Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

James Caccia Plumbing Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since October 2005

4.8

(140) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

917 N Amphlett Blvd

San Mateo, CA 94401

Description

In 1979, James Caccia started a plumbing business with old-fashion values of providing residents high-quality services at honest rates. Three decades later, James Caccia Plumbing Inc., a family owned and operated business based in San Mateo County, is committed to maintaining those principles. Our clients know they can count on a team of licensed plumbers to be knowledgeable, highly professional and efficient in every job. We are Better Business Bureau accredited company. We have received A+ rating from the BBB of San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Costal California. Word-of-mouth recommendations are the cornerstone of our business....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/28/2022


Joe R.

We've been using Caccia Plumbing to take care of any plumbing needs that pop up at our rental properties. Everyone we deal with is courteous, sharp, and incredibly meticulous at what they do. From Christina and Anthony, who handle initial calls and scheduling, to Abnan and the team of technicians that get in and do the work... everyone is professional and demonstrates great work ethics. I don't have to worry about ANYTHING!!! It is wonderful to have a company out there that supports me every step of the way in getting repairs completed with the highest quality and craftsmanship I have ever seen. Joe Romano Burlingame, CA

Description of Work
Tub Leaks, Toilet Leaks, Garbage Disposal Replacement, Angle Stop Replacements

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/02/2020


Lisa H.

Our great experience started w Nate who came out to assess our crawlspace/pipes situation. Not only did he provide us with three proposals (based on cost), but he was available for follow up as many questions the next week as we needed. On the day of service, Jack and Teddy were exemplary - completely professional and tireless workers who went about the full day with minimal disruption to our daily routine. They were responsive to every little question we had and at the end cleaned up around the workspaces thoroughly (which should be table stakes but is not always the case!!). Could not have been more satisfied with their service that day. The only concern I had when they first arrived was the impression that they hadn’t been completely briefed by Nate as to all the details of the job. They did call him then and then and checked the work order thoroughly. This made me believe Jack’s assurance that everything would fall into place once they got under the house. All good on that front in the end! Despite their reputation (from other plumbing companies, i might add!) for being pricey, Caccia’s proposal came in at around the middle among the 5 plumbing companies we had come to the house. Paired with their unbelievable Warranty Program - well worth the price, seriously! - we feel really confident about the value they provided and will be our plumbing company going forward. At the office Jen the ’work manager’ (maybe?) was always available for questions and called me back promptly if on another line. Finally, the infrastructure that being a larger, more established affords them was really impressive, eg texts with the employee’s picture!!!

Description of Work
Cracked pipes in crawl space. Needed new toilet - it had major leaks.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/17/2017


Keith S.

They were very good. Overall he would get an A. On price I'll say a B; I always think plumbers cost too much. He made sure that I understood what the problem was and did a little bit of preventive work with me to make sure that the problem didn't recur. I used this company because of locality, they were close, and also because their previous ratings were positive. He did a little bit of preventive work with me in order to describe what I could do that would be less likely to produce the same problem again.

Description of Work
I think I had them come out and unplug a drain.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

03/24/2017


Penny A.

We thought they were excellent! The plumber came for a free estimate, then during the second visit brought the necessary parts for repair. He was very communicative, and professional, and we were pleased with the follow up. He was punctual and company stood by their work! They were extremely trustworthy. If you're looking for a plumber, look no further!

Description of Work
We had a leaky faucet that needed to be replaced.

Category plumbing

4.0

01/23/2017


JAMES M.

When I got the right guy to fix the work he completely knew what to do and took a video and kind of went out of his way to show what was going on under the house so that was the good, the bad is that it took like three people to get to the right guy so they sent out someone that didn't work they sent out another guy he was too big to get to the crawl space by the time the third guy came then it was great but it was kind of pain to getting to that guy but after that guy it was good.

Description of Work
They fixed a leak I had in the crawl space under my house.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/07/2016


Akshay V.

I was very happy with the work quality in all ways. It was a little more expensive than I had anticipated. However I'd use them again.

Description of Work
Shower valve needed replacement.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/19/2016


Charlie B.

Work performed very good and thorough. Leak was found and repair suggestions were made. Plumber did not repair as it was not in the companies scope of work. (Caulking, etc)

Description of Work
Diagnose water leak in ceiling of bathroom

Category plumbing

5.0

09/14/2016


Dorothy K.

It went extremely well , he showed up on time and my mother in law was very pleased at the thorough job he did. He really listened to her and investigated all avenues of where the problem might be; tested the washing machine 3 times, and even checked the pipes under the house to see if the problem was there; fortunately it wasn't. As the leak didnt show itself at this time; he was actually able to repair a faucet that was leaking. He explained everything up front, and applied a senior discount; and spoke with me (daughter in law) so I understood what had been done. My mother in law was very happy with how the service appointment had gone. She truly appreciated the fact that he was both patient and polite, and very professional. She felt he went above and beyond what she had needed.

Description of Work
My mother in law needed to determine where a water leak was coming from, when she ran her washing machine; she wasn't sure if it was from her house plumbing or her washing machine. The problem seemed intermittent. I needed a professional, patient and knowledgeable person to come out and really listened to her issues and take a thorough look at the problem.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/26/2016


AMANDA T.

It went perfectly. Tyrone was very nice, informed me of the procedure and was very tolerant of my friendly, but yappy dog. We would definitely use Caccia Plumbing in the future. The best part was they were able to do the job earlier than anticipated.

Description of Work
Installed a second shutoff valve for my fancy new refridgerator.

Category appliance repair,plumbing

5.0

02/05/2016


Robyn M.

They arrived promptly. he did a great job. It was a little more than I anticipated but it was a job well done. The person who came out was Ofa and for my next plumbing needs i would not hesitate to call this company.

Description of Work
they came out to fix a leaky faucet, slow drain and leaky shut off valve on toilet

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

02/01/2016


Doug B.

James Cacciatore Plumbing was fantastic. I called at 7:30 am on a Monday morning with a very clogged toilet. We thought our 2 yr old had flushed a toy because I was unable to clear it with the plunger or a rooter. They scheduled a 2-4 pm window the same day and the tech showed up right at 2. He was very professional and was able to clear the toilet immediately and declined to charge me anything! They have a new long term customer.

Description of Work
Cleared a clogged toilet.

Category plumbing

1.0

10/30/2015


David P.

After spending 2 hours perplexed by my situation we decided to remove the toilet and see if that was the issue. It was and he quoted $2,850 to level the flange and replace the toilet. When I asked about the 10% off for Angies list members he refused to honor more than $25 discount. When I asked for a detail breakdown of the services he refused to provide and estimated 4 hours of labor and $1,200 for parts. To help reduce the cost I asked if I could buy my own toilet and get a credit for the $220 payment for the day. He refused and then stated he did not want to do the job at all. Had another licensed plumber come by and the job total was $1,150. These guys are rip off artists they tried to play hardball and force me to accept pricing at 3X what other plumbers are charging. I would recommend going elsewhere.

Description of Work
Spoke to Jim and he mentioned that I needed to replace my toilet and do some other work.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/08/2015


Charles S.

Fantastic. Arrived in the time indicated and finished in less than 3 hours. Involved cutting into tile, replaced all the equipment, and reconnected to the existing pipes. I have used Caccia for several issues, including kitchen sink faucet replacement and gas line modification. They have always done a great job, on time, friendly, and professional. I suppose you can find others to do the job for cheap. For the quality of service provided, I'm totally committed to Caccia.

Description of Work
My old hot and cold shower valves were leaking. I've replaced them before but the leaks return. I felt it was time for a real plumber. Caccia removed the old two valve system and put in a new single lever like a modern shower.

Category plumbing,home remodeling,gas leak repair

5.0

07/24/2015


John K.

It was recommended from an air quality specialist that I might have a leak behind the shower worth examining. I called Caccia and they said someone could come out the next day. James showed up a little early. I received a call from dispatch prior to his arrival to confirm if this would be acceptable. He described what I should expect from the visit: discussion, evaluation, assessment, pricing and execution of services. I was initially interested in 1) investigating possible leak behind shower 2) repair of sink faucet and 3) replacement of toilet. I checked the flow rate of the current toilet and discovered that it was 1.6 gallons/flush. I decided not to replace it. James concurred with my decision stating that it was still a water-saving toilet. He let me know that there were alternatives that had a lower rate of consumption. He looked at the sink and he looked at the shower. He proceeded to explain to me what he could do to determine if repair/replacement was needed. He bluntly said that for the sink, it made sense to replace rather than repair the faucet. He was critical about the quality of the manufacturer and said that it would be better bang for buck to get a better quality set than attempt to repair the existing one. He priced out various options. He suggested additional work that could be added since the replacement of faucet would allow for secondary work (tail pipe and p-trap) at a reduced rate since the sink would already be pulled out. He gave separate estimates with him providing the faucet and with me providing the faucet. The prices were higher than I would have hoped. The delta between my buying one or having one provided by Caccia was about $300 dollars. I elected to hold off on the repair of the faucet. I may try to DIY or at least get an estimate from another plumber. For the shower, I elected to have James pull the plate off to examine if the cartridge for the mixer needed replacement. He explained that if he had the part in the truck, he could waive the fee for the examination and charge for parts and labor for the replacement of the cartridge. He explained that if the part were not in his truck, another visit would have to be scheduled and the price for the initial examination could not be applied to the second visit. We discussed different levels of service I could request and their prices. I chose the cheaper service (as described above) rather than the full check of mixer, drain and waste and surrounding tile. Pulling off plate revealed little or no water presence behind the shower wall. He pointed out a tiny drip occurring at the mixer which was emptying out into the shower space and not the wall. The rate of leak did not increase appreciably when pressure was applied to the system by shutting flow off at the shower head. We went in crawlspace to look for evidence of any leakage beneath the tub. Although there was evidence of previous water damage (corroborating what our initial home inspection stated) there was no moisture perceptible from crawlspace. Joseph was professional and courteous throughout. He helped me understand what I was seeing while he was working. He gave a useful overview of the plumbing underneath the house. He commented that he saw some good work that had been previously done.

Description of Work
Removed the plate to the mixer of the shower. Examined the area for evidence of leaks (with water off, on and under pressure). Cursory examination of kitchen sink for leaks underneath. Investigate crawlspace under bathroom for evidence of leakage.

Category plumbing,wells

5.0

02/12/2015


Daniel B.

I called James Caccia plumbing on Thursday morning to have someone unclog our shower drain. They scheduled a plumber for Thursday afternoon, which was prompt and convenient. Joe B, the plumber, showed up a few minutes early and was both friendly and professional. He was very prepared and got to work quickly. I was happy that Joe was very clean and respectful of our home, taking care in setting up his tools in our bathroom. He was able to clear the clog in our shower trap within 30 minutes and took the time to make sure the clog was clear. Joe was thorough cleaning up and getting things put back together. The only downside was the cost, which at approximately $250 was higher than I expected. However, I needed the drain unclogged and trusted the company's expertise based on other reviews here. Joe provided great service and I thank him for that!

Description of Work
Unclog shower drain

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

01/26/2015


Charles M.

They had to schedule the job and get the necessary permits so it took a week or so to get started. But once started they got to work and kept the job moving. Ran into a few problems, broke a water line but fixed it quickly, finished the job a couple of days later than scheduled. The job was done correctly and we don't anticipate any future problems with this issue after years of having to have the line snaked once or twice a year.

Description of Work
Completely repaired/replaced waste line from the house to the sewer. Took care of all necessary permits, permissions and inspections. Repaired the landscaping that had to be dug up to do the job.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

01/01/2015


Rob R.

It went well, it was quick and it was expensive. The repair took 15 minutes and cost $300.

Description of Work
fixed a leaking water faucet in the bathroom

Category plumbing

5.0

11/11/2014


Robert M.

Prompt response to notifying plumbing Insurance. Mario & Maro arrived within the hour and quickly dispatched the problem. Both men were most courteous and efficient. It was service as Service should be. Highly recommended. Don;t know about the price because it was billed to the Insurance Co.

Description of Work
Unblock / cleanout main sewer line

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning

3.0

10/01/2014


Liudmila C.

Showed up promptly, did very professional work but it cost twice what Home Depot charges. Was 1.5-2 hours plumbing plus 45 minutes wait for the replacement to be delivered by a co-worker. Easy job, simple swap out/swap in, copper welding and adding a small expansion tank. Water heater is listed online for $441, so excluding the $300 added cost for expansion tank I was charged over $300/hour for a very basic water heater swap in a clean garage. Great guys but I'm not made of money. I can't afford to pay twice what Sears and Home Depot wanted just to get copper pipe versus flex-pipe. Especially since the last two water heaters they put in lasted only four and six years, respectively. In fact ten years ago Caccia charged me $800 for the same job that just cost $1570 (excluding expansion tank). I like 'em, but I can't afford them any more.

Description of Work
Replaced a failed water heater, adding an expansion tank that is apparently needed per local code.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

4.0

08/23/2014


Lance S.

Patrick did a great job. Although he was running a bit late, the quality of his work was outstanding. He took his time and respected my home as if it was his own. Don't know about the other plumbers at Caccia's, but I would recommend Patrick to anyone.

Description of Work
Install water line for my frig

Category plumbing

5.0

06/18/2014


Kathryn F.

He finished the work in 3 hours.

Description of Work
Replaced trap under baTh room sink a new connection to outgoing pipe. Replaced laundry room fAucet & snKed the drain. Replaced a exterior faucet.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

06/17/2014


christina L.

Plumber Ofa from James Caccia Plumbing showed up slightly before the appointed time. He was very polite and asked good questions concerning the problem. We decided the best course was to remove the toilet to inspect the pipe beneath it. He made sure to put down a plastic tarp and remove all items around the toilet. He also wore shoe covers at all times in the house. He quickly pulled the toilet and found roots growing around the toilet flange into the drain. He removed these, flushed the line and reinstalled the toilet. When he first saw the problem, he was unsure about what to do, and checked with his supervisor and showed him photos of the problem before proceeding, a definite plus. He left the area neat and clean and was finished in about one hour. The project was a flat rate that seemed quite reasonable. Overall a very positive experience.

Description of Work
Removed toilet, cleared blockage and reinstalled the toilet.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

06/02/2014


Monica C.

Santiago arrived on time on Thurs morning to diagnose a clog in the main line (sewer). I have insurance to cover this kind of repair but was getting a bit of a run around from the insurance company. Santiago made a call to try and expedite the authorization from the insurance company. Once we had the authorization, Santiago cleared the clog and had me turn on all of the faucets in the house to further clear out the drain. He gave me some advice on how to try and avoid the problem in the future. Santiago was very pleasant, professional and helpful with information. Thank you.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed a clog in the main line (sewer).

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning

5.0

05/19/2014


Janet K.

Provider called and asked if their plummer could come early, which was quite beneficial to me. Joseph S. arrrived and explained the options he could offer me. We discussed the options, and I decided replacment of the fifteen year old toilet was the best action to take. He had an acceptable commode on his truck, so no waiting was necessary. Joseph explained the cost benefits and problems with all of the available options and was precise and non-judgemental. I asked him how long the replacement would take, and he actually beat the time he'd quoted to me. He cleaned up the area when he finished the work and, all-in-all, did an excellent job. Before leaving he asked me if I had any questions about any plumbing matters and looked at our downstairs bathroom with some recommendations for future work. I recommend this firm and the young man who did the work.

Description of Work
Put in a new toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/15/2014


Verlin R.

Anthony Caccia did a great job both professionally and promptly in submitting a scope of work and proposal and great followup. The job was over seen by Angelo. Very good at his job and left the place spotless and clean after the job was done. No sheet rock dust where they had to cut into the walls. They did a great job. I would highly highly recommend Caccia for any job. Great communication by everybody at Caccia. They will be my go to plumbing company when needed again.

Description of Work
Replace 2 hotwater heaters. Corrected plumbing defects and code violations which should have been caught by the local building inspectors at the time the house was being built by a contractor. Also, some improvements and updating of other issues.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Commando Plumbing

    We are a local small veteran owned business, We proudly serve Redwood City and surrounding areas. For quality plumbing services that you can count on, look to the plumbing professionals at Commando Plumbing. Their business began when a former Special Forces Officer with a background in plumbing decided to offer services to the local community after serving in the United States military. The business has given the team of expert plumbers a great opportunity to put their talent to work on a variety of projects in homes, businesses, and even newly constructed sites. When you call the Redwood City plumbers, you can count on a quick response time, reliable service, and honest pricing. Call now and ask about how you can receive a free estimate and discount on your next plumbing service.  

    ADL PLUMBING

    Plumbing experience for 38 years. Based in San Francisco, California. Services include; Water heater installation & Removal, etc.  

    Venture Plumbing, Inc.

    Venture Plumbing Inc is a custom construction and service plumbing company focusing on residential and light commercial projects. We have been committed to providing our clients with the highest quality craftsmanship and materials for the last 10 years. We service clients from the South Bay, to up the peninsula to San Francisco. We have perfected our skills on all types of projects from repairing leaks and drain backups to the homeowner to highly custom 10,000 sq ft homes with all the most innovative plumbing installed. We have provided service to commercial companies as well as built restaurants and local breweries. We are highly skilled craftsman that bring you the best quality of service regardless of the size of the project.  

    Offers by Venture Plumbing, Inc. on Angi
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    379364
    Trade License Locale
    State of California
    Trade License Authority
    California State License Board
    Trade License Expiration
    04/30/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Emergency Service Drain Cleaning, Hydrojetting, Leak Detection & repairs, Gas line services, Boiler repair, Sewer line repairs, Trenches repair, Repipe services, Garbage disposals, Faucets, fixtures, and sinks, Bathroom remodeling, Toilet repair, Backflow testing and certification, Sump pumps, Septic tank plumbing, Slab tank plumbing, Slab leak plumbing, Water softeners, Water filtration, Commercial TI plumbing, Apartment plumbing, Restaurant plumbing, Tankless water heaters, Water heater repair

    Services Not Offered

    Steam boilers

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about James Caccia Plumbing Inc

    How is James Caccia Plumbing Inc overall rated?

    James Caccia Plumbing Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are James Caccia Plumbing Inc open?

    James Caccia Plumbing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does James Caccia Plumbing Inc provide

    James Caccia Plumbing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does James Caccia Plumbing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, James Caccia Plumbing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does James Caccia Plumbing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, James Caccia Plumbing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by James Caccia Plumbing Inc?

    Yes, James Caccia Plumbing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does James Caccia Plumbing Inc offer?

    James Caccia Plumbing Inc offers the following services: Emergency Service Drain Cleaning, Hydrojetting, Leak Detection & repairs, Gas line services, Boiler repair, Sewer line repairs, Trenches repair, Repipe services, Garbage disposals, Faucets, fixtures, and sinks, Bathroom remodeling, Toilet repair, Backflow testing and certification, Sump pumps, Septic tank plumbing, Slab tank plumbing, Slab leak plumbing, Water softeners, Water filtration, Commercial TI plumbing, Apartment plumbing, Restaurant plumbing, Tankless water heaters, Water heater repair

    Are there any services James Caccia Plumbing Inc does not offer?

    Steam boilers