Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AJD Builders

Founded 2010 • With Angi since March 2012

Our goal in the construction industry is simple, maintain an honest ethical standard on a professional, as well as personal level. In achieving the goal of a well built project, we aim to build trust with the client, so we both understand each other's fundamentals behind a successful project. We stand by our traditional values of hard work, respect, and trust.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
Susan W.
5.0
04/03/2014
12/2014 - During the recent REALLY heavy rains, I had a small flood in my kitchen. Adam to the rescue. He brought his plumber over, they found that an exterior drainage pipe had become clogged and had collapsed causing it to back up over the foundation wall an in to my kitchen. It was fixed and in working order for the second round of heavy storms that came in the following day. All was dry! Adam is definitely my "go to" contractor. 10/2014 - Adam and the guys demolished an old fence, installed a retaining wall in order to level out my back yard, installed a new fence around the entire property (it's beautiful), removed some angled corner pieces (we referred to as "wings"), replaced some more windows, replaced all necessary exterior trim, and had the stucco repaired. He was incredible working with a difficult neighbor, their work is phenomenal and he tolerates my incessant questions and concerns extremely well. The project was very messy (which was expected) outside. Adam and the guys are very courteous and have earned my trust. I might be sounding like a broker record by now, but to reinforce my evaluation, I had four bids on the fence/retaining wall project. Adam came in the middle but his bid upgraded the end result so I got more for the same amount of money. I couldn't be more pleased. 3/2014 - I bought a 1972 fixer and have numerous projects on my "list". Adam is my go to guy for anything I can't do myself. Adam took care of several projects for me this round. The big two were replacing the front door and dining room window. They did such a nice job last year on my living room windows and slider that I didn't hesitate to call him again. He found a good electrical contractor for me and oversaw multiple projects relating to outdoor lighting and electrical needs. He also found and oversaw an insulation contractor for me. Both of these projects were completed while Adam and Dan were on site. It saved me time as I would have had to take time off of work to have these done. The front door is absolutely beautiful and I feel much more secure with the new windows. My house is becoming energy efficient and beautiful at the same time. Now it's my turn to paint the trim. I already have Adam's next project planned. I don't trust people easily but I trust these two with my home! 6/2013 - Adam and Dan shortened the legs on a rather intricate fireplace surround and installed it. They did a fabulous job and you can't tell where the legs have been cut. 3/5/2013 - The sliding door in my living room was bowed outward (and previously installed incorrectly) therefore causing a significant draft. They were also single pane windows/doors. I plan to re-do the entire house but found myself in a position of needing to do the living room quickly. Adam was extremely helpful in discussing the pros/cons of various types and brands. His prices were competitive and he is great to work with. He referred me to a local retailer to see the recommended product first hand. I will hire him again and am planning to do so in the near future to replace my front door and more windows. Adam is exceptionally patient with my incessant questions and requests also. A+ Adam! 11/2012 - Adam is awesome! He is professional, respectful, polite, showed up on time, diligent and went way beyond what I expected of him. The result is fabulous. He answered the incessant amount of questions I had, and he assisted me on some small issues that came up from projects that I was doing myself (like stripped screws on old hinges I was replacing). He called or emailed me every day to let me know what they had accomplished, when they would be returning and what they intended to complete the following day. They cleaned up every day and if I hadn't seen the progress, I wouldn't have know they had been there. He worked with me to insure that my two cats were safe and out of harms way (extremely important to me). He came in on budget and within a reasonable amount of time (a few extra days due to the custom doors, the holiday and the storms). I will call Adam again when I am ready to do some of the numerous other projects I have planned - i.e. kitchen, bathrooms,windows, retaining walls, etc.). After the recent heavy rain, I had some plumbing issues. Not only did Adam find a plumber for me to resolve the issue, he spent a couple of hours at my home (after the end of the day) to insure that the plumber completed the job and that all was functional. WOW!!
Description of Work
10/2014 - Installed retaining wall, new fence around the entire property, new front windows, removed "Mission" inspired aesthetic wings (angled corners), replaced exterior trim. 3/2014 - Replace front door, installed security door, replaced another window, oversaw electrical and insulation projects. 6/2013 - Adam and Dan adjusted and installed a (really heavy) fireplace surround for me and did an impeccable job. 3/5/2013 - I hired Adam to replace the windows and sliding doors in my living room (15 feet of floor to ceiling windows). He also added an additional outdoor light fixture to the opposite side of the windows. 11/2012 - I recently hired Adam to complete several finishing projects on my new (40 year old) home. We replaced all of the baseboards (that were removed to install new hardwood floors), ordered and installed custom french doors (these were a challenge since the walls are out of plumb from settlement) on the office and the master bedroom closet, and replaced the door on the coat closet that had split.
Category
decks
Mark B.
5.0
12/09/2013
I was very happy with the work. They did a really good job with the craftsmanship. They were clean and they cleaned up every day when they were done. They were easy to work with. They were on schedule and there weren't any overages in terms of costs. It was all as expected. I would recommend them to other people. I wish it would have been cheaper but it was a good value and you get what you pay for.
Description of Work
I used AJD Builders to build a deck.
Category
decks
Deanne W.
5.0
07/27/2013
My experience with AJD Builders was very good. From the first meeting, Adam was professional and detailed. While he was not always the lowest bid, I was impressed by the detail of the quotes, the responsiveness to questions / emails / calls, his willingness to adjust where he could and the professionalism of Adam and the guys that worked with him. All of these things gave me a confidence that the job would turn out as I wanted. Plus when Adam knew he would be out of cell service range or unavailable for a period of time - he would give me a heads up. My initial contact was for an existing deck to be torn out and a new deck to be built (termites!!) as well as the updates / repairs needed for a bath in a home I had just purchased. The deck came out beautifully! The bath was an evolving update as I was adding thoughts as we went along and Adam was really good about making the adjustments and it turned out quite nice. As I don't live in the area, Adam was very helpful in picking some materials up (vs. my having to do it when I was in town or shipping to the house, etc.). The only thing that was not top notch was with the tile supplier used, but when I expressed my displeasure - Adam looked at alternate options and in the end - everything was fine. I also ended up using AJD Builders for a new roof and some electrical projects. I was under a bit of a time crunch trying to get work done in time for my daughter to move in before school started in January and even with the holidays - Adam made sure to hit the deadlines we needed. Everything turned out great, the job site was kept very orderly throughout the projects and I would not hesitate to contact Adam in the future for other projects that may be needed.
Description of Work
New deck, New roof, Bathroom remodel, misc. things
Category
remodeling
Sharon M.
3.0
04/12/2013
Adam Diaz is very personable and makes a great impression. We were looking forward to having him install several windows and a new vanity top, as well as repair the subfloor and install new vinyl in one bathroom. He agreed to give us an estimate on the windows, and do the other work on a time-and-materials basis after giving us a rough idea of the range of costs. We didn't hear from him for some time. Then on March 22nd, he sent us an email apologizing for the delay in getting an estimate to us, explaining that he had been ill and was behind schedule. We responded that we were looking forward to getting his estimate so that we could go ahead on things. The next time we heard from him was April 11th, when he wrote that he had a big new job and wouldn't have time to work for us. Since we were so impressed with him, we initially didn't have anyone else out to give us an estimate, figuring that we would use Adam unless his estimate seemed terribly out of line. That proved to be a mistake.
Description of Work
Unfortunately, no work was done.
Category
remodeling
Anne L.
5.0
01/09/2013
Earlier he built a new pool house and I will do everything with them. His price is very reasonable and he was prompt, courteous and pleasant to work with. He always came in on time and was clean personally and in taking care of the place afterward. He made is so easy and the quality of work and presentation was well done. He is a very fine man in terms of his work ethic; he works very hard. I could not be happier; thank you Angie's List.
Description of Work
I used Adam James Diaz of AJD Builders to put in a kitchen floor at my house.
Category
home remodeling
Susan W.
5.0
12/10/2012
3/2014 - I bought a 1972 fixer and have numerous projects on my "list". Adam is my go to guy for anything I can't do myself. Adam took care of several projects for me this round. The big two were replacing the front door and dining room window. They did such a nice job last year on my living room windows and slider that I didn't hesitate to call him again. He found a good electrical contractor for me and oversaw multiple projects relating to outdoor lighting and electrical needs. He also found and oversaw an insulation contractor for me. Both of these projects were completed while Adam and Dan were on site. It saved me time as I would have had to take time off of work to have these done. The front door is absolutely beautiful and I feel much more secure with the new windows. My house is becoming energy efficient and beautiful at the same time. Now it's my turn to paint the trim. I already have Adam's next project planned. I don't trust people easily but I trust these two with my home! 6/2013 - Adam and Dan shortened the legs on a rather intricate fireplace surround and installed it. They did a fabulous job and you can't tell where the legs have been cut. 3/5/2013 - The sliding door in my living room was bowed outward (and previously installed incorrectly) therefore causing a significant draft. They were also single pane windows/doors. I plan to re-do the entire house but found myself in a position of needing to do the living room quickly. Adam was extremely helpful in discussing the pros/cons of various types and brands. His prices were competitive and he is great to work with. He referred me to a local retailer to see the recommended product first hand. I will hire him again and am planning to do so in the near future to replace my front door and more windows. Adam is exceptionally patient with my incessant questions and requests also. A+ Adam! 11/2012 - Adam is awesome! He is professional, respectful, polite, showed up on time, diligent and went way beyond what I expected of him. The result is fabulous. He answered the incessant amount of questions I had, and he assisted me on some small issues that came up from projects that I was doing myself (like stripped screws on old hinges I was replacing). He called or emailed me every day to let me know what they had accomplished, when they would be returning and what they intended to complete the following day. They cleaned up every day and if I hadn't seen the progress, I wouldn't have know they had been there. He worked with me to insure that my two cats were safe and out of harms way (extremely important to me). He came in on budget and within a reasonable amount of time (a few extra days due to the custom doors, the holiday and the storms). I will call Adam again when I am ready to do some of the numerous other projects I have planned - i.e. kitchen, bathrooms, windows, retaining walls, etc.). After the recent heavy rain, I had some plumbing issues. Not only did Adam find a plumber for me to resolve the issue, he spent a couple of hours at my home (after the end of the day) to insure that the plumber completed the job and that all was functional. WOW!!
Description of Work
3/2014 - Replace front door, installed security door, replaced another window, oversaw electrical and insulation projects. 6/2013 - Adam and Dan adjusted and installed a (really heavy) fireplace surround for me and did an impeccable job. 3/5/2013 - I hired Adam to replace the windows and sliding doors in my living room (15 feet of floor to ceiling windows). He also added an additional outdoor light fixture to the opposite side of the windows. 11/2012 - I recently hired Adam to complete several finishing projects on my new (40 year old) home. We replaced all of the baseboards (that were removed to install new hardwood floors), ordered and installed custom french doors (these were a challenge since the walls are out of plumb from settlement) on the office and the master bedroom closet, and replaced the door on the coat closet that had split.
Category
remodeling, woodworking
Gael D.
5.0
11/14/2012
Adam was very professional and neatly dressed. After receiving two other bids, his was the most cost effective. The work was completed as discussed in a very timely manner. He was always open to our questions and made helpful suggestions about the project. He kept us informed about the progress and cleaned up every day. The carpenter who did most of the work was always very prompt, neatly dressed, and respectful. Very happy with this work and would recommend for other's projects.
Description of Work
Rebuild a small deck and the front door overhang (due to dryrot).
Category
decks, picture framing
Anne L.
5.0
05/14/2012
Amazing, not only was the quality very high, but they were very respectful. Adam, the owner is great at communicating. I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to construction, but Adam always took the time to explain to me how the project was going, were it was going, and certain unpleasantries such as inevitable dust, noise, etc. In the time I worked with AJD Builders, we completed these projects:1. Partial remodel of kitchen2. Re-floored kitchen, dining room, rec room3. Replaced four windows and three sliding glass doors4. Built a small addition for the pool house5. Built a new property fence6. Changes various light fixtures, faucets7. Fixed plumbing issues8. Installed two new shower doors9. Remodeled the master bathroom shower to make it more accessible for my mother of 70 years.10. Built a flagstone pathway at the front of the house.11. Fixed a leaky room in the winter time12. Made sure my deck was structurally safe, and the boards were secure13. HOPE I REMEMBERED EVERYTHING ADAM, SORRY IF I DIDN'T
Description of Work
I have used AJD Builders for the past two and a half years. They have completed over nine substantial projects for me such as window replacement, small addition, remodeling the kitchen, etc. I want to express my absolute satisfaction and appreciation towards the owner, Adam. I would like to tell a story, for the record, how I met this nice man.On December 23rd, our house was burglarized and two windows and a glass sliding door were broken. Luckily we were out of town and no one was home. Upon arriving home on the 24th, I frantically called around to try and find any contractor who could come over and help me. Every contractor in the area seemed to be out of town, or out of office for the holidays. Thank goodness I found AJD Builders. Adam personally came over on the afternoon of the 24th (and afterwards I discovered it was his birthday!) and boarded up all the openings. Over the next two weeks, during the holidays, him and another worker replaced the two broken windows and the glass sliding door. He was a gem to have around the house, and he will be missed until I need him again. Marin County has many accomplished contractors, but having a good contractor who is a great person as well, is hard to find. Thank you AJD Builders, take care.
Category
contractors, countertops, decks, egress windows, masonry, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, deck cleaning, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, driveway gates
Alleesha R.
5.0
04/12/2012
.
Description of Work
New redwood deck at our ranch home.
Category
decks

Other local Pros in your area

Mt. Tam Construction

**North Bay's Premier Bathroom Remodeling company.** Mt. Tam construction remodels bathrooms ,kitchens and decks from design to finish and convert garages and basements into living space. Our main focus for the last eight years has been bathroom remodeling. Our projects range from simply removing and replacing fixtures ,tile and plumbing to very complex projects involving wall removal ,relocation of plumbing fixtures ,updated electrical and lighting, and structural dry rot repair. Mt. Tam construction is owned by Roger Huntress, a California licensed general contractor , license number 584072. He has worked in Bay Area residential remodeling for over 30 years serving Marin and San Francisco. We carry Workmen's Compensation and liability insurance on all projects. Let us provide you with a free, detailed proposal for your home remodel. You can contact us today at (415)-730-0438 Email: mttamconstruction@comcast.net We are an "A" rated company.  

Angi Certified

VM FOX PAVERS INC

With over 15 years of experience in landscaping and pavers, we are here to help you with all your needs and dreams.  

Angi Certified

TBE Architecture

TBE is a full service architecture studio led by Architect Ray Willett AIA | LEED AP. Based in Sonoma, CA., we work throughout California with businesses, property owners, general contractors, and municipal entities to provide the services needed to plan, design, develop, construct and maintain projects that contribute to the quality of the built environment.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

2 Vistawood Way

San Rafael, CA 94901

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Please ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Financing Available
Visa
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

AJD Builders is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

AJD Builders is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

AJD Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa

Ask AJD Builders for details on free project estimates.

No, AJD Builders does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, AJD Builders does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, AJD Builders offers emergency services.

Yes, AJD Builders offers warranties.

AJD Builders offers the following services: Decks & Fences