Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABC Bee Control

Founded 2003 • With Angi since November 2009

4.4

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1223 Wilshire Blvd 352

Santa Monica, CA 90403

Description

Additional DBA - ABC Honey And Bee....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

04/10/2018


Jimmy Y.

ABC Bee Control is an unreliable company owned and operated by an individual that does not put the client first. Their website states...and I partially quote because the picture cover some of the text, "We guarantee every bee service and you ...will receive an outstanding warranty." Well the owner and a worker showed up on my property to remove a swarm. After speaking with him he ensured the bees will be released in "Topanga Canyon" or with a local bee keeper. I already have a pest control company (but they only exterminate)...so I decided to go the more humane route. They showed up with a home depot small box and duck tape, shook about half to 3/4 the bees in the box and and left the box there for 10 mins. Told me they have the queen and the rest will fly off in a day or two. The owner told me the bill was $195...so I paid them $200 they gave me $2 back because they did not have change...? Well the next day came and the bees were still there...i texted him - he wrote back, it will take a few days. They were still there the next day...I texted him - he called back "it might take a week, try spraying some cold water on them with the garden hose." I took his advice a few died so I stopped. I wanted the bees relocated not killed...would have used my pest service for that. A week went by and the bees were still there and I texted him again. He called at 6:30am and told me it was a 130 mile drive round trip from his location to my house. He also told me if he made the trip and there were no bees there would be an extra fee. I texted him back and told him the bees were still there and not to come back to service my house because I could no longer trust his ability to service my house appropriately. Attached were the bees I asked him to remove after a week or waiting.

Description of Work
Bee Swarm removal

Category pest control

5.0

09/07/2016


Chris S.

I called Ryan he was not far away and said he could come and would be here in one half hour. He came as promised on time. He answered all of my questions we both decided to make sure we could save the bees. His co-worker removed the queen and the swarm followed. He was pleasant and took care of the problem.

Description of Work
Bees removed from our parking lot trash can of a retail business

Category pest control

5.0

08/18/2016


Robert R.

I had a superb, excellent experience with ABC Bee Control. Ryan, the owner, was on-site the entire time. He explained the process when he did the inspection and walk-through the prior day, and did exactly what he said he would do. He and his associate, Cesar, then inspected the rest of the property for signs of other hives, etc. They did a fantastic job, and I'm extremely pleased with the service. They took extra care that everyone was safe during the removal - very considerate, friendly, professional guys!

Description of Work
I needed a well-established, very large, honey bee hive removed from a house that had been sitting 8+ years. The bees were well established under the roof, along a window alcove, that had become badly deteriorated over time, and with bee activity.

Category pest control

2.0

04/29/2016


Joyce A.

Description of Work
On the phone I asked & was told that they would save the bees, not kill them for about $150. Once they quickly got here & the man in charge saw how anxious I was that my dogs & I might get bit, it became $450. They were here less than a 1/2 hour. His worker simply sprayed, killed & put them in a trash bag I think I supplied. After he made sure he showed me the dead bees & a massive amount of honeycomb, he threw the bag into my trash can. When I asked why he killed them he said it was because they were too aggressive. Is there such a thing as non-aggressive bees? He had his worker kill them because it was easier & quicker. What a quick buck he made - I feel stupid. If this happens again I will make sure I do more homework 1st. It was a very costly lesson on my part...

Category pest control

5.0

09/07/2015


MICHAEL S.

It's Labor Day and the owner, Ryan McGuire, answered the phone. He said he would be at our home within 1 1/2 hours, and he was. He explained that what we saw was a swarm, not a hive. They like to save the bees if they can (he had two hives in his truck from earlier today), but this swarm was hanging on a branch over our pool, and there was no way to get to it to save the bees. So, they had to eradicate the bees. Instead of pesticide, they used biodegradable soap (Simple Green), so the spray would not contaminate the pool. Ryan's assistant Ernest got as close as he could, then simply sprayed the swarm, which did, piece by piece, fall into the pool. After they were sure they got the queen bee, Ernest swept out the bees from the pool and put them in a container they brought with them. No more than a half-hour from start to finish. They were off to the Long Beach Airport to clear a swarm from a plane!

Description of Work
Removed a swarm of bees from our pine tree in the back yard.

Category pest control

5.0

01/25/2013


Bernard B.

ABC was contacted by phone and made an appointment for the next morning. They arrived promptly and in 15 minutes had diagnosed where the bees had made their hive and the best place to break into it. I say break in because the hive was in a closed area of a parapet roof. I watched the technician remove about 80 pounds of hive and honey from inside the wall. Then the area was sprayed to discourage re-entry and the wall (stucco) patched to where, (after I paint it) you wouldn't know anyone had been inside. I don't know how reasonable the charge was --- I based calling ABC on their stated desire to save the bees/hive wherever possible. Unfortunately these bees had been africanized and are a threat to our domestic ones so that was not done.

Description of Work
Removal of Bees & Nest

Category pest control

5.0

09/10/2012


MaryAnn R.

We noticed the bees beginning to swarm early in the morning, and by early afternoon a very large swarm had formed outside of our bathroom window. Several bees were getting in through the attic. We called several companies, and ABC was the only one to respond. Within a couple of hours they arrived, gave us a fair estimate, and live captured the large swarm. They left dust in another area that was a potential area for stray bees to spread. Within 10 days, there were still a few bees in the second area, and they came and reapplied dust. The problem was resolved completely within two weeks. I would not, and have not hesitated to refer friends to them since. Eighteen months later, and we have not had any further problems! Thanks ABC!!!

Description of Work
Live capture of a large bee swarm hanging off of the gutter of our home.

Category pest control

5.0

05/08/2012


Allan G.

Last week, I noticed a lot of bees flying around behind a three foot stucco wall that encloses my front porch. I discovered that they were flying in and out of a small hole in the wall. Because of the position of foliage in that area, I couldn't get a clear shot at it with bug spray without getting closer than I cared to. I found ABC in the Yellow Pages and checked the reviews here on Angie's List, and called ABC at around 3pm. They said they would have someone there between 4 and 6pm. Two workers arrived at around 5pm, checked out the situation, and gave me two options for remediation. The actual work took about 10 minutes. The worker who I dealt with was very pleasant and helpful. He said that if for some reason the bees were still around in a week, they would come back, but as of this morning there is no sign of bee activity. BTW bee removal is not cheap. I've had it done before by another company in a different part of my house, so I've had some experience. However, I don't enjoy dealing with angry bees close up, so I'm happy to pay someone else to deal with it. I did get the 10% senior discount noted on Angie's List. You can expect the minimum charge to be anywhere from $250 to $500.

Description of Work
Cleared bees from a hole in a patio (hollow) wall.

Category pest control

5.0

01/05/2012


Joshua B.

They were prompt and took care of all the details. It took only one phone call, they went out to the sight and removed the hive and patched the wall.

Description of Work
They removed a large bee hive.

Category pest control

5.0

05/18/2011


Joshua B.

I searched Angie's List, saw that this company had some good reviews and called. After providing a problem description and location information over the phone they were at the property later that afternoon. They called from the property, described what they observed and their proposed solution and what additional treatments they would provide and quoted me a price and guaranty. I agreed and they took care of things exactly as agreed upon. The bee problem went away, they emptied the hive, filled the hole and a few other related holes. They were efficient, accurate and amazingly prompt, and successful. I've had no follow up issues. I'd call them again.

Description of Work
They removed a significant bee hive and did stucco repair.

Category pest control

4.0

05/23/2010


William D.

Although listed as an Orange County company, ABC Bee Control operates out of a central dispatch in Santa Monica. I had 3 response calls about 2 hours after requesting service. Had to repeat my situation 3 times. My service technician drove in from Hermosa Beach. Initial estimate was $150-$350. Technician claimed that estimate was for simple bee removal (e.g from a tree). After we agreed upon the price ($650) work proceeded quickly. I was pleased that the technician had all of the tools and supplies needed to complete the job. 6 month warranty should re-infestation occur.

Description of Work
Cut hole in stucco wall; removed newly formed hive. Sprayed to reduce re-infestation. Inserted insulation. Re-plastered wall. Sealed entry area with foam. Did not paint (wet stucco). Total time 1-1/2 hours.

Category pest control, stucco

5.0

11/09/2009


Raj V.

I am quiet pleased with there service.

Description of Work
They set up rat traps.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Diditan Group Remodeling

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Painting, Flooring and Ceramic Tile services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Diditan Group Remodeling on Angi
    Vargas Custom Plaster inc

    Vargas Plastering is a complete plastering company. We are licensed, bonded, and insured. Our license, bond, and insurance are in good standing and we have been awarded Angie's List prestigious Super Service Award for the last seven consecutive years (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020) and will strive to win another for 2021!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    H.A.B Painting and Construction

    With over 20 years of experience, HAB Painting and Construction is a family owned and operated business. We specialize in painting, full remodeling, anything relating to construction. Customer satisfaction is our most important objective.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask For Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Live capture bee hive removal, organic pest control, live/humane animal trapping, minor repair service, eco friendly products, live swarm removal, bee proofing, beehive, swarms, rodent control, humane animal trapping, structural proofing against bees, birds, rodents, beehive removal & repair including drywall, stucco & minor wood repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABC Bee Control

    How is ABC Bee Control overall rated?

    ABC Bee Control is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does ABC Bee Control provide

    ABC Bee Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does ABC Bee Control offer free estimates?

    No, ABC Bee Control does not offer free project estimates.

    Does ABC Bee Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABC Bee Control does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABC Bee Control offer a senior discount?

    No, ABC Bee Control does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ABC Bee Control offer emergency services?

    Yes, ABC Bee Control offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ABC Bee Control?

    Yes, ABC Bee Control offers warranties.

    What services does ABC Bee Control offer?

    ABC Bee Control offers the following services: Live capture bee hive removal, organic pest control, live/humane animal trapping, minor repair service, eco friendly products, live swarm removal, bee proofing, beehive, swarms, rodent control, humane animal trapping, structural proofing against bees, birds, rodents, beehive removal & repair including drywall, stucco & minor wood repair.