Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Door Dorks

Founded 2009 • With Angi since December 2011

4.8

(112) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

960 Rancheros Dr Ste. K

San Marcos, CA 92069

Description

Frustrated with unreliable, unprofessional service companies? Door Dorks delivers what the competition dreads. Fast, reliable, friendly, professional garage door service in San Diego. Our trucks are fully stocked to ensure we can repair most garage door issues on the same day! With years of experience in the industry, you can rest assured that we deliver top quality service and parts. We can repair the complete spectrum of garage door styles and designs - be it a total garage door replacement, off-track garage door fix, cable and broken spring replacement, or simply a planned maintenance. We also install new garage doors and openers that fit any budget....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/30/2021


Marc D.

The company was responsive and efficient. They were able to determine the manufacturer of the panels that needed to be replaced so I didn't need to get a whole new garage door. Everyone who I spoke with was courteous. They were able to get the replace and install completed quickly without sacrificing quality.

Description of Work
Replace garage panels

Category garage doors

5.0

12/29/2021


Jeri S.

These people are awesome. Was referred to them by a neighbor on NextDoor. Gina came out and measured everything and got us a quote right away. She is very personable, professional and knows her stuff. Adam did our install and he was great. On time, professional, and did a wonderful job. Clean work and great communication. Their appointment system is great, too. They send a text with a picture of the technician so you know who to expect at your door. Their customer communication is top notch. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Door Dorks to anyone.

Description of Work
Garage Door Repair

Category garage doors

5.0

11/14/2018


Allan C.

My initial call to set up my appointment was very easy. The tech, David, was on-time and was very thorough in his inspection of the the garage door hardware and the door opener. He had all the parts we needed on the truck and completed the job in a timely manner. Overall, I was very happy with the entire job.

Description of Work
New Springs for garage door and a new remote for the door opener

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

So glad we could assist with getting your door working again. We know it can be a stressful time when your door stops working. It is our goal to make it as simple as possible to get you back to your day. Thank you for trusting in us Team Door Dorks
5.0

08/17/2018


John R.

The tech was friendly and professional. He did the tune up we bought from Angie's list and I expected a little more work. But he did a lot more and additional price was very reasonable. I would hire them again if I ever need garage door maintenance.

Description of Work
Old Garage tuning, door wouldn't shut.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really appreciate it. We will be here should you need us in the future. Team Door Dorks
5.0

05/17/2018


Edgar I.

Outstanding, efficient and very professional! I couldn’t ask for a better service company! Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Door motor replacement

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

We are super excited you had an "Outstanding" experience with us. We truly love what we do and love helping our customers. Thank you! Team Door Dorks
1.0

04/26/2018


Norman L.

A garage door spring broke and I Googled "garage door repairs San Marcos". Door Dorks displayed prominently with a favorable 56 Google 5-stars rating so that I read some of its reviews, "Jacob is friendly" and business does a good job. I gave Door Dorks a try, a big mistake. After I made an appointment last Friday and Jacob came to service the call, Jacob was disappointingly not friendly at all. Though friendliness isn't a requirement for the job, Jacob was more abrupt and taciturn, no sign of politeness. I have wondered about and questioned the accuracy of the Google, and later, the Yelp, reviews of Door Dorks. Moving on, oddly, I did not receive a written estimate before the repair; Jacob only said, "The office told you the price? Looking at your door, anywhere between $250 and $300" for one spring for a single garage in a two single garage newer home. I mentioned that the size of his new spring did not match the size of the broken very short spring. Repairmen usually explain their choice of parts and work to the novice customer when asked; however, Jacob only answered, "I know my work than you, a longer spring lasts longer (I wondered why but an answer was not obviously forthcoming), but I can put in a shorter spring if you want". On the receipt, the single "218Rx30" spring cost $139.98, a very high mark-up, and labor $95, for a total bill of $234.98. Other garage door repair persons always asked before placing their business' emblem and phone number sticker next to the manual garage door opener in my homes. Unknown to me, after Jacob had finished the repair, without asking, Jacob gratuitously removed the previous garage door repair person's business emblem and phone number sticker and wire-stapled his non-sticking business emblem below the manual garage door opener. Doubting that I will use Jacob's service in the future in view of Jacob's behavior and high bill, I removed his stapled business emblem; as a result, I have two needlessly small holes to spackle now. If the car, earlier stuck inside the garage, had not been needed, I would have preferred my regular garage door opener installer and repair shop with a friendly office staff, friendly repair people, and a very friendly and helpful owner, but, unfortunately, the office was on voicemail that Friday and I had to, VERY REGRETFULLY, settle on this over-rated business.

Description of Work
Garage door spring replacement

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Ouch, that hurts! We are really sorry you had a less than amazing experience with us. We are passionate about integrity, communication, and attitude which we are well known for but sometimes we don't get things just right. We install the best high cycle springs that last at least twice as long as most of our competitors and our springs don't require the regular maintenance of lower quality springs. This ensures about 15-20 years of trouble free use and peace of mind that the repair is long term. Our final price of $239 was actually lower than the $250 - $300 that was quoted so you know we are honest and will give a lower price if a smaller spring is required. After we have completed a repair or install of a garage door or motor we place our business card on the wall next to the wall button so you know you can reach us should you have any concerns. I relayed to the team that we need to ask before stapling the card on the wall in the future and we can come by and spackle the small staple holes in your wall. I called and left a message on 4/25/18 and 4/26/2018 on your voicemail and am looking forward to talking soon. Please let us know how we can turn you into a Door Dorks raving fan and turn your 1 star into a 5! Sincerely, Dorian Currier/President Door Dorks
5.0

04/24/2018


Elizabeth B.

Excellent! Garage door has never worked better.

Description of Work
Garage door tune-up

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

So glad we could get your door working smooth again. We are passionate about customer service and are happy you had an Excellent experience with Door Dorks. Thank you! Team Door Dorks
5.0

04/09/2018


Ron S.

Outstanding. Great group of talented professionals. Top notch. Would hire them anytime.

Description of Work
Garage door repair / replacement

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

We are super excited you had an "outstanding" experience with our team here at Door Dorks. We love what we do and strive to provide an outstanding experience for all our customers. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
5.0

02/20/2018


lorri Y.

The representative did an excellent job. He explained what he was going to do and reviewed his findings after the inspection. He was professional, courteous and pleasant. I will be using Door Dorks again.

Description of Work
Door Dorks provided maintenance service for two garage doors.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

We love what we do here at Door Dorks and are super excited to hear that you had an excellent experience with us. We're here should you need us in the future. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
5.0

02/19/2018


Irene A.

Appointment made and I was notified by technician of arrival time. Technician polite, professional, reviewed my system with me and made recommendations, but did not push. Will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Garage Door tuneup.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Here at Door Dorks, we believe in building relationships and want to have you as a customer for a longtime to come, should you need us. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
5.0

01/09/2018


LYNN S.

Very professional, arrived on time. When the spring broke, he came over in the evening to repair.

Description of Work
New spring, replaced parts and a general tune up.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

So glad we could assist in getting your door working again. Team Door Dorks
5.0

12/18/2017


Beatrix T.

Door Dorks did a thorough tune-up and left us a product, a low temp lubricant. Problem was fixed.

Description of Work
Garage door wouldn’t close completely and therefore would go back up..

Category garage doors, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing your feedback. We really appreciate your business. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
4.0

12/12/2017


RICHARD C.

The squeaking was eliminated, but only for a couple of weeks. And there is a substantial amount of grease which occasionally falls from the screw to the garage floor. But the noise factor may simply be because the opener is old.

Description of Work
Lubricate the screw drive on the garage door opener.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Sorry to hear you had a less than amazing experience with Door Dorks. It is our goal to earn an "A" rating for all our customers. We appreciate your feedback and will strive to serve you better in the future. Team Door Dorks
4.0

12/04/2017


Richard L.

Service was prompt and professional

Description of Work
TUNED MY GARAGE DOOR--ADJUSTED SETTINGS AND LUBED

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Door Dorks. We super appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. We are here should you need us in the future. Team Door Dorks
5.0

12/02/2017


Gordon M.

The tune-up/repair went well. The tech (actually, the business owner) was personal, professional, and un-rushed. Though the amount I paid was low, he took his time and ensured the service was performed well.

Description of Work
Garage door tune-up.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

We love to n*** out on garage doors and to ensure our clients have a clear understanding of the service performed. Team Door Dorks
5.0

11/27/2017


Dan F.

Excellent. Prompt and efficient and work completed as expected.

Description of Work
Garage door tune-up

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Happy we could be of service. We are here should you need us in the future. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
4.0

11/27/2017


Chris N.

Fine. I guess I didn't want to pay for the full repair. But glad it is all working now.

Description of Work
Garage door repair. I thought I only needed a tune-up, but it looks like a full repair was needed.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad we could assist in getting your door working. Team Door Dorks
5.0

11/20/2017


Lisa H.

see above which includes how it went

Description of Work
My garage door was not opening or closing electrically. Door Dorks owner spent time assessing the problem. he gave me both short term and long term options for fixing the problem. In the end I chose a short term solution and he got it up and running. I will be having him return when I am able to afford the long term option. i always like that the owner has creative as well as technical ability.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

So glad we were able to assist in getting your door working. We are here should you need us in the future. Thanks again, Team Door Dorks
5.0

11/03/2017


Curtis T B.

Excellent. Professional. AAAA++++++

Description of Work
Garage Door Repair

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We love all things garage doors. It's what we do! Thanks again, Team Door Dorks
5.0

10/30/2017


Craig C.

GREAT! The roll-up matches the original tilt-up doors perfectly. Now we have smooth operating door and it looks great too. Thanks Door Dorks!

Description of Work
Replace old saggy tilt-up one piece door with roll up. Custom front to match architectural details. First such modification in the HOA.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

This was certainly a fun project to work on. We love this type of custom work! Thank you so much for trusting in Door Dorks. Thanks again! Team Door Dorks
5.0

10/23/2017


Elizabeth B.

We were very pleased with the work performed. Our garage door is operating better than it ever has -smoothly and quietly. We would hire this company again.

Description of Work
Garage door tune-up

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

So happy to hear your garage is running smooth and quiet again. Sincerely, Team Door Dorks
5.0

10/18/2017


renate S.

I bought a big deal and they did a good job. They were very professional

Description of Work
They replaced my garage door

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the "A"! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. Team Door Dorks
5.0

10/16/2017


Judith M.

I need a new door. No work was done on it due to this...per Door Dorks technician/ repairman. I appreciate the honesty.

Description of Work
maintenance

Category garage doors

5.0

10/12/2017


Kay M.

It went very well! Matt was great at explaining things. He tuned up the garage door / opener. I learned alot from Matt.

Description of Work
My garage door kept opening after I had closed it...

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

We are nerdy about garage doors and want to ensure you have the best possible experience when working with Door Dorks. Thank you for the positive review
3.0

10/08/2017


neil Z.

ok. they had no parts to repair my existing make & model. Option was to let it be or buy whole new door opener. I was in pickle with timing and avail, so opted for new door opener. Was promised it would be exactly same or better than old one. In the end, they could not mate my vehicles indigenous door opener with the door opener, so they had to supply the more bulky garage door opener (clickers) to clip onto my visor. For the money, was not happy with the promise vs what was delivered...for the price paid.

Description of Work
garage door opener maint

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Sorry to hear you had a less than amazing experience with Door Dorks. It is our goal to have happy customers. Please let us know how we could serve you better in the future. Team Door Dorks

    Other local Pros in your area

    All-Pro Quality Garage Doors

    All-Pro Quality Garage Doors has been servicing San Diego since 1989. We are an award winning company that has an A+ on the BBB and take pride in the reputation we have built. Specializing in garage door and opener installations and repairs, please call for an estimate today. We offer Military and Senior discounts. Free Estimates on new Door Installations, as well as quotes over the phone. Please contact us today for your next Garage Door/Opener project!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by All-Pro Quality Garage Doors on Angi
    Precision Door Service

    Precision Garage Doors has been providing expert garage door repair in San Diego County since 2001. We value your time— When you call Precison, your call will be answered by a live operator and we will schedule your appointment when it is convenient for you.  

    San Diego Door Pros

    San Diego Door Pros is committed to offering the industries' best customer service, garage door brands, and workmanship. We pride ourselves in providing San Diego County residents with same day service and around the clock availability. All Door Pros team members are experienced technicians that arrive fully equipped, ready to handle all of your garage door needs! Call us today with any questions and to schedule your service!  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    959152
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    California State License Board
    Trade License Expiration
    12/22/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    20%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Garage door and opener repair, installation, and sales. Custom garage doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Gates, French Doors.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Door Dorks

    How is Door Dorks overall rated?

    Door Dorks is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Door Dorks open?

    Door Dorks is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Door Dorks provide

    Door Dorks accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Door Dorks offer free estimates?

    No, Door Dorks does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Door Dorks offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Door Dorks offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Door Dorks offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Door Dorks offers a 20% senior discount.

    Does Door Dorks offer emergency services?

    Yes, Door Dorks offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Door Dorks?

    Yes, Door Dorks offers warranties.

    What services does Door Dorks offer?

    Door Dorks offers the following services: Garage door and opener repair, installation, and sales. Custom garage doors.

    Are there any services Door Dorks does not offer?

    Gates, French Doors.