Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Baron Construction & Remodeling Co

Founded 1981 • With Angi since April 2014

4.5

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14510 Big Basin Way

Saratoga, CA 95070

Description

We specialize in providing hassle-free remodeling, within the San Francisco And San Jose Area. Check out our photo to see our recent projects. We provide remodeling services from design and construction to finish and polish. We're prepared to tackle large scale remodeling projects requiring more

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/26/2021


Max S.

If you are thinking of hiring Baron Construction (Mike, Or, David) to do any major work - think twice! The company is a complete disaster and incompetence. They don't understand architectural or structural plans or even care about doing so. Their approach is to sign you up for a high-premium contact, and then hire low-cost subcontractors and provide zero supervision to any work. After the project starts, they will drag it as much as they can, making 9 months project last for 2 years! In the meantime, they will try to charge you 50x for simple plywood here and there. Don't bother. Take your money somewhere else where you will get quality, communication, and responsibility.

Description of Work
Whole house remodel and addition

Category excavators, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders

5.0

07/16/2020


Christina C.

I was very pleased with baron construction, especially Etel’s project management. She was very professional and accommodated our quick turn with this remodel. She was attentive with my concerns and responded quickly with questions. If something didn’t work, Etel went beyond to do the research to figure out a solution. I would recommend Etel to anyone.

Description of Work
Remodeled shower

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/14/2019


Gary W.

Like any project of this nature, there were a few bumps in the road. However, each was promptly dealt with to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Expanded master bedroom to include bath and walk-in closet. Included rewiring entire house to eliminate knob and tube wiring.

Category concrete repair, drywall, electrician, excavators, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, architect, interior painters

5.0

11/30/2018


Marcia G.

I hired Mike Baron of Baron Constructor and Remodeling to install a new roof on my house. Mike helped me select the type of shingle for longevity and color to go with the exterior paint. i was extremely pleased with the people during the job. They were efficient, knew what they were doing and most of all they were considerate of my property and plants. They cover everything in my garage. I also appreciated that they worked as quietly as possible with no yelling at each other or radios blaring.

Description of Work
Installed New Roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/29/2018


Gary W.

Excellent. Mike Baron coordinated the reroofing with my solar panel provider’s removing the solar panels and then having them reinstalled. Baron works well with other companies to make sure the entire job is done on time and correctly.

Description of Work
As a part of bedroom remodel, Baron redid major portion of roof, perfectly matching to the existing roof.

Category concrete repair, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, roofing

4.0

10/03/2018


Lisa A.

The bathroom construction and remodel went well. The workers took the time to do the work in a timely manner and met our specs and did a great job. We are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, outdoor lighting

5.0

09/24/2018


Sebastien L.

I worked with Or as our primary manager throughout our project and Astar as the project manager. Our project involved converting an existing bedroom to a bathroom and hallway leading to an addition of approximately 240 square feet for a master bedroom. Additionally, we had them demolish a lot of the old concrete in our backyard and redo it with a new yard and small deck. Construction started in November and we totally wrapped up with the finishing touches the following June. I've heard all of the horror stories of working with contractors and am happy to say that Or, Astar, and their teams reflected none of them. They were professional, courteous, communicative, and thoughtful throughout. We were able to live comfortably in our home throughout the entirety of the project (which also let us witness some really impressive craftsmanship -- from the framing to matching our roof for the addition, matching our hardwood floors, the final detailing, etc. They were also reasonably priced and didn't levy any surprises on us from the original estimate we signed. Any additions / changes to cost were clearly communicated with explanations and options. I would highly recommend working with Baron Construction & Remodeling (and Or and Astar in particular) for anyone looking for home remodels and additions. They clearly try to make it an easy process for homeowners, which can mean a lot for what is often the very stressful process of renovations.

Description of Work
Addition of a second bathroom and a master bedroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/06/2017


Colleen W.

Everything was done professionally, efficiently, and in a timely manner. I was impressed with the communication also. Working with Baron Construction was a very positive experience compared with working with our previous contractor. We would definitely recommend Baron Construction.

Description of Work
Baron Construction helped us complete our final inspection after we had to part ways with another GC. They tested the electrical system, put in-up to code electrical lighting, did corrections from City inspector recommended, poured new concrete pad in backyard.

Category concrete repair, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, foundation repair

5.0

06/18/2017


Gary W.

Excellent!.Mike spent time talking to us about color preferences, offered a few suggestions, then showed us some possible combinations, using a color swatch. After we chose two possible combinations, he had them painted on an out of the way area on the side of the house. Each was large enough to get a good idea of how it would look and we opted for one. As planned, his crew arrived while we were away on vacation and the job was completed when we returned. We've had two neighbors comment on how they were impressed with how careful his crew was and what a great job they thought the crew did. We couldn't agree more. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Exterior of home painted and numerous misc project inside.

Category plumbing, remodeling, house painters

3.0

07/19/2016


Robert W.

Foundation was poured before sewage line was run, foundation has a 1/8" crack that has yet to be determined. Foundation had to be drilled for sewage (just negligent planning), came out OK on that part. Foundation had to be drilled for sewage (just negligent planning), came out OK on that part. Piers and floor joists not coordinated so some piers are too high. Architect re-designed some piers, piers had gaps and some cuts in floor joists. House not protected well from rain, hardwood floor of existing house does not look damaged, but it got wet. Rough sewer plumbing vents are not in the wall, the walls will have to be made thicker reducing my room size or moved to be in the wall. One of the sewer drain "Y" is facing uphill which will make snaking impossible, I was told "its only a sink." Framing of two doors had no queen studs (they fixed them when pointed out). Wall and roof framing not according to plans.Wall and roof "patched up" to inspector's satisfaction." I called in the architect and he made a list of "unacceptable" changes. That's where we are at now, Mike Baron has his guy(s) correcting the list, but I cannot get a hold of them. Roofing was bid at $30K by mike, I offered 18K and he said there was no profit in it. Marco roofing did the roof and gutters for 13K. Items still in contention (assuming he completes his contract with the architect changes):Wood left under the house (termite attraction), Walls in old section torn down unnecessarily, Lost rent due (many days with one or no workers),

Description of Work
Foundation, rough plumbing for sewer, framing, roof framing are "done" with errors, windows, stucco still to be done

Category plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, stucco, foundation repair

5.0

06/07/2016


Marcia G.

The project has been a long one but there were quite a few things I wanted done and one I didn't expect such as the foundation. I am very pleased with the quality of work and Mike's people he has working for him. What I appreciate the most is that I have the same group working on my house so you know who they are. I have found them to be responsible, knowledgable, respectful, and mindful of the client's needs. I come and go as I please knowing they will complete the work and 'take care of my house'. I also feel I have an added bonus because Mike has a keen eye for design and is willing to go with you to help select tiles, flooring, lighting fixtures or whatever it is that you need. Yes, we are still working on a few of the 'list' projects but my house has taken on a whole new personality, it fits me and its beautiful!

Description of Work
I hired Baron Construction & Remodeling Co through Angie’s List to update my house for a more current look. When I met with Mike Baron I gave him a list of things I wanted done. He listened to me, made a few suggestions and did a walk through. He told me that the foundation in the TV room was slopping down and needed to be fixed ASAP (not on my list). He was spot on and it became our priority project. Since then the floors in all rooms have been replaced along with new baseboards and rooms painted; open kitchen concept by cutting back the doorway, replaced all kitchen cabinets doors; replaced old brick fireplace with natural stone and new mantle and an accent wall color; master shower demo (due to mold) and replaced with new tile in shower and floor. Additional projects (from my list) are being worked on.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, masonry, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, foundation repair

5.0

04/03/2016


Luis B.

The experience was great. Completely stress free. Ive been going through a lot personally, so it was a definite load off that they took care of everything.

Description of Work
What i wanted was a simple upgrade to my bathroom. I must say that the outcome was beautiful. It was no hassle, customer service was great. Mike was pleasant and listened to what i wanted. My bathroom looks beautiful and i feel at peace. I get so anxious when a bathroom is dingy and not taken care of. But not mine! I wont give the exact cost of renovation, but i can give a ballpark estimate: 30kz Im pretty sure it depends on the job, so i would give them a call.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/07/2016


Leila S.

I did not use this service. In order to get rid of this angies list is forcing me to put down a grade on this.

Description of Work
I did not use this service. In order to get rid of this angies list is forcing me to put a grade on this and won't allow me to opt out which is totally stupid.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/06/2016


Jesus C.

We have a large family and our den is used as a spare room for four of us. We had been searching for a little while and came across Baron. They came in and did an evaluation. They were really nice.The process was fairly easy but still quite stressful and very inconvenient. I'm glad we hired someone competent. Even that small piece of mind was something we were grateful for. They did an awesome job and we're very glad it's all over. Definite recommend for other clients. They have two locations, one in so Cal and another in NorCal. Again, highly recommend.

Description of Work
My den was falling apart and it needed some renovation.

Category remodeling

4.0

03/03/2016


Patrick A.

My experience with them went okay. The price was good. I had to keep an eye on them, but they got it done and I was happy with it.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal to get some remodeling work done. I paid more than the initial price of the Big Deal because I had a lot of work.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/11/2016


Chris C.

both my partner and I would love very satisfied from the work done on both rooms period great attitude, respectful and great service

Description of Work
my partner and I contracted Baron construction after we bought our home. I was referred to him by a friend, since she had previously hire him to do a bathroom upgrade. How are wash room and kitchen needed an upgrade for what seemed to be the longest. The previous owners have done little to no work on the house. He did an amazing job. Both my partner and I were left satisfied from the work done on both rooms. Great attitude and great service.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/10/2016


William J.

Very satisfied with this company and their services. From the first consultation all the way down to the last day of business, there was a sense of urgency and attention to my needs as the customer. My kitchen had lots of work to be done so I was honestly surprised all deadlines were met. All my requests were met, even the paint in the downstairs bathroom came out exactly as I had envisioned. I would recommend this companies services to anyone who wants a Grade A job done to turn their house into a home. :)

Description of Work
Full remodel of kitchen and downstairs bathroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/09/2016


Cassandra P.

Mike is very professional. The prices were reasonable and he showed up on time, and did an excellent job. could not be happier with the work he's done

Description of Work
Resurfaced/installation cabinets in my Kitchen

Category remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

02/07/2016


Erin C.

The 2 bathrooms at my house needed some remodeling. The site of the floor, the sink, and the tub looked so awful. They did an amazing job in transforming it!!!! I couldn't be more happy to use my bathroom! My son was surprised when he saw his "new" bathroom. He is excited to finally take a bubble bath in it. This company has been so helpful that I will definitely refer them to friends and family.

Description of Work
Baron Construction remodeled the tiling of 2 of my bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/03/2016


sandra M.

I contracted with Baron Construction a about 3 months ago, I wanted to wait on writing review to make sure that the work was completed and in properly working condition. From the very first initial call, all the way through the completion of my kitchen and bathroom remodel our experience was amazing! My husband and I had just purchased our first home (which needed major upgrades) and we were a bit scared for lack of better words that someone would see that we are a young couple and would take advantage of us... a friend referred us to Baron Construction and Mike was great! He sat with us and listened to what we wanted, took all of our ideas and made them happen! He was patient an very nice to work with. He even added a very cute island in my kitchen which I thought couldn't be possible, but he made it happen. He worked with us every step of the way, it wasn't a hassle and kept us in the loop every step of the way. Our kitchen and bathrooms are beautiful!!! We did end up going above our initial budget since his work can be a bit pricey, but in the end it was well worth it! it's true what they say... you get what you paid for. And we LOVE the end result. The quality of his work speaks for itself. Our house finally became a home and we couldn't be more pleased. Thanks guys! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Description of Work
Kitchen and 2 bathroom remodel

Category basement remodeling

5.0

01/13/2016


Jesus D.

Although part of job was a bit outside the company's normal scope of work, Baron Const. was able to meet my specific need. They eliminated an old clay furnace in attic of a victorian house in a timely and clean manner, carrying out/down the debris from the demolition, and they also replaced an entire small bedroom ceiling drywall to fix a water leak. Mike, owner of Baron, was patient and thorough with his advice on what options I have to use the credit & man hours available, and did provide good advice on how to optimize the discount. I would use their discounted service again for jobs that could fall within the scope of the man hours.

Description of Work
Purchased the discount package of $1,499 for a General Contractor for a Week. Installed new insulation and replaced ceiling drywall in small bedroom. Provided manpower for demolition of an old tall chimney in attic space.

Category drywall, excavators, insulation, plumbing, remodeling

1.0

12/21/2015


Sheila H.

I bought a $1500 Deal and this contractor has not followed up with me to do the work!! I called several times, got him on the phone once and he still hasn't made an attempt to come to my home to discuss the work I want.

Description of Work
I bought a $1500 Deal and this contractor has not followed up with me to do the work!! I called several times, got him on the phone once and he still hasn't made an attempt to come to my home to discuss the work I want.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We did respond trough Angie's list business center few days after your purches but did not got a respond, Unfortunately you did not provide your contact information, we didn't had a way to contact you other then trough Angie's list message center. Please let me know if you still need our services and I would be happy to come over to look at your project. Please provide your contact information and I would be contacting you as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact me on my cell phone anytime at 408-464-1228 Thank you Mike Baron
5.0

11/19/2015


Mary H.

They listened to what we wanted done and our priorities. They kept us informed as they progressed through the work and consulted us in a timely manner when needed. They worked consistently, showing up regularly, but did not rush. We were particularly concerned when we learned parts of our metal roof would have to be removed to do a proper repair. We had no need to be concerned however because they did a great job of replacing all the roofing tiles so you could not even tell they had been removed. We appreciated that they pointed out why the tiles needed to be removed to do a proper job and it was obvious they were right. They did not take short cuts but also did not overdo it. We recently purchased this house and it is over 40 years old. We had no idea if they would find other damage when the siding was removed. They didn't and we really appreciated that they did not take advantage of us in that way. The workers were professional, friendly and very skilled. Everything they did looks great and we were surprised at what a great job they did matching the old paint. The siding repairs are not obvious and look fine with the rest of the siding that was untouched. They cleaned up thoroughly when they were done too. We had bought this as a special deal on Angie's List - a set number of contractor hours for a flat rate. We were concerned that they would go over hours and tell us after the fact because the deal indicated a higher rate would be charged if that happened. But - they didn't do that and we even think they exceeded the hours without charging us. Only one suggestion: on a deal like this (set # of hours) it would have saved some anxiety if someone was tracking the hours and letting us know how it was going-but it all turned out great!

Description of Work
They repaired several areas of exterior dry rot damage that had been identified in a recent termite report. This involved, among other things, replacing wood under eaves in high areas of the roof, removing roofing material to gain access to damaged areas, replacing a weight-bearing front porch post, and replacing siding. After completing the repairs, they painted.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, house painters

5.0

11/19/2015


Ariel S.

Our hardwood floor in the living room was getting pretty old and starting to fall apart. So, I checked around for a company that could replace it and a buddy of mine recommended Baron Construction and Remodeling. They offered to send by a representative and provide an estimate for their services free of charge which I gladly accepted. The rep arrived at myhome and immediately saw what needed to be done. He fully examined the floor and provided me with an estimate that was more than reasonable. A week later the crew from Baron arrived and out went my old flooring. Once it was all removed, they checked to see if any water damage had leaked through and fortunately there was not. So, they installed my new wooden floor and it looks great. I got a new type of wood and pattern for the floor which they executed to perfection, making the entire living room seem just like new again. I really appreciated that after the job was finished we went over the floor one more time to make sure it was what I wanted and then I was reminded of their guarantee. Overall, they did a great job of removing my old floor and replacing it with a new one. Plus, I was even given some tips on how to make my new hardwood floor last longer that I really appreciated. I can highly recommend Baron?s as a great remodeling company thanks to their work ethic, professionalism and the price.

Description of Work
On top of quality service, Baron Construction and Remodeling provided us with peace of mind when it came to renovating our house. We originally hired them to redo the hardwood flooring, but they kept us in touch every step of the way, making sure there was no existing water damage to look out for. Overall a great job

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling

5.0

11/13/2015


KAMILLE W.

My husband and I were referred to Baron by two different sources - the top pick from an online search by Home Advisor, and by my friend's parents. I was able to see my friend's parents recent kitchen remodel that was completed by Baron's project manager, Eli Levy, and his crew from Baron Construction. We own a 68 year old home and planned to remove a load bearing wall which separated our kitchen and living room in order to have an "open concept" living space. We also had our one and only main bathroom of the house completely remodeled by Baron as well. We met with Eli shortly after we signed all of the paperwork to begin the job in order to select the products that we wanted in our kitchen and bathroom at the warehouse and showroom. Eli's expertise and eye for design really helped in the process of shopping for our dream kitchen. The estimated timeline when we signed on to complete the job from start to finish was about 8 weeks.We worked with Baron and the structural engineer, and they were able to completely hide the massive load-bearing beam into the ceiling so the look of the kitchen and living space is seamless and beautiful. Of course, with all construction projects, it is crucial to constantly check on the contractors' work and job progress. My husband and I went to check on the house on a daily basis and always communicated with Eli on any issues that we had. We hired a moving company and completely moved out of our 3-bedroom home so that construction could be completed by Baron. Every room in the house was touched, so it was crucial for us as homeowners with a young infant child to be away from the construction zone. Eli was always very professional and accommodating to work with, as were all of the contractors that came to complete the job. The contractors from Baron were extremely hard-working and friendly, and everything was communicated in the proper chain of command. Overall, the project timeline took about 4 months to complete. I am happy to say that we are now living in a beautiful "almost brand new" 68 year old home, and are very pleased with the layout and design of our new kitchen and bathroom. The experience of remodeling a home is definitely stressful and sometimes was not fun, but the end result is night and day! Baron does good quality work, but it is always important to check on the progress of your project as the homeowner and as the customer.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodel, Removed load bearing wall and re-engineered beam into ceiling, Complete Bathroom Remodel, Redesigned bedroom closet layout

Category remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Diamond Life Paving

    We are a family owned and operated company, since 1969, where we specialize in asphalt paving services, along with pavers for sidewalks, patios, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Platinum Paving

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Attic Pros

    Attic Pros is your go-to attic insulation installation and rodent removal contractor in San Francisco Bay Area. We offer a wide range of services for rodent removal, attic cleaning, insulation replacement, and crawl space cleaning to meet all your needs. Our team is dedicated to providing you with the best possible customer service. Contact us today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    991076
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    CSLB
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling, Construction, Plumbing, Roofing, & Waterproofing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Baron Construction & Remodeling Co

    How is Baron Construction & Remodeling Co overall rated?

    Baron Construction & Remodeling Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Baron Construction & Remodeling Co open?

    Baron Construction & Remodeling Co is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Baron Construction & Remodeling Co provide

    Baron Construction & Remodeling Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Baron Construction & Remodeling Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offers a 15% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Baron Construction & Remodeling Co?

    Yes, Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offers warranties.

    What services does Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offer?

    Baron Construction & Remodeling Co offers the following services: Remodeling, Construction, Plumbing, Roofing, & Waterproofing.