Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Banning Tree Service

Founded 1970 • With Angi since April 2007

We have been doing business in the Bay Area for over 43 years.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
10%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(38) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 38 reviews
Daniel D.
1.0
11/03/2020
He called last saturday to set up an appointment for 11 am today, monday , November 2nd, to give me an estimate. Never showed or called to reschedule or cancel. Why bother calling and then not appear. Not very professional.
Description of Work
Tree and shrub trimming
Category
tree service
Gabrielle T.
5.0
06/22/2017
It went really well, very smooth. Clean up was A+. I asked them about removing an extra shrub on the spot and they were going to do it for free, though I wanted to pay them a small fee. They don't respond to the messages sent from Angies' List website, so you just need to call or text them directly.
Description of Work
I had a deceased pommelo tree, and a few small shrubs, removed
Category
tree service
Geoffrey F.
5.0
06/21/2017
Ed's crew was here as promised, got the job done very efficiently!
Description of Work
There were about three trees I needed removed.
Category
tree service
Gabrielle T.
5.0
04/18/2017
Thank you so much, Ed and team. I'm very happy with your service. They came on time and did the work quickly. No fuss no muss.
Description of Work
A couple small trees needed to be removed from my backyard.
Category
tree service
Beth M.
5.0
02/24/2017
What a GREAT experience! 5 stars! After finding Ed Banning on Angie's list I called him got a callback in5" and he came out to assess the tree in 20"! I was relieved and impressed. He explained the work that was needed, how he and his crew would protect property during work and clean up. He got me on his schedule quickly although we had some rain postponement! Ed and crew came today to work on 40' pine and did a fantastic job trimming and thinning. I think the tree looks straighter and so much lighter! And as other reviewers said, there is no evidence of his crew's work..no mess left, everything is clean in my yard and neighbors! Very efficient and very pleasant . I've had other tree services but Banning's is the best by far! Price seemed very reasonable! I am so relieved and pleased with this service!
Description of Work
Large Monterey pine in backyard with branches that hung over house. With rain worried about tree falling onto house
Category
tree service
carolyn H.
5.0
10/26/2016
Ed Banning came by to look at the tree the same day I called. It rained the following day, but he called and arranged to do the job on the next day ...They made "tent" protectors out of plywood for all of my plants etc to protect them. I appreciated the care he took to protect my property as well as the neighbor's yard. He noticed another small tree that needed pruning and did that for no additional charge. They cleaned up after the job was done and I am very satisfied with their work.
Description of Work
My very large oak tree needed to be pruned. It had become top heavy and was a danger.
Category
tree service
Melissa S.
5.0
10/29/2015
I was very impressed today after Ed and his crew removed 3 medium sized trees for us. I wasn't sure what to expect but what I can say is that I was AMAZED. There was no evidence that they or the trees were ever there. My yard was actually cleaner after they left. Thanks for taking care of that extra pile of leaves I left. Rates are very competitive. Responsiveness excellent. Ed is very trustworthy and honest. I must note that one of the most professional things about Ed occurred at our first meeting. When he handed me the quote I was also provided with their proof of insurance (which I didn't even have to ask for it was just made available). That alone should tell you the quality of this company.
Description of Work
Removal of 3 medium trees
Category
tree service
Donald S.
5.0
05/04/2015
Edwin Banning and his crew arrived promptly as scheduled. They removed the branches quickly while taking care not to damage the fence below in the process. All debris was cleaned up and hauled away. The entire job was completed in less than two hours.
Description of Work
Cut back to fence line overhanging tree branches.
Category
tree service
Donald S.
5.0
06/30/2014
Ed Banning arrived promptly after being called for an estimate. The price was very reasonable compared to other estimates. Ed and his crew arrived at the appointed time and the work was completed to my complete satisfaction within about one hour.
Description of Work
Trimmed overhanging branches along fence line.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the good review. It was a pleasure doing business with you. - Ed Banning
Mathew K.
5.0
04/22/2014
We got a reference for Banning Tree Service about over some two years ago, but ended up not going with them and went with an another company, and we were not happy with the job done by that company. I really liked Banning Tree Service and would recommend them. The person did pruning of apple trees as he thought it should be done, because he was here and got the tools for it, but he didn't charge me for that. Then when I asked to him to come, he came in and looked at a big tree that I though had some issues with winter and I want him to actually trim it down, But he said not to trim it down right now because he was afraid that it would actually die, and had asked to hold off on it and to call him after a couple of months to see if it is green and not brown it was, Banning Tree Service were really good advisers. I appreciated it because I just wanted it to be cut. Their clean-up was great, they cleaned up everything, like you couldn't have even known that they were there, they did a good job cleaning up and took everything with them and I didn't have to use my own cart for that, they also had a shredder.
Description of Work
Banning Tree Service did some trimming work of trees and couple of bushes, and pruned apple trees that were next to each other.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you are pleased with the work we did. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any more questions or tree maintenance to be done. - Ed Banning
Scott W.
5.0
02/06/2014
The work was done right on time a couple days later (as agreed) and faster than expected. They left no mess and I'm very happy with the work performed.
Description of Work
The owner came to our property the same day I first called and gave us a very reasonable quote to have a medium sized tree removed from a restrcitive space.
Category
tree service
Wayne L.
5.0
01/27/2014
Banning tree service did an excellent job. They safely removed a large tree and trimmed the others leaving a very natural look. They did a great job cleaning up and exceeded my expectations. Would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Removed large Monterey pine. Trimmed 5 trees
Category
tree service
Joaquin P.
5.0
01/15/2014
They did a great job and cleaned up after themselves.
Description of Work
I have used Banning Tree Service. They cut down three large trees.
Category
tree service
Dan T.
1.0
12/09/2013
.We left a message requesting a bid for service. A person called back within a day or two to say that the owner was on vacation and would call upon his return. He eventually did, saying that he was too busy that week but would have a look the following week. He never called back.
Description of Work
Nothing
Category
tree service
Patti S.
5.0
10/30/2013
I called to schedule getting an estimate and Ed arrived that same day. Due to prior commitments he was unable to begin work for about three weeks, but we agreed that he would complete the work by a specific date. He fulfilled that commitment. Ed and his crew arrived on time completed the work quicker than I expected and did a good job of clean up when they finished. Ed did significantly more trimming than we originally agreed to at no extra cost. It was a pleasure doing business with Ed and I would highly recommend him to others.
Description of Work
The work include trimming a very large oak tree in my backyard, two smaller oaks in a side yard and an extremely overgrown laurel in the front yard.
Category
tree service
Diane L.
5.0
09/21/2013
Ed was very prompt in responding to my request for an estimate and was flexible in scheduling the service. His prices are the best (I had received several quotes), but lower price did not mean lower quality. In fact, I was very impressed with how his team took care to cover up plants beneath the tree and windows nearby to ensure that no damage would occur from the pruning. The job was completed within 4 hours, amazing considering the amount of tree limbs and trunks that were removed from the backyard, and how far back in my yard the work was completed. Ed also did a fabulous job cleaning up after the work was completed. My backyard was cleaner after the work than it was before. I'll definitely use Banning again.
Description of Work
I hired Banniing Tree Service to remove two trees in my upper back yard plus thin/prune an oak tree that was near my house.
Category
tree service
Mark K.
5.0
05/15/2013
We hired Ed to trim an old living oak tree that wasn't doing very well. The tree was over trimmed in the past by PG&E and wasn't in good health overall. Ed cleaned up dead branches and gave it a nice shape. He also advised on a furtilizing schedule and made a number of other helpful suggestions. The work was done while we were gone but Ed stopped by the same evening to check on our satisfaction. The clean up was perfect! Ed took great care of our plants and the yard looked better than before. It was easy to schedule an estimate. All estimates were within the same range but we went with Ed because of his experience ( over 30 years!). Plus, he has done work for us in the past, and we were very happy with the results.
Description of Work
Trimmed an old living oak tree.
Category
tree service
Joaquin P.
5.0
12/19/2012
Ed promptly came out for an estimate. Two months later we pulled the trigger and he got right on it. Kept a very clean site and protected windows and existing plants with plywood sheets.
Description of Work
We had two 90in circ. pines and one 60in circ. redwood removed by ed and team. Very responsive from the beginning and competitively priced. Our site was very difficult to access and close to neighbors. Removal was fast, clean and uneventful. I give my highest recommendation.
Category
tree service
WESLEY C.
5.0
06/26/2012
Just as with our first experience, Banning Tree Service did a great job at a very fair and reasonable cost. Ed came out for the appraisal the same day that I called for an estimate, and the work got scheduled soon afterwards. For the amount of work they did, I think we got a very good deal. Everything went smoothly, the work was done in one day, and his crew completely cleaned up all the debris nicely. I wasn't around when they finished, but Ed came back later that same evening to receive his payment, no problems. My next door neighbors recently used Banning for their tree work as well. I would definitely use them again, and highly recommend them.
Description of Work
This was the second time we hired Banning Tree Service to do work for us. They trimmed a row of small trees between our home and the neighbor's, removed a large tree that was planted too close to the foundation, thinned out a redwood that was growing into the phone and power lines and cut back a very large pine tree that was extending into our yard from the neighbor's property. They also chipped and hauled away all the yard waste from the job.
Category
tree service
Ashok K.
5.0
08/27/2011
It was a pleasure to work with Ed. He knows his craft and I appreciate his suggestions about how to handle some of the trees. My initial call was returned right away, the bid was made that evening and the job was completed in three days.
Description of Work
Pruned ten trees of various types and shapes, ranging in size from 15 to 40 feet. The scope ranged from minimal thinning to a major prune.
Category
tree service
bette H.
5.0
04/25/2011
Banning showed up right when they told me to expect them. They protected any area where branches might fall, they cleaned up very nicely when they were done, and they were done pretty early in the day. They were responsive and professional. i would call them again any time.
Description of Work
Banning Tree Service removed two large trees and one small tree, and they trimmed a long tall (over 20' tall) row of pittosporum's, on my side and on my neighbor's side. They protected any area where branches might fall, they cleaned up very nicely when they were done, and they were done pretty early in the day. They were responsive and professional. i would call them again any time.
Category
tree service
Barbara D.
5.0
01/05/2011
This is the second time I have had them out to work on my trees. They did an excellent job. They do a good job at a reasonable price.
Description of Work
They trimmed a big tree out in front of my house.
Category
tree service
Lily H.
5.0
06/28/2010
They were very good. My interaction with them was great because I have a landscaping project going on at the same time and I needed the tree to come out. So everything was on hold. He moved his other work around in order to get this done on time.
Description of Work
Banning Tree Service removed a very large tree for me today
Category
tree service
Betty W.
5.0
01/03/2010
Ed called to set up a time to take a look at the tree. He came to my home and provided an estimate which was very good. He actually did the work while I was at work and assured me that I would be happy with the job. While the work was done on a Monday, I wasn't able to see the results in the daylight until the following Saturday. Ed was right. I did like the job that was done.
Description of Work
Topped, shaped and trimmed large tree in patio area.
Category
tree service
Deborah B.
4.0
01/01/2010
Ed came out and gave an estimate (one of the lowest) and told us that only 1 of our 8 trees needed trimming. He gave us a written estimate before he left. Then 3 months later we decided to commit and gave him a call. He had no trouble finding the copy of the estimate he had originally written. They performed the work within 3 days of our request (couldn't do it earlier because of the weather). Ed arrived with 2 other men to assist him. They did a great job and removed all the debris. Tree looks great.
Description of Work
trimmed 1 oak tree
Category
tree service

Phone

Address

2000 E 3rd Ave

San Mateo, CA 94403

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Tree trimming & removal.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Banning Tree Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Banning Tree Service is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Banning Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Banning Tree Service offers free project estimates.

No, Banning Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Banning Tree Service does not offer a senior discount.

No, Banning Tree Service does not offer warranties.

Banning Tree Service offers the following services: Tree trimming & removal.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Bama's Tree Care Inc

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Bama's Tree Care Inc

Professional tree service company. We specialize in tree removal, tree trimming, and stump grinding. Fueled by our commitment to excellence, we go the extra mile to make sure clients are completely satisfied with our work.  

Firefighter Tree Service

4.0

(7)

Angi Certified

Firefighter Tree Service

Welcome to of Redwood City, San Mateo, Burlingame, San Carlos, Belmont, Palo Alto, CA. Serving San Mateo, Burlingame, San Carlos, Belmont, Palo Alto, Atherton, Menlo Park. Fire Fighter Tree Service is family owned and operated since 1986. With Over 27 years experience & wild land firefighter northern ca. regions. We specialize in Tree Removal, Tree pruning, and much more.. Visit our Services page for more details. 25 years experience in wildland firefighter, free tree assessments and certified Arborist on call, repeated references both residential & commercial. Recession sensitive prices that work with your budget.  

Johnson's Tree Care Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Johnson's Tree Care Inc

A family owned and operated company, Johnson's Tree Care Inc. Has proudly served the San Francisco bay area for over 25 years. We are licensed by the CSLB of California (Lic# 1007582) and are fully bonded, insured and guarantee all our work and services. With industry experts on staff, including an ISA Certified Arborist, we are a company that cares about you and your tree service needs.