Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING

Founded 1988 • With Angi since December 2006

LICENSE #: 108679. ADDITIONAL CONTACT: MARY GARCIA.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
satisfaction
Senior Discount
$10.00 off
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(25) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
Michelle R.
3.0
02/08/2012
They started off really well and I was very impressed. They were good with my two big dogs. I called them back a second time and just Mary came and she was very good. Then I called them back again and Ernesto came the next two times. He did not do a good job. Their were a lot of things that he missed when he was cleaning and vacuuming. They were both very nice but I don't believe I got what I was paying for. I feel they were expensive. I did not call them back.
Description of Work
Mary & Ernesto Housecleaning cleaned my home a few different times.
Category
carpet cleaners, house cleaning, window cleaning, floor cleaning
yvette L.
5.0
09/20/2011
They are very friendly, trustworthy, kind, and polite. They do a great job.
Description of Work
They clean our house.
Category
house cleaning
Erin A.
4.0
07/22/2011
Overall quality good, but I do think by comparison their prices are high. A friend found cleaning services - larger place for $85/$200 for first deep cleaning visit, by comparison. I am waiting to see if comparable quality is there. Could be that it is higher price because they are used to cleaning houses over condos.
Description of Work
Completed first time cleaning - hence the expense above, and then clean every other week for $130. They have cleaned the windows and did a great job, but for added cost. $70 for three windows/cleaning screens inside and out.
Category
house cleaning, window cleaning
PAIGE P.
5.0
07/18/2011
They were extremely prompt, professional, and polite. In additional to cleaning our windows, I asked for an estimate for cleaning the walls and ceiling of our dining room, which houses our three house rabbits. There was a plethora of small black dots of fly excrement on all the moldings, and scattered across the walls and ceilings. They gave me a very reasonable estimate for the wall cleaning, and it ended up taking almost twice as long as they had originally estimated. It was a huge amount of labor intensive cleaning. I offered to pay more, but they insisted on sticking to the original quote, and didn't skimp at all on the 32 windows. My windows had not been cleaned in over 4 years and they were filthy. They spent hours and hours getting them sparkling clean. It was a difficult job, and would definitely hire again!
Description of Work
Cleaned first and second story windows (32) and screens, inside and out. Also cleaned interior walls and ceiling in room with multiple years of fly debris/droppings.
Category
window cleaning
Michelle R.
4.0
04/21/2011
They are very nice and they get along with my dogs. I had to let them know my preferences. First time they didn?t clean few things in the kitchen and then I left a note saying that I wanted those items cleaned. They did, but they did a very poor job. The third time I put out the cleaner that I used and they used it. First couple of times they didn?t clean the toilets very well. I let them know and that has been corrected. I had agreed to 1.30 on every other Friday. A couple of times they arrived at 10.30. So, I had to let them know that I want them to be here only by 1.30.
Description of Work
I used Mary & Ernesto Housecleaning a week ago last Friday. They come out every other week.
Category
house cleaning
Tom or Nora S.
5.0
01/05/2011
They did a great job, they were quick to respond, and they did the job in one day. I was thoroughly pleased with their total operation. I didn?t shop around because I was more concerned about the timeliness, but based on what I?ve spent in the past I?d say the price was average.
Description of Work
Mary & Ernesto Housecleaning did a whole house cleaning for the turnaround on a rental unit that I have.
Category
house cleaning
Joyce R.
5.0
11/04/2010
I do not live in this apartment and left them there alone, returning several times. They cleaned the interiors and exteriors,, of all kitchen cabinets and drawers, washed windows, blinds, and window tracks, cleaned bathroom and kitchen fixtures, and floors. Carpet was being replaced.
Description of Work
They cleaned an empty apartment we own and are preparing to rent- the most detailed and thorough job I have ever seen. They spent four hours plus with an original contract price of $260. When they were there I asked if they could install shelf paper in the kitchen cabinets and drawers.They agreed. Ernesto said they hadn't done it before and charged an extra $40 for a tedious, time-consuming job.They used their own equipment and supplies. I like their charging by the job and not by the hour. I'm very happy to have found them and will call on them again for our rentals as well as our home
Category
house cleaning
Julie H.
1.0
09/01/2010
Way too expensive. 5 other estimates came in between $130-$375. Did not use
Description of Work
Set up appt. to come for estimate. First said he wanted to charge for estimate because it's too far but then agreed to come without charging. Quoted me an outrageous initial cleaning price of $800. My house is almost new and was in very good condition. Did not call them back!
Category
house cleaning
BARBARA N L.
5.0
12/21/2009
I have had a housecleaning service for many years, but their work was increasingly sloppy and hit or miss.........three ladies in and out in twenty minutes. Relying on Angie's List reviews, I called Ernesto for the window cleaning, and then the house cleaning. Well......I didn't know what real housecleaning service could be! Both Ernesto and Maria arrived about ten in the morning. They insisted on leaving all their equipment on the front porch and only take in what they need for the moment. They both worked...and worked hard......for over four hours. I have not yet discovered a surface that was not cleaned. I include even the ceilings. We still have the old "popcorn" ceilings and they were getting dingy. Ernesto covered every inch of every ceiling.....turns out cobwebs were the problem and going around the edges of the ceilings did nothing for the well established network above us. Our ceilings look like they were just painted!!!! Baseboards, cupboard doors, drawer fronts, thresholds...all cleaned. The fireplace front scrubbed; flanges in all sink drains cleaned and polished; even my oven was cleaned (had not expected anyone would ever look into my oven); and, to top it all off, thoroughly cleaned all corners and behind all doors....so we don't see the "dark" areas where the vacuum had not reached in years!!!! Ernesto and Maria will be coming every two weeks from now on!!!!
Description of Work
Cleaned kitchen, dining room, family room, living room, hall, one bedroom, and two bathrooms. Also, a few days earlier, all windows, screens, and tracks were cleaned.
Category
house cleaning, window cleaning
AILEEN J.
3.0
11/24/2009
Ernesto came. Too expensive for my budget. Did not hire them.
Description of Work
Gave estimate for housecleaning.
Category
house cleaning
Robert C.
5.0
05/12/2009
They were responsive and on time. They came to our house and started work immediately. They were here for 6 hours and never stopped, except for lunch. Just a very hard working and honest people.
Description of Work
They cleaned all windows and sliding glass doors including screens and blinds. They also cleaned our filthy barbecue, inside and out.
Category
window cleaning
Pamela M.
3.0
01/20/2009
Based on the Angie's List reviews, we tried to arrange for someone from this company to come out to our place to give us an estimate for weekly cleaning. After Ernesto rescheduled with my husband at least three times, he finally showed up a good half hour late for the appointment we agreed upon. My husband told him to forget it.
Description of Work
We never even managed to meet to discuss price.
Category
house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I AM VERY SORRY FOR THE MISUNDERSTANDING. NOT ONLY DID THE MEMBER CANCEL ONE OF THE APPOINTMENTS, BUT ALSO HAD A MISUNDERSTANDING REGARDING THE SCHEDULE TIME AND DATE.
Chuck K.
3.0
12/02/2008
Mary showed up on time, Ernest was somewhat late. They worked about 4 hours each(8 labor hours)for $320. I thought the $40 per hour labor rate was too high by $20 per hour. They did a competent, but not spectacular job cleaning. I found grime and dust bunnies way under the night stand in my bedroom. Ernest said that the cleaning would be "Detailing". Not really in this case. Things are pretty clean, just not super-clean which is what I expected for $320.
Description of Work
Mary and Ernest cleaned my 1500 sq. ft. house. No windows, just all surfaces; bathrooms, floors, cabinets, carpet.
Category
house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I AM SORRY THEY FEEL THE CLEANING WAS NOT TO THEIR EXPECTATIONS. THE HOUSE HAD NOT BEEN DEEP CLEANED FOR 5 TO 6 YEARS. NEVERTHELESS, THE CUSTOMER WAS HAPPY WITH THE OUTCOME.
TIM C.
5.0
10/24/2008
We were having a party on a Saturday and on Thursday realized we needed help getting our fairly large house cleaned on Friday. I called several housecleaning companies, but none were able to make it out on such short notice. Ernesto said they would be able to squeeze us in. We agreed that they wouldn't do the bedrooms or the master bath, since the guests wouldn't be using those rooms. He and Mary arrived on time and went right to work. We have a regular bi-weekly cleaning crew, but E&M dusted where the other team never went, moved furniture when vacuuming, and (even with their tight schedule) agreed to wash our huge sliding glass window for an extra $15 (you don't notice how messy a house is until you're faced with 70 friends coming over). My wife is scent sensitive, so upon my request, E&M used unscented cleaners without fail - except at the end. Much to my surprise, when their time was about up, I came out to smell the overwhelming fumes of ammonia coming from our kitchen! Knowing my wife would be home within the hour, I freaked a little. But Ernesto told me that Mary insisted on stripping our very sad looking kitchen linoleum floor because it had so much dirt and wax buildup - our regular crew always just mop. He also assured me that the ammonia smell would be gone because Mary will use a vinegar rinse of the floor at the end, eliminating all fumes. You should have seen her go at it - working like a woman possessed to bring my floor back from the dead. To my amazement, when she was done, the floor was three shades brighter than I ever remember seeing it and the ammonia smell was completely gone. On top of that, they didn't charge extra, even though I was expecting them to simply mop the floor like the regular crew did. The house looked cleaner than ever, the kitchen floor was amazingly bright, and we realized what a lousy job our regular service has been doing. Consequently, we're dropping the bi-weekly service and we'll be having E&M do our house every three weeks. Yes, they are more expensive than the other crew of 3-4, but E&M do the job right. And that's what we're all looking for, right?
Description of Work
Cleaned kitchen, laundry room, two bathrooms, living room, family room, entry hall and hallway, washed extra large window, stripped large linoleum floor.
Category
house cleaning, window cleaning, floor cleaning
Rena W.
1.0
10/21/2008
I called this company and the 2 owners came to my house and gave me an estimate of $140.00 to clean my 2 bedroom, 1 bath condo, but they wanted $250.00 for the first cleaning. I thought this was a bit high but I agreed and we set a date and time for the first cleaning. They did not show up at the agreed upon time. I called their cell and left a message. Two hours after the appointment, 1 of the owners called to say he was in the hospital and couldn't come. I had a very difficult time understanding him because he has some kind of accent. I asked why no one called to inform me before the appointment but couldn't make sense of his response. There are 2 owners, the other should have contacted me. I'm willing to be flexible with times, but leaving me waiting for 2 hours is unacceptable. Perhaps it was a true emergency and their failure to show unavoidable, but they couldn't clarify.
Description of Work
None.
Category
house cleaning
Bob R.
5.0
07/28/2008
Maria and Ernesto (with one helper) arrived at 8 a.m. as scheduled and 6 hours later, the house was spotless. I think this is the cleanest my house has ever been. Virtually every surface was cleaned in the tri-level house: Walls, ceilings, crown moldings, floors, surfaces, everything. The attention to detail was very impressive. Even the oven, which was very dirty, was sparkling when they were finished. The job was especially challenging as I have dozens of bookcases and a lot of picture frames and collectibles throughout the house. Everything was not only cleaned perfectly, but put back flawlessly. Maria and Ernesto are a very hard working and likable couple. It is obvious that they take their business seriously and are highly professional in everything they do. I am going to hire them as my bi-weekly cleaners. By the way, the windows were sparkling, even one that had 2 years of water deposits on it from the sprinklers.
Description of Work
I asked Maria and Ernesto to perform a deep cleaning of my home, as it had not been professionally cleaned in several years and I have several pets. The quote was $470 for the 2,400 square foot home (4 bedroom 2 1/2 bath) and another $200 for all of the windows and screens. Ernesto was very prompt and professional in arranging the visit for the quotation and in scheduling the actual cleaning.
Category
house cleaning
Amara B.
5.0
05/13/2008
I called them on a Thursday, and they came right over and gave a very reasonable estimate, given that our house was extremely overdue for a cleaning! They cleaned the house on Saturday incredibly quickly and thoroughly, including all windows. They were also very sweet to our dogs who were in the backyard. Their price was very reasonable, cleaning was quick, service was friendly, and result was spic-and-span. Thanks!
Description of Work
Deep-cleaned entire house, including windows.
Category
house cleaning
Lisa W.
5.0
04/17/2008
Ernesto returned my initial call promptly. He and Mary arrived to the estimate appointment right on time. They were personable and professional. Our house had not been cleaned professionally in 3 years, so it was in desperate need a "spring" cleaning prior to the arrival of houseguests. They were flexible with scheduling and were able to accommodate my needs. Overall, I was very pleased with the work, which was performed while I was out of town. A few things weren't done to my satisfaction: the refrigerator interior had not been done and I'd been told it would be. A better job of cleaning around doorknobs could have been done. On the other hand, we had one bathroom with mold around the ceiling, and I was pleased that this had been removed (it had not been discussed). I've done this job myself and it is difficult, unpleasant work. Some damage was done to the paint (unavoidable) and I'll need to repaint, but that's OK - I'm happy the mold is gone. Ceiling fans were thoroughly cleaned.
Description of Work
Mary and Ernesto provided cleaning services throughout our 2800 square foot, 5 bedroom, 3 bath house. Work included dusting for cobwebs (accoustical "popcorn" ceilings), thorough cleaning of kitchen and bathrooms, general cleaning including dusting, vacuuming, washing floors, etc.
Category
house cleaning
Lisa W.
5.0
04/17/2008
Done as an add on to general housecleaning (see separate review). Work was excellently done. Price was competitive with that of other services I've used.
Description of Work
Clean all windows of two story house, inside and out. Clean screens and casements.
Category
window cleaning
Kathy S.
5.0
03/13/2008
It went terrifically and I couldn't have asked for a more amiable group as they actually were working around the guys that were finishing up the bathroom (one of the bathroom guys was so impressed with how they cleaned, he asked for their card!). They were here for 8 hours - told you the house was dirty - and they didn't stop from the time they arrived until they left. I now have the cleanest house in Los Gatos and really want to just seal it up to keep it that way :<). The plus point is I can call them to keep it this way as well. They did a truly magnificent job and I would recommend them to anyone who really wants a house that looks like new.
Description of Work
We are down to the nitty gritty of a bathroom remodel and the entire house really needed cleaning. I emailed them to set up a time for an estimate. They called the same afternoon and came right over. They went through the house room by room and gave me, what I thought, was a great estimate. This was on a Tuesday and they showed up in force on the following Thursday morning. They did a magnificent job and paid attention to details that really amazed me! Mary and Ernesto in addition to another wonderful lady, whose name I didn't get, were like a swat team. There was nothing that they didn't clean and I mean THOROUGHLY! I also had them clean our 26 windows, which was an additional $300 and worth every penny of it. Not only do our windows and screens sparkle but they cleaned 4 ceiling fans, which I usually forget to clean! This team is a wonder!
Category
house cleaning, window cleaning
NANCY K.
5.0
11/05/2007
Performed work as specified , were punctual, professional yet friendly and inquired as to my preferences.
Description of Work
Cleaned 2700 sqft 3.5 BR 4 BDRM house following a furnace re-ducting which had spread a fine coat of dust on everything.
Category
house cleaning
Peter G.
5.0
06/01/2007
The whole experience was outstanding. They were on-time to give us an estimate, they showed flexibility in scheduling, and were on-time and ready to go when they showed up to do the work. We have retained them to do house cleaning on a regular basis. A very pleasant couple to work with.
Description of Work
They did a complete house cleaning (two-story, 2500 sq. ft.) job.
Category
house cleaning
Y C.
5.0
04/24/2007
Ernesto was very prompt in calling me back and came to look at the townhome the same day. He provided me with a reasonable quote. We scheduled a time for the cleaning and he was very willing to accommodate my schedule. When I could not meet him to give him the keys, he came to my house on Saturday evening to pick them up. They are especially good at cleaning glass. This unit had lots of glass (mirrors and windows) and all came out spotless. The bathrooms, kitchen and overall condition of the unit was good when they were done. They even managed to clean the dirty Grey grout in between the tiles on the kitchen counter top. Oven and refrigerator were thoroughly clean and looked like new. Also swept garage. They charged $320 for the cleaning and $150 for the windows. When work was done, they called to let me know work was completed and even dropped off keys and invoice at my home mailbox. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
I have a rental 2 bedroom/2.5 bath townhome that needed a very thorough cleaning in between tenants. The unit was quite dirty and dusty and did not appear to have been cleaned in 2 years.
Category
house cleaning, window cleaning
YUK FAN C.
5.0
01/27/2007
They did a great job. I needed someone to clean the house before open house. I found them on Angie's List. I called them at 8:30 am. They called back at about 4:00 pm. Did the estimate at 5:00 pm. Started cleaning at 7:00 pm. Finished the job at 10:30 am the next day.
Description of Work
Cleaned 5 windows, 2 shower windows; complete moving out cleaning for 1100 square feet house (two bath, five closet, kitchen, patio door, four fans, lights).
Category
house cleaning
SUSAN H.
5.0
12/04/2006
Our family has been having Mary and Ernesto clean our house for nearly ten years. Ernesto usually gives the estimate for work. When work is ongoing, regular, and often, the price is lower. For example, when they cleaned our house two times a week they charged $120 per week, but when they cleaned our house one time a week they charged $80 per week. When the job is a one-time job, or a big job, they will give a high estimate; when they cleaned our old house and garage right before new owners moved in, the price was higher. However, they do a great job! We had others clean our house before we found Mary and Ernesto, but always there was always something that left us scratching our heads; such as a lovely job in the kitchen but cobwebs left on the living room ceiling. But we've never had this problem with Mary and Ernesto! Plus, when we've asked them to do something in particular, such as pulling out dishes and pans and cleaning cabinets, it's always been done, and done well.
Description of Work
They cleaned the entire house: detailed the kitchen and bathrooms (they cleaned everything; including the oven, microwave oven, refrigerator, bathtubs, showers, toilets; everything), dusted, vacuumed the carpets, cleaned the furniture tops (tables, desks, etc.) moped the tile floors, and probably other things I'm not remembering!
Category
house cleaning

Phone

Address

837 POMEROY AVE #10

Santa Clara, CA 95051

Other Information

Services offered

HOUSECLEANING FOR RESIDENTIAL AND SMALL BUSINESSES. CARPET & WINDOW CLEANING. DETAILED HOUSECLEANING FOR MOVE-INS AND MOVE-OUTS. WAX FLOORS FOR RESIDENTIAL.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING offers free project estimates.

No, MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING does not offer a senior discount.

No, MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING does not offer warranties.

MARY & ERNESTO HOUSECLEANING offers the following services: HOUSECLEANING FOR RESIDENTIAL AND SMALL BUSINESSES. CARPET & WINDOW CLEANING. DETAILED HOUSECLEANING FOR MOVE-INS AND MOVE-OUTS. WAX FLOORS FOR RESIDENTIAL.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Welcome to Molly Maid, your local choice for professional residential cleaning services. Backed by an established household brand, our residential housekeepers guarantee your satisfaction. We listen to your personal preferences to create a plan that keeps your home cleaned your way. We've been highly recommended for over 25 years as a result. Give us a call today!  

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in carpet cleaning services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

We are a small start up business located in the Bay Area dedicated to most of your cleaning needs. We are ready to help you with your standard, deep and move in/out cleans which we can do one time, weekly, bi weekly or monthly. We specialize in making your home feel safe and clean.