Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

JRG Construction Co

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Founded 1985 • With Angi since January 2010

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
829821
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

1245 Kenneth St

Seaside, CA 93940

Description

Licensed construction company with 25 years experience in the tri-county area. we have various levels of employee's from laborers to master carpenters, using only a finely selected group of sub contractors who have been with me for many years. General contractors license number 829821 there is No charge for estimates or proposals, our trip charge depends on locality and distance from our shop area, but always under $ 100.00. Our hourly rate varies from employee to employee as we only charge for what you need done and depends largely on the project. A first time discount for Angie's List customers of 10 % off of labor when mentioning Angie's List....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

18

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (12)woodworking (7)plumbers (5)flooring (5)door installation (4)electrician (3)tile installation (3)window replacement (2)siding companies (2)decks & porches (2)concrete repair (2)driveway gate installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews
1.0

09/01/2021


Kanjana B.

Contractor ruined our kitchen floor because he leveled and installed flooring incorrectly and ultimately had to remove it. He recommended a subcontractor to fix his poor leveling and flooring job but has refused to repay us for the damaged flooring we had to replace and for the work we had to pay the flooring installers to fix his work. We were left with a hole in our kitchen floor for months. The work done was sub par and he never completed the finishing touches he promised. There were also several instances throughout the job when he came by the house without consulting us first.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category flooring contractor,remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

5.0

10/02/2019


c jo G.

When you are looking for a construction crew -- you want one that will inspire safety .. After all they are going to be at your home for some duration . You hope they will bring a professional skill..... a timely manner ... approach the project with you in mind . Found that crew J.R.G. Construction Company ---- They went the extra mile > every detail checked --- and then some ....

Description of Work
Large oak trees on house roof / property

Category remodeling,woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2019

5.0

06/28/2019


Sandy S.

Great job. Fence looks great. John personally built the fence.

Description of Work
Fence and retaining wall

Category woodworking,home remodeling,driveway gates

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

Images

Review for JRG Construction Co - 1245 Kenneth St, Seaside, CA - 37955855

+1 More

5.0

11/30/2017


Susan G.

This was the second job John has done for us. (The first was repair from water leak in kitchen). He was thorough, friendly and knowledgeable. He was patient and flexible with us as well. When the usual unexpected challenges occurred, he always had a plan B. John answered calls and texts promptly. We are very happy with our new bathroom and updated doors. Thanks John!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel including tearing out fiberglass tub, replacing with tiled shower, replacing vanity and flooring. Replace all interior doors, hardware.

Category ceramic tile,plumbing,home remodeling,doors

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2017

5.0

01/04/2017


Michael M.

It was outstanding! He was on time and very responsive. They were also very respectful of my father's privacy since they were working on his home and not mine. They left the home spotless every day when they left, too! It was everything I ever wanted and more!

Description of Work
Remodeled a bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2016

5.0

11/05/2016


Cathy S.

John said it was a 3 month job and it only ran over by a couple of weeks. In my experience that has never happened before. They were at the house early every morning with a plan for the day that they stuck with. John is an easy going very knowledgeable about the job and how to get it done. He has a good group of guys that showed up everyday and worked very hard. He took care of the permitting and was always available to answer questions and to explain the next phase of the job. Yes, I would hire John for future construction jobs.

Description of Work
We bought a house in Monterey that had big issues with code violations. Knowing these had to be fixed we found JRG Construction. John gave us the best bid. We completely demolished a sun room and garage. The roof had to be raised and the floor of garage and three walls had to be rebuilt. There were also electrical and plumbing issues to be dealt with.

Category concrete repair,flooring contractor,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,doors

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2016

5.0

06/06/2016


Tom H.

We are very pleased with the quality of work performed and recommend JRG Construction to those looking for a general contractor. Our 1-bed/1-bath home was built in 1950 and had never been updated. The house had eight electrical outlets (none in the bathroom) and the plumbing was functional but old. We decided on a full kitchen and bath remodel, down to the studs with new plumbing and electrical throughout. We interviewed two contractors and chose John Goulart of JRG Construction. We reviewed with John our wants and needs. He had us speak with the sub contractors for plumbing, electrical, tile, cabinets and flooring. His bid was accepted. The timeline was three months. The need for changes/revisions did occur. We had to remove the kitchen door to the back yard but in doing that gained a small pantry. We changed the entry point to the kitchen during the remodel. John was able to adapt to that. He was proactive in dealing with the building/planning department and architect. He looked ahead to find possible issues/concerns so that the process went very smoothly. All of the work was performed under John’s watchful eye and he was consistent about communicating with us and sending photos, as we live in the central valley, 3 hours away. The remodel took 3-1/2 months; in part because we added HVAC during the process of the remodel. We recommend JRG Construction to those looking for a general contractor.

Description of Work
Full kitchen and bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2016

5.0

04/17/2016


Jessica S.

John was very thorough and thoughtful about the plans we wanted. He was very detail oriented and communicated often to ensure we knew ecacty what was happening.He would explain in great detail the work and methods he was using to accomplish our remodeling goals. John always wanted to check in with us to let us know exactly where are dollars where going and why something took the amount of time it did. He was always looking to help us save a buck on supplies when possible but not at the expense of quality. His tile contractor did a great job and helped us with a great idea for our vanity counters. The counters that came with the vanity didn't fit our tight bathroom space so we purchased inexpensive custom tiles that looked even better and she made it work. His plumbing contractor, who was nice and friendly, was our only negative performance experience. He didn't say anything about the cover for the inflowing waterlines to the toilet not fitting. We discovered it after they left and had to replace it ourselves no big deal but it was a departure from the great experience we had had with John. He also left all of the trash from the installation of the toilet in our master bedroom. Again it was probably because John had been so diligent in getting all his trash cleaned and packed out that we were a little surprised that his other contractor did not practice the same customer service values. A few weeks later we have noticed a slow drip from one of the faucets into the sink and are unsure if it is the material or the installation. several months after the installation we found there had been a leak from the incoming water line to the same leaky faucet that had been leaking for a while but it was under the sink and a harder to notice. It looks like some plumbing tape should fix it. Overall It was a great experience and even the minor issues with the plumber are not enough to bring down our rating of John.

Description of Work
John and his crew replaced our laminate bathroom flooring with tile, He updated and added new electrical outlets . Hew installed new vanity lighting, Installed new double vanity(which he had to assemble from many boxes) with necessary plumbing adjustments. Installed tile backsplash to vanity. Installed new energy efficient toilet. Painted the bathroom when done. Centered and installed new ceiling fan/light in master bedroom. Inspecated for mold and patched small hole in our drywall (NOT caused by John)

Category ceramic tile,electrician,flooring contractor,plumbing,home remodeling

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2015

Images

Review for JRG Construction Co - 1245 Kenneth St, Seaside, CA - 31257303

+7 More

5.0

01/06/2015


Kathleen P.

I got several estimates but John's was by far the lowest and the work was done just as I liked. John was easy to work with, friendly and talkative, and he explained all the options and pros and cons, why work had to be done a certain way, work permits, etc. The price was excellent and perfectly satisfactory. All the workers (total of 3) were friendly and liked the dog (like me, like my dog)! John was good at getting back to me and keeping me well informed of the various aspects of the job (i.e. when I would get a receipt for unused lumber, what time they would be there, what the work plan was, when they would finish, how things were charged in the final bill, etc.) I would use JRG again, and in fact getting the steps done was one way to get to know some contractors in the area in planning for future needs.

Description of Work
Replaced front outdoor stairway with redwood stairs and new banisters. Replaced back half stairway with the same.

Category remodeling,woodworking

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2014

5.0

12/24/2014


Lania B.

The results were exceptional. The job was completed in four days. The opening between the two rooms opened up the house and provided additional lighting. John kept in touch with me by texts, emails and photos. If we next move to renovate our kitchen, J.R.G Construction will be the only estimate we will seek.

Description of Work
He knocked out the top half a wall between my dining room and living room. He moved all the furniture and protected my new carpeting. He moved some electrical lines and my thermostat. He finished off the job by touching up the paint on my wall and ceiling. It was a totally completed project.

Category electrician,flooring contractor,remodeling,garage builders,home remodeling

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2014

Services Offered

Home building & remodeling. Additions. Custom woodworking. New doors & windows. Decks & fencing. Concrete walks & walls. Retaining wall systems. Insulation. Structural repairs. Drywall. Stucco. Tile & fine marble finishes.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Financing Available, PayPal
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes