Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Juan's Tile

Founded 1996 • With Angi since October 2006

1 employee. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(106) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 106 reviews
Bonnie L.
5.0
09/19/2016
Juan Retano and his assistant did an excellent job. We had him stall about 26Sqft of those skinny glass tiles. He installed it with precision and much attention to details. He did the job in one day and we are very happy with the results.
Description of Work
Install backsplash tile in our kitchen.
Category
ceramic tile
Helen K.
5.0
04/30/2016
Juan and his two assistants installed porcelain tile in my entryway which includes 1 stair. They also mounted the handrail my brother made for me. They did the job in two days, because the substrate had to be prepared. The fit and finish are beautiful; they paid a lot of attention to the symmetry of the tile placement which was a little tricky because the tiles were eight inch hexagons. Juan honored a price quote he had given me nearly a year ago, he showed up on time, was courteous and he and his crew were very careful about the clean up afterward. I would be happy to use his services again.
Description of Work
Installed porcelain tile in my entryway and mounted a handrail.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor
John O.
5.0
07/13/2015
Juan came to our home and quoted us for installing tile on the floors and in the shower stalls of two bathrooms we had completely remodeled from the studs - we purchased all the materials separately. We had already prepped the showers for tile and had completed the subfloors in the rest of the bathrooms - other than installing hardibacker. We had bought the hardibacker already, so although Juan and his team prefer to float up floors with concrete directly, he installed the hardibacker at our request for a slightly cheaper price. We had a very specific time frame in which to complete the work so we could move in, and even though a previous job Juan was working on was delayed, he still managed to finish our work within the scheduled time - and exactly in line with his price quote. They did excellent quality work - their cuts and grout lines matched up as perfectly as an 80 year old home would allow. And they found great ways to correct for some of our prep work that wasn't as ideal as it could have been. Even at the end, after they had completed the job and we needed his help to complete one additional portion around the tub that we had planned to do ourselves, he came up with a better solution to do the work than we originally planned. He quoted us $250 for the additional work over the phone based on our idea, but then when he came to take another look and go over it with us, he thought it could be done more simply and only charged $150. He then came back the next day and finished the work in a couple of hours - and it looked fantastic! We were ecstatic with the end results and won't hesitate to call Juan again the next time we need tile work done.
Description of Work
Installed porcelain tile on the floors and shower stalls in our bathrooms (2) - price for labor only.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, home remodeling
LISA L.
4.0
06/29/2015
Did not provide service due to disagreement.
Description of Work
Install kitchen backsplash.
Category
ceramic tile
Christel K.
5.0
05/19/2015
This is our second time using Juan. He always quotes an honest price, in fact after he finished the job he took $50 off, and did a good job. He did a good job on our floor and I anticipate using him for any tile work in the future.
Description of Work
Demo and install new bathroom tile
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
mo R.
5.0
02/02/2015
On Super Bowl Sunday during the Super Bowl game my tenant phoned to say her soap dish had fallen out - she didn't say how and I didn't ask. She was desperate to have it replaced, even texting me a photo of the soap dish on the floor. I sent her Juan's phone number. At 9:00 a.m. this morning - Monday, the day after she reported the problem - the tenant called to say Juan had been there and fixed the soap dish for no charge. Most workmen would have said that it was LONG out of warranty, or some other excuse to either not fix it, or to charge an excessive rate for fixing it. Although I do not know how the soap dish became disengaged, most likely it was tenant related, not installation related after so many years. With Juan he does his work and does it right! Juan always does the right thing with integrity and a high level of quality. He is the absolute best in workmanship, integrity and every other way!!!! Juan is the absolute best!!!!!!
Description of Work
re-cemented soap dish in tub area that he had installed three or four years ago
Category
ceramic tile
Travis R.
5.0
01/24/2015
Juan and his guy did a beautiful job. Our kitchen was already prepped, so they came in the morning and got to work. They stayed until the evening to finish the job in one day. They both have a nice and relaxed way about them and we are thrilled with our new kitchen. I highly recommend Juan and will be using him again soon on our bathroom remodel.
Description of Work
Tiled the back splash in our kitchen and laundry area.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Ellen S.
5.0
01/13/2015
The work Juan's Tile did was very neat and professional. The crew carefully followed a design we provided and left the area spotless. A problem subsequently developed (cracking in the tile on the wall behind the tub), and although it took quite a while for Juan to follow through on his promises to come look at it, once he did address it, he thoroughly diagnosed and remedied the problem. The cracking was apparently caused by a structural problem in the wall itself (NOT the fault of the tiling crew) and Juan's company totally rebuilt the wall in order to provide a proper foundation for the re-tiling job. We are very pleased with the final results.
Description of Work
Tiled bathroom floor and walls surrounding shower/tub.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Michael & Lori R.
1.0
07/01/2014
He did not show up to our appointment and never called to let me know he would not be coming or why he missed the appointment.
Description of Work
Scheduled to come out to do estimate.
Category
ceramic tile
John C.
5.0
04/29/2014
Mr. Retana did an excellent job of installing the tile, bullnose, decorative stone, shelves and soap dish. We purchased the tile on our own and gave Mr. Retana a simple sketch of what we were looking for, and he performed the job to our complete satisfaction. He opened the wall so that our own plumber could replace the valves and raise the shower head and then replaced the wall with mesh and plaster like the original. It was refreshing to find a tiling contractor that prefers working in plaster rather than backer-board. Mr. Retana was a perfect gentleman, carefully supervised the work of his crew, and left the workplace and home perfectly clean.
Description of Work
Installed ceramic tile on existing plaster walls around tub and shower
Category
ceramic tile, plastering
Roy L.
5.0
04/08/2014
Juan and his craftsmen did a great and very accurate installation. We had some details that he did to perfection. The installer(s) were craftsmen and took their time to get it right. Highly recommended and will use Juan's tile again.
Description of Work
Installed a high quality tile product on an outdoor concrete patio area.
Category
ceramic tile
Georgia K.
5.0
04/03/2014
It went fine. The price was very reasonable. He had a selection of granite and he had all the sizes I needed.
Description of Work
I used the services of Juan's Tile for granite countertops.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Gregory P.
5.0
03/11/2014
Above and beyond. he even swapped out some stained pieces of granite afterward, which is not easy. Walls and floor are very flat. He knows what he's doing. His assitants don't, but Juan is a pro.
Description of Work
Excellent job installing granite on walls & floor of bathroom w/ corner Jacuzzi.
Category
ceramic tile, marble & granite
Lisa C.
5.0
03/07/2014
This vendor was very punctual and efficient. They also helped with clean up after they did the service.
Description of Work
I used Juan tile for laying tile in my kitchen.
Category
home remodeling
Janae K.
3.0
02/21/2014
Juan had one of his men do the tiling and it was a great job! The workmanship was excellent and the man was always courteous, and he cleaned up well and was on time. The worker didn't speak much English, but that gave me a chance to practice my Spanish! Juan also recommended a man to do some drywall for us and someone else to put in a shower door, and someone to hot mop the new shower. All the people were very good! The problem is that we were having our work done on 3 different dates to work around holidays and when it came time to tile our kitchen floor in mid December, we called Juan to verify that he was still coming and he never got back to us. We called several times to no avail. No one ever showed up either. Because Juan was always so professional we are actually worried that something happened to him! We would LIKE to use him again but would be reluctant since he seems to have bailed on us for the last part of our work.
Description of Work
He did demolition to take out all the tile from the shower of our 8' x 7' shower. Then he retiled the shower and put tile on the floor that had been linoleum.. He also put in a new shower in our 12' x 8' bathroom and tiled the floor
Category
ceramic tile
Olivia W.
5.0
01/02/2014
We liked him a lot. He was very good. He was really honest with us. He was reasonable.
Description of Work
We used Juan's Tile to reseal our countertops.
Category
countertops
ken M.
5.0
12/23/2013
I was not there. Juan came out and did the estimate, but would be out of town for the job. He assured me that his helper was good so i said that was fine, Job came out perfect. No complaints.
Description of Work
Kitchen glass tile backsplash
Category
ceramic tile
kristen S.
5.0
11/12/2013
Good! The shower should drain properly now and the work looks much better than what was there before
Description of Work
retiled the bottom of my shower stall
Category
ceramic tile
Mike M.
3.0
09/23/2013
Tile work was acceptable but the workmanship on the other work was substandard. For example one toilet tissue holder was installed upside down and the other was crooked. Bathroom window installation was sloppy. No supervision by Juan.
Description of Work
Tiled Shower and remodeled bathroom.
Category
ceramic tile
Billy D.
5.0
09/16/2013
It went real well, except I just noticed that the soap dish is not level and the soap just slides out. I will need to call him to find out if there is a way to fix this.
Description of Work
Replaced a soap dish that had been knocked off the wall.
Category
ceramic tile
Alex S.
5.0
08/28/2013
The end result is beautiful. He wasn't the cheapest estimate, but he got the job done within a couple days of me calling him, and he responds very promptly to all calls. Working with Juan is stress free-- and that's worth a lot.
Description of Work
Juan installed a backsplash in my kitchen. he did the cutting and layout, then his friend finished the grout work.
Category
ceramic tile
joe B.
5.0
07/30/2013
They did great work!! On time, very good quality work and diligent in clean-up each day. Best tile work in the South Bay
Description of Work
Juan's team installed a tub and tiled for a shower.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile
julie V.
5.0
06/28/2013
He did beautiful work, charged a very reasonable price, was kind and considerate.
Description of Work
Juan fixed cracked caulking in my shower.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile
Kyle W.
3.0
06/14/2013
The price was low compared to others. The quality of the work was average.
Description of Work
Tiled a shower and bathroom floor.
Category
ceramic tile
Nancy A.
5.0
06/02/2013
Juan and his crew were totally professional. No chit chat or excess conversation-just the sound of work. However they had a very pleasant attitude. They were totally focused the entire length of the job. They had to tear out old carpet,prepare the floor and lay the tile and they did it all in one long day. The floor looks great! We asked Juan to return at the close of the job to check and inspect it, and he did,even though he had to drive in from another part of town where he also had a job. This was much appreciated! This was a small bathroom, but based on the care and professionalism they demonstrated we can definitly recommend them for jobs big or small.
Description of Work
Juan's tile re-tiled our bathroom floor.
Category
ceramic tile

Phone

Address

883 N Herbert Ave

San Pedro, CA 90731

Other Information

Services offered

Ceramic tile & stone.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Juan's Tile is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Juan's Tile is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Juan's Tile accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Juan's Tile offers free project estimates.

No, Juan's Tile does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Juan's Tile does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Juan's Tile offers warranties.

Juan's Tile offers the following services: Ceramic tile & stone.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Hi Angie's list members, my name is Gary. I'm friendly, easy to talk to and willing to help solve all your plumbing problems. I answer the phone 95% of the time and I'm reachable from 7:00 am through 9:30 pm, 7 days a week. I will personally see to it that you get the quality services you deserve and expect. If you are not totally satisfied with our work you don't owe me a dime till I put it right or your money back, guaranteed. Please note free estimates available where time permits between 8-am to 5pm ...mon thru fri - services available beyond these times may incur fees ( diagnostic and trouble shooting fees may apply to some jobs you will always be notified in advance prior to commencement of service and charges this can happen at the job site or during initial appointment booking .In order to serve you better & keep appt times when ever I cannot personally be there I have well trained techs to do the jobs I cannot personally be there to do for you , we also network with other contractors to cater to specialized plumbing/drainage services that are incidental to plumbing but may require special equipment and manpower .Please be aware while we try to answer all questions prior to a service visit this business description edit is neither a contract or the full service terms and conditions .All prices given over the phone are deemed price guides or guesstimates only .If you recieve a free estimate at job sites which generally means a visual look over ( and does not involve use of tools or special equipment or crawling into attic spaces or under buildings) the the estimate is FREE.  

House Painting Inc

Angi Certified

House Painting Inc

Additional Phones - (800) 540-6004, (818) 957-1202, (626) 350-1578, (310) 477-9667, (818) 888-1857, (310) 540-5005, (323) 730-0544. Award wining. 10 employees. Over 730 happy reviews from Angie's List members. Please visit our website at www.housepaintinginc.com  

James White Painting

5.0

(80)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

James White Painting

Additional phone: 818-795-8487