Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

California Construction

With Angi since March 2011

4.4

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13347 Ventura Blvd Ste 203

Sherman Oaks, CA 91423

Description

California Construction is a general contracting firm that specializes in high quality remodels and new construction. Our goal has and always will be to ensure the complete satisfaction of every client, while offering knowledgeable and friendly service at affordable rates. We take great pride in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Patricia H.
3.0
04/30/2018
The Angies list discount was not stated upfront, on the contract, or when asked for. The quality of the work was mostly good. The cabinets are great, the floor is beautiful and the paint job was mostly good. The owner stated to us to only speak to him. Then when he became unavailable he kept adding to people we were to speak to. They never communicated with the owner so there was confusion as to what was agreed to. We were accused of attacking the owner when we asked for clarification. We were also accused of making the owner beg for his money when he and his partner stated 2 different amounts in texts. Going forward I asked for 3 days to reconcile what was being asked for when it was due. We ended up with more confusion at the end when he said he would discount us $1000 then added $1000 to his bill. It was crazy making. His estimate was also $5000 more than others, but he had compute images that we thought helped us.
Description of Work
remodel master bath, paint and refinish hard wood floors 3 bedrooms, refinish kitchen cabinets and build hall and bathroom cabinet.
Category
concrete repair, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Alison B.
1.0
07/09/2017
We have worked with contractors in the past and this was an awful experience. The contractor assigned to our project was arrogant, rude, insulting, and dismissive. He would not take ownership for his numerous mistakes. He did not oversee the workers and often did not even know who was there and what was done. For example, he told us we ran out of tile when his workers put it in a garage on the property and then refused to check for it before telling us buy more tile at our own risk. This type of situation was common throughout the project. He left the property a mess and we had to clean up debris even after alerting him to the condition. The work was completed, but the craftsmanship did not match the high cost and the lack of professionalism. We will not work with this company again.
Description of Work
Minor renovation of three small apartments: tile floors in kitchens and bathrooms, paint, washer/dryer hookups, new appliance installation.
Category
remodeling
Andrew S.
4.0
10/09/2016
Nir was very polite. He spent several hours with us going over the project to ensure we had all the needed info. We just had our 800 square feet of hardwood floors resurfaced and after a botched job have decided to replace the flooring. Unfortunately since we are already out the money for the refinishing his bid for labor was beyond our budget, which is a shame because I would have like to see how beautiful it would've come out using such a profesional. I'll definitely call them again for bids and hopefully work on future projects...
Description of Work
Job walked and estimated removal and installation of hardwood flooring including baseboards.
Category
remodeling
Frederick D.
5.0
03/23/2016
My wife and I desire an open concept between our family room and formal dining room. One slight problem, we have a 20 foot bearing wall that sits in the middle of the two rooms that is holding up the second floor. We thought it was an impossible task till we consulted with Nir. Nir is such a professional, he arrived on time and explained all the possibilities. He rendered pictures of how the open concept would look like and gave us various options. He walked us through all the steps (planning, execution, follow up, etc) and was very detailed on what would happen in each phase. Although we didn't pursue with the contract at this time, we are ramping up our budget to accommodate the amount it will take to remove the bearing wall. We trust Nir and his team that they will not only up on the wall for us in the future, but more importantly it will be structurally sound.
Description of Work
Estimate
Category
remodeling
Kim D.
5.0
02/08/2016
Excellent. No problems Nir the owner, was always available and checked on the work frequently. 57Highly recommend.
Description of Work
CC removed and existing gate/fence and built two walls and 3 planters for me. They are absolutely gorgeous. I also utilized them for exterior painting of the house and it was a beautiful job. I highly recommend them without reservation. Currently in process of having two gates installed and a small step of the back of the house.
Category
drywall, remodeling, house painters
Kim D.
5.0
11/27/2015
Excellent. The contract was explained and was complete. All communication with CC was timely and they were very responsive. The workmanship was excellent and completed on time without delays. The project was monitored by the owners all through the process. I am using them for another project now.
Description of Work
Exterior painting
Category
remodeling, house painters
Maria A.
5.0
10/09/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
remodeling
Kristine L.
5.0
11/03/2014
The owner and his assistant did all transactions over the phone. I could not be there for any of this. They worked well w my manager. I found them trustworthy and reliable. If recommend them for any construction jobs.
Description of Work
Brought my duplex rental up to code by removing the hot water heater and washer/dryer from the garage, installed an on demand water heater outside, did hard wiring of all smoke alarms, replaced 3 windows, installed sensor lights, built laundry center in one unit, removed one ceiling fan and brought two up to code
Category
electrician, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows
AARON M.
5.0
02/05/2014
I have used California Construction on several different occasions. The first time was in July of 2012 when I was doing a full interior renovation of a large apartment unit. I was managing the vendors myself, but in the middle of my drywalling phase, my drywall contractor suddenly had to leave town for a few months. I called California Construction to take over the drywalling project from where the previous contractor stopped. Solomon Fuchs, the owner, was such a pleasure to work with from day one. I had a specific deadline of completing the whole project, as I had tenants moving in on a pre-set date. His crew did a fabulous job of drywalling the ceilings and walls of several rooms at the same time, as I was waiting for the drywall to be hung and finished before the bathroom and kitchen floors, cabinets and fixtures could be put in place. Solomon saw that I was managing the whole project myself, and he was very helpful in guiding me through the rest of the renovations, even though his job was only getting all the drywall completed. The second, most recent project was when I hired California Construction to shore up an exterior porch wall that I noticed was shaky. He gave an estimate, because It was hard to know the extent of the damage until the stucco covering the wall was removed. His crew came first thing in the morning, exactly at the time he said they would be there. They framed a temporary supporting wall under the upstairs porch. Once the stucco was removed, it was determined that the entire wall needed to be demolished and rebuilt due to the extensive termite and water damage. Of course, the price quoted was higher than originally estimated. We settled on the price and demolition began right away. The extent of the rotten wood was very severe and extended past the original wall. His crew demolished the entire wall and the upstairs porch, and rebuilt everything perfectly according to code. They also constructed a concrete front walkway to the porch, as part of the project. Even though the extent of the wood damage was more than anticipated, Solomon was insistent that I should not pay more than what was agreed on. The workers were always very polite and cordial and made sure to clean up perfectly every day before they left. Solomon and his foreman, Jeff, made sure to stop by every day to ensure that the project was running smoothly. I would gladly use Solomon Fuchs of California Construction for any remodeling or new building project.
Description of Work
Two separate projects: 1. Large scale ceiling and wall drywall installation 2. demolition and construction of new porch, new front wall and new concrete walkway
Category
remodeling
Shlomi A.
5.0
01/31/2014
We just purchased our first home and decided to get it updated as soon as we could. After contacting a couple of different construction companies and having them come out, we decided to go with California Construction Company, not because of the price, but for the way we were treated, like and quot;familyand quot;, they were so patient with us, answering all of our questions and just making us feel relaxed, everyone from Anne in the office to the crew who was at our home everyday, except Sundays (which we were sure they would have been there if we had asked) We completely redid the kitchen, 2 bathrooms, which both needed electrical and the plumbing updated, we had the whole inside repainted as well as the outside too. We also had some custom windows put in, that make such a difference in the appearance of our home. We couldn't be more happy and we will be calling Jonathan again for more work in the future.
Description of Work
kitchen, bathrooms, flooring, windows, plumbing, electrical, exterior paint, interior paint,
Category
remodeling
Akiva D.
5.0
07/23/2013
Shlomo was incredible from the minute we discussed possibly doing the remodel until the very last second his men came back to clean up the last speck of dust. We had many questions going back and forth with ideas, but I never felt that he gave us any less attention than he would a million dollar construction job. I felt that my input was valued when even little details such as changing my mind on the paint color was accepted with a and quot;sure, not a problem.and quot; The supervisor Jeff checked in every few hours, and although I didn't have anything to complain about, he would tell the workers to ensure they kept the job area clean. You can tell that his team takes pride in the work that they do, and their concern for the customers happiness is very appreciated. Shlomo had some terrific ideas, such as spending a few dollars more to put some plywood down on the newly framed ceiling, so we'd have some usable attic storage space. I can't emphasize how useful that was! I wouldn't think of using anyone but California Construction when we do our planned addition to our home.
Description of Work
Gutted existing area and installed new framing, plumbing, electrical, drywall, paint, and trim. Shlomo and his men helped us decide on the most efficient layout with new windows and sleeping/ living area.
Category
drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, interior painters
Wayne L.
5.0
03/15/2013
Ben responded to phone message & scheduled initial appointment within 24 hours. Scope of work was reviewed and contract was signed during initial visit. Work commenced within 24 hours. Work was completed in 6 working days over a two week period (rain caused one day delay). Workers showed up each day at 8:00 - 8:30 a.m. and worked diligently each day. When I expressed dissatisfaction with trim painting or stucco patch, the corrections were made immediately to my satisfaction. Ben checked in daily to coordinate paint color selection and satisfaction with work being performed.
Description of Work
2 story house Tex-Cote painting including stucco repairs.
Category
remodeling, stucco, house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    DiBara Masonry

    Named "Top Masonry & Concrete Company" by Industry Oversight, we are a fourth generation masonry company, specializing in repairs, restorations and new installations of stone, block, brick, concrete and pavers, as well as waterproofing and sealing of any sort. No matter how odd, large or small the project may be, DiBara Masonry can provide exactly what you need, because with DiBara, expert advice is always free and expert service is always delivered. Our Story: Son of a third generation mason, DiBara Masonry's owner, Matthew DiBara, started working with a trowel and mortar beside his father at a young age on the outskirts of Boston, Massachusetts. After deciding to move west and build up his company there, Matt left the cold weather behind but carried with him the knowledge and history of his Italian ancestors and ever since has delivered expert quality sure to make Pasquale proud.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Carroll Painting

    We are a family owned and operated painting and pressure washing company. Our company has been in our family for 30 years. We strive to have the best customer service and treat your project like it was our own. We specialize in interior and exterior painting, stucco repairs, and we do all of our own carpentry work. We offer free estimates! Call us today !  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Tito Alcaraz Painting & Repair Specialist

    We are family owned & operated since 1995. We have close knit network of skilled workers ranging from painters to construction workers. We offer a complete range of home improvement solutions for your home. Estimates are free and prices range depending on size of jobs and material desired. We specialize in Repairs and Restoration, No job is too small, no project too hard, No location is too far. We provide one on one service and are always available in case of emergencies. All of our friendly staff is insured and certified, to provide you with the highest quality and fastest service, we are licensed and bonded, so use our service with confidence. We are the only company that offers a maintenance service to ensure long lasting quality of exterior work, maintenance includes Power wash, and Touch-Ups as needed in 18 months included in the original price. We offer affordable option for interior touch-up and quality preservation. Take advantage of our 20% off special and bid with confidence.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We understand and respect how important it is to trust your contractor. Our clients rely on us to serve on their behalf, ethically and responsibly. Our commitment to integrity, expertise and customer satisfaction is proven by the fact that returning clients account for more than half of our business each year. Our clients value the relationship we build with them and recognize our commitment to quality, budget and schedule. Clients who work with us for one project return to California Constructi

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about California Construction

    How is California Construction overall rated?

    California Construction is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are California Construction open?

    California Construction is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does California Construction provide

    California Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does California Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, California Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does California Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, California Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by California Construction?

    No, California Construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does California Construction offer?

    California Construction offers the following services: We understand and respect how important it is to trust your contractor. Our clients rely on us to serve on their behalf, ethically and responsibly. Our commitment to integrity, expertise and customer satisfaction is proven by the fact that returning clients account for more than half of our business each year. Our clients value the relationship we build with them and recognize our commitment to quality, budget and schedule. Clients who work with us for one project return to California Constructi