Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Drain Doctor

Founded 1996 • With Angi since May 2006

3.9

(71) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

480 Aldo Ave

Santa Clara, CA 95054

Description

Residential and commercial services. Since 1996, the professional technicians of Drain Doctor, Inc. have served residential and commercial customers throughout the Bay area of California. Our highly trained technicians work hard to deliver excellence in every job they do for you. We provide quality

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
John S.
1.0
07/19/2021
BEWARE, PREDATORY PRICING, Guarantee NOT Guaranteed. My father who is 83 had a couple of incidents where underwear was accidentally flushed down the toilet. The second incident resulted in backed up pipes. The plumber (Name is Young Employee # 241) advised that he could just unclog the drain for $350, but that a section of pipe from the kitchen island was old and needed replacement. That didn't totally make sense to me. He said it would be $1900 to include the pipe replacement, but that the work would be guaranteed. I questioned the plumber and he said that old pipes were causing poor drain flow from the kitchen area and that it would solve our problem. After two days of accumulation, the pipes are backed up into the kitchen sinks. We called the company and they said they could come out, but we would be charged again. The $1900 was an absolute rip-off and totally unnecessary. The plumber snaked the drain and had retrieved one pair of underwear and upon departure it seemed that the drains were functioning correctly. That same day, some gurgling was heard in the kitchen drain and he came back out. He confirmed that everything was OK at that time. Something was not. My dad's 83 as mentioned before, I believe this could be classified as elder abuse. We consulted a plumber friend from another state and he stated that the plumber should have gone through the main first and if not successful from the toilet where the underpants were flushed. He also advised that the 2 pipes replaced for $1900 should have been maybe a few hundred dollars. Total time the plumber was on site was about 3 hours. Also note the $1900 price gouge was "discounted" from $2900.
Description of Work
Drain clogged
Category
drain cleaning
Venky S.
4.0
02/18/2018
The associate responded and sent in a plumber within 30 minutes (thank you!), he was nice and talking well. There were blocks on the pipe and he snaked it and cleared. No problem on the job. However, when it came to estimate, he initially estimated it was $285 for the job. After some time, noticing the drano clog remover sediments, he said the sediments could be all through to main line and so this is a big job and it is likely the pipe needs to be replaced all the way to the main line. As he was showing a frustrated and disappointed face about the block and work, complaining this is a long job and so the estimate have to be increased the pipe to $600 while in the middle of work. It was clear to me that if I said no, he said he'd leave in the middle of the work. That seemed like a ransom for me and since the kitchen have to be cleared and we needed the kitchen, I have to agree. The whole job took just ~2.5 hours to complete and there were no major clogs to the main line, when I mentioned during invoicing, he said he can give a max 20% discount to the $600 and charged us $550. I felt like a rip-off. Sorry Drain Doctor, I am happy for your response and fixing the problem, but will not call you again for the cost of the service.
Description of Work
Kitchen sink block
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Praveen T.
5.0
02/17/2018
They were responsive even though it was Friday night and long weekend. Got here on time and did the job in 20 mins. Very helpful indeed
Description of Work
Main drain was clogged. Water backed up, Friday night
Category
drain cleaning
Tony F.
5.0
12/12/2017
He gave me an estimate of the cost of the work before he began. He was able to quickly clear the drain pipe. He left the place as clean as when he arrived.
Description of Work
Kitchen sink was backing up due to clogged drain pipe.
Category
plumbing
CAROL J. L.
4.0
10/23/2017
Drain work done well. But, with the senior discount it was still 15% higher than EJ plumbing.
Description of Work
clogged drain
Category
plumbing
David K.
5.0
07/03/2017
I've used them before and I would have given them A's across the board. The only thing this time they stood me up the first time. I had an appointment. The technician didn't show up and they didn't call me to tell me he wasn't coming. I had to call them and they realized they made a scheduling mistake and gave the guy the day off and then didn't call the customers they booked appointments with. Now when I reached them they did apologize and they did eventually get somebody out but that was a little frustrating to take a day off of work and have nobody show up.
Description of Work
They came to drain a water heater to get the calcium deposits out of it.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Maureen W.
5.0
04/25/2017
I called Drain Doctor this morning about our clogged kitchen sink. After just a few rings, someone picked up and took all of my information. Someone called me back shortly after to say that a technician could be at our home in 45 minutes. I was at work, so instead I set up an appointment for 4:30pm. I received a call at 4:55pm to tell me that the technician was on his way and would be there in 10 minutes. He arrived at 5:15pm. I understand that especially by the end of the day, things can be behind schedule, but it would have been preferable to hear about the delay earlier so I wasn't rushing around for no reason. Once the technician arrived, though, things went very smoothly. He was professional and efficient. He clearly explained the pricing before we started (with a 15% discount) which I appreciated and assured me I wouldn't be charged for anything that was unsuccessful. He was unable to open the kitchen clean-out cap outside (the house is over 60 years old and I have no idea the last time it was opened), but quickly switched gears and went up on the roof and was able to snake from the roof vent. His snaking was successful and he informed me that there was a 30 day guarantee in case we started having problems again. By 5:50pm, he was done putting his equipment away. From some of my quick research, I know this wasn't the cheapest option, but it was great to have it taken care of the same day and with the 30 day guarantee.
Description of Work
Kitchen sink clog removed
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Ming H.
4.0
02/08/2017
It was a little pricey. I found another one that was cheaper.
Description of Work
We used Drain Doctor.
Category
plumbing
MIKE B.
5.0
11/14/2016
We have real old plumbing. He snaked in 70 feet to get to the clog. Everything drains fine now
Description of Work
Drain clearing
Category
drain cleaning
Mike M.
1.0
05/03/2016
No quote given ahead of time - "bid at site" they told me on the phone. They arrived at the house with only my wife home as I was away at the moment. They quoted $450 to fix a simple clog, clearly taking advantage of the situation. I had them get on the phone with me where they agreed to do it for $300 after I pushed back, still an outrageous amount for cleaning out a routine thing that happens at our house. I didn't want the gold service. I told my wife to tell them no unless it's $200. Then they quickly agreed to $200! The rose the price 2x+ to see if they can get away with it. Unethical. Stay away from these rip off artists! It was tech #45 & #51 that did the job. Funny they don't even put their names on the invoice either.
Description of Work
Fix clogged sewer line
Category
sewer cleaning
Mike M.
1.0
05/01/2016
No quote given ahead of time - "bid at site" they told me on the phone. They arrived at the house with only my wife home as I was away at the moment. They quoted $450 to fix a simple clog, clearly taking advantage of the situation. I had them get on the phone with me where they agreed to do it for $300 after I pushed back, still an outrageous amount for cleaning out a routine thing that happens at our house. I didn't want the gold service. I told my wife to tell them no unless it's $200. Then they quickly agreed to $200! The rose the price 2x+ to see if they can get away with it. Unethical. Stay away from these rip off artists! It was tech #45 & #51 that did the job. Funny they don't even put their names on the invoice either.
Description of Work
Fix clogged sewer line
Category
sewer cleaning
Patricia M.
1.0
08/22/2015
They were supposed to come out and give me an estimate. The first plumber did not show up. I called and they told me that they did not know that he didn't show up. They told me that they would send me someone else. The other plumber didn't show up either.
Description of Work
They were coming out to do an estimate.
Category
plumbing
Deb B.
4.0
06/22/2015
Alejandro & Joseph showed up on time. After we accepted their estimate, they went right to work. Finished same day and right on estimated time.
Description of Work
Replaced leaky pipe under kitchen - had to go under house.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Alan W.
5.0
06/14/2015
I called the day before. Requested a noon appointment for the next day. Plumber Scott showed up a little early ready to work. He was professional and knows what he was doing. He explained that I had a mainline stoppage and might be able to clean it with a power cable through the roof vent. But. That would require two men and a better, more cost effective way would be to dig a hole in my front yard at ground level. Clear the stoppage from the exposed mainline pipe add a ground level clean-out and do a camera inspection. All for $1300.00 total.........Roto Rooter wanted 2000.00 for the job without the camera inspection! I said yes to the complete job above and he went to work on it. It took Scott approx. 6 hours of hard work. He had all the necessary tools and parts to complete the job on his truck. He dig the hole. Cut the mail line pipe about 6 feet below and ran approx 125 feet of power cable thru the drain and cleared the stoppage. installed the clean out and replaced the dirt. A GREAT Job !! He then cleaned up the job sight. and explained what he did, the guaranty was one year. I paid for the job by credit card. and have had no problems since the job. Thank You Drain Doctor's and Scott. I am very happy with the work and will use your company again.
Description of Work
Cleared mainline stoppage. Installed ground level clean-out. Color camera inspection. All Very Professional
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Marjorie V.
4.0
12/08/2014
He was a little bit snippety, but I put him in his place quickly. They were able to get it draining well.
Description of Work
plumbing.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Laura S.
5.0
07/11/2013
I was very pleased with their service. They purchased all the materials themselves. They were very timely and were done when they said they would be done.
Description of Work
Replaced two toilets and faucets. They replace water lines on July 1st.
Category
plumbing
Lara L.
5.0
03/04/2013
I had a good experience with them. They exercised initiative and did not give up. I got what I paid for.
Description of Work
I used Drain Doctor for an emergency unclogging of a drain and they did a good amount of work on it.
Category
drain cleaning
ron F.
2.0
12/31/2012
Expense was very high for having an unsuccessful experience. The owner was not co operative when I brought up the results.
Description of Work
Drains throughout the house were backed up. Technician used a snake from the roof to try to clear drains. He was unable to completely clear the drain. He came in 3 days later when the drains backed up again and installed a clean out. He still was not successful in clearing the drain pipe claiming he could not make the snake go through. Two days later I called the city and they used the same process and cleared the pipe all the through to the sewer. The newly installed clean out was the reason the city could complete the task, but I wonder why Drain Doctor could not do the same. I called the owner to tell her what happened and she said she would study what happened and get back to me. I never received a call back which is the primary reason I would not recommend this service.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
NANCY L.
5.0
12/26/2012
Martin and Alexa from Drain Doctor were very professional and courteous. This is particularly important because they were doing work for an elderly person. We'll be using their services again. They cleaned out backed-up sewer lines that were plugged by aggressive roots. Whole job took a couple of hours. They cheerfully provided a free estimate beforehand and gave a written receipt with service description at the end.
Description of Work
Martin and Alexa from Drain Doctor were very professional and courteous. This is particularly important because they were doing work for an elderly person. We'll be using their services again. They cleaned out backed-up sewer lines that were plugged by aggressive roots. Whole job took a couple of hours. They cheerfully provided a free estimate beforehand and gave a written receipt with service description at the end.
Category
plumbing
Valerie B.
3.0
11/05/2012
I just feel I needed help but the understanding was a problem. Now I paid for a temporary job and will have to call them back when the problem occurs again.
Description of Work
Drain plug of sink came loose and had water everywhere. Service man said the pipes where full and needed to be snaked. I did have trouble because he did not seem to understand English and could not speak well. He wanted to go under the house but I told him the valve he wanted was not under the house. I tried to talk to him but felt he did not understand my questions. He was very neat and clean but just did not understand me or I him. Now I feel I paid $240 for a bandaid when I really wanted a repair.
Category
plumbing
PAUL L.
5.0
04/02/2012
The pipes in my house get clogged about once a year. I have several different plumbers do the job over the years. Drain Doctor has been the least expensive, most professional and most pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work
Clean out clogged drains.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Carol S.
5.0
07/20/2011
This experience was very good with this company. They are very professional and trustworthy. They do what they say they will and always clean up after themselves. I have used this company several times and I have been satisfied with time. They are very responsive and will help you out in any way they can.
Description of Work
They installed a new faucet in my kitchen.
Category
plumbing
John F.
5.0
06/20/2011
The plumber from Drain Doctors cleaned it out in 25 minutes. The entire time spent from the initial call was 70 minutes. He kept the area completely clean. No water or dirt to clean up.
Description of Work
We have a drain that clogs every few years. The clog is about 50 feet from the sink with no clean out. Most plumbers take a couple hours to clear it out. I've sent a couple plumbers away because they weren't able to clean it.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
IRMA S.
5.0
08/23/2010
They come within the allotted time frame so you aren?t waiting all day. They have a very reasonable price.
Description of Work
A couple of times my toilet overflowed. They were willing to install my toilet if I bought a new one.
Category
plumbing
GARTH B.
5.0
04/21/2010
They have been easier to get out here promptly than any other place we?ve called. It doesn?t matter what time of day we call or if it is a holiday, they come out here. I have had some communication problems but otherwise they have been excellent. I don?t recall the exact price but it has been worth it for us. Everything worked after they were here. If anything goes wrong again, we will definitely use them.
Description of Work
We had some problems with a sewer pipe so Drain Doctor has come out to take the roots out a couple of times.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fifteen Dollar Rooter Sewer & Drain Service

    $15 sewer and drain service has been providing The highest quality drain cleaning services and plumbing services in the Bay area for the last 36 years! We believe in flat rate over the phone pricerange Lists the phone price listings to offer all our customers all are customers a value for their drain cleaning services our technicians are long term employees with over 20 years in the plumbing industry We offerTop quality services in drain cleaning plumbing services water heater replacements tank list replacements tankless water heater replacements Leak locating services trenchless pipe bursting sewer camera inspections sewer line replacements RPP certifications and also hot jet hydro jetting Our number one daily call is from customer's who tell us " My plumber told me to give you a call, Because my drain is backed up and you guys are the only ones Who can get the drain open". .. So don't waste precious time with the clogged drain give us a call and we will be out there within 2 hours Of your call!  

    Angi Certified

    Plumbtree Plumbing and Rooter, Inc.

    *Emergency Services Available. Plumbtree Plumbing & Rooter offers reliable plumbing services at the most competitive prices. With our stellar plumbing services, we will get your plumbing system back to working at its best in no time. Whether you are experiencing a complicated plumbing issue, broken water heater, cracked plumbing fixture, or leaking faucet, our experienced technicians will work quickly to fix your problem and eliminate your frustrations! We serve San Jose, Milpitas, Santa Clara, Campbell, Saratoga, Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Gatos, Sunnyvale, Fremont, Newark, Union City, Redwood City, Atherton, Menlo Park, and Morgan Hill. We specialize in complete plumbing services, including drain cleaning, clogged toilet repair, sewer replacement, cleanout installation, water leak repair, water system repipe, water service replacement, leaky toilet, household gas testing, household gas system leak detection, gas line repair, gas system repipe, gas leaks, water heater maintenance, water heater repair, water heater replacement, tankless water heater installation, tankless water heater maintenance, and tankless water heater repair.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Crown Plumbing

    Established in 2001 At Crown Plumbing, we understand that we've been invited into your home to perform a much needed plumbing service and as your guests, our certified, licensed plumbers will conduct themselves in a highly professional manner and maintain a neat and clean work area. We'll also provide a written estimate before we begin the job so you'll know how much the final bill will be including parts and labor. Lic#855792 Quality work at affordable prices, highest customer satisfaction, fixing any issues in timely fashion, lots of business derived from customer referrals and return customers, senior citizen discount offers, and punctuality gives Crown Plumbing an edge over its competitors. Our Main Strengths: 24/7 Availability For Emergency Services Highly Skilled Professionals Locally Owned Business Neighborhood Not A Big Corporation Or Franchise Over 19 Years Of Experience And of course always 10% discount when you mention Angie's List Member Of Better Business Bureau Since 2004 With No Complaints. Crown Plumbing strives to be the best in the business, growing rapidly to deliver the best business plumbing services in town. (Leaks, Toilets, Water Heaters, Plumbing Installation, Maintenance & Service) Crown Plumbing is known for quality work, fast response and competitive pricing.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    All plumbing repair and installation, drain cleared, water heater plumbing fixtures, disposals, gas lines, copper repipes, water & sewer lines inspected & repaired, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, and electrical services. We perform Trenchless Sewer Replacement and more!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Drain Doctor

    How is Drain Doctor overall rated?

    Drain Doctor is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Drain Doctor open?

    Drain Doctor is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Drain Doctor provide

    Drain Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Drain Doctor offer free estimates?

    Yes, Drain Doctor offers free project estimates.

    Does Drain Doctor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Drain Doctor does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Drain Doctor offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Drain Doctor offers a 15% senior discount.

    Does Drain Doctor offer emergency services?

    Yes, Drain Doctor offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Drain Doctor?

    Yes, Drain Doctor offers warranties.

    What services does Drain Doctor offer?

    Drain Doctor offers the following services: All plumbing repair and installation, drain cleared, water heater plumbing fixtures, disposals, gas lines, copper repipes, water & sewer lines inspected & repaired, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, and electrical services. We perform Trenchless Sewer Replacement and more!