Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Western Exterminator

Founded 1921 • With Angi since November 2004

Since 1921, Western Exterminator has been providing homeowners and business owners with customer service excellence and trusted pest control solutions.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.4

(171) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 171 reviews
Allen P.
5.0
07/05/2016
They are always very professional, friendly, and respectful. District manager Earl Cole, is a great guy, and has always served us with true professionalism and courtesy.
Description of Work
Sprayed yard for ants and spiders.
Category
pest control
Thomas H.
3.0
05/13/2015
We paid Western Exterminator to tent our home and paid an extra $400 for broken tile replacement if necessary. We have a large home with tiles that can break if not careful. When the tenting was done, the company asked for final payment. I asked if tiles had been broken. They said, "of course not." I asked for evidence because if I paid in full, signing away any further obligation on their part, and there was a major roof leak the following winter, it would have been my problem not theirs. Also, I am not the type who walks on his own roof without fear so it's not something I could have done myself. Thus began an unnecessary battle. They demanded I take them at their word and make full payment. I asked for evidence -- I had paid the premium and I wanted them to prove to me there were no broken tiles. Finally, they came to the house and sent a worker up to the roof, who came down and "promised" that there were no broken tiles. E.g, they still wanted me to take them at their word. It surprised me that they were not equipped to do the right thing. If someone pays you for a special service, it is only logical that you provide evidentiary proof that you provided it. Pictures of each part of the roof would have been easy, quick, and given me confidence. Instead, there was a flurry of phone calls and email and a company VP even came to my house. I finally paid them when the VP provided guarantees against leaks the next winter. But this all could have been avoided had they not made what I consider to be rookie mistakes.
Description of Work
Tented our house for termites
Category
pest control
Fred C.
5.0
01/07/2015
There's nothing I dislike. They're efficient, helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to get rid of problems I had. They're very professional and they're always calling ahead to know when they are coming. Their work was outstanding.
Description of Work
I went with Western Exterminator for exterminating.
Category
pest control
L. L.
5.0
10/21/2014
Ron performed the assessment and the work. He treated the area for termites and discovered the fascia board also had extensive dry rot which required replacement of entire fascia board. Ron came back the next day to replace the board. I spoke with him prior to the work being done and found out he was very knowledgable as he had been a general contractor. He was careful to stabalize the gutter that had been attached to the fascia so that it was damaged and did not need to be removed. He also fixed a tear in the roof tar paper and removed an obstruction in the roof valley. He put it all back together and painted the new board as well.
Description of Work
Replaced fascia board.
Category
pest control
Angela G.
5.0
07/22/2013
My kitchen and bathrooms regularly get invaded by ants during dry spells; which is often embarrassing when I have company. In the beginning of 2013, I enrolled in an annual plan with Western. My Western technician called in the spring to see if I was ready for another application of insecticide. When I told him I was having family over from the East coast for Easter, he said he'd be there a couple of days before their arrival to make sure I'd have no ant issues when my guests were with us. He arrived as promised and I had no problems. He returned again in June as scheduled. Great customer service!
Description of Work
The provider sprayed for ants & spiders along the perimeter of my home. He is always careful not to spray the insecticide anywhere near my fruit trees in my backyard.
Category
pest control
Terrance B.
3.0
07/01/2013
Damaged several items in the move and have not resolved the calim
Description of Work
Moveed us from one house to another
Category
pest control
John G.
5.0
05/28/2013
All of the gophers are gone and have not returned. also no insects like the black ants or earwigs and we have kept there service on every month and could not be happier...
Description of Work
sprays the entire outside of the house and check for any possible infestation of any type of insects for an added fee they got rid of our gophers and also checks for any activity if there is any they also take care of the problem before it gets out of hand.
Category
pest control
Kris L.
5.0
05/11/2013
Carlos was Western Exterminators' representative for us. He was great. Professional, knowledgable and punctual. He educated us on options and why some were better than others and for what reasons. We have small dogs and he knew just what to do to keep them safe. Carlos thoroughly inspected the house, sealed off possible entry points and set traps, all the while explaining why and also laying out a strategy for the future rat battles. Thanks to Carlos we feel we have a fighting chance against the little beasties. The price was quite good. I had quotes all over the place up to $450.00. Western came in at $185.00 for assessment, trapping and three follow up appointments over a period of 2 1/2 weeks. Thanks to Carlos explaining everything we know we will always have a battle in our little country home but he took care of the immediate problem and are grateful.
Description of Work
Help eliminating rats from the house and excluding them from future entry.
Category
pest control
MaryBeth C.
5.0
03/19/2013
It went very well. They were prompt and able to get back to me quickly. They wanted to spray both inside and outside the house, but I only wanted them to spray outside. There haven't been any spider issues since then.
Description of Work
Sprayed for spiders.
Category
pest control
Kathleen B.
4.0
03/12/2013
Estimator came quickly after my initial call and was very knowledgeable and professional. We agreed on the price and the date, then had the follow-up visit to discuss the preparation for fumigation. Again, the Western representative was very helpful and patiently answered all my questions. The sub-contractors arrived much later in the day then planned, which was a little annoying since I felt so rushed to get out of the house to be and quot;readyand quot; (they got there at 7pm and tented in the dark, which made me VERY nervous from a safety standpoint). Tent came down on time and we were able to move back in. Repairs were down quickly and without a mess, so overall I was very happy wih the service.
Description of Work
Tented house for termites, then did repairs on the areas damaged by the termites.
Category
pest control
steve E.
4.0
10/15/2012
the estimator arrived on time, was friendly, and was easily available by email after i signed the contract. he was able to schedule a start day that fit with our busy schedule. I wish i had negotiated for a lower price. on the start date, one crew member arrived +-20 minutes after the 4-hour window. i was somewhat nervous because my schedule was crowded and i needed to leave. however, the pre-treat inspection was short because i had devoted much time to preparing the premises according to western's instructions. the inspector remarked that mine was an "easy" property. untenting was timely completed on the third day. i wish the crew had used a blower around the house afterwards. i have no way of ascertaining whether the treatment was effective. as far as i am aware, no one from western has communicated with me since the services were rendered.
Description of Work
estimate, contract pre-treat inspection tenting and fumigation untenting
Category
pest control
Robert M.
5.0
08/25/2012
On time, polite and professional. Came out rapidly, scheduled for re checks and performed good follow-up.
Description of Work
Rodent extermination, laid traps for rats in attic.
Category
pest control
PAMELA F.
5.0
07/25/2012
Western is great! They are reliable, punctual, and always do an excellent job.
Description of Work
They performed an annual pest inspection. I have a quarterly treatment plan as well.
Category
pest control
Daisyanne E.
5.0
07/16/2012
It was very good. I had no trouble with them at all.
Description of Work
They tinted my house and reconstructed my back porch because of termites. Every 3 months they come out and check our system.
Category
pest control
Laurelle P.
4.0
07/14/2012
They are pretty responsive to their clients, but they are pretty expensive. When I had ant problems, they eventually had to come into the house to spray. This did get rid of the ants, but I did have to remove a lot of items from lower cabinets and the spray left residue that was difficult to get rid of.
Description of Work
I was subscribed for a two month service to spray around the outside the house.
Category
pest control
Ron L.
5.0
07/12/2012
We like them. They are very dependable.
Description of Work
We used Western Exterminators for control of all kinds of insects, termites and spiders. They made sure that the eaves were cleaned out.
Category
pest control
Eleanor & Dwight L.
5.0
06/25/2012
I really like the people there. They are very congenial, friendly, and they do a good job.
Description of Work
They treated a fence for termites at our home. They also come out on a monthly basis at around $36 per month. They can also remove any other pests or animals. They also will do an annual inspection.
Category
pest control
Emily M.
5.0
06/04/2012
As I have an annual contract with them, I have a particular person assigned to me. They take responsibility for what they have to do and they keep in touch with me. I rate them very highly.
Description of Work
I use Western Exterminator on a regular basis for pest control.
Category
pest control
karen M.
4.0
05/25/2012
A friend recommended them. We don't use any pest control any longer because we don't have any problem anymore. Their service was adequate and it worked. They were cheaper than some others. We would use them again if we needed.
Description of Work
We used Western because we had an ant problem.
Category
pest control
Stephanie Q.
5.0
05/23/2012
If you tell them if your not happy with something they will come out again. They come every other month and if you want to come out before they will. We had some mice and they are taking care of it.
Description of Work
They do a basic exterior pest spray.
Category
pest control
CONSTANCE M.
5.0
05/14/2012
I never really see them because we don't have any problems. The previous owners of the house recommended them and we met the exterminator. They changed the mix and we were getting lots of ants in the house and they tried several different things until they found one that worked and we haven't had them for years. If you need anything in the house and it needs to be sprayed they have a green mix so that it is safe inside. He usually just comes and sprays the perimeter and if we have any problems they will come out or we just put the bug in a bag until we see him and he tells us what it is and gets rid of it.
Description of Work
Western Exterminator comes out and does our pest control services.
Category
pest control
Cheryl G.
5.0
05/03/2012
I would recommend them. They are really good. I have been using them for about ten years. They are very professional.
Description of Work
They come out bimonthly to check and spray for bugs.
Category
pest control
sue A.
5.0
04/17/2012
Everything is going well. Western is reliable, and its treatments are effective.
Description of Work
They provided a bi-monthly treatment.
Category
pest control
mamdouh M.
5.0
03/21/2012
I haven't had the service yet, but the estimate came in at $300. I have an annual contract with them. They come out every three months and just do general bug spraying around my house. They are extremely professional. My service guy's name is Hart. I love the guy to death, especially for this termite inspection. I was really ready for them to say, and ldquo;Yup, you got termites, we need to tent your house and it is going to be $500and rdquo;, but they said, and ldquo;No, your house is clean, you only have them in one area, your eaves, we can spot treat it and it is not going to be expensive.and rdquo; So they were very honest. I definitely would not have known the difference. If they had told me that the whole house needed tenting, I would have said, and ldquo;Oh my God, okayand rdquo;. They were excellent in their expertise.
Description of Work
I had a termite problem that they diagnosed.
Category
pest control
Karen M.
5.0
05/10/2011
We spend $90 on that service. The products they use are very organic and safe around our pets. They can put it out when they dogs out there and it is good whether it is wet or not. They were able to answer our questions regarding the products being safe around our pets.
Description of Work
We use Western Pest Control for pest control services and they come out quarterly.
Category
pest control

Phone

Address

165 Vallecitos de Oro

San Marcos, CA 92069

Other Information

Services offered

Pest Control, Termite Control, Rodent Control, Bird and Bat Control, Integrated Pest Management, Green Pest Control, Deer Repellent, Vegetation Management Services, Bioremediation Services, Wild Animal Trapping, Ant Control, Bed Bug Entotherm

FAQ

Western Exterminator is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Western Exterminator is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

No, Western Exterminator does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Western Exterminator offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Western Exterminator does not offer warranties.

Western Exterminator offers the following services: Pest Control, Termite Control, Rodent Control, Bird and Bat Control, Integrated Pest Management, Green Pest Control, Deer Repellent, Vegetation Management Services, Bioremediation Services, Wild Animal Trapping, Ant Control, Bed Bug Entotherm

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Hungry Termite

5.0

(19)

Angi Certified

Hungry Termite

Hungry Termite, We are dedicated to providing our customers with the highest quality service, repairs, and treatments. All repairs are done in house by our very own licensed general contractor, not some handyman. We value our customers and strive to provide you the best bang for your buck. We only recommend whats necessary to eliminate your infestation. No magic oils or gimmicks. It's not about taking your money for unnecessary treatments and monthly contracts. It's about getting rid of termites the best way possible. At Hungry Termite, we feed them their last meal! Guaranteed! *TERMITES ONLY*  

D&S is a local, family owned & operated company and has been in business since 1968. D&S is proud to be your full-service termite and pest control provider. Whether it's termites, ants, fleas or rodents, D&S has the right treatment plan for you. We offer weekly, monthly and quarterly plans available to fit your needs. With monthly service plans starting as low as $30 per month you really can afford to be pest free! We also specialize in the eradication of Bed Bugs, we can fumigate an entire structure for 100% elimination or chemically treat an infested unit. We also have a fumigation chamber so that you do not need to throw away all furnishings that are infested with bed bugs or beetles. We take pride in everything we do. Small jobs, large jobs, we do them all. When you want the BEST, it's D&S for all your pests! Additional phone numbers - (619) 461-3111, (619) 466-5577 & (877) 462-5577. Additional DBAs - AMBD Inc, D & S Fumigations, D & S Pest Control, D & S Termite Control, D&S Termite.  

ATCO Pest Control

4.0

(24)

Angi Certified

ATCO Pest Control

ATCO Pest Control, ATCO Termite Control & Home Restoration are full service pest management companies. Family operated and locally owned. ATCO is an EcoWise Certified Provider. Winners of the Department of Pesticides' Integrated Pest Management Innovator of the year 2010.