
Trade License Number
857148
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
01/31/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Description

Free in-home consultations so please call today! Do It Right Construction provides top quality remodeling services, expert construction & personalized consulting for all of your project's needs. We walk our customers through the remodeling process from design ideas to completion with the personal care that goes into every job. Some happy customers claim we care more for their home than they do! Our attention to details results in great looking and functional projects. We live up to our name--we do it right the first time. We provide complete & thorough estimates so there won't be any surprises and we complete the work as promised. We've never been late completing a project. I, Noam Itzhaki, owner of Do It Right Construction, personally manage each project and make sure that I am at the job site every day. This is the reason that most of our business comes from repeat customers and referrals....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(85) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

78

4

4

3

1

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (64)countertop installation (19)cabinet makers (12)roofing (4)plumbers (43)tile installation (27)electrician (25)interior painting (23)water heaters (20)lighting (19)drywall (17)flooring (14)
Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
5.0

02/18/2022


Stacey B.

We had extensive water damage to the upstairs of our house and hired Noam to rebuild it for us. When we hired him, the upstairs had been taken down to the wood framing and he rebuilt 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, including closets and linen cabinets. One of the reasons we chose Noam was his attention to detail. Prior to hiring him, I had asked to see one of his projects so that I could make sure things were straight and had clean lines, especially the tile. I was really pleased with this aspect of his work, and I tend to be picky about this sort of thing. And the custom closet doors and cabinets he made for us are perfect. Noam communicated clearly about the timeline and when we would need to make our selections for things like the vanities, tile, and paint colors. When he encountered a problem, such as the doors we wanted being out of stock, he informed us right away, told us our options, and how much it would cost. Because we had filed a homeowner's claim and hired a public adjuster, we asked Noam to inform us if he encountered additional costs. He did so and provided appropriate documentation, which helped us to get additional funds to cover those expenses. Throughout the entire job, Noam and his crew were professional and punctual. He was in communication with his crew daily (even when he got sick) and they finished the job on time. Even toward the end of the job, he was at our house every day to make sure that things were getting done right. We are so pleased with how everything turned out and when we update our kitchen, we will be calling Noam!

Description of Work
Rebuild Upstairs--4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, Closets/Cabinets

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,plumbing,remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $180,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2022

5.0

11/15/2021


Dale D.

Noam and his crews remodeled out kitchen and laundry room. First, Noam was very easy to work with, offering us suggestions and advice, but ultimately going with our decisions. Antonio and his crew did almost everything -- demo, walls, electrical, plumbing, painting, tiling and stucco -- and they were excellent at everything. Rafael and his crew installed custom cabinets to our color spec. Again, they did beautiful work. Everyone was professional, courteous and responsive. I can't recommend Noam and his crews highly enough.

Description of Work
kitchen and laundry room remodel

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2021

Images

Review for Do It Right Construction - 5240 Norwich Ave., Sherman Oaks, CA - 39543506

+3 More

5.0

09/23/2021


Justin S.

Simply put, Noam and his crew were awesome. Noam helped us renovate our garage, transforming it from a concrete slab with four walls into an incredible office/guest house. He was with us every step of the way, from turning in the most comprehensive (and reasonably priced!) bid to helping us design the space to personally being on site every day to make sure things were running smoothly. He came in on time, didn't go over budget, and was always responsive when we needed him. We'll be using Noam and his guys for all our future renovation needs, big and small. (Also, their tile work was INCREDIBLE.) Thanks Noam!

Description of Work
Garage renovation

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2021

5.0

08/17/2021


steve R.

We recently did a big home renovation project with Do It Right Construction: A full bathroom and kitchen renovation, and a new bedroom addition. Noam nailed the role of contractor: He did what he said he was going to do, for the price he quoted, within the time frame he said he would do it in. My husband and I were newbies to home renovation, and I’m glad we had Noam to help guide us: He created deadlines for each part of the process (ex. when we needed to order tile, provide a list of paint colors, etc.) and he had excellent recommendations for vendors (all of which we used). He also seamlessly moved the project through inspections and made sure we hit (and passed) each one. Additionally, early in the project, Noam noticed an issue with our plans and worked with us to fix the problem; it was an additional cost to rectify, as was any ask outside the written contract, but I greatly appreciated that Noam was paying attention to our project and wanted to do it right. In fact, Noam was on site most days, and easy to communicate with (via phone, email and text). His team of workers are also dependable and good at what they do, and they, and Noam, addressed any concerns/fixes we requested quickly and efficiently. All in all, we had a great experience with Noam, and we are very happy and comfortable in our new space!

Description of Work
Home renovation project

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

5.0

04/04/2021


Farrokh I.

We interviewed three contractors and hired Noam with Do It Right Construction because he was the most knowledgeable. His price wasn't the lowest but also wasn't the highest. He completely remodeled our condo including new kitchen, bathroom, doors, flooring, and painting. Noam listened to our needs and made very good suggestions. He was very easy to deal with, he was at the job site everyday and gave us a daily report about the job progress. We couldn't be happier with the outcome and we already referred him to a few of our friends.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodeling

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2021

1.0

03/28/2021


Vanie P.

Pros: Noem is responsive, shows up when he says, finishes the job when he says, and his quote WAS fair (with caveats below), not the highest and not the lowest. Knows city codes and when to hire an architect. Cons: Does not admit it when he makes a mistake. Does not make good on his mistakes without charging you for it. Does not take pride in his work (not detail oriented). Is not patient with picky people. Finding good contractors is hard so when I came across the great reviews and saw that Noem is not flaky, the decision to hire him was not hard. We gutted our entire house and moved walls around. Expanded our kitchen, created two closets, a brand new laundry room and a brand new bathroom. Our biggest issue was his temperament and the amount of extra charges we incurred because of mistakes on his part. When we made a mistake like not realizing we had to move a vent (after drywall was done) to make room for a chandelier base, we paid for it, as we should. But when he made a mistake like not squaring off the corners in our dining room while squaring off the corners in the connected hallway, he would not admit fault. He claimed when he asked us about corners, he was only referring to the hallway. Not true. He never explicitly named any room. He asked if we want square or round corners so we naturally assumed he meant all corners that were being plastered. We had to pay $700 to square off the remaining corners in the dining room connecting to the hallway. This was only one of MANY mistakes like that which he would not own and flat out denied costing us $$$. Listing them here would be too long to read. What is most difficult to endure is Noem's unyielding attitude. For example, when he made a mistake in the bathroom, admited it only AFTER I showed him proof via text (before that he argued), and offered to redo the entier bathroom, we let it go even though we were very dissapointed that our bathroom, built from scratch did not turn out the way we wanted it. We didn't want to be unreasonable. But when we asked him not to charge us for the squaring of the dining room corners because we didn't have him redo the entire bathroom, he would not budge. You decide if that's fair or not. Lastly, if you like good craftsmenship, he's not your guy. Noem uses one guy and his brother for laying tile, plaster, drywall, skim coating, base boards etc. For example, they laid down tile without plastic spacers and because of that we did not get the spacing we wanted AND they are completely uneven. The wall in our bathroom and kitchen should have been spaced 1/8 and the floor 1/16. See for yourself closeups with ruler and pulled back to see how uneven they are. The wall wasn't quite 1/8 and way smaller in other areas. The floor didn't even come close to our agreed 1/16. We were so very bummed. This was supposed to be our dream bathroom built from scratch. There was no reason for it not to be what we wanted. And again, we did not have him redo it because we were being reasonable. Another example, our modern square baseboards did not have straight smooth edges on the exposed sides. Later when we did the bedrooms ourselves, we realized by sheer coincidence his worker was using the wrong tool, a circular saw, the same one we used that gave us uneven edges. So we rented the proper tool, a miter saw, instead which gave us perfectly straight and smooth edges. Expect lots of shortcuts like that to save money if you care about details. Also expect for them to make asthetic decisions without running it by you like the color of the fan vent cover in the bathroom and kitchen, or like not discussing options on how to bring the corners of the tile together in the bathroom step (see phtoos) etc. etc. etc. By the end, the job became a disaster with screaming matches as his unyielding and argumentative nature got to me. He does not aim to please the customer and based on older reviews about not charging for changes, he has clearly learned he needs to charge for every change but the problem is, aside from charging you when he makes a mistake, he takes advantage and extra charges are too high. All in all, he would have gotten 4 stars if he was patient, admited when he was wrong and did right by us. He would have gotten 5 stars if he was detail oriented. As a business owner myself, I know what it's like to be on the other side and I would never treat a paying customer, no matter how picky, the way he treated us when he dissagreed with us. Besides, we felt after $150,000 we were entitled to being picky. Don't you think?

Description of Work
Entire house rehab

Category custom cabinets,countertops,drywall,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $114,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2020

Images

Review for Do It Right Construction - 5240 Norwich Ave., Sherman Oaks, CA - 39270084

+7 More

Service Provider Response

We appreciate all reviews and feedbacks. We have been in business over 20 years and have hundreds of very happy customers. Over 90% of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We stand behind our work and try our best to do the job in the best possible way. We finished this job about a year ago and this is the first time we know about these issues. I am sure we can solve any issues if she just contacted us. Here is my reply to some of her claims. We have no problem to admit if we make a mistake and we definitely don't charge for our mistake. I have no temperament and I am very patient with my customers. The location of the chandelier was discussed with her ahead of time. When she received the chandelier, she realized that the base was much bigger than she originally had in mind; therefore we had to relocate the base. Squaring off corners in the existing walls and windows was not part of the contract and we did it for her for free (as we did a lot more work for her for free). The $700.00 charge was for squaring off existing doors that was not part of the contract. During the job, she asked us to do additional work and to our surprise, she wasn't ready to pay for the additional work. We did more than $5,000.00 in additional work without getting paid for. The bathroom didn't need to be redone at all and it was discussed with her. She wanted to do the corners of the tiles in a 45 degree angle that was not possible with the tile that she wanted. Actually, there was a different crew that did the drywall for her. We use spacers when we install tile. The grout lines are uneven in some parts because the tiles are not exactly the same size (some tiles were different by 1/16" or more and that causes the grout will not be exactly the same throughout). This was also explained to her. We don't take any shortcuts to save money; in fact, we did more than $5,000.00 in additional work without getting paid for. We discuss all aspects of the job with our customers. She made some decisions about the finishes and then she regretted those decisions. Vani always tried to tell me to do additional work without charge. We never expect anyone to work for free and we didn't appreciate her asking for free work. When we finally refused to continue doing additional work for free, she became very angry and started yelling and used profanity language. We still stand behind our work and we will be very happy to address any concern about our work.
5.0

12/27/2020


Erin O.

Noam is a fantastic contractor. He is very honest, organized and reliable. He did a very large remodel for us and his crew worked hard. Their detail work was amazing. They kept the project on time (actually early) and on budget. Noam is a really nice guy, easy to work with and very fair and honest about his pricing. He was also quite helpful at finding us some great deals and clever solutions to for some of our challenging changes. We highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Full house remodel.

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,glass repair,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,fireplaces,woodworking,marble & granite,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2020

Images

Review for Do It Right Construction - 5240 Norwich Ave., Sherman Oaks, CA - 39104967

+1 More

5.0

08/26/2020


Seth P.

It was awesome. They were so good and efficient. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Remodel Kitchen

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,electrician,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,interior painters

Cost $19,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

5.0

08/17/2020


Seth P.

It was awesome. Do It Right Construction is so great. They are quick and responsive with any issues. They do incredible work. They take the appropriate time to do an incredible job. I will be hiring them again on the next home project.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodeling

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,electrician,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

5.0

04/08/2020


Darrin B.

We've used Do It Right Construction for several jobs at our home. The owner, Noam, provides his services and responses in a timely manner. For our second project with Noam, we added on a master bathroom on top of a pre-existing balcony. He was able to complete the job very quickly, and even came back to make additional adjustments after everything was finished. He takes pride in his quality of work and he is honest and fair. Not to mention, a number of our friends have been using Do It Right Construction, with a high level of satisfaction. Thank you again, Noam.

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,glass repair,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,woodworking,marble & granite,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

Images

Review for Do It Right Construction - 5240 Norwich Ave., Sherman Oaks, CA - 38494690

+3 More

Services Offered

Kitchen & bathroom remodeling. Room addition. Interior & exterior painting. Roofing. Windows. Doors. Stucco. Driveways. Fencing. Water heaters, Handyman Services.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
Senior Discount
15%
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Do It Right Construction

How is Do It Right Construction overall rated?

Do It Right Construction is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Do It Right Construction open?

Do It Right Construction is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does Do It Right Construction provide

Do It Right Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Does Do It Right Construction offer free estimates?

Yes, Do It Right Construction offers free project estimates.

Does Do It Right Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Do It Right Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Do It Right Construction offer a senior discount?

Yes, Do It Right Construction offers a 15% senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Do It Right Construction?

Yes, Do It Right Construction offers warranties.

What services does Do It Right Construction offer?

Do It Right Construction offers the following services: Kitchen & bathroom remodeling. Room addition. Interior & exterior painting. Roofing. Windows. Doors. Stucco. Driveways. Fencing. Water heaters, Handyman Services.