Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are currently doing work and following the COVID 19 guidelines for safely protocols.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Able Glass Co

Founded 1969 • With Angi since March 2005

4.8

(107) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

850 Aldo Ave

Santa Clara, CA 95054

Description

Able Glass has been in business since 1969. Eric Holder, the second-generation owner, has been involved in the business since he was 12 years old. As a family-run business, we take great pride in both our work and in our service. We are so proud of the work and service we provide that we guarantee
Window Install Photos project
Window Install Photos

window replacement

202295054

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/16/2021


William J B.

They did an excellent job. This is the 3rd time I hired them.

Description of Work
They installed windows and replaced a sliding glass door.

Category glass repair

5.0

10/01/2019


Dan P.

Great!! Friendly, neat, quality work and good job.

Description of Work
installed new windows and doors

Category replacement windows

1.0

11/04/2018


Rita M.

They would not consider job unless it was at least 5 windows. Poor phone manners and little concern to offer an alternative recommendation.

Description of Work
New windows

Category egress windows, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Statement being made is false - we have policies in place for various types of practices in setting up appointments for estimates. We can do less than 5 windows - but we may ask that the customer email the request in. We rate highest in our field and have the highest customer ratings that are verified. Because you didn’t want to take the path of simplicity for help - you chose to make a bad grade on a small family run business that will be celebrating its 50th year in business next year. I can show you plenty of work orders for small window jobs. Don’t be fooled by this persons response.
5.0

07/31/2018


Jim T.

We went to Abel Glass to look thru their showroom to get ideas for shower doors for our two bathrooms. We were able to get an appointment for a consult and then the installation. Ron, installer, arrived promptly, put booties on his feet and went to work. He was professional and meticulous. We recommend Able Glass and Ron for their outstanding work.

Description of Work
New shower doors.

Category glass repair, doors

5.0

05/04/2017


lydia W.

They did a great job! The two guys they sent were incredibly nice. A couple months later, this week actually, one of the grooves came out and the door was not connection. I called him, and they came out this week on Monday! The guy came out and had it fixed in half an hour. I was anticipating a headache, but there was none! Just in an out! Done and fixed. They really did a good job! I'm so appreciative they were able to fix it. They even applied a Senior Discount!

Description of Work
They put in two beautiful shower doors.

Category glass repair

5.0

05/02/2017


Christine C.

Very professional job. Punctual & timely service.

Description of Work
Replaced one window in our home.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/01/2017


Benjamin O.

Very quick and curious. Some small damage to outside wall paint during install - but nothing major Job was quick, and they did a great job cleaning inside the house after install

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

5.0

10/16/2015


Greg G.

Contacted the Able a long time ago, then got busy, then remember, then contacted them again. But, from the point of actually deciding to do the job and them ordering the time frame was about as fast as it could have gone. The ONLY delay was actually ordering the window, which was a special order. BTW, Ernesto came out to give an estimate and was prompt, courteous, knew what he was doing, and pleasant. Contact with Able was seamless and they were very responsive to any questions we had, via email/phone/Angie's List messaging. Their front of house person was a delight to work with as well. DAY OF INSTALL: After finally deciding on a day to install the window, we were given a time "window" (pun intended) that they would show up of between 1-3 pm. A two man crew (Ernesto and Ron) showed up promptly a little before 1... time stamp to completion? 1:30! And that is with ladder set up, removal of the old window, installation of the new window, and clean up. 30 minutes between arrival and departure!! Being that the window was on the top of the second story and not easily accessed without ladders, we were happy about their attentiveness. They were very respectful of our privacy, used shoe covers when indoors, and were careful on the exterior to not impact the area surrounding the window. Very pain free process and super happy with the install!

Description of Work
Replace a cracked window

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/13/2015


Matthew R.

Able quoted quickly by looking at the photo and dimensions I provided in the Angie job request. Able's technician inspected and cleaned up the broken double pane sliding glass door, took measurements. Was right on-time, quick and professional. He set expectations on next steps of the manufacturing time and labor for installation. Able manufactured a new double pane window to meet the original fit within 5 business days. Able's 2 technician's showed up right at the appointed time, and had it all installed and cleaned up within 1.5hrs. It was a big window, and they installed and sealed it perfectly, no gaps or dents. Even re-lubed the runner and vacuumed up and took away all those little glass shards from the original break. Very professional and pleasant interaction. Their ability to just retrofit in the glass was great, as I didn't have to replace the entire sliding glass door, which is an obsolete model, so I was happy with the price, job cycle and quality of their retrofit.

Description of Work
Retrofit a custom older model sliding glass door's broken double pane window.

Category glass repair, replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/16/2015


Scott H.

Able Glass's crew was swift, professional and very competent: They worked with a minimum of disruption to my tenants. Warmly recommended

Description of Work
replaced windows in a 10-unit apartment building

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review [member name removed]- that was pleasant surprise to see. I must admit you were quite easy to work for and with. I appreciate you allowing us to install your entry doors as well. I'm looking forward to doing more installs with you.
5.0

07/18/2014


Dennis F.

Ron came to give me an estimate on 7/11/14 and was about 10 minutes early. He returned today, 7/18/14, to make the repair and was about 20 minutes early. He spent an hour replacing the two windows. I don't see how anyone could have done it faster. I had to tell him that it was great watching a craftsman at work. He is very pleasant to talk with. He is very focused on what he is doing. I saw no wasted motion. He took all broken glass and other refuse with him. I would highly recommend Able Glass to anyone.

Description of Work
Replaced two double pane windows.

Category replacement windows

4.0

03/14/2014


Stuart M.

Yesterday, Ron from Able glass replaced two window panes on my second story window. In giving me the estimate Ron indicated that because they were glazed windows and he would be working from a ladder it would take longer. I reluctantly agreed to the price and gave the go ahead. He then indicated he was not sure he had enough time to finish both window panes which gave some creditability to the price quoted. An hour and 40 minutes later he had finished both panes and was back with the invoice. Total time at my residence, one hour and forty five minutes. For this the bill was $459. Allowing $59 for the glass cost this was $400 for labor or approx $230 per hour - EXORBITANT! When I asked what the labor rate is, I did not get a direct answer, only that they charge by the job. I certainly would not recommend nor use Able Glass for another job. Two other points; Although installation workmanship was good, Ron did not clean the outside of the glass when he was done, leaving glazing compound residue around the edges of the panes. Now this 80+year old has to put up a ladder to the second story to do it. Secondly, I told the lady who set up the appointment that I had a coupon from Angie's List for 10% off which I did not receive. One has to wonder why the coupon states that the coupon must be presented before the estimate is given. The lady stated that this is so they have the opportunity to pitch additional services (non were presented). UPDATE: In my previous review of the work done by Able Glass I indicated extreme dissatisfaction with the charges for replacing two second story window panes. Since then, Eric called me and after discussion of the job and the reasons for the charges, he reduced the charges to a more reasonable $300. I would now use Able Glass for any additional work as long as the quotes at that time are reasonable.

Description of Work
Replace two window panes.

Category replacement windows

5.0

03/06/2014


Marian C.

It went very well, and it began with the interest of the Office Staff, scheduling, appointments, planned and kept, and work performed. I am grateful for all.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken window pane in my garage with Safety Glass

Category replacement windows

2.0

09/30/2013


Barbara L.

Very disappointed with Able Glass service. I dropped off a window pane that needed the glass replaced on 9/3/13 and was told the service would take 3-5 days. On 9/13/13 I called Able Glass, after having heard nothing from them for 10 days. The woman who answered the phone initially could not find my order and put me on hold. When she returned, she told me the window should be in on Monday, 9/16/13. I asked her what happened and that I had been quoted a 3-5 day turnaround. She was very curt with me and kept repeating that when the window was ready I would be called. When I called on 9/16 (after not hearing from them) , I was again told they expected the glass that day or the next. I explained that I was leaving town on the 17th, and could they at least deliver the window to my home. I was told that would depend on whether or not they had somebody working in the area. Able Glass called on the 17th to say my window was ready for pick up. I again explained I was leaving town, and asked for them to deliver the window, the woman said she would see what she could do. She later called me and said they would drop the window off on the 18th. Able Glass never called me to tell me the window would be delayed, took 15 days for a 3-5 day job and grudging offered to deliver the much-delayed window. Very poor customer service, and I would not use them again.

Description of Work
Repair glass in window.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Our apologies for your bad experience with us. We should have communicated with you better. Your original glass came in defective and we had to reject it and send it back. Your glass was a specialty item that has to be made by a manufacturer to get the proper specs in order for the window to fit properly. Because the delay was longer than we told you, we did give you a FREE service call to rectify things. Again, we are sorry for our lack of communication and we have learned from it. We wish you all the best and Happy Holidays.
5.0

09/25/2013


Bruce F.

Both doors now move with very little effort. Wish I would have done it sooner.

Description of Work
Replaced 4 rollers on 2 sliding glass doors.

Category doors

5.0

06/19/2013


Gail Y.

I like what they say and I'm going to use their bid. I had gotten about 5 other estimates and I liked his attitude. I liked they way he listened to me and gave me options. I went back in and said "how does this work? I like this better" and he would say "Yeah that sounds good. I said this because..." So it was really just more open. I didn't feel like I was being pressured at all. Their cost was very reasonable bids I got. He was the middle of the road. When he came for the estimate, he was on time. I am definitely going to go with them.

Description of Work
I got a bid from Able Glass for windows. They haven't installed them yet.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review and thanks for using us. Your neighbors certainly loved the outcome of your job and all your kind words and referrals have landed us more work within your HOA complex. I'm wishing you all the best and great health in 2014 and beyond.
5.0

05/02/2013


William D.

My wife was home at time of the service call. She was absolutely thrilled with Ron. He was punctual, professional and very competent. We are VERY satisfied and will use Able Glass in the future.

Description of Work
Diagnosis of problem with sliding glass shower doors. Removal and replacement of rollers on doors. Replacement of external window screen. Measured screen, made new screen.

Category screen repair, replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/25/2013


Russ I.

A top-class company - from the CEO and the customer service representatives to the crew who installed the windows. The ordering and installation process went fast and without a glitch. Service and response times were impeccable. Eric came to my place about a month before the installation procedure and educated me about windows. He and and his company were very PATIENT and listened to my needs and from that, he recommended some windows to me. I chose the Simonton Daylightmax double-paned, vinyl windows (12 windows) with the maximum thickness, which came with screens. The windows are amazing. The insulation is great. I am saving lots of money in heating and air conditioning bills. Also, as for buffering the outdoor noise, the windows are excellent; the annoying sounds emanating from the outdoors have lessened substantially. The actual installation was professionally done. Everybody was working hard together (and looked like they were have fun while working!) and they answered all my questions in a complete and detailed manner. Eric said the installation process would probably take eight hours, but the guys did it in six! Other great things about Able Glass: they keep you abreast of each step of the process - from ordering the windows to finishing up; communication is very transparent, people are up front with you and listen to you; they get back to you right away when you have a concern; and, of course, they give good deals and install solid, attractive and nice looking windows. I have hired Able Glass before this project and will surely be back to see them when the need for windows/window services arises again in my life. I wholeheartedly, without any reservations, recommend them.

Description of Work
Removed the old windows and installed twelve Simonton Daylightmax vinyl, double-paned windows, complete with screens. Explained to me the nature and function of my new windows and how to operate, maintain and take care of them.

Category replacement windows

5.0

03/01/2013


Christine C.

I have worked with Eric Holder of Able Glass on 4 projects ranging from homes to apartment buildings. He is very knowledgeable. His customer service is unsurpassed. We've worked with other window companies, but they didn't come close to matching the service, quality and value at Able Glass. He worked miracles by getting windows ordered and installed within our short turn around time. The quality of the installation work is next to none. His workers are top notch. They are courtesy, thoughtful and helpful. The areas are left immaculate. You can trust Eric and Able Glass to give you excellent customer service, quality workmanship at a great value.

Description of Work
Installation of replacement original 60 + year old windows with dual pane Milgard windows- 7 single hung , 3 sliders, and 2 picture windows. The new windows add so much to the beauty and character of the house.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

5.0

02/18/2013


Kate H.

They did an excellent job. Windows are fantastic. They were prompt, on budget, and completed the job quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
We installed windows with Able Glass.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/11/2013


mark B.

Great service from the start. The owner Eric responded immediately to my request and provided a bid within 24 hours. Received an Angie's List discount and picked up the perfect product a week later. Looks great.

Description of Work
Glass table tops

Category glass repair

5.0

02/08/2013


Jason N.

I contacted Able Glass to request an estimate to repair three damaged screens. Their representative came to inspect the screens that evening after work. He provided an estimate that was less than the estimate prepared by the insurance company for the repair. The repair was completed within the promised timeframe. This was a small job, but is were treated as a high priority project with a prompt response to the inquiry.

Description of Work
Excellent Service

Category replacement windows

1.0

01/17/2013


Lindamarie R.

I called the day before the appointment to confirm our meeting and was told to expect Kai the next day. He arrived on time and spent about an hour and a half looking at all the windows, measuring and explaining some of the window products on the market that might work for the look of our house. He took a lot of notes and we really appreciate all the questions he was asking as it showed real interest in our project. He told me he would send me information within a week. A week went by and I had not heard anything. A second week went by and still no information so I called their offices and received no call back. Finally, after 3 weeks I called again and the same office coordinator took the call. I explained that I was still waiting to receive information and an estimate for our project and she apologized for the delayed response. She asked me for my contact information and what my project involved and the moment I said it was a 100 year old house she started to apologize again for no one getting back to me. She explained that the owner did not want to take on the risk of working on old houses because of the probability of lead and that their salesperson was supposed to have told me this. Perhaps they don't have the EPA certification for working on homes with lead in them and we appreciate that all the regulations CA mandates are expensive for small businesses, but why wait to tell me this AFTER we made time in our busy schedules to meet with their sales person, AFTER we spent almost two hours with the rep, AFTER I called repeatedly and AFTER I wasted my time expecting information. Another company I called was upfront about their limitations and were gracious enough to refer me to a window company that might be able to help us. In this case ABLE Glass wasn't able to do anything except to waste our time.

Description of Work
We have a house that is 100 years old with most of the original windows including a set of 3 stained glass windows. The stained glass windows need a "storm window" type of retrofitting in order to stabilize them with tempered glass and we want to install modern windows in areas that need better insulation. The tricky part has been locating a company that can work with an old house and the quirks of 100 year old construction while providing options that don't compromise the historic look of the house. I spent quite a bit of time reading reviews on Angie's List and decided to call this company. When I spoke to the office coordinator, I very carefully explained that we have an old house, that we have some specific challenges and that we were looking for a company that could provide some creative options. She was very helpful and scheduled an appointment with one of their sales staff, Kai for the following week. She also gave me the name of another company that she knew worked with stained glass.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks for returning my call in regards to your review. I appreciate you taking your time out to discuss things further and your feedback was great. In regards to hearing you haven't done anymore research on your quest for storm panels or windows, feel free to contact me again and I'll be happy to refer you to a company that can better assist you on your needs on an older home such as yours. To clarify to others that are reading this post, I wanted to share with you that we do have our lead certification but we do not do storm panels or have access to certain manufacturers for homes as old as this home. We obviously dropped the ball however on not communicating with her and for that we get what we get as a grade she posted. Please don't let that influence you on not using us. We will use this situation as a learning tool to be sure our salespeople are very clear and precise in their communication with the customer in what we specialize in. As I told her in the phone call, if she used us on the things that we do specialize in, she would have loved our service and technicians.
5.0

12/22/2012


Denise V.

I was impressed with this company from the meeting to discuss the quote with the owner of the company to the completion of the job. The crew arrived on time and worked in unison as they removed the windows and prepared the openings for the install of the new windows. I have an alarm system which was incorporated in each of the windows they were installing the new windows, they were extremely careful to not damage the system wires and reinstalled them with ease. I appreciated that they kept me informed throughout the process and were very professional. I would highly recommend this company because they were competitively priced, high quality windows (love them as much today as I did when they installed them), professional crew and office staff (follow-thru and efficient). I have recommended this company to many of my friends and family, of which many have purchased as well. They are a reputable organization that care about the quality of their products and workmanship.

Description of Work
REQUESTED SERVICE: Window install SERVICE PERFORMED: Removal and installation of 6 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/21/2012


Sanjay Z.

Overall, it was good experience.

Description of Work
Estimate to replace dual pane window glass was reasonable.Glass order had been placed as rush order as window was broken. Glass arrived from factory and installed in next 5 days. Installer tried to cleanup as much as he can after installation.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    ACME SUNSHADES ENTERPRISE INC

    Our business is built upon providing quality products and services to our customers. On every project we work on, no matter how large or how small, we strive to exceed our customers' expectations every time. When the work is complete and our customers tell us that they would recommend our products and services to anyone, we take it to heart. Acme Sunshades is now a Diamond Certified company. Go to "http://www.diamondcertified.org/report/acme-sunshades-enterprise-inc" to see why we are rated one of the highest in customer service satisfaction. We are very proud of this achievement! Our continuing mission is to uphold the tradition of excellence which has been our signature since 1922.  

    Brothers Home Improvement Inc

    Family Owned and Operated since 1994. Nine Brothers & Sisters Striving For Your Complete Satisfaction! Energy Efficient, Replacement Windows and Doors. No Subcontractors! No High-pressure Sales! Ranked Among The Top Nationwide by Qualified Remodelers! AAMA Certified and Members of the Better Business Bureau. Quality Craftsmanship. Lifetime Warranties. Save $75 per window & $150 per door. Financing Available.  

    Blinds For All People

    This is a business of selling, installing, reparing, & cleaning all forms of window coverings, including draperies. There are 3 employees. I hold a California State Contractors License. We are members of BBB. We accept credit cards Master & Visa, Checks, Cash. We accept purchase orders with a 30 day net. We are providing a 10% discount on all window coverings including Shutters  

    Business Highlights

    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Windows, Tub Enclosures & Shower Doors, Mirrors, Window Repairs (Broken Glass - Failed Insulated Glass), Window Screens, Screen Doors, Patio Doors, Table Tops, Glass, Mirror Doors, Replacement Parts, Beveled Glass, Glass Shelves, Double Pained Glass, Window Coverings, Blinds, & Shutters, Entry Doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Repairs to windows that leak during rain storms....we can't make the determination because it could be a flashing problem, a roofing problem an eve problem, etc.. auto glass.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Able Glass Co

    How is Able Glass Co overall rated?

    Able Glass Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Able Glass Co open?

    Able Glass Co is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Able Glass Co provide

    Able Glass Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Able Glass Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Able Glass Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Able Glass Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Able Glass Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Able Glass Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Able Glass Co offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Able Glass Co?

    No, Able Glass Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Able Glass Co offer?

    Able Glass Co offers the following services: Windows, Tub Enclosures & Shower Doors, Mirrors, Window Repairs (Broken Glass - Failed Insulated Glass), Window Screens, Screen Doors, Patio Doors, Table Tops, Glass, Mirror Doors, Replacement Parts, Beveled Glass, Glass Shelves, Double Pained Glass, Window Coverings, Blinds, & Shutters, Entry Doors.

    Are there any services Able Glass Co does not offer?

    Repairs to windows that leak during rain storms....we can't make the determination because it could be a flashing problem, a roofing problem an eve problem, etc.. auto glass.