Valley Home Builders Inc

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since October 2007

Valley Home Builders, Inc. is a full-service residential remodeling firm offering design/build services to its clients. If you're living with a bad floor plan, outdated rooms, or you simply need more space, let our seasoned pros take your project from imagination to reality. We offer free estimates

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(49) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

36

4

7

3

2

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (14)electrician (10)home builder (9)garage building (5)window replacement (5)roofing (5)plumbers (5)insulation (5)stucco (4)concrete repair (4)hardwood floors (3)drywall (3)
Showing 1-25 of 49 reviews
5.0

11/11/2020


Michele B.

One way you can tell a project is successful is when at its completion you feel you made the right choice for your builder, among other initial options. One year later, this impression is confirmed. The good impression we had at first with Arman was confirmed. VHB was definitely up to the task, very professional. Their top strength was in their architectural design experience and advices (Robert), and in project management (Mohammad), while all other aspects of the execution exuded professionalism. The VHB owner followed closely the project, and was hands on. Given that we had non-standard demands (insulation, structure), VHB proved to be quite flexible in accommodating our requests and in problem solving situations - both for the main structure and interior design. If we had some frustration it came from where we did not expect it: the slow processing of permit requests from the city, complex and arcane regulations (in spite of the city recently vowing to ease ADU construction), and the city clearly messed-up by requesting some changes late in the construction due to new fire regulations (closeness to the main home) while city could have caught these at the very beginning on the blueprint when presented for the initial permit. VHB proved to be patient, resourceful and accommodating. Afterward we realized how much our project needed a robust, cohesive and experienced team and VHB turned out to be exactly that. Jacques & Michele.

Description of Work
building a separate accessory dwelling unit (ADU) in our lot

Category garage builders, home builders, architect

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words [Member Name Removed], your project is one of our favorite projects that we take pride in and it was a pleasure working with you and Jaques! Our only wish is to always work with such wonderful clients as yourself.
5.0

11/11/2020


Eric T.

VHB was an absolute pleasure to work with. They were professional, competitive, passionate, and very knowledgeable. After listening to a description of our project and concerns, they crafted a remodeling plan tailored to address our exact needs while keeping extra costs low. They efficiently divided our project into multiple phases for a full design and build experience. Throughout the remodel, they demonstrated a mastery of design and build work while keeping us thoroughly consulted when needed. Once construction began, they provided us peace of mind that things were being professionally built and handled everything from management of subcontractors to permitting. I highly recommend them without reservation, and would work with them in the future without hesitation!

Description of Work
general remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $250,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words [Member Name Removed]! It is our pleasure to work with you and looking forward to start the second phase on your beautiful house. As always we count ourselves lucky for customers like you.
5.0

02/26/2018


adria C.

It took me 2 years of interviewing with design concept with several Bay Area builders before I signed with Valley Hone Builders. Extremely patient team allowed for a year long design and planning, followed by 12 months demolition and build. Even with a major build error, they were professional and ethical, correcting the error and building my dream home. They have been true to their year warranty and even work after hours. Arman (whom I affectionately call second in command) and Joy (award winning designer) where essential team members whom I consider as friends at the competition of the build. You can easily find less expensive builders, but my grandpa always said, you get what you pay for. Without hesitation, I would sign with them again.

Description of Work
Extensive house remodel. Roof to foundation, and expertise interior design by award winning designer, Joy Allen.

Category home builders

Cost $700,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2017

5.0

11/03/2015


John B.

If you are looking for a contractor that embodies high standards and quality workmanship during every stage of your remodeling project, then you need look no further than Valley Home Builders. I had my home remodeled recently and they did an outstanding job from beginning to end. They are thorough, reasonable and were an absolute joy to work with throughout the project. I gave them quite the challenge in that the home was built in 1952 and was in very poor shape. They were realistic in what needed to be done and what the cost would be. As a matter of fact, they were among a very limited number of contractors who provided me with realistic figures at the start of the remodel, which allowed me to make informed and intelligent choices as the project proceeded. I am extremely happy with the result? a well-built, functional and beautiful home, and based on the comments of friends, family and even strangers, they all agree that not only do I have a well-built, functional and beautiful home but one of exceptional quality. I have Valley Home Builders to thank for that and I will recommend them every chance I have to talk them up. So I will say it again if you are looking for a building contractor you cannot go wrong with Valley Home Builders. They will do the job right every time, and you can rest assured you are in good hands.

Description of Work
Repair & remodel of single family home

Category remodeling, home builders

Cost $410,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2015

4.0

10/17/2015


Vincent G.

Pros General Quality of Work During construction it was obvious that VHB takes pride in the work they do. I noticed the plywood subfloor was tongue and groove, glued and screwed to the floor joists to minimize squeaks. I am not sure what the code requirements are, but I was really pleased with how this was done.The bathroom tile work was well done. The tile guys worked late on multiple days to get this job done in a timely manner. My wife and I were really pleased with the results.Very willing to resolve issues even after they received payment for a milestone.There are many examples where they added extras without us asking them to. These examples include: - Adding extra attic vents - Making the roofer come back to open up cutouts in roof for vents (I didn?t notice or ask them to do this) Freebees These are items that for various reasons, they openly took responsibility for and provided at no additional cost: - Interior insulation - Extra Attic ventilation - Extra Attic Access - Crown Molding - Extra Schluter trim for tile in bathroom - Refinishing of hardwood floor Cons Contract for Design The contract that we signed stated that the $2700 we paid for the design would be applied to the total cost of our addition. When we settled on a price for the addition we asked if the $2700 would be deducted as stated on the contract and they said ?no?, it was already deducted for the final price. We told them that we thought this was kind of misleading and they gave us a $1000 credit.They told us they could not relocate existing sprinkler systems or pavers that were to be impacted by the addition. They said we would have to get outside contractors to handle this on our own. All other home remodeling companies we interviewed said they would be happy to relocate pavers and sprinkler systems for us. We are not sure why VHB had such a ?unique? response. Windows We originally requested double hung windows for the project to match the windows with the rest of the house. When the windows came they were casement style. When I asked why this was done, they said it was needed to have enough window area to meet fire code. When they drew up the original plans they didn?t account for this and make the window opening wide enough for double hung. Because extra time and reengineering would be required to widen the window opening, they chose to increase the height. As a result our windows are almost as high as a door. Communication Between themselves - issues communicating between Designer and PM. Shower niches not located where the designer told us they could be. This was because we were going to locate the niches on a structural shear wall. Directly with them - Kept confusing our project with another, similar project. Use of Personal Items VHB touts their Angies List awards and exceptional service as compared to other contractors. Because of this, I was a little surprised to see the framers and subcontractors using our personal items. Some of the personal items they used include: - Hose coil used and damaged. Never replaced. - Hose reel used in place of the hose coil that was damaged above. - I had a 5 gallon bucket in the garage used to store automotive grease guns. The grease guns were placed on the garage floor so they could use our bucket. As a result I walked into garage one day to find a large grease stain on the floor where the guns were laid (They offered to clean the grease stain). - Another 5 gallon bucket was taken from the garage to perform tile work. It was never returned. - A push broom was taken from garage and used on job site. - Patio Swing - We have a patio swing that I noticed was getting dusty from all the construction so we covered it in plastic. A few days later we noticed the plastic was pulled off. I guess the framers liked using the porch swing for their lunch break? In any case it got pretty dusty and just another item we had to clean. All of the items in question were used to perform the job. Almost every item was worth $20 or less. Nothing was deliberately stolen or maliciously damaged. With that said, it would have been nice to get a phone call, email, or text basically stating something like ?hey, just wanted to let you know that we needed to use this or that out of the garage?. Determination of Grade Started with an A+ and adjusted their grade based on the following: - Windows, subtract 1, A - Use of personal items, subtract 1, A - Design contract issues, subtract 1, B+ - Communication, subtract 1, B - Freebees, add 1, B+ Overall Grade B+, truncated to B for Angies list

Description of Work
Designed and built a two bedroom addition with a master bath. Worked with the county for planning and permitting.

Category contractors, concrete repair, hardwood floor, insulation, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling

Cost $166,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2015

5.0

01/02/2015


pat L.

It was a very, very good experience with company!

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for Only $60 for $120 Towards Certified Electrical Services!

Category electrician

Cost $60

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2013

5.0

12/12/2014


Manan P.

Before starting our project with Valley Home Builders we talked with two other contractors. All their prices were compatible but from the beginning we felt very comfortable with VHB. They were very friendly, listened to our ideas and gave us honest feedback. We loved their detailed contract which left nothing to speculation. Whenever any changes were suggested by us or required because of any reason the price was always discussed upfront, so there were no surprises later. At no time during the project they tried to sell us anything we didn't need. They were always available to discuss any of our concerns. All I would like to say is that they made the whole project stress free for us. We absolutely love our new house.

Description of Work
About 650 sq ft of new addition to the existing house, including two new bathrooms. Also remodeled our kitchen and one existing bathroom. In addition to that converted existing bathroom to walk-in closet, removed chimney, added new attic insulation,redid plumbing and electrical for entire house.

Category closet systems, electrician, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2014

5.0

11/24/2014


Valerie W.

My wife and I had been planning a large scale remodel for the last few years, and after interviewing with several contractors we chose Valley Home Builders. Key decision points in our initial decision were: · Size: Large enough to take on a big projects, yet small enough to maintain a high touch customer engagement · Design Service Enabled us to explore many different ideas and make decisions that met our budget · Large portfolio of previous work: Enabled us to gather ideas and build confidence in their ability to take on big projects and delivery a quality product · Warranty: Willing to stand behind their work · Dedicated Project Manager: Resource assigned to our project to ensure timelines, quality, and requirements are met Every remodel is a journey and our Project Manager, Mark Dalton was the key factor in ensuring that our project was a success. From day one Mark was hands on providing us with daily updates on what work would be done over the next few days, and what decisions we needed to make. With his many years of construction experience, Mark had both the technical expertise to ensure work was done right the first time, and was able to clearly explain the decisions we needed make. I also appreciate that Mark?s advice was always aligned with our best interest of delivering a quality product, and value for our investment. I was also impressed by all of the sub-contractors that Valley Home Builders used on the project, and Mark?s many years of working history with each of them. Mark was always on site to ensure that the sub-contractors understood the deliverables, and met commitments. We were also very happy with the vendors Mark put us in touch with to purchase windows, doors, stone, carpet, et? Each and every one was a class act and met our expectations. This was our third remodel ,and while every remodel is a stressful experience, Valley Home Builders and Mark Dalton set the standard for delivering customer service, setting expectations, meeting commitments, and producing a quality product.

Description of Work
Demo an existing patio on hillside. Added new 300 sq. foot room. Added 2 new outside decks, one 30' x 10' the other 11' x 10' Resurfaced fireplace Replaced front door Added solar attic fans Upgraded air ducks throughout the house Added new sliding doors and windows

Category electrician, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, fireplaces

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2014

1.0

11/12/2014


Charles E.

. The provider failed to meet expectations at virtually every stage of the process. Provider was paid in full in May, 2014. By NOVEMBER, provider failed to meet a deadline to submit a corrective action plan; a project that should take 30 hours to complete was not completed 6 months later. Apparently knowledgeable staff was "let go" from the company. Replacement staff had to repeat every step of the process multiple times, including house measurements; staff provided rejected designs because the "city" directed them to increase side setbacks. Staff was provided with detailed and cited city code. After staff allegedly went to the city a second time to resolve the issue and failed, I went to the city and confirmed within minutes that the proposed side setbacks were lawful, appropriate and without any issue. Staff was either unable or unwilling to understand the client These are just minor examples of continuous problems, failures, and a lack of attention to detail. I should have walked out the door the first time staff started a conversation with "don't tell the owner, but I did a little extra for you..." While it felt like a used car salesman promising me phantom undercoating I didn't want or need; I was hoping it was just that, poor salesmanship, not a reflection of a company where the owner does not know what staff is really doing. While I appreciated the polite nature of apologizing at virtually every communication about a lack of timeliness or having to repeat each step of the process, in the end 6 months and money was wasted. The owner may have a problem finding my file; after 6 months; despite being corrected, staff continues to misspell my name on company documents, which exactly reflects the attention to detail I am expressing in this review.

Description of Work
Provider was paid to measure existing space, develop an existing floor plan, inspect my residence, review building department requirements to ensure feasibility, then present design options, pricing, assist with preliminary design elements, and create overall pricing for a custom addition to my home.

Category garage builders

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2014

Service Provider Response

Valley Home Builders works very closely and diligently with our clients. We are very surprised about [members name] dissatisfaction with our design and follow-up procedures, particularly given the almost constant communication with him during every stage of the design project. To our knowledge, and until just before this review was posted, [members name] was very satisfied with our design and even complimented our design staff for their work. In truth, VHB invested more than the allotted hours in [members name] Design Contract and he was not charged for any of the additional effort our team expended on scope changes and significant mid-stream modifications (including a roof line modification). While we do realize that the design work took longer than originally anticipated, we believed that we had the client’s continued understanding and approval as the project progressed. At no time was the staff confused about code compliance and we were surprised to learn that our client took it upon himself to integrate himself into a perceived issue with the setbacks. We sincerely apologize for any and all misspellings of [members name] name at any time during the process. While we are extremely saddened by this Angie’s List review, we remain committed to taking the concerns expressed seriously and have reached out a number of times to [members name] in an attempt to reconcile the situation. We obviously do not agree with the opinions expressed in this review and would be happy to discuss any concerns with potential clients who may have second thoughts as a result of this negative feedback. We would also hope that our Angie’s List readers will take the time to review all the other positive reviews for our firm and take these into account when considering Valley Home Builders for their project.
5.0

10/29/2014


Shiraz A.

After a very bad previous experience with remodeling, we went about things a bit differently this time around. We interviewed several contractors for our project. We found almost all of them on Angie's list and all were very professional and in the same range as far as pricing. We selected Valley Home Builders because of the thoroughness in their approach, and attention to detail. Mehdi was extremely attentive and from the get-go, completely understood what my wife and I were looking for. He was very straightforward in terms of laying out what the project would involve and cost, and always made sure to give us practical advice, based on our budget. In dealing with Valley Home Builders, I always felt their intent was to meet my needs within my budget, not sell me something I didn't need. Our project manager Mark was equally thorough. We would meet weekly (or whenever needed) to discuss progress and go over items that needed decisions. Mark would always make himself available and take the time to explain issues in detail and help us make sound decisions. As with any project of this scale, there were a few hiccups. There were times where we had to work through issues. At no point however did I ever feel that Valley Home Builders was trying to take advantage of the situation. Whenever I asked for changes or wasn't entirely happy with the way something was done, the response was always "we will take care of it" and they always did. Every single issue or concern was always met with professionalism, detailed explanation, and a resolution. Things simply weren't left hanging. I have many nice things to say about Mark, Mehdi and the team at Valley Home Builders, but the greatest compliment we can give them is that they genuinely care about your project. We are incredibly happy with the finished product and with our decision to go with Valley Home Builders. We couldn't have asked for a better result, or with a nicer team of people to work with. A special shout-out to Mark who has become more like a friend than a project manager. I won't even think twice about hiring them again for future projects or about giving them the highest recommendation possible to my friends. These guys are solid.

Description of Work
Built an extension to our house, adding a new master bedroom, bathroom and walk-in closet. Upgraded our roof, and HVAC. Laid down new patio in our backyard. Resurfaced our exterior walls with new stucco and then painted.

Category closet systems, remodeling, stucco, home remodeling

Cost $200,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2014

3.0

05/28/2014


Sharon B.

On April 17, we met with the Valley Home Builders’ Project Developer at our home to discuss and finalize our Design Agreement. After a brief negotiation regarding a few of the Contractual Terms & Conditions, we reached mutual agreement, signed and dated the Design Agreement and, pursuant to the Agreement, we paid the Project Developer. In turn, the Valley Home Builder representative expressed his excitement about working with us and promised to advise us via e-mail the next day regarding the scheduling of Design Meetings to execute the Contract. (We would like to note that throughout our period of Contractor evaluation, the Valley Home Builders’ Project Developer was responsive to our questions and very professional.) Two days later, on April 19, and much to our shocking surprise, we received an e-mail from the Valley Home Builders’ Project Developer advising us that our Design Agreement was unacceptable and asking us how he should return our payment, i.e., by mailing it back to us, dropping it off in our home mail box, or holding it for us to pick up!!! Only two days had elapsed since we all signed the Design Agreement, (which, as stated on the Agreement, “…. is binding and inures to the benefit of the parties hereto and their respective heirs, executors , administrators, successors and assigns”) which made his e-mail that much more incredulous. On the same day, April 19 via e-mail, we even offered to reconsider Valley Home Builders’ originally-proposed Design Agreement however, the Valley Home Builders’ Project Developer then responded via e-mail (on April 21) that they were ‘not the best fit’ for what we were looking for in a contractor. Further, he advised that if he did not hear from us, he would send the check back in the next day’s mail. We responded via e-mail (on the same day, April 21) essentially expressing our concerns and advising the Project Developer not to return our payment but instead, to arrange a meeting for us to meet with the Valley Home Builders’ Owner and that we would pick up our payment check at that time. We heard nothing until April 25 when we received both the Design Agreement and our payment check in the regular mail with VOID written multiple times in red ink on both documents. No note, no letter, no communication was included within the envelope. Valley Home Builders clearly should have honored the legally-binding, bona fide Contract, (which we mutually entered in good faith) or, at the very least, should have apologized for accepting it and then reneging. Neither was the case. As Valley Home Builders is a member of the Better Business Bureau, we sincerely believed that they would have abided by the major tenet of the BBB; namely, “Abide by all written agreements…”. We have decided not to pursue this issue as we will not deal with a firm that, in our view, lacks professional integrity. Our message to others is very simple, caveat emptor--- Buyer beware! We were enthusiastic senior citizen customers and now we are totally dissatisfied and extremely disappointed with the outcome. Valley Home Builders agreed to our negotiated in good faith Design Agreement and accepted the Contract. They could have refused to accept the Agreement at the time but did not. We were never advised that the signed and binding Contract was subject to further review by anyone as it had already been formally accepted by a representative of Valley Home Builders. This, in our view, is not the best way to satisfy customers.

Description of Work
After a lengthy period of evaluating several Contractors from Angie’s List, we finally selected Valley Home Builders as our Design/Build Contractor of choice for our home addition/kitchen remodel.

Category remodeling, home builders

Work Completed On 05/28/2014

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] initially contacted us last year regarding their home remodel. After an extensive vetting process, they agreed to sign a design agreement. Although I had some reservation about whether Valley Home Builders was the right firm to undertake [member name removed]’s project, I agreed to move forward with the design agreement. The next day, I became aware that [member name removed] have signed VHB design agreement after changing some of the terms and conditions. At that point, I was convinced that we were not the right fit for [member name removed]’s project and I asked my project developer to return the check with explanation. I apologize for lack proper communication by a member of my team, and I must add that this individual is no longer with us. Valley Home Builders is committed to excellent customer service and wish [member name removed] luck in finding the right firm to take on their project. Regards, Mehdi Vatani President/Owner
5.0

03/17/2014


Debbie F.

This was our first experience in a remodel and although we heard of many challenges many have had with their contractors, our experience with Valley Home Builders (VHB) was an extremely positive one! Initially their Sales Rep met with us several times and provided us an estimate based on the requirements of what we wanted done. He was extremely supportive & reassured us we would achieve what we envisioned for our kitchen. VHB provided us with an excellent designer who spent many hours in designing our kitchen to meet our needs, maximizing our space, while keeping our budget in mind. She also went with us to select our tile and granite, providing us with her expertise & guidance in both cabinet and tile/granite. We were assigned a project manager, who was extremely easy to work with, responsive,stayed calm, and came up with solutions through any challenges that had come about. We established great trust in him, and was he was very committed to keeping us on schedule. The other contractors that provided us services such as electricians, plumbing, flooring & cabinet installers, also conducted their work with a high work ethic, and quality work. We were extremely pleased with all the work conducted throughout the project.They showed up when they committed to doing so, and stayed to finish their work to keep the project on time. The ValleyHome Builder team did an outstanding job, and we would highly recommend them. They were a joy to work with, and look forward in working with them again for our future home improvement projects.

Description of Work
We contracted with Valley Home Builders to help us with remodeling our 20+ year old kitchen and a 1/2 bathroom. We chose them among mulitple contractors we met, because they were extremely personable & were focused on what we was important to us. They took the time to get know us, didn't pressure us until both parties were ready to move forward.

Category remodeling

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2013

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed members name]. THANKS SO MUCH for the fabulous review! We're so happy that we did a good job and that you are pleased. If there was a website for great clients, know that we'd be writing a review saying how great YOU were to work with too. We really felt a kinship with you and we are truly grateful for the opportunity to get to know you better. When I say "It was great working with you" know that everybody here really believes it. Now--we must find a time to get together and celebrate. I'll call later in the week to set that up. Also--I have your photo CD. The photos look great, btw. I'll go ahead and drop that in the mail to you today. All the best for now and again, many thanks. Deb
5.0

05/22/2013


starr D.

The person Mehdi contacted adjusted his schedule to my needs and budget. He is doing excellent work though it is not yet complete at this writing.

Description of Work
Mehdi was prompt and was extremely helpful in spite of the fact my job was too small for him. He looked at the work thoroughly, even showing me signs of termites which others had missed. Then he unstintedly wrote out exactly each step and exact materials to be used that was needed. Furthermore, he contacted a very knowledgeable and reasonable person who contacted me and is now doing a great job.

Category remodeling

Cost $0.01

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2013

4.0

05/14/2013


Minh H.

There are still some things they are still working on but for the most part it has been pretty good. They have a very detailed contract. You have to make sure that everything you want is included or any additional work can be pricey. Majority of their subcontractor were very professional but there were 1 or 2 that weren’t up to their standard.

Description of Work
They completed a full kitchen remodel. The old kitchen was completely removed; they also removed all of the interior floors. They also remodeled 3 full bathrooms. They did all of the electricalwork and they installed a whole new HVAC.

Category electrician, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2013

5.0

05/14/2013


Douglas R.

I received bids from three different contractors. Valley Home Builders had the best bid.

Description of Work
General contractor for house renovation. Original house 900 sq. ft. with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, detached garage. After renovation, 1450 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, attached garage. Fleshed out original design, drew architectural drawings, obtained permits, scheduled work, provided all subcontractors and a design consultant.

Category remodeling

Cost $220,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2013

2.0

05/09/2013


Garrett L.

I met with Valley Home Builders to get a quote on some work. Initially the meeting went well, but I never received a quote as agreed nor did I receive an explanation as to why.

Description of Work
I met with Valley Home Builders to get a quote on some work. Initially the meeting went well, but I never received a quote as agreed nor did I receive an explanation as to why.

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 04/27/2013

Service Provider Response

We regret that (member name removed) had a negative experience with our firm, but believe there was a misunderstanding about the time frame for a response and when the quote was to be delivered. At the time of his initial visit, Mehdi explained that he would be travelling for the next ten days and that a formal quote could not be provided until a week or more after his return. Unfortunately, (member name removed) post on this site occurred just after the ten day window, before the quote was complete. Valley Home Builders takes great pride in providing extensively detailed quotes, but they do take time to produce. In this case, we evidently took longer than expected in creating a detailed, accurate, and value-driven quote for (member name removed) and are sorry for any disappointment we may have caused.
5.0

05/09/2013


H&N K.

We worked with Valley Home Builders to expand and remodel a master bedroom and bath as well as a guest bathroom. Later on we added replacing old exterior siding with stucco and stone veneer. Throughout the project our experience in working with VHB could not have been better. One thing that helped us decide on VHB was that they took us on a tour of three actual job sites in various stages of completion. This gave us a very good impression of what they do and the kind of quality they deliver. We also really appreciated the itemized project plan, which detailed per room the work that would be done, the materials needed and how much everything would cost, so we knew all details up front. In weekly meetings with Arash, the project manager, we discussed what had been done, what would be next and what needed to change. VHB would not make any changes or decisions by themselves, but always consult us first and then issue a change order with pricing for us to approve. This worked very well and ensured we did not run into any nasty surprises. We also appreciated the fact that VHB posted documents and change orders on a secure website, which made things even easier. When we ran into any problems, which you invariably do with bigger construction projects, VHB would immediately take steps to address the issue to our satisfaction. Noteworthy is that the problems we did encounter were all relatively minor and mostly related to finishing touches by their subcontractors (who overall did a great job as well), and could easily be fixed. VHB clearly showed they are an experienced company with a lot of know-how. Yet, at the same time they maintain a personal approach. We worked with Arman on most of the design and he came up with some great ideas that we might not have thought of ourselves. He always offered these as suggestions, never imposing anything, and this left us feeling that we were always in control of the entire project. In any construction project, communication is key. Get all the details, be aware of what is going on and talk to your contractor about everything. With VHB, we found this very easy to do and their expertise, honesty, eye for detail and attention to their customers made our project a success.

Description of Work
- Extend and remodel master bedroom - Extend and remodel master bathroom - Refurnish guest bathroom - Replace exterior siding with stucco

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Cost $150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2012

5.0

05/03/2013


Yumi K.

Our overall experience with Valley Home Builders was very good. We already had an idea of what we wanted done on our house and Mark at Valley Home Builders helped us get the plans drawn up and submitted to the city. After the designs were approved, Medhi, Mark and Arash all came to the house to plan out the work. Arash managed the project once the work began, and all of the work was performed right on schedule and the cost was exactly what was in the original contract. Of course we ran into some issues with termites and we added some work that called for change orders, but Arash gave us quotes quickly and things stayed on schedule. Employees of Valley Home Builders did all of the demolition, foundation work, carpentry, windows and siding. They did an excellent job. Subcontractors were used for roofing, electrical, plumbing, and drywall. We had an issue with the drywall guys who left a mess after their work, but Arash arranged to have it cleaned up. Overall, Valley Home Builders was great. They accommodated our plans to do some work ourselves and the quality of their work was top notch. We are very happy with our remodeled home.

Description of Work
- Removed ~225 sq. ft. unpermitted addition that had foundation issues - Added ~325 square foot master bedroom and bath addition - Upgraded electrical from old 2-wire to modern 3-wire in 80% of house - Replaced old shingle roof - Replaced all siding, 90% of windows and 1 door Work included bringing the house up to the point of passing final inspection. Interior/exterior paint, trim, doors, flooring, and bathroom finishings were done after Valley Home Builders finished their work. This arrangement was made at our request and we greatly appreciated Valley Home Builders accommodating us.

Category remodeling

Cost $95,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2012

5.0

04/29/2013


Tony G.

We interviewed or contacted approximately 7 different contractors before deciding to go with VHB. Most of which we found on Angie's list. Several did not return my phone calls or did not want to even submit an estimate of cost. The others did not provide a detailed itemized estimate of cost . After talking with Arman, I was very comfortable in deciding to go with VHB. He was very easy to work with and helpful in making choices in materials. He provided costs for each phase of the job as well as the planned schedule. The cost of the project was kept to a minimum of overruns. Curtis, the projected manager, was very prompt in providing "change order" costs. There were only two change orders for the project The major extra cost was in the repairing of the wood sub-flooring in the master bath, which was anticipated because there was obvious damage under the old tile from a water leak . There were a few modifications that were necessary during construction which were dealt with satisfactorily and promptly by Curtis at no extra cost. The overall cost of the project was still well below any of the other estimates that I received. Most of the work was done by sub-contractors; electrical, plumbing, tile installation, painting, sheet rock , etc. which I believe caused some delay in the completion of the project. However, the project was completed within the estimated time frame. There was some time lost around the Christmas/New Year holiday season, that was anticipated. There are several things which I would have done differently had I known. We had gone ahead and purchased most of our items and fixtures prior to the start of the project and had them stored in the garage. We thought this would be a good idea in order to resolve problems such as the location of lights fixtures, vanities, toilets and drains. We also purchased the tile prior to the start of the project. This caused a problem in returning the extra tile that was not needed, since the original purchase contract had a 30 day limit on returns. However, Arman and the tile company where very helpful and easy to resolve the issue and come to an equitable agreement. We are very pleased with the look of our new bathrooms.

Description of Work
VHB did a complete bathroom remodel on both of our bathrooms. The two bathrooms were completely gutted, down to the studs and sub-floors. The work included installation of all new toilets, bathtub, shower enclosures, vanities, fixtures, new lighting, tile work and replacement of both entrance doors. Dry rot was found in the flooring of one of the bathrooms and part of the flooring had to be removed and replaced. A "pony" wall was also added in our master bath shower enclosure.

Category home remodeling

Cost $34,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2013

4.0

04/26/2013


Gloria R.

Our friend down the street used Valley Home Builders for a 2nd story addition and was very happy. When we started to investigate a 500 sq. ft. remodel we wanted to talk with him. Medhi came to our home several years ago during our friend's addition. Now that we were more serious, we talked with him again. Medhi came to our house for a meeting to look over our basic plans we had created. He was very attentive and brought up several things he thought we should think about. I was impressed that he spent quite a bit of time with us. We had already been thinking about using a friend's recommendation for drafting. Even though Valley Home Builders provides those services, he thought our plan would work out. Medhi had offered to provide some information regarding our friend/neighbor's project. We emailed him for that info, but he didn't respond. When we were ready about 4.5 months later to get started, we emailed and called Medhi to ask him for a bid on the project. We never heard back.

Description of Work
We met with Medhi to discuss an upcoming addition project.

Category remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2012

5.0

04/04/2013


Jacky H.

Before we even have any contract, we spent about three weeks to get the layout, specs to what we wanted at a cost in our comfort level, fitting to our budget. They setup the schedule from start to end which they executed the pipelining tasks very well and followed pretty close according to the schedule, very strong in project management. They were very responsive when we had questions and needed clarification. We were also happy about the quality of products and materials that they used. They disclosed about materials they used and why they used them. This really helped us in gaining more understanding/knowledge and making better decision. Their construction crews were on time, very professional and kept job site very clean and organized. This kept my neighbors happy and I did not have anyone complaint about our construction. One of my neighbors was a retired general constructor. He watched them throughout the construction and he had pretty high remark about them. I did not understand about the construction field and I could not remember precisely what he said. However, a couple of things I remembered what my neighbor said were that the foundation work was done very well with strong steel frame connecting to existing structure and roof was also done exceptionally well by looking at a very beautiful straight roof line from one angle. He said that we hired a very good one to do the job right. This really confirmed what I have believed. Another remark I have is that they were very honest. This was something that I hardly believed from a construction company. They honored what they have agreed on but no writing. For example, we mentioned to them that we wanted them to install ceiling fan for bedrooms but they did not put it in the contract. Their project manager confirmed with the designer/sales about this conversation, went ahead and installed all ceiling fans we bought for the bedrooms at no extra charge. They helped us to solve some hard problems. For example, we could not find a matching toilet to fit in because it was always a couple of inches extra so the toilet could not fit in. They acknowledged that during the construction phase, it was shorter wall-to-rough distance they made. They went ahead and bought us a specialized Toto toilet to fit in. This is the company we'd like to work with because they always cover our back with honesty and sincerity. I can't say enough good things. I just know that we made the right choice! Thanks for Valley Home Builder to make our dream home came true.

Description of Work
New master bedroom addition(including new master bathroom and new walking closet), one existing bedroom expansion, new walking closet to original master bedroom, hall way redesign, floor plan change, windows/sliding doors relocation, electrical upgrade to 200A with new wires and circuitry, sun tube, new duct, water heater relocation, new framing, concrete foundation and new roof for new addition area, new attic insulation and exterior wall insulation, garage side door relocation and termite damaged wood replacement.

Category concrete repair, drywall, electrician, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, stucco

Cost $140,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2012

4.0

02/15/2013


Joyce S.

They had good references and reveiws and were very helpful, friendly, and attentive to our stated requirements. THey listened well to our ideas and worked hard to provide us with information. They were a little disorganized and made several mistakes in communicating clearly what they intended to do and when, but were always apologetic and willing to correct errors. They took more cues from us in terms of design than offering creative alternatives. While I felt that they would have done a good job for us had we awarded them the contract, I felt that they had a bit less expertise that the other firms we had interviewed and I thought we would find it a little more difficult to get a high level of artistry in design. This is a good design/build team and would likely be a good choice for someone with a fairly straightforward kitchen or bath remodel.

Description of Work
We contacted this Design/Build firm to compare their services and ideas for an extensive kitchen and partial home remodel. We compared them to two other firms in terms of reputation, design ideas for our project, and how we felt about their work style and capabilities. We also checked BBB reports, online reviews, references, and previous projects. We wanted to redesign our kitchen and a storage room at street level (underneath the kitchen) to accomodate our needs to age in place and include an elevator to eliminate stairs. We wanted both design ideas and a firm that we were confident could take the project from design through engineering and building. We wanted to be certain they would be attentive to our ideas and preferences but bring lots of creativity to the project.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling