Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC

Founded 1984 • With Angi since May 2006

4.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

180 South Blvd

San Mateo, CA 94402

Description

LICENSE # 460580. ADDITIONAL EMAIL- INFO@PEACEOFMINDSTRUCTURAL.COM.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Robert S.
5.0
06/30/2014
unknown
Description of Work
All went well. They were on time, cleaned up well and I was satisfied wit the work done.
Category
structural engineer
estelle W.
3.0
04/03/2012
The french drain was good. The retaining wall was good (2 ft high, unfinished). The earthquake retrofit was fine too. The house leveling, not so good. They tried to lift the main level of our house without first cutting the main level from the base level, which I had explicitly required that they add to the contract. The side of our house cracked when they did this. Fortunately I was home at the time and stopped them. They didn't fix the cracks though, since that wasn't in the contract. So, they cut the house as they were supposed to, after the siding was already damaged. They lifted the top part about 2 to 3 inches, creating a cut that was 2 to 3 inches wide around the house. But, filling in the new holes wasn't in the contract either. So, we waited 6 months for them to fix it. They did a terrible job, and I had to hire others to redo that job. The do NOTHING that isn't completely delineated in the contract. For example, the contract was to install 2 doors. They did install the 2 doors, but they did not install the door frames for those doors (which takes about 30 minutes to do) because the frames were not in the contract. with a $79,000 contract, you would think they could throw in an hour! As a home owner, I am NOT a structural engineer. They are supposed to be the professionals and should both know and tell you what needs to be done. instead, they use the excuse that and quot;you never said you wanted that doneand quot; to not do stuff or nickel you into more. They also did our driveway. They didn't bother cutting back the ivy roots which had caused the original driveway to buckle. They poured the concrete right after a huge rain storm, so the driveway is cracked, allowing water in, growing the roots of the ivy which caused the original problem. Most likely because 'cutting back the ivy' and 'making sure the weather and conditions were appropriate for pouring concrete' were not explicitly in the contract. The owner is a whiny guy. Seems really nice and honest before you hire him, but whines when you ask him to do more work. Also, one of their workers stole the registration sticker off of our motorcycle.
Description of Work
Peace of mind structural earthquake retrofit our house, installed a french drain, removed our old driveway and poured a new one (concrete), and re-leveled our house.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, drain pipe, structural engineer, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting, stamped concrete
Judy G.
5.0
11/23/2011
We were preparing our 83 year old house for sale. The house inspection revealed an odd support arrangement for two of the many massive floor beams. We decided to bring it up to current code in advance of putting it on the market. Peace of Mind was recommended by our house inspector. We called and they came out promptly, gave a comprehensive estimate, and a potential work date. We accepted everything in the detailed estimate because they were so very clear in explaining what needed to be done ( and what was optional). They came on time, worked quietly and neatly, and accomplished everything in a single day. We passed the home inspection of the very picky buyer with no questions about the foundation. We remain delighted with Peace of Mind. They certainly lived up to their name.
Description of Work
We had the floor beams reinforced with support piers in a narrow crawl space.
Category
structural engineer, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting
N L B.
2.0
09/09/2011
I contacted the provider in late July. I explained the project over the phone and was told I should retain an engineer to prepare drawings. I retained the engineer recommended by the provider. After the engineer completed the drawings around August 2nd, I contacted several contractors, including Peace of Mind. When I called to set up an appointment, the earliest I could get was August 15th, and a representative came at that time. He looked at the project and drawings and said he would prepare a proposal and get back to me. As of September 10th, after at least two phone calls and e-mails to follow up, I have still not heard a word. I would have been willing to hire this company if I had been given a proposal or bid in a timely manner. As it stands, I have wasted at least a month.
Description of Work
No services were performed. I needed to hire a contractor to remove a load-bearing wall and install proper support for the span.
Category
structural engineer
Susan L.
5.0
04/21/2011
Peace of Mind was recommended to me by my building inspector when I bought my home in Redwood City. I had bolting, cripple wall reinforcement, and floor bracing installed. POM was able to come to my house for a quote very quickly, and scheduled the work for exactly when it was most convenient for me. They kept a clean worksite, and did everything they said they would within the scheduled timeframe, and were easy to communicate with, both in person, by phone, and by email. This was a great experience, I would definitely recommend this firm.
Description of Work
I had bolting, cripple wall reinforcement, and floor bracing installed.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
Hector R.
5.0
03/18/2011
They were on time and professional. They had a contact as well. The only we had with them was that when they dug up for the foundation they left behind the dirt.
Description of Work
I used Peace Of Mind Structural Inc three years ago. They redid all our foundation and restructuring.
Category
structural engineer, mudjacking, foundation repair
Judy G.
5.0
09/17/2010
The initial assessment and estimate were very professional. The work was scheduled to take place two days later since we were in a time crunch due to a purchase and sale contingency. The two workman came on time and were efficient, cheerful, and able to communicate clearly.
Description of Work
A home inspection report found two girders were no longer extended all the way onto the foundation of our 1927 home. The foundation had been capped at some point in the past. (The girders were supported by nearby posts.) Peace of Mind reattached the girders to the foundation by installing beams attached to the foundation under the girders and then linking the girders to the new beams.
Category
concrete repair, structural engineer, foundation repair, earthquake retrofitting
Walter S.
5.0
08/02/2010
POM made this a straightforward experience. They were prompt, prepared, met their deadlines, and installed the retrofitting with no problems.
Description of Work
Standard earthquake retrofitting - anchor bolts and plywood reinforcements in crawl space.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
HELEN B.
5.0
07/28/2010
They were on time, professional and patient in answering our questions. We were very satisfied with their work.
Description of Work
We bought an old house in Redwood City and our house insurer required that we secure the foundation. We were recommended to Peace of Mind by the house inspector. They bolted and also added cripple walls to the whole foundation.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
JENNIFER Z.
4.0
07/15/2010
See above. I didn't contact them to give me a quote. They didn't instill confidence in me. Although, they did work for my neighbor and she was happy with them.
Description of Work
First, I received about 4 reminder calls. Then, 2 guys showed up to talk about the project. However, one of them was supposed to be at another appointment in San Jose (30 miles away) and left a message telling the other one that they were trading appointments. Then, after extensive discussion of my project, I never received a quote. So there seemed to be a serious lack of communication issue.
Category
concrete repair
Rudolph R.
4.0
05/19/2010
We started out by discussing the project.. this involved several meetings, but the main guy was only there at one of these meetings.. At all other times a very nice guy named Oscar H. dealt with us and he was very helpful and courteous After the initial meeting/s we had agreed on work to address drainage problems in the garage floor,and to structurally retrofit the building for earthquake safety. After the first round of work, we felt that they had failed to address some of our drainage concerns, maybe due to lack of comunication. They were very happy to come look at the situation and provide an estimate. The new ideas for work involved new trenching or drainage that had not been outlined in the original contract, so we were happy to pay to have the work done. We did feel there was a communication breakdown somewhere that made them fail to address our initial concerns completely with their first round of service, but there was no reason for Peace of Mind to throw in services that we hadn't agreed on or contemplated. The second round of work was completed in a timely and professional matter, and all of our concerns were met at this point. The second round of work consisted of them installing a gravel trench at the back of the foundation to catch all moisture there and route it to the sump pump they had installed. They also had to build a small wall (5" x 12" at most) and install another j-box or christy box or something and route its drainage to a previously built/installed drainage box. I wish I could give numbers but I do not have the paperwork readily at hand. Overall I felt this company was just the right size to deal with all of my needs with experienced skill. I felt that their prices were fair, and I would definitely say that Oscar provided excellent customer service and that this service provider was always friendly and fast. I would recommend them to anyone considering foundation work, concrete drainage work, or structural reinforcement of an older structure for earthquake safety.
Description of Work
Cannot remember exactly how much we spent but we basically had the following done: Structural reinforcement of pre-1900 house on a very old foundation. This included drilling and placing special bolts to hold sill plate to foundation This included covering all vertical support walls in plywood bracing.
Category
concrete repair, structural engineer, mudjacking, foundation repair
Becky M.
5.0
04/16/2010
It went very well. They were excellent and professional. They were good in getting me my estimate and coming in person and doing an email response.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from Peace of Mind Structural because we had flooding under our house in the crawlspace. We wanted an estimate for a sump pump, French drain and concrete work.
Category
concrete repair, water damage restoration, wells, drain pipe
RORY C.
5.0
02/22/2009
Mike did not try to sell me on anything. I got sound advice which will not cost me very much and down the road if this problem deteriorates I will be calling them back to work on it. For Mike's time and expertise there was no charge.
Description of Work
Some drywall cracks started appearing in a few locations and I suspected there were issues with the slab foundation in our 60+ year old home. Based on the reviews I read on Angies list I setup an appointment with Peace of Mind Structural - I wanted an engineer to inspect my home and advise me on the likely causes of this problem. Michael arrived on time and spent 30-40 minutes reviewing the cracks and inspecting the home/foundation and discussing the likely causes and measures I could take to try to remedy them.
Category
home inspection
Suzann M.
3.0
01/20/2009
Our real estate agent was helping us line up inspections and offered to help us schedule work after we closed (a godsend!). Because our agent had helped us set things up, I feel like it caused a fair bit of misunderstanding who POM was doing the work for. We initially wanted the whole package, foundation bolting, cripple wall and floor bracing. Between our first quote and the final quote, the floor bracing part was left off. It was our fault for not catching this detail, but when you are reading about plans and parts as a homeowner, it's hard to figure out on your own. When the worker was waiting for the permit inspection, I'd asked him about showing us the work that was done. He pointed out the bolts and the cripple wall bracing, I asked about the floor bracing. I could tell from his confused look that something had gone amiss. My husband called them up and talked with Rene to clear up our situation. To make all this process much worse, we'd try to contact POM and he'd call back our agent, who'd call us to have us call them back. My husband made it very clear in our conversations with them that we wanted the work fully done and that if the work that we'd asked for in our initial quote was off the final quote, that we wanted a quote for the additional work. The work that was $500 that was dropped from our final quote, ended up coming back at $1500. I also just want to let folks know that they really do need to get these guys on the phone. The experience over email was infuriating. I'd email questions to them, they would answer our real estate agent or worse, outright ignore us.
Description of Work
We had Peace of Mind do our pre-purchase foundation inspection as well as a quote for earthquake retrofitting. They did the foundation bolting and cripple wall bracing.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
Dudley K.
4.0
11/19/2008
They have not done any work on the home yet, so far it has been above average because we set up a time for them to come out and do the estimate, and they had to call a day before and reschedule it. I did have to follow up with the company a couple of times to get their estimate, but it was reasonable for the work being done and it was explained very well in the terms and conditions. They made a specific suggestion that helped reduce the cost of the work significantly (to the amount of $1,000.00). I thought that was a real good recommendation on their part to look for how much it was costing me to do this.
Description of Work
A structural engineer (not with Peace of Mind Structural) evaluated my house and came up with a plan to bring my home up to current earthquake codes. I live in the San Francisco Bay area, which is a very earthquake-prone area. They are going to build two foundation walls underneath my home, and then they will attach existing shear walls to the existing foundation.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
SUSAN H.
4.0
09/01/2008
I picked them from Angie's List because they offer free estimates and do floor leveling, concrete work and drainage work which I needed. The person on the phone was very knowledgeable and scheduled my appt, told me to provide a list of my concerns to the inspector. I was surprised that there was a charge to provide an estimate of the floor leveling, drainage issue and concrete work since their web site said free estimates. Since I needed an estimate of all 3 still, I paid the $350 which I thought was high. I was not able to be there but the realtor showed him the sidewalk and areas of concern. I got an email report that was terse and lacking in 2 concerns of mind. I email back TWICE the manager who sent me the report with my concerns about the concrete sidewalk replacement cost,and the fire safety door which were pointed out by my realtor to the inspector. I did NOT get a reply back, at least he could have taken the time to say oops my inspector forgot to write that up, etc. NOTHING. Also, my home inspector said that one of the support piers was a piece of 2x4 which had me concern. This inspector didnot even bring that up in the report. He did confirm that the floor was unlevel in many places, which I already knew. At least he gave me an estimate to level the floor and improve the drainage.
Description of Work
I wanted an estimate or observation report on why the house I wanted to buy is not leveled and how to fix this. In addition he was supposed to look at the sidewalk because of the trip hazard and provide an estimate to fix it. He did go into the crawl space and look at the sidewalk.
Category
home inspection
PAT K.
5.0
08/18/2008
The job went very well and we had a very good experience with them. They showed up on-time and did exactly what they were suppose to do. There is one problem with the drains that I have yet to have them repair. They hire their own workers, and they all introduced themselves.
Description of Work
They installed a drainage system in my backyard and replaced concrete that had collapsed. They also installed a retaining wall, repaired one retaining wall, and did a few other minor things.
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, lakefront landscaping
Mary M.
5.0
07/13/2008
Michael Rennick is absolutely fantastic. Of course we're delighted that the foundation was fine and the cracks were not cause for alarm. But he was careful in his approach, excellent at explaining to us what was needed, and even suggested cheaper ways of approaching the problem.
Description of Work
We called over the weekend in a panic because a crack in our wall had grown significantly while we were on vacation. First thing Monday morning we got a call back, and they were able to schedule an appointment with us for that same afternoon. The estimator checked the cracks, toured the interior and exterior of the house, went into our crawlspace to check the foundation, to let us know if we had structural damage or not.
Category
structural engineer
Omar S.
5.0
11/07/2007
The estimator came out one day and poked around the crawl space for about 30 min. He came up, explained to me what he found, and drew a diagram of what needed to be done. He left and a few days later I was emailed a quote. I then hired them to do the work. They came out and over a 3 or 4 day period they installed all the sheer walls. They got permits, an inspection and passed. I didn't have to do a single thing. The workers were prompt, courteous and nice. I did not have to worry about a thing.
Description of Work
Peace of Mind did cripple wall earthquake retrofitting in our crawl space. This involved screwing in plywood bracing to all the studs of the cripple walls in our crawl space (about a 2000 sq. ft. house, with a crippled wall around 1/2 of it).
Category
structural engineer
Omar S.
5.0
11/07/2007
The estimator came out one day and poked around the crawl space for about 30 min. He came up, explained to me what he found, and drew a diagram of what needed to be done. He left and a few days later I was emailed a quote. I then hired them to do the work. They came out and over a 3 or 4 day period they installed all the sheer walls. They got permits, an inspection and passed. I didn't have to do a single thing. The workers were prompt, courteous and nice. I did not have to worry about a thing.
Description of Work
Peace of Mind did cripple wall earthquake retrofitting in our crawl space. This involved screwing in plywood bracing to all the studs of the cripple walls in our crawl space (about a 2000 sq. ft. house, with a crippled wall around 1/2 of it).
Category
earthquake retrofitting
Hope G.
5.0
10/15/2007
We took 3 estimates for the work and Peace of Mind was the lowest. They gave us an estimated start date and they started on time. Despite the dirty nature of the work, they arrived each day in clean uniforms. The work proceeded on schedule, with no interruptions. This was back-breaking work digging in pits in rock-hard clay. Work included drilling and epoxying rear into the existing foundation. This was a pretty technical project that involved two phases of forming and pouring piers and then infilling the rest of the foundation. Workers left the site clean (as clean as can be expected in a construction site) and even did a temporary clean up for me so that I could use my pool one day. Companies like this might restore people's faith in contractors.
Description of Work
They installed a new foundation under an existing foundation. The work was necessary due to excavation for a swimming pool (by another company). The new foundation varied from 1' to 6' in height above ground level and the footings were 2' to 3.5' below ground level, about 30' long. All work had to be hand dug due to proximity to the pool. Additionally 3 floors of the house had to be cribbed.
Category
concrete repair
Birgit S.
5.0
09/08/2007
We had some damage to our home and were unsure whether the foundation was affected. Piece of Mind Structural responded promptly to our request for an inspection/estimate and scheduled a visit the next day. They called from the road when caught in traffic and were going to be 15 minutes late. They conducted a thorough inspection, not just of affected area but entire foundation. They found no structural damage (no work needed), and did not even charge us for the visit. Very courteous and professional. Would not hesitate to call again.
Description of Work
Assess condition of house foundation.
Category
foundation repair
BARBARA N.
5.0
07/23/2007
We liked them a lot. They were very responsive and were able to schedule the work quickly as well. The estimate was laid out very well. It explained everything in full detail.
Description of Work
They did an earthquake retro fitting of the foundation of our 1290 square foot home. This included the bracing of the cripple walls and bolting the walls down to the foundation.
Category
earthquake retrofitting
BARBARA N.
5.0
07/23/2007
We liked them a lot. They were very responsive and were able to schedule the work quickly as well. The estimate was laid out very well. It explained everything in full detail.
Description of Work
They did an earthquake retro fitting of the foundation of our 1290 square foot home. This included the bracing of the cripple walls and bolting the walls down to the foundation.
Category
structural engineer
BERT G.
5.0
05/24/2006
These guys were superb from start to finish. From the folks who dug the ditch to the guys who laid the forms to those who stamped the concrete, they were professional, courteous, and conscientious. They came when they said they would, returned all calls promptly, worked straight through on the job, and did what they said they would. I doubt that they're the cheapest around, but they do a quality job, and we think they were worth the many pennies it cost us. For drainage or concrete work, we unreservedly recommend them.
Description of Work
POM excavated and installed a complete French drain system around our house to fix our water-under-the-house-rotting-the -foundation problem, an all too common problem here in Foster City where we live. They also tore out and replaced our concrete patio, walks, driveway and garage floor that were damaged by a fire and subsequent reconstruction. The patio, driveway and walks were done in stamped, colored concrete to simulate the look of textured slate. They did a terrific job.
Category
concrete repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Exterior Designs

    We are a small family owned business. Customer service and satisfaction is our main goal! We are Certified ICPI installers!  

    Angi Certified

    kasi contracting

     

    Angi Certified

    Skyline Landscapes, Inc.

    Artificial Grass Installation, Brick Masonry, Demolition, Gazebo Design & Construction, Hardscaping, Hedge Trimming, Irrigation Repair, Land Leveling & Grading, Landscape Construction, Landscape Drainage System Installation, Landscape Maintenance, Lawn Care, Lawn Mowing, Lawn Seeding, Lawn Treatment & Fertilization, Masonry, Mulching, Pergola Construction  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    NEW FOUNDATION & CONCRETE WORK, FOUNDATION UPGRADES & REPAIRS, STRUCTURAL UPGRADES & REPAIRS, EARTHQUAKE RETROFITTING, REAL ESTATE INSPECTIONS, EPOXY CRACK REPAIR, HOUSE RE-LEVELING, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS, SUMP PUMPS, RETAINING WALLS, EXCAVATION, SHORING.

    Services Not Offered

    ENGINEERING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC

    How is PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC overall rated?

    PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC open?

    PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC provide

    PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC offer free estimates?

    No, PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC offer a senior discount?

    No, PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC?

    No, PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC offer?

    PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC offers the following services: NEW FOUNDATION & CONCRETE WORK, FOUNDATION UPGRADES & REPAIRS, STRUCTURAL UPGRADES & REPAIRS, EARTHQUAKE RETROFITTING, REAL ESTATE INSPECTIONS, EPOXY CRACK REPAIR, HOUSE RE-LEVELING, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS, SUMP PUMPS, RETAINING WALLS, EXCAVATION, SHORING.

    Are there any services PEACE OF MIND STRUCTURAL INC does not offer?

    ENGINEERING.